Bitcoin Forum
July 16, 2018, 09:52:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 [197] 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756833 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 1000


These days, i am Crazy.


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2012, 09:11:32 PM
 #3921

It just has no effect at all on Windows systems (confirmed by AMD). You could as well set MITT_ROMNEY_IS_A_DICKHEAD = 1 ... would have the same effect Wink

You jerk.  I set the MITT_ROMNEY_IS_A_DICKHEAD = 1 flag and within minutes I had some Jehovah's witnesses at my door trying to convert me.  I am never going to do that again.

you sure they weren't Mormons? Tongue
1531734745
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531734745

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531734745
Reply with quote  #2

1531734745
Report to moderator
1531734745
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531734745

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531734745
Reply with quote  #2

1531734745
Report to moderator
1531734745
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531734745

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531734745
Reply with quote  #2

1531734745
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250


1ngldh


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 09:30:41 PM
 #3922

It just has no effect at all on Windows systems (confirmed by AMD). You could as well set MITT_ROMNEY_IS_A_DICKHEAD = 1 ... would have the same effect Wink

You jerk.  I set the MITT_ROMNEY_IS_A_DICKHEAD = 1 flag and within minutes I had some Jehovah's witnesses at my door trying to convert me.  I am never going to do that again.

you sure they weren't Mormons? Tongue
ahahahaha, I could understand that happening if you set the flag to 0, but when set to 1 you get prohibitionist Mormons armed with choir recordings.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250


1ngldh


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 10:04:49 PM
 #3923

Just installed 11.6 on 64-bit windows 7, and cgminer 2.2.3 was only showing 1 GPU. I updated to cgminer 2.2.6, and now I get this:

Code:
Too many values passed to set temp cutoff

Do I need dummy plugs for the cards, or is there some other issue? Should I just suck it up and install the latest drivers?
Further to this, when I do "cgminer.exe -n", I get:

Code:
[2012-02-15 16:35:43] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
[2012-02-15 16:35:43] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
[2012-02-15 16:35:43] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4 (650.9)
[2012-02-15 16:35:43] Platform 0 devices: 1
[2012-02-15 16:35:43] ADL found more devices than opencl!
[2012-02-15 16:35:43] There is possibly at least one GPU that doesn't support OpenCL
[2012-02-15 16:35:43] WARNING: Number of OpenCL and ADL devices does not match!
[2012-02-15 16:35:43] Hardware monitoring may NOT match up with devices!
[2012-02-15 16:35:43] GPU 0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series hardware monitoring enabled
[2012-02-15 16:35:43] Setting GPU 0 engine clock to 950
[2012-02-15 16:35:43] Setting GPU 0 memory clock to 160
[2012-02-15 16:35:43] Setting GPU 0 voltage to 1.180
[2012-02-15 16:35:43] 1 GPU devices max detected

No monitors or dummy plugs are connected. I also tried the SDK 2.4 standalone installer, and get the same results.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2012, 10:23:30 PM
 #3924

Just installed 11.6 on 64-bit windows 7, and cgminer 2.2.3 was only showing 1 GPU. I updated to cgminer 2.2.6, and now I get this:

Code:
Too many values passed to set temp cutoff

Do I need dummy plugs for the cards, or is there some other issue? Should I just suck it up and install the latest drivers?
No monitors or dummy plugs are connected. I also tried the SDK 2.4 standalone installer, and get the same results.
11.6 needs dummy plugs on windows. You need a later driver but beware of SDK fuckage.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250


1ngldh


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 10:24:57 PM
 #3925

Just installed 11.6 on 64-bit windows 7, and cgminer 2.2.3 was only showing 1 GPU. I updated to cgminer 2.2.6, and now I get this:

Code:
Too many values passed to set temp cutoff

Do I need dummy plugs for the cards, or is there some other issue? Should I just suck it up and install the latest drivers?
No monitors or dummy plugs are connected. I also tried the SDK 2.4 standalone installer, and get the same results.
11.6 needs dummy plugs on windows. You need a later driver but beware of SDK fuckage.
Damn, I thought that was the version that removed that necessity. I'll try something newer I guess.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1005


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 10:33:43 PM
 #3926

Damn, I thought that was the version that removed that necessity. I'll try something newer I guess.

