Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:22:19 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 [263] 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4822300 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Zenitur
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 368


View Profile
May 01, 2012, 12:31:22 PM
 #5241

Well all I can guess is there must be something wrong with your compiler or something messed up about your git pull/clone or some issue with the ./configure options you used.

The "die:" label has been there since 2011-11-24 (go to https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blame/master/api.c to check for yourself)
Also the code compiles fine on quite a few architectures including xubuntu, fedora 16, debian, MinGW on windows
I've even just done another git pull and compiled it.

What git pull/clone command did you use and what ./configure command did you use?

If you pulled on top of an old version, make sure you './autogen.sh' './configure --xxx' and 'make clean' again before compiling.

I have not used GIT to get the latest copy of CGMINER. I've downloaded all archives of 2.3.x versions of it, and tried to compile in Debian 5.0 "Lenny". All versions before 2.3.4 compiled successfully.
1481170939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170939
Reply with quote  #2

1481170939
Report to moderator
1481170939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170939
Reply with quote  #2

1481170939
Report to moderator
1481170939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170939
Reply with quote  #2

1481170939
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481170939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170939
Reply with quote  #2

1481170939
Report to moderator
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 01, 2012, 01:52:54 PM
 #5242

I've run into that problem.  Try:

make clean
./autogen.sh
./configure
make


If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
May 01, 2012, 03:07:59 PM
 #5243

I have not used GIT to get the latest copy of CGMINER. I've downloaded all archives of 2.3.x versions of it, and tried to compile in Debian 5.0 "Lenny". All versions before 2.3.4 compiled successfully.

In case Inaba's suggestion doesn't work, could you try the latest git pull to see if that compiles? And if not, do a git bisect to trace the commit that is causing your problems?

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
Tinua
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 870



View Profile
May 01, 2012, 04:56:34 PM
 #5244

cgminer does not seem to detect my connected bfl single ... is there a setting that i'm missing?
If you are in Windows, your basic command line should look something like this:

Code:
cgminer -o <pool> -u <user> -p <pass> --disable-gpu -S COM6

The '-S COM6' is the relevant part for your Single. It happens to be COM6 for me, but it will likely be something else for you.

You'll need to open up Device Manager, go to the Ports section, and you should see an entry that looks like 'USB Serial Port (COMx)'. Whatever 'COMx' is in your case, that's what you put into cgminer's '-S COMx' setting. Then your Single should be detected.

edit: I should add that if your COM port is greater than 9, you need to use the 'longhand' form for cgminer. So if, for example, your assigned COM port for your Single was COM12, your command line would need to look like this:

Code:
cgminer -o <pool> -u <user> -p <pass> --disable-gpu -S \\.\COM12

Hi folks

If I connect more then 10 BFL's....cgminer crash by starting?Huh
If I start 2 instances of cgminer with <10 BFL's ....cgminer run??
Any idee why?
System: Win8 x64, CGminer 2.3.6

Many thanks for help!
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
May 01, 2012, 05:04:13 PM
 #5245

Using cgminer 2.3.2
Cgminer hangs or freezes, the curl display is unresponsive not accepting any keyboard commands, mining has stopped, system is not frozen or locked up.
What is the recommended method to start up mining again?
Is it OK to 'kill <cgminer pid>' before starting a new session?

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 01, 2012, 05:05:46 PM
 #5246

Hi folks

If I connect more then 10 BFL's....cgminer crash down after 2 second?Huh
If I start 2 instances of cgminer with <10 BFL's ....cgminer run??
Any idee why?
System: Win8 x64, CGminer 2.3.6

Many thanks for help!

Post more details.  Are you mining on GPUs or just BFLs? What crashes?
Do you have an exception?  What is the exception offset?
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
May 01, 2012, 05:09:10 PM
 #5247

cgminer does not seem to detect my connected bfl single ... is there a setting that i'm missing?
If you are in Windows, your basic command line should look something like this:

Code:
cgminer -o <pool> -u <user> -p <pass> --disable-gpu -S COM6

The '-S COM6' is the relevant part for your Single. It happens to be COM6 for me, but it will likely be something else for you.

You'll need to open up Device Manager, go to the Ports section, and you should see an entry that looks like 'USB Serial Port (COMx)'. Whatever 'COMx' is in your case, that's what you put into cgminer's '-S COMx' setting. Then your Single should be detected.

edit: I should add that if your COM port is greater than 9, you need to use the 'longhand' form for cgminer. So if, for example, your assigned COM port for your Single was COM12, your command line would need to look like this:

Code:
cgminer -o <pool> -u <user> -p <pass> --disable-gpu -S \\.\COM12

Hi folks

If I connect more then 10 BFL's....cgminer crash by starting?Huh
If I start 2 instances of cgminer with <10 BFL's ....cgminer run??
Any idee why?
System: Win8 x64, CGminer 2.3.6

Many thanks for help!
Before anyone bashes him on using Windows 8, I would like to say I'm using Windows 8 to mine, with cgminer, and it's working flawlessly.  Mind you I don't have FPGA's or 10+ devices, though.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 01, 2012, 05:11:10 PM
 #5248

/**FPGA's will not take over once I release my Zero-Point Energy Generator. The enrergy it produces will be free, but the device is gonna cost you.  Cool Cheesy

The environmentalist nut cases will never allow that.  Smiley

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 01, 2012, 05:14:35 PM
 #5249

Using cgminer 2.3.2
Cgminer hangs or freezes, the curl display is unresponsive not accepting any keyboard commands, mining has stopped, system is not frozen or locked up.
What is the recommended method to start up mining again?
Is it OK to 'kill <cgminer pid>' before starting a new session?


APIs work?  Send "quit" command.

Sounds like a deadlock somewhere. If nothing works, just kill it and reboot.
Tinua
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 870



View Profile
May 01, 2012, 06:15:08 PM
 #5250

Hi folks

If I connect more then 10 BFL's....cgminer crash down after 2 second?Huh
If I start 2 instances of cgminer with <10 BFL's ....cgminer run??
Any idee why?
System: Win8 x64, CGminer 2.3.6

Many thanks for help!

Post more details.  Are you mining on GPUs or just BFLs? What crashes?
Do you have an exception?  What is the exception offset?

Hi
1. Starting cgminer.bat
Code:
cgminer1 -o http://pool1:8332 -u worker -p pass -o http://pool2:8332 -u name -p pass --disable-gpu -S COM5 -S COM6 -S COM7 -S COM8 -S \\.\COM9 -S \\.\COM10 -S \\.\COM11 -S \\.\COM12 -S \\.\COM13 -S \\.\COM54 -S \\.\COM55 -S \\.\COM56 -S \\.\COM57 -S \\.\COM58 -S \\.\COM59

2. cgminer starting:
Code:
[2012-05-01 19:41:05] Started cgminer 2.3.6
[2012-05-01 19:41:07] Found 0 ztex board(s)    

3. Windowsbox coming:
Code:
cgminer1.exe not working anymore.....blablabla

Means....cgminer crashing
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 01, 2012, 06:31:52 PM
 #5251

3. Windowsbox coming:
Code:
cgminer1.exe not working anymore.....blablabla

Means....cgminer crashing

Put a screenshot of that message box.  The blah, blah part is what I'd like to see.

The detection of PGAs is something that should be fixed.  Users should be able to say, I want these com ports to use BFLs, and the other ones to use
ZTEX or Icarus.  

I think that might be something luke_jr can add to bfgminer as it looks like cgminer is blindly trying to guess what is connected to COM ports.
(and failing).  Putting device type in the config file for each COM port would speed up detection and hopefully eliminate these issues.

Doing BFL detection on ZTEX or Icarus is just asking for it.  Users know what they have connected to each port, so let them add that in the config file.
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
May 01, 2012, 06:36:10 PM
 #5252

The detection of PGAs is something that should be fixed.  Users should be able to say, I want these com ports to use BFLs, and the other ones to use
ZTEX or Icarus. 

I think that might be something luke_jr can add to bfgminer as it looks like cgminer is blindly trying to guess what is connected to COM ports.
(and failing).  Putting device type in the config file for each COM port would speed up detection and hopefully eliminate these issues.

Doing ZTEX detection on BFL or Icarus is just asking for it.  Users know what they have connected to each port, so let them add that in the config file.

Here you go. Smiley

The detection code is quite straight forward for each FPGA.

If you wish to force it to be specifically BFL or ICA you can e.g. "-S bitforce:COM6" or "-S icarus:COM6"
ZTX detection is completely different so there is no real overlap (you don't specify the ztex devices, it always directly detects them)

It checks for BFL first:
It sends it a command (ZGX) which the BFL replies and is checked for the string "SHA256" in it - part of the reply is also where the "Model" in the API command 'devdetails' comes from

Next it checks for Icarus:
It simply just sends it some work and waits 0.1s for the answer
(I checked the block chain for a low nonce and found Ozcoin block 171874 nonce = (0xa2870100) = 0x000187a2 takes ~0.53ms on Rev3 Icarus to be the lowest nonce in the thousands I got a script to look at until the script bugged out)
This is mandatory for ICA since there is no identification anywhere other than the USB device identification
(which course could be used by other non Icarus devices since it's not unique)

Thus with that code (above) the ordering naturally should be BFL first and ICA 2nd if you don't specify "-S bitforce:COM6" or "-S icarus:COM6"

ZTX is detect third since that was added 3rd (though I might consider moving it up to first since it's very direct how it works and unlikely to ever affect any other device)
You don't specify -S for ZTX

Edit: for auto detection of course ZTX is always auto
ICA doesn't ever do auto
BFL does auto only in linux and only when you specify -S auto - however it has 2 methods:
 1) where it looks in /dev/serial/by-id (which can sometimes only show 1 BFL on some linux versions if you have more than 1 BFL)
 2) by libudev checking the USB Model when libudev is compiled in

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 01, 2012, 06:39:17 PM
 #5253


Here you go. Smiley

...
Thus with that code (above) the ordering naturally should be BFL first and ICA 2nd if you don't specify "-S bitforce:COM6" or "-S icarus:COM6"
...

