Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:06:11 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 [233] 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4815706 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 12:33:18 AM
 #4641

been getting this error on 2 of my miners lately. they run about 6 hours every time too. been crashing like clockwork for a few days now

[regular log stuff, then suddenly this]
[2012-03-20 14:04:09] Failed to create submit_work_thread
[lots of statistics]
[2012-03-20 14:04:09] API failed (Socket Error: (10004) Interrupted system call) - API will not be available
[2012-03-20 14:04:09] longpoll failed for http://api.bitcoin.cz:8408, sleeping for 30s
and thats the end, they are then sitting at "press any key to continue . . ."

same exact error on both

they are both running 2.3.1, no special flags aside from autoclock and autofan settings.

my 6870 is win7 64 bit, 11.11 driver, 2.5 sdk, and the 6770 is vista 32, 12.1, 2.3 sdk. clean installs, I never reuse bins, and delete bins when upgrading drivers and/or sdks. cgminer is always installed fresh, never over itself.

my 5830 on 11.4, 2.1 and XP with cgminer 2.2.7 runs perfect. same pool settings as the 6870 and 6770, so if its the longpoll fail thats killing the 2.3.1 miners the 2.2.7 version is OK with whatever it is.. is longpoll handled differently between 2.2.7 and 2.3.1?

any ideas?
Well the API 10004 error is interesting ...
According to Microsoft it can't happen coz the function that causes it has been removed (and I don't call it anyway) Tongue

Though, it looks exactly like a network problem with the computer?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
1480809971
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809971

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809971
Reply with quote  #2

1480809971
Report to moderator
1480809971
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809971

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809971
Reply with quote  #2

1480809971
Report to moderator
1480809971
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809971

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809971
Reply with quote  #2

1480809971
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480809971
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809971

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809971
Reply with quote  #2

1480809971
Report to moderator
1480809971
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809971

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809971
Reply with quote  #2

1480809971
Report to moderator
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 890

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 12:58:23 AM
 #4642

Well the API 10004 error is interesting ...

According to Microsoft it can't happen coz the function that causes it has been removed (and I don't call it anyway) Tongue

Though, it looks exactly like a network problem with the computer?

they are all on gigabit, hardwired. all can see each other fine, matter of fact my HTPC (with the 6770) has a lot of media on the 6870 computers drives as the HTPC is low on drive space. network (seems to anyway) run flawlessly. terracopy (which verifies transfers with MD5) copies multi gig files across the network perfectly all the time.

and, no transfers were in progress, so network saturation shouldnt be it. this latest crash was while we were at work, and previously its crashed in the middle of the night while nothing was using network except the miners. not that multigig transfers have ever bothered the miners before.

router and the 6770/6870 rigs are on UPSs too.

damn thing is the 5830 is on a POS computer, no UPS, longest ethernet run with the lowest quality cable. and it runs perfect. but with 2.2.7

go figure, eh?

switched the 6870 back to 2.2.7. left the 6770 on 2.3.1. Ill see what happens tomorrow
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 04:19:34 AM
 #4643

When it comes to the GPU Driver/ADL I'm not too helpful.

As I mentioned before I'd guess that turning on debug (-D) and verbose (--verbose) and logging the output might help shed some light

As I sorta suggested before I'll look into making a change to get the actual numbers of bad events recorded against each device and probably also the details of the last event for each device if that is possible.
Then make this available through the API with a new command (e.g. something like 'events')
This may be of help to more easily see problems like this (though it may not help resolve them)

Edit: Though - it will of course have to be on my git until ckolivas is back in action (and give me a couple of days also)
I turned on -D and--verbose using this string and running at stock:

Code:
/usr/bin/screen -dmS cgminer /opt/miners/cgminer/cgminer -D --verbose -Q 2 --api-listen --auto-fan --temp-target 75 -I 8 -o http://x http://x 2> "/root/run.`date +%Y%m%d%H%M%S`.$$.log"

cgminer started at 175 meg resident and 415 meg virtual ram utilized.  After 4 hours, its at 284 meg resident and 607 meg virtual...  gpu5 threads were the only ones restarted according to the timestamp.

The logfile was created, but is empty...

Quote
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root       0 Mar 20 16:20 run.20120320162057.3911.log
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root       0 Mar 20 16:33 run.20120320163321.3713.log
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root       0 Mar 20 23:04 run.20120320230402.8150.log


is a stderr message supposed to be generated when the thread is restarted?
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
March 21, 2012, 08:59:14 AM
 #4644

Is it efficient to use balance or rotation mode? I would like to get text alerts from a pool but I don't like putting on my hashing power there. Balance seems like a good option if LP still works correctly. Does it matter how many pools are used?
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 09:43:10 AM
 #4645

...
Code:
/usr/bin/screen -dmS cgminer /opt/miners/cgminer/cgminer -D --verbose -Q 2 --api-listen --auto-fan --temp-target 75 -I 8 -o http://x http://x 2> "/root/run.`date +%Y%m%d%H%M%S`.$$.log"
...
The logfile was created, but is empty...

Quote
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root       0 Mar 20 16:20 run.20120320162057.3911.log
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root       0 Mar 20 16:33 run.20120320163321.3713.log
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root       0 Mar 20 23:04 run.20120320230402.8150.log

Obviously, something is wrong since 2> and 2>> are the official ways to log cgminer activity.
Do you know what the mistake is?
You're galloping headfirst, launching screen and cgminer in a single step. Care to take a guess which of the two subroutines you're logging the output of?
Gotta slow down a bit there, cowboy Cheesy
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 12:41:49 PM
 #4646


Obviously, something is wrong since 2> and 2>> are the official ways to log cgminer activity.
Do you know what the mistake is?
You're galloping headfirst, launching screen and cgminer in a single step. Care to take a guess which of the two subroutines you're logging the output of?
Gotta slow down a bit there, cowboy Cheesy


Thanks Jake!  Surprisingly, that started logging  Tongue

That is in a file for a startup script...  How do I start cgminer attached to screen x in two lines?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 01:03:51 PM
 #4647


Obviously, something is wrong since 2> and 2>> are the official ways to log cgminer activity.
Do you know what the mistake is?
You're galloping headfirst, launching screen and cgminer in a single step. Care to take a guess which of the two subroutines you're logging the output of?
Gotta slow down a bit there, cowboy Cheesy


Thanks Jake!  Surprisingly, that started logging  Tongue

That is in a file for a startup script...  How do I start cgminer attached to screen x in two lines?

My cgminer.sh looks like this:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
#
now="`date +%Y%m%d%H%M%S`"
#
./cgminer-231j -S /dev/ttyUSB0 -S /dev/ttyUSB1 -Q 4 --api-port 4028 --api-listen --api-allow W:127.0.0.1,W:192.168.7.0/24 --api-description Subaru -I 9 --submit-stale --auto-fan --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 900 --gpu-memclock 775 --gpu-memdiff -125 --temp-target 70 "$@" 2> run.$now.$$.log
Just in case you wanted a hint Smiley

You must of course also
Code:
chmod +x cgminer.sh

The "$@" means I can add more arguments - like pool configurations files e.g. "./cgminer.sh -c pool.json"

Edit: so in case it wasn't obvious Smiley
Code:
/usr/bin/screen -dmS cgminer /opt/miners/cgminer/cgminer.sh
and of course cgminer.sh would have all your normal options before the "$@"

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 05:03:58 PM
 #4648

I ran at stock gpu clocks for 14 minutes and had restarts on half (3) of my gpus during this short time, increasing ram used from 175 meg to 260 meg.

Before I stopped it, I checked GPU status and only GPU 5 had its "Last Initialized" time updated.... From this screen, all other gpus appeared to never have restarted.  However, going through the log, I can see that gpu 0, 2, and 5 restarted.   The entire log file is about 1 meg... 100k zipped.  I can email it or post it somewhere if you want to look at the whole thing.

Code:
root@skynet:~# cat run.20120321105206.19993.log | grep idle
[2012-03-21 10:55:22] Device 0 idle for more than 60 seconds, GPU 0 declared SICK!
[2012-03-21 10:56:52] Device 2 idle for more than 60 seconds, GPU 2 declared SICK!
[2012-03-21 10:57:11] Device 0 idle for more than 60 seconds, GPU 0 declared SICK!
[2012-03-21 11:03:52] Device 5 idle for more than 60 seconds, GPU 5 declared SICK!
root@skynet:~# cat run.20120321105206.19993.log | grep restart
[2012-03-21 10:55:22] Attempting to restart GPU
[2012-03-21 10:55:23] Thread 0 restarted
[2012-03-21 10:55:24] Thread 1 restarted
[2012-03-21 10:56:52] Attempting to restart GPU
[2012-03-21 10:56:53] Thread 4 restarted
[2012-03-21 10:56:54] Thread 5 restarted
[2012-03-21 10:57:11] Attempting to restart GPU
[2012-03-21 10:57:12] Thread 0 restarted
[2012-03-21 10:57:13] Thread 1 restarted
[2012-03-21 11:03:52] Attempting to restart GPU
[2012-03-21 11:03:53] Thread 10 restarted
[2012-03-21 11:03:54] Thread 11 restarted

GPU 0: 331.0 / 283.9 Mh/s | A:54  R:0  HW:0  U:3.90/m  I:8
73.5 C  F: 60% (3630 RPM)  E: 725 MHz  M: 240 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 99% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-03-21 10:52:09]
Intensity: 8
Thread 0: 165.6 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 1: 165.0 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 1: 329.8 / 335.7 Mh/s | A:62  R:0  HW:0  U:4.48/m  I:8
71.5 C  F: 60% (3630 RPM)  E: 725 MHz  M: 240 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 99% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-03-21 10:52:12]
Intensity: 8
Thread 2: 164.4 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 3: 165.3 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 2: 328.8 / 307.9 Mh/s | A:60  R:0  HW:0  U:4.34/m  I:8
73.0 C  F: 54% (3329 RPM)  E: 725 MHz  M: 240 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 99% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-03-21 10:52:14]
Intensity: 8
Thread 4: 163.9 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 5: 165.3 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 3: 329.7 / 334.3 Mh/s | A:60  R:0  HW:0  U:4.34/m  I:8
74.0 C  F: 54% (3326 RPM)  E: 725 MHz  M: 240 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 99% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-03-21 10:52:16]
Intensity: 8
Thread 6: 164.9 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 7: 164.9 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 4: 335.3 / 336.7 Mh/s | A:61  R:0  HW:0  U:4.41/m  I:8
73.0 C  F: 79% (4378 RPM)  E: 735 MHz  M: 240 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 99% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-03-21 10:52:19]
Intensity: 8
Thread 8: 168.0 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 9: 165.6 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 5: 334.1 / 309.8 Mh/s | A:61  R:0  HW:0  U:4.41/m  I:8
74.5 C  F: 79% (4378 RPM)  E: 735 MHz  M: 240 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 99% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-03-21 11:03:54]
Intensity: 8
Thread 10: 177.9 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 11: 158.3 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE


boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 10:16:50 PM
 #4649

As a follow up... I decided to try a different pool aside from gpumax.  I've ran stable with overclocks for about 5 hours now.  Seems like some problem with cgminer and gpumax, but only on my 5970 rigs.  I have the same version of cgminer running on the same linux version on my two 7970 rigs and it seems to work fine....  so it appears to be isolated to my dual gpu 5970 rigs...
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 10:49:23 PM
 #4650

Then also the simple check about ADL being enabled - you do see GPU Temp/RPM as you said before?

If you don't have network API access enabled, but do have just --api-listen (like your command line shows) then on each machine:
Code:
echo -n "config" | nc -4 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo

... and compare all 3 computers.

I'm actually only asking this coz it seems strange that the GPUs are running amok and it really does sound similar to ADL not working.
But of course you have already said it is working but ... well ... that command is another way to verify it.

I guess the other possibility is that when gpumax does let the cards go idle from a getwork perspective of having nothing to do, something in cgminer could be getting confused about the cards status ... but that is just a guess since (as I've mentioned before) I've not looked closely at the internal Driver/ADL code that handles the card status/problems (and I got that idle bit wrong before as ckolivas pointed out)
If I get a chance today to add storing some of that info and making it available in the API I may know a bit more about it then Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 11:21:25 PM
 #4651

I am supposed to put some switch before the number 4?

Code:
# echo -n "config" | nc -4 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo
nc: invalid option -- '4'
nc -h for help
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 11:24:20 PM
 #4652

I am supposed to put some switch before the number 4?

Code:
# echo -n "config" | nc -4 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo
nc: invalid option -- '4'
nc -h for help

Well you can ignore the -4 option (remove it) - but I guess you must have a really old version of nc?
What does "uname -r" say on that computer? (and what OS version is it?)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 22, 2012, 06:00:56 AM
 #4653

As a follow up... I decided to try a different pool aside from gpumax.  I've ran stable with overclocks for about 5 hours now.  Seems like some problem with cgminer and gpumax, but only on my 5970 rigs.  I have the same version of cgminer running on the same linux version on my two 7970 rigs and it seems to work fine....  so it appears to be isolated to my dual gpu 5970 rigs...
Auto fan control was known broken in the last release of cgminer for 5970 and this was causing problems for people on 5970s with spontaneous restarts due to unexpected overheats. I don't think I released a newer release version with the fix for it. If you download and build the latest git tarball and build from that you can get that fix. Alternatively, disabling auto fan control should have the same effect.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
March 22, 2012, 09:21:02 AM
 #4654

Alright, my previous attempt at giving info on new drivers in this thread was squashed...let's try again.  Wink

AMD Cataliyst 12.4 OpenCL 1.2 (8.960.0 March 15) AMD Official BETA

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=360362
http://developer.amd.com/Downloads/OpenCL1.2betadriversWindows.exe

Edit:  amdocl(64).dll is version 10.0.923.1
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
March 22, 2012, 11:45:25 AM
 #4655

Hi, I'm sure I am doing something really stupid but I can't get my 3x 7970s over 200 MHash/S each.
Running 12.2 driver and the newest version of cgminer.
Is there anything extra I need to do for 7970? I used cgminner for all my other cards. Thanks.
Wow, with that much information I can only suggest that you change ANYTHING, starting with cgminer kernel configuration and ending with the whole OS Roll Eyes

EDIT::In case you missed it, a lot of GCN-related info can be found here and here.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 22, 2012, 01:29:13 PM
 #4656

poclbm should give you the best performance on a 7970 if using 12.2 and 2.6 SDK
If you are using something else - change to 12.2/2.6 Smiley
(Installing 12.2 includes the 2.6 SDK)
To select the poclbm kernel you add: -k poclbm

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
martona
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
March 22, 2012, 02:11:50 PM
 #4657


I would assume this is a false positive, but I guess it doesn't hurt to ask official advice. MS Security Essentials didn't pick up on anything but AVG did.

https://www.cubby.com/p/8c849545ea534c4ba327b94a2e6ff980/avg-cgminer.png
Raize
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1374


View Profile
March 22, 2012, 03:04:25 PM
 #4658

What is "Cubby"?

OrganofCorti's Neighbourhood Pool Watch - The most informative website on blockchain health
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
March 22, 2012, 03:21:15 PM
 #4659

What is "Cubby"?
A piece of software by LogMeIn

Martona, if you got the executable from Con's homepage, you should be safe.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 22, 2012, 04:44:25 PM
 #4660

I am supposed to put some switch before the number 4?

Code:
# echo -n "config" | nc -4 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo
nc: invalid option -- '4'
nc -h for help

Quoting you again Smiley
I've put a few commits in my git:
 https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/
that add a simple device history that is accessible via the new API command 'notify'

Compiling my git reports itself as 2.3.1k

You can see it with
Code:
echo -n notify | nc 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo

The base code change adds a few extra fields and counters to the device structure (that are all reported by the API)
Including: per device: last well time, last not well time, last not well reason, and counters for each of the reasons meaning how many times they have happened (e.g. Device Over Heat count, Device Thermal Cutoff count among others)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: « 1 ... 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 [233] 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!