Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 03:55:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 [243] 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4824882 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 11, 2012, 12:23:22 PM
 #4841

Why not leave autofan on ?

That way it maintains a constant temperature for the GPUs which should be good for longer-term usage.


auto-gpu also maintains constant temperature and keeps fan at a constant speed.

Also I think everyone is missing the point: auto-gpu vs auto-fan isn't the issue.

cgminer is showing REST.  Which indicates it has idled a GPU but the GPU continues to burn away at 100% load.  If you had a fan failure for example and that bug occurred it would indicate REST but the GPU would continue at 100% load until it destroyed the core.

1481298933
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481298933

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481298933
Reply with quote  #2

1481298933
Report to moderator
1481298933
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481298933

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481298933
Reply with quote  #2

1481298933
Report to moderator
1481298933
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481298933

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481298933
Reply with quote  #2

1481298933
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481298933
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481298933

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481298933
Reply with quote  #2

1481298933
Report to moderator
1481298933
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481298933

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481298933
Reply with quote  #2

1481298933
Report to moderator
1481298933
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481298933

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481298933
Reply with quote  #2

1481298933
Report to moderator
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 11, 2012, 12:25:13 PM
 #4842

After starting cgminer, is it safe to delete the .bin-files or will that break functionality?
Reason is I want to run cgminer from one folder on different machines (dropbox folder) and they don't have the same SDK installed.

Yes.  bin file is simply a cached copy of the compiled kernel.  Once a copy of the kernel has been loaded by the GPUs the bin file isn't used until the next start of cgminer.

BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
April 11, 2012, 12:29:37 PM
 #4843

Why not leave autofan on ?

That way it maintains a constant temperature for the GPUs which should be good for longer-term usage.
Default ati algorithm is better imo and save fan & gpu for longer-term usage as well. With cgminer's autofan on they're less efficient. For example, when 50% is enough for one card for keeping good temp, cgminer switch it to 60%. Or when more speed is needed to keep temp below 69C ati algo spinning it at 48%, and keeping great temp., cgminer switch it to 40% and gpu starting to slowly overheating. These are real examples from my rig. So no, thanks.
 And yes, as DeathAndTaxes said, auto-fan don't fix the bug.

Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
April 12, 2012, 03:41:34 AM
 #4844

I have a segfault issue id like to see if anyone can help me fix. The segfault only happens when I try to use the 2.4, or 2.5 SDK Drivers with the 12.3 drivers, on Debian/unstable. What is odd is even when I recompile with the 2.6 SDK it still doesn't work I have to reinstall the drivers to get it to stop segfaulting. Witch leads me to believe I'm doing something wrong with the SDKs, Although I switch between 2.4, and 2.5 without an issue using a stable build of Debian with older ATI drivers, so I'm basically at a loss.

Im using a single 5850 on this machine., and cgminer compiles fine, and even shows the correct SDK loaded when I compile for 2.4. The 2.5 just flat out segfaults even with -n.

Id really like to get the 2.4/2.5 SDK working with the 12.3 drivers if possible.

Thanks

Doff


















-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2012, 05:56:27 AM
 #4845

I have a segfault issue id like to see if anyone can help me fix. The segfault only happens when I try to use the 2.4, or 2.5 SDK Drivers with the 12.3 drivers, on Debian/unstable. What is odd is even when I recompile with the 2.6 SDK it still doesn't work I have to reinstall the drivers to get it to stop segfaulting. Witch leads me to believe I'm doing something wrong with the SDKs, Although I switch between 2.4, and 2.5 without an issue using a stable build of Debian with older ATI drivers, so I'm basically at a loss.

Im using a single 5850 on this machine., and cgminer compiles fine, and even shows the correct SDK loaded when I compile for 2.4. The 2.5 just flat out segfaults even with -n.

Id really like to get the 2.4/2.5 SDK working with the 12.3 drivers if possible.

Thanks

Doff
12.3 is your problem. It's a stinker. Drop down to 12.1 or 12.2 if you need 79x0 support.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2012, 05:59:03 AM
 #4846

Woke up to a hung cgminer Sad 0% activity and no hashing

The log below hasn't changed in the last 5 hours, so I've restarted cgminer (had to X out of the window, as "q" wasn't working)

GPU 0/1 = 5970
GPU 2 = 5830
GPU 3 = 5830
GPU 4 = 5830

[2012-04-09 04:07:28] Accepted 00000000.398219cb.0ccf2195 GPU 4 thread 9
[2012-04-09 04:07:30] Accepted 00000000.5bb7eedb.2e813ef8 GPU 3 thread 7
[2012-04-09 04:07:30] GPU 3 stopped reporting fanspeed
[2012-04-09 04:07:30] Will attempt to re-initialise ADL
[2012-04-09 04:07:30] ADL re-initialisation complete
[2012-04-09 04:07:32] Accepted 00000000.031c03e9.d02f5836 GPU 3 thread 6
[2012-04-09 04:07:32] GPU 3 stopped reporting fanspeed
[2012-04-09 04:07:32] Will attempt to re-initialise ADL
[2012-04-09 04:07:32] ADL re-initialisation complete
Well that settles it, I cannot successfully re-initialise ADL. I haven't said it for a while since I've been away for a week, but thanks AMD  Roll Eyes

I guess the other solution is for cgminer to completely restart with all its original settings. Would people like cgminer to attempt to do this? The problem with doing this unconditionally is that if a GPU has hung, usually the other GPUs can keep mining, but if you try to stop cgminer, they all stop mining. So I would need to make it try to restart itself from scratch only if it hasn't got a dead GPU. Comments?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2012, 06:00:47 AM
 #4847

Huge issue with cgminer cant shut down gpu if its overheats. Cgminer trying it to disable the gpu over and over again, but its continuing to mine!
 
 
I must have broken it when I instituted the REST followed by restart if it detected overheat. Unless of course it overheated, cooled enough and then restarted over and over again in short bursts? Was it submitting shares at the same rate?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2012, 06:06:14 AM
 #4848

I'm a bit out of the loop, but, did something drastic change in 2.3.2 ?

I have rigs reporting as high as 170% Efficiency right now, with 125-150% being the average range for the others.

Win7 x64, CGMiner 2.3.2
5 rigs each with either SDK 2.1 or 2.4 and CAT 11.12 on all.
Mixed 5xxx/6xxx series card machines, exclusive 5xxx series card machines and exclusive 6xxx series card machines.

The performance is not specific to any card/config. The ONLY thing they all have in common is the 11.12 driver and CGminer version 2.3.2.

WTF ?

I double checked and didn't rely on the Efficiency% readout only. The ratio of GetWork's to Accepted's (even with Rejected included/excluded) does not lie.

Colour me impressed Wink
I'm guessing your pool operator just changed software or settings at their end. The efficiency shouldn't have changed much from 2.3.1 to 2.3.2

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2012, 06:11:35 AM
 #4849

Why not leave autofan on ?

That way it maintains a constant temperature for the GPUs which should be good for longer-term usage.
Default ati algorithm is better imo and save fan & gpu for longer-term usage as well. With cgminer's autofan on they're less efficient. For example, when 50% is enough for one card for keeping good temp, cgminer switch it to 60%. Or when more speed is needed to keep temp below 69C ati algo spinning it at 48%, and keeping great temp., cgminer switch it to 40% and gpu starting to slowly overheating. These are real examples from my rig. So no, thanks.
 And yes, as DeathAndTaxes said, auto-fan don't fix the bug.
That's funny. Cgminer only goes to the temperature you choose and if you don't choose a temperature, it will use 75 degrees, so of course it will go over 69C. Unless of course you set 69 C.
* ckolivas shrugs

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
April 13, 2012, 06:36:30 AM
 #4850

blabla
Well that settles it, I cannot successfully re-initialise ADL. I haven't said it for a while since I've been away for a week, but thanks AMD  Roll Eyes

I guess the other solution is for cgminer to completely restart with all its original settings. Would people like cgminer to attempt to do this? The problem with doing this unconditionally is that if a GPU has hung, usually the other GPUs can keep mining, but if you try to stop cgminer, they all stop mining. So I would need to make it try to restart itself from scratch only if it hasn't got a dead GPU. Comments?

Yes, I would like to see this ;-) Also, restart with all stats still available if possible ;-)

I will donate 10 BTC for this feature ;-)

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2012, 09:47:49 AM
 #4851

blabla
Well that settles it, I cannot successfully re-initialise ADL. I haven't said it for a while since I've been away for a week, but thanks AMD  Roll Eyes

I guess the other solution is for cgminer to completely restart with all its original settings. Would people like cgminer to attempt to do this? The problem with doing this unconditionally is that if a GPU has hung, usually the other GPUs can keep mining, but if you try to stop cgminer, they all stop mining. So I would need to make it try to restart itself from scratch only if it hasn't got a dead GPU. Comments?

Yes, I would like to see this ;-) Also, restart with all stats still available if possible ;-)

I will donate 10 BTC for this feature ;-)
Restart with all stats carried over might be more than a little messy, and much more prone to failure...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
April 13, 2012, 12:49:35 PM
 #4852

Huge issue with cgminer cant shut down gpu if its overheats. Cgminer trying it to disable the gpu over and over again, but its continuing to mine!
 
 
I must have broken it when I instituted the REST followed by restart if it detected overheat. Unless of course it overheated, cooled enough and then restarted over and over again in short bursts? Was it submitting shares at the same rate?
No, it never stops, shares are submitted with same speed at same temp. I've tested identical config with 2.2.1 and it worked without any issues.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2012, 03:00:58 PM
 #4853

I must have broken it when I instituted the REST followed by restart if it detected overheat. Unless of course it overheated, cooled enough and then restarted over and over again in short bursts? Was it submitting shares at the same rate?
No, it never stops, shares are submitted with same speed at same temp. I've tested identical config with 2.2.1 and it worked without any issues.
Okay thanks. I have reviewed the code in question and indeed it would not cut out. I have fixed this bug in the current git tree.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2012, 10:33:17 PM
 #4854

Kano,

You've got in the devs list, 'ID' and 'BFL'/'ICA' etc. to give us some number. What's the difference between these numbers? Are they equivilent, or might you get something like:
ID 0, BFL 0
ID 1, BFL 1
ID 2, ICA 0
...

And when you request data with gpu|N or PGA|N, is that N 'ID' or 'BFL'/'ICA' etc?

Thanks
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 14, 2012, 01:38:19 AM
 #4855

Kano,

You've got in the devs list, 'ID' and 'BFL'/'ICA' etc. to give us some number. What's the difference between these numbers? Are they equivilent, or might you get something like:
ID 0, BFL 0
ID 1, BFL 1
ID 2, ICA 0
...

And when you request data with gpu|N or PGA|N, is that N 'ID' or 'BFL'/'ICA' etc?

Thanks
Not quite Smiley It's:
PGA, Name, ID

The PGA number starts at 0 and goes up to the number of PGA devices -1
The ID matches the order on the screen - and it's the cgminer internal sequential device_id

The point of PGA is that you send PGA only commands and they refer to the PGA devices in device_id order but not skipping numbers.
Thus it's always just a simple number range starting at 0.

So on my rig (2x6950 + 2xIcarus):
GPU=0,...|
GPU=1,...|
PGA=0,Name=ICA,ID=2,...|
PGA=1,Name=ICA,ID=3,...|

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
April 14, 2012, 01:44:26 AM
 #4856

I get the same error in on 12.1, 12.2, and 12.3 Sad I even thought maybe I didn't unzip my files in root or something and redid all the SDKs but no luck.

2.4 Looks like it will almost work then Segfaults just about as it looks like its going to LP. Is there more debugging info I can provide somehow? -n just goes right to segfault with 2.5, and 2.4 actually looks like it works when you -n but doesn't once you start it up.

Sigh..

I have a segfault issue id like to see if anyone can help me fix. The segfault only happens when I try to use the 2.4, or 2.5 SDK Drivers with the 12.3 drivers, on Debian/unstable. What is odd is even when I recompile with the 2.6 SDK it still doesn't work I have to reinstall the drivers to get it to stop segfaulting. Witch leads me to believe I'm doing something wrong with the SDKs, Although I switch between 2.4, and 2.5 without an issue using a stable build of Debian with older ATI drivers, so I'm basically at a loss.

Im using a single 5850 on this machine., and cgminer compiles fine, and even shows the correct SDK loaded when I compile for 2.4. The 2.5 just flat out segfaults even with -n.

Id really like to get the 2.4/2.5 SDK working with the 12.3 drivers if possible.

Thanks

Doff
12.3 is your problem. It's a stinker. Drop down to 12.1 or 12.2 if you need 79x0 support.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 14, 2012, 01:47:34 AM
 #4857

I get the same error in on 12.1, 12.2, and 12.3 Sad I even thought maybe I didn't unzip my files in root or something and redid all the SDKs but no luck.

2.4 Looks like it will almost work then Segfaults just about as it looks like its going to LP. Is there more debugging info I can provide somehow? -n just goes right to segfault with 2.5, and 2.4 actually looks like it works when you -n but doesn't once you start it up.

Sigh..

Basically the issue is you have a corrupt sdk installation, usually a mixture of files from multiple SDKs and not a complete installation of any one. You've gotta clear it all out somehow...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Internet151
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174



View Profile
April 14, 2012, 05:56:38 AM
 #4858

I updated cgminer from version 2.3.1 to 2.3.2 on a few of my windows 7 machines recently, and let it run for over 8 days straight (which is around when ADL normally fails). Now instead of just ADL failing, cgminer completly stops hashing and refuses to respond to any keyboard input, but the API still works.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 14, 2012, 06:23:41 AM
 #4859

I updated cgminer from version 2.3.1 to 2.3.2 on a few of my windows 7 machines recently, and let it run for over 8 days straight (which is around when ADL normally fails). Now instead of just ADL failing, cgminer completly stops hashing and refuses to respond to any keyboard input, but the API still works.
Bug's been mentioned. Working on it now.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
freakfantom
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73



View Profile
April 14, 2012, 06:24:21 AM
 #4860

I updated cgminer from version 2.3.1 to 2.3.2 on a few of my windows 7 machines recently, and let it run for over 8 days straight (which is around when ADL normally fails). Now instead of just ADL failing, cgminer completly stops hashing and refuses to respond to any keyboard input, but the API still works.

It's true. So I just restart cgminer every seven days, usually on saturdays lol
Pages: « 1 ... 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 [243] 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!