Then the bitforce detection is broken as Tinua has reported.

Tinua try putting -S bitforce:COMXX
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 01, 2012, 06:47:07 PM
 #5254


Here you go. Smiley

...
Thus with that code (above) the ordering naturally should be BFL first and ICA 2nd if you don't specify "-S bitforce:COM6" or "-S icarus:COM6"
...

Then the bitforce detection is broken as Tinua has reported.

Tinua try putting -S bitforce:COMXX
As my post Krak quoted above states, there is no Bitforce auto detection in windows ... yet.
(I haven't got my BFL yet either)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
May 01, 2012, 06:48:49 PM
 #5255

Then the bitforce detection is broken as this user has reported.
Why do you conclude that? I don't see where Tinua has reported broken bitforce detection. The only reference to any FPGA in Tinua's posted output is this:

Code:
[2012-05-01 19:41:07] Found 0 ztex board(s)

As per Kano's explanation of how detection works, the above reference to ztex is not unexpected and does not indicate an error. FWIW I get the same startup message for my Single setup (also using --disable-gpu), except cgminer doesn't crash after that.

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 01, 2012, 06:51:49 PM
 #5256


Here you go. Smiley

...
Thus with that code (above) the ordering naturally should be BFL first and ICA 2nd if you don't specify "-S bitforce:COM6" or "-S icarus:COM6"
...

Then the bitforce detection is broken as Tinua has reported.

Tinua try putting -S bitforce:COMXX
As my post Krak quoted above states, there is no Bitforce auto detection in windows ... yet.
(I haven't got my BFL yet either)

Kano, the user was not using auto detection.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 01, 2012, 06:56:31 PM
 #5257


Here you go. Smiley

...
Thus with that code (above) the ordering naturally should be BFL first and ICA 2nd if you don't specify "-S bitforce:COM6" or "-S icarus:COM6"
...

Then the bitforce detection is broken as Tinua has reported.

Tinua try putting -S bitforce:COMXX
Bitforce is checked first in cgminer (but not in that 'other' one) so I wonder if that might have something to do with it?

So although your suggestion makes it clear what it is doing, it won't make any difference.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 01, 2012, 06:59:01 PM
 #5258

Hi folks

If I connect more then 10 BFL's....cgminer crash down after 2 second?Huh
If I start 2 instances of cgminer with <10 BFL's ....cgminer run??
Any idee why?
System: Win8 x64, CGminer 2.3.6

Many thanks for help!

Post more details.  Are you mining on GPUs or just BFLs? What crashes?
Do you have an exception?  What is the exception offset?

Also, details of where you got the windows binary from?
(if you go it from anywhere but http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-2.3.6-win32.zip ?)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Tinua
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 870



View Profile
May 01, 2012, 07:08:13 PM
 #5259

Hi folks

If I connect more then 10 BFL's....cgminer crash down after 2 second?Huh
If I start 2 instances of cgminer with <10 BFL's ....cgminer run??
Any idee why?
System: Win8 x64, CGminer 2.3.6

Many thanks for help!

Post more details.  Are you mining on GPUs or just BFLs? What crashes?
Do you have an exception?  What is the exception offset?

Also, details of where you got the windows binary from?
(if you go it from anywhere but http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-2.3.6-win32.zip ?)
I loaded from kolivas-server

The funny is:
- 10 BFL's with 1 instance working
- 11 BFL's with 1 instance crashing
- 1x 8 BFL's and 1x 7 BFL's together with 2 instances working

@af_newbie
"-S bitforce:COMXX" crashing also with more then 10 BFL's
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
May 01, 2012, 07:17:58 PM
 #5260

I loaded from kolivas-server

The funny is:
- 10 BFL's with 1 instance working
- 11 BFL's with 1 instance crashing
- 1x 8 BFL's and 1x 7 BFL's together with 2 instances working

@af_newbie
"-S bitforce:COMXX" crashing also with more then 10 BFL's

I will set up an 11-unit cluster with 1 instance of cgminer 2.3.6 when I get home later this evening and try to reproduce the issue you are having (if no solution or confirmation is found by then).

I am running Win7/64, not Win8/64, so if it works for me we cannot conclude much. But if I confirm a crash with 11 Singles on Win7/64 (as you've done on Win8/64) then it points to a problem with cgminer.

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
Pages: « 1 ... 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 [263] 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!