Any particular reason you want an ancient driver?

You can install driver & SDK independently.

So you can install driver 11.12 to get the no CPU bug and then SDK 2.1 to maximize performance of 5000 series cards.  Be sure to delete any existing bins and run cgminer to compile bins with SDK 2.1.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250


1ngldh


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 10:35:54 PM
 #3927

Damn, I thought that was the version that removed that necessity. I'll try something newer I guess.

Any particular reason you want an ancient driver?

You can install driver & SDK independently.

So you can install driver 11.12 to get the no CPU bug and then SDK 2.1 to maximize performance of 5000 series cards.  Be sure to delete any existing bins and run cgminer to compile bins with SDK 2.1.
Well I wondered that, but I thought that newer drivers refused to support older SDKs. I guess I'll try it again soon.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1005


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 10:42:44 PM
 #3928

Well I wondered that, but I thought that newer drivers refused to support older SDKs. I guess I'll try it again soon.

I don't think so but with so many combinations of hardware, OS, drivers, and SDK YMMV.
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 15, 2012, 10:46:50 PM
 #3929

Quote from: DeathAndTaxes
You can install driver & SDK independently.

So you can install driver 11.12 to get the no CPU bug and then SDK 2.1 to maximize performance of 5000 series cards.  Be sure to delete any existing bins and run cgminer to compile bins with SDK 2.1.

Know how to do this on Linux ?

Or shall I just stick with 11.6 and 2.1 ?

Have you tested the difference between 2.4 and 2.1 on your 5970s ? Is it really that much better compared with 2.4/2.5 ?

I have 5870s only.

Thanks !
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 01:05:02 AM
 #3930

On Linux: when you install 2.6 you should do it manually.
It copies 2 libraries over the OS installed ones if you do it with the ATI install script.

Everything else is the similar to the cgminer README
(so is easy as long as you understand how to extract tgz files ...)

The 2 OS libraries are: libaticalcl.so  libaticalrt.so
So you need to save the old links (e.g. rename them: mv libaticalcl.so libaticalcl.so.old )
If you don't want to try mess with removing and reinstalling the fglrx packages later to go back to an earlier 2.x

Hmm maybe I'll write up the steps to go forward AND back later ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 01:19:18 AM
 #3931

On Linux: when you install 2.6 you should do it manually.

Thanks for the heads up, that isn't the only danger with relying on the crappy installation script.
ATI always sucked where any coding was involved and AMD just kept ATI staff...
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250


1ngldh


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 02:13:53 AM
 #3932

Well I wondered that, but I thought that newer drivers refused to support older SDKs. I guess I'll try it again soon.

I don't think so but with so many combinations of hardware, OS, drivers, and SDK YMMV.
Well, I got it working, but my 5870s at 950/160 are producing 370mhash now. Huh
That is suspiciously similar to stock, wonder if OC settings aren't being applied by cgminer? brb checking

EDIT: When I hit G then C then 0 and enter then E and typed 950 and hit enter and then Y, cgminer told me that the driver accepted the voltages, but that I should "check the values below". It didn't seem to actually OC the cards.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 02:23:26 AM
 #3933

Well I wondered that, but I thought that newer drivers refused to support older SDKs. I guess I'll try it again soon.

I don't think so but with so many combinations of hardware, OS, drivers, and SDK YMMV.
Well, I got it working, but my 5870s at 950/160 are producing 370mhash now. Huh
That is suspiciously similar to stock, wonder if OC settings aren't being applied by cgminer? brb checking

EDIT: When I hit G then C then 0 and enter then E and typed 950 and hit enter and then Y, cgminer told me that the driver accepted the voltages, but that I should "check the values below". It didn't seem to actually OC the cards.
Right, that's why cgminer reports back the *actual* values because the driver can happily accept some changes and the card can happily ignore them.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250


1ngldh


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 02:24:57 AM
 #3934

Well I wondered that, but I thought that newer drivers refused to support older SDKs. I guess I'll try it again soon.

I don't think so but with so many combinations of hardware, OS, drivers, and SDK YMMV.
Well, I got it working, but my 5870s at 950/160 are producing 370mhash now. Huh
That is suspiciously similar to stock, wonder if OC settings aren't being applied by cgminer? brb checking

EDIT: When I hit G then C then 0 and enter then E and typed 950 and hit enter and then Y, cgminer told me that the driver accepted the voltages, but that I should "check the values below". It didn't seem to actually OC the cards.
Right, that's why cgminer reports back the *actual* values because the driver can happily accept some changes and the card can happily ignore them.
But it was working perfectly on a previous version of cgminer... or maybe it was the driver changes to 11.12 and sdk 2.1 that caused this..? brb, downloading old cgminer version to find out.

EDIT: Damn, 2.2.3 (which was working fine before) is doing the same thing. wtf

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 02:28:09 AM
 #3935

Update on 7970 performance.

I did a little calculation to see how my 7970 is performing with the latest cgminer.

Clock per clock it is precisely 1/3 faster than the 6970 running at the equivalent clock speed.
What's hilarious about this is that the number of stream processors is precisely 1/3 more than the 6970 (2048 vs 1536). This is despite the 6970 running on phatk on sdk 2.5 and 7970 running on my customised poclbm on sdk 2.6. As I said before, at least on the 6970 which I don't grossly underclock the memory (only -125) I'm getting slightly better performance on poclbm with 2.6 now than phatk with 2.5.

So in terms of raw performance, I think the current cgminer release and kernel is doing pretty good.  Wink

Alas none of the magic GCN changes that aren't just more processors appear to have been exploited, and every thread I've read on suggestions to exploit them on these forums has only led to worse performance, often disastrously worse.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 02:29:03 AM
 #3936

But it was working perfectly on a previous version of cgminer... or maybe it was the driver changes to 11.12 and sdk 2.1 that caused this..? brb, downloading old cgminer version to find out.
Never blame the new version of cgminer. ALWAYS blame something else first.  Tongue

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250


1ngldh


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 02:33:37 AM
 #3937

But it was working perfectly on a previous version of cgminer... or maybe it was the driver changes to 11.12 and sdk 2.1 that caused this..? brb, downloading old cgminer version to find out.
Never blame the new version of cgminer. ALWAYS blame something else first.  Tongue
I know right? But how would the change to 11.12/2.1 cause this odd issue, which I have never had before? Any ideas on debugging this? It is acting like no changes are being made at all - voltage, core clock, memory clock, etc.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 03:28:34 AM
 #3938

But it was working perfectly on a previous version of cgminer... or maybe it was the driver changes to 11.12 and sdk 2.1 that caused this..? brb, downloading old cgminer version to find out.
Never blame the new version of cgminer. ALWAYS blame something else first.  Tongue
I know right? But how would the change to 11.12/2.1 cause this odd issue, which I have never had before? Any ideas on debugging this? It is acting like no changes are being made at all - voltage, core clock, memory clock, etc.
Did you check what it says when you run "cgminer -n" or start it with debugging enabled as it says in the readme? --verbose -D -T as well as your regular commands. Might give a clue. Also perhaps the hardware stuff got lost for 5xxx in later ATI drivers and worked on the ones somewhere in between. Knowing AMD that's entirely possible  Undecided Like it might work in 11.6 and then got broken in 11.11 or something.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 466
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 03:30:52 AM
 #3939


Is there some way I'm not aware of (and I went back and re-read the latest docs) to set GPU core/RAM clocks on exit?

I can mine at a much higher clock/much lower memory, than I choose to game.. and if I forget to go back and reset it each time I close the miner, my desktop machine will hang..

I realize it's a small thing, but just wondering if there's a way to set it?

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 03:34:19 AM
 #3940


Is there some way I'm not aware of (and I went back and re-read the latest docs) to set GPU core/RAM clocks on exit?

I can mine at a much higher clock/much lower memory, than I choose to game.. and if I forget to go back and reset it each time I close the miner, my desktop machine will hang..

I realize it's a small thing, but just wondering if there's a way to set it?


cgminer sets clocks all back to default on exit... if it exits cleanly, and of course on windows it's a miracle when it does.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 [197] 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!