Bitcoin Forum
July 23, 2018, 12:33:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 [288] 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5757020 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
bal3wolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 438
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 06:53:13 AM
 #5741

Any tweaks for a 5870 and 5970 mining i tried it and i got alot less ouput then using GUIminer with Phoenix v1.6.2 using these flags on Phoenix v1.6.2 -k phatk2 VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP AGGRESSION=7 i get 480 on the 5870 and 430 on each 5970 gpu.  My 5870 is clocked at 1070mhz/700mhz and the 5970 is clocked at 970mhz/500mhz.

                                                                               
                
                                                       ╓▄▌██P                  
                                                 ╔▄▌███▀███▌                   
                                           ▄▄▌██▀▀╚  ╓██╩██                    
                                     ▄▄███▀▀╙      ▄██  ▓█                     
                               ▄▌███▀▀+          ▄█▀   ▐█                      
                        ,▄▌███▀▀¬              ▓█▀     █▄                      
                  ,▄▌███▀▀                  ,██▀      █▌                       
               '█████▌▄▄,                 ╓██╩       ██                        
                  ▀██▌▐▀▀▀█████▌▌▄▄╓    ▄██¬        ▄█                         
                     ▀██▄        ╚▀▀▀████          ▐█═                         
                        ▀██▄        ▓█▀██          █▀                          
                           ▀██▄  ,██▀   █µ        ██                           
                              ▀███Z     ██       ██                            
                                ▐██     ▐█      ▄█                             
                              ,,╓╓█▓▄▌   █▌    ▐█U                             
                        º▄▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓███   ▀█    █▌                              
                          ▀█▓▓▓▓▓████▀█▌  █▌  ██                               
                            ▀███████▌  ▀█µ▀█ ██                                
                              ▀█████     ███▓█                                 
                                ▐███      ▀██Ñ                                 
                                            ▀                             

1532349190
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532349190

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532349190
Reply with quote  #2

1532349190
Report to moderator
fair bitcoin games | pvp - pve - solo pve games | faucet |
Free satoshi code btcoon500
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532349190
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532349190

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532349190
Reply with quote  #2

1532349190
Report to moderator
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
June 08, 2012, 10:15:23 AM
 #5742

I have a serious performance problem with my mining setup that I'm hoping someone here can help with.

First of all, it isn't a dedicated miner - it's my desktop PC at work, running Windows 7 64-bit. I have a pair of HD 6670's in it, one is driving two monitors, the other is dedicated to mining. Before I screwed it up today, I was getting decent performance - about 110-115 Mhash/sec from both cards (the card driving the monitors was set at dynamic, the other card at 9). I was running Catalyst driver version 12.4 and after doing some reading here decided to downgrade to 11.6, the recommended version for mining.

So I uninstalled 12.4, rebooted, installed 11.6, rebooted again, and suddenly my performance plummeted to about 30-40 Mhash/sec on the card driving the monitors and about 13-14 on the secondary card! I found out that I needed to disable ULPS, so I did but that didn't make any difference.

So then I decided to revert back to the driver version that I was running before that was getting decent performance (even though it isn't the recommended version). I went through the whole uninstall, reboot, reinstall, etc. -- making sure I removed every trace of Catalyst I could find (including all "ATI" and "AMD" keys in the registry) in between. I'm still getting shit mining performance. I'm at a loss on what to try next. Any ideas? I'll be happy to post my config and any more info you need.

On a side note, does anyone have the FirePro V4900, and does it work with cgminer? How's its performance? I'm probably getting a new PC at work in a few weeks, and that's what's on the specs sheet for it.

Sad to see yet ANOTHER person stealing employer resources. Hope you get fired ...



A couple people reported this post to me. Honestly, I can't see anything wrong with it. Don't steal resources from your employers, the rest of us will be more than happy to turn you in.

timbck2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 01:08:05 PM
 #5743

A couple people reported this post to me. Honestly, I can't see anything wrong with it. Don't steal resources from your employers, the rest of us will be more than happy to turn you in.

At best, that post was off topic and abusive.

My PC is on 24/7 anyway, and having it mine while I work isn't consuming any more resources or reducing my productivity. After hours, it's perhaps using a little more power than it would otherwise.

I don't even know why I'm explaining or defending myself to you people, frankly it's none of your damn business.
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 382
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 01:37:01 PM
 #5744

A couple people reported this post to me. Honestly, I can't see anything wrong with it. Don't steal resources from your employers, the rest of us will be more than happy to turn you in.

At best, that post was off topic and abusive.

My PC is on 24/7 anyway, and having it mine while I work isn't consuming any more resources or reducing my productivity. After hours, it's perhaps using a little more power than it would otherwise.

I don't even know why I'm explaining or defending myself to you people, frankly it's none of your damn business.

It became other peoples business when you asked other people to help you steal from your employer.

Unless you have asked your employers permission after first explaining that it will use a substantial amount of electricity then it is stealing.

Hashing on GPU's uses way more electricity than one would on a normal work day and night (24 hours a day as you mentioned above).

Bitcoin has had many hurdles because of nefarious people and this kind of activity is another example of something that can turn people to thinking that it (Bitcoin) is bad.

The reason you are explaining/defending yourself is that you need to justify to yourself that you are doing nothing wrong despite knowing that it is wrong.

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
brox
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 10



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 01:52:40 PM
 #5745

Can anyone recommend me which ATI Catalyst version works well with Ubuntu 12.04 and cgminer 2.4.2?

Save dolphins! Donate to 1BTC4brox2pd14QubXGsXwarp9zV9tc8CZ
Mine Bitcoins in the cloud at cex.io
timbck2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 02:49:37 PM
 #5746

It became other peoples business when you asked other people to help you steal from your employer.

In my 20+ years of being involved in various online groups of some sort or another (first it was BBS's, then Listservs, then Usenet, and now online forums), I've never encountered a "community" as unhelpful and as vitriolic as this one. And that's saying a lot.

I think my "situation" hit a little too close to home for some, and that's why they have reacted in the hateful, uncalled-for manner in which they did.

Now let's get back on topic.
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 03:04:32 PM
 #5747

A couple people reported this post to me. Honestly, I can't see anything wrong with it. Don't steal resources from your employers, the rest of us will be more than happy to turn you in.

At best, that post was off topic and abusive.

My PC is on 24/7 anyway, and having it mine while I work isn't consuming any more resources or reducing my productivity. After hours, it's perhaps using a little more power than it would otherwise.

I don't even know why I'm explaining or defending myself to you people, frankly it's none of your damn business.

It became other peoples business when you asked other people to help you steal from your employer.

Unless you have asked your employers permission after first explaining that it will use a substantial amount of electricity then it is stealing.

Hashing on GPU's uses way more electricity than one would on a normal work day and night (24 hours a day as you mentioned above).

Bitcoin has had many hurdles because of nefarious people and this kind of activity is another example of something that can turn people to thinking that it (Bitcoin) is bad.

The reason you are explaining/defending yourself is that you need to justify to yourself that you are doing nothing wrong despite knowing that it is wrong.


Exactly. We don't encourage you stealing employer resources here in this community.

Helpful hint for stealing from employers : instead of mining ( slow stealing ) just grab a spare RAM stick from the computer. Or steal a PSU and sell it on eBay or just plain steal the whole desktop and claim aliens abducted it !
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 1039



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 03:28:09 PM
 #5748

I have a serious performance problem with my mining setup that I'm hoping someone here can help with.

First of all, it isn't a dedicated miner - it's my desktop PC, running Windows 7 64-bit. I have a pair of HD 6670's in it, one is driving two monitors, the other is dedicated to mining. Before I screwed it up today, I was getting decent performance - about 110-115 Mhash/sec from both cards (the card driving the monitors was set at dynamic, the other card at 9). I was running Catalyst driver version 12.4 and after doing some reading here decided to downgrade to 11.6, the recommended version for mining.

So I uninstalled 12.4, rebooted, installed 11.6, rebooted again, and suddenly my performance plummeted to about 30-40 Mhash/sec on the card driving the monitors and about 13-14 on the secondary card! I found out that I needed to disable ULPS, so I did but that didn't make any difference.

So then I decided to revert back to the driver version that I was running before that was getting decent performance (even though it isn't the recommended version). I went through the whole uninstall, reboot, reinstall, etc. -- making sure I removed every trace of Catalyst I could find (including all "ATI" and "AMD" keys in the registry) in between. I'm still getting shit mining performance. I'm at a loss on what to try next. Any ideas? I'll be happy to post my config and any more info you need.

On a side note, does anyone have the FirePro V4900, and does it work with cgminer? How's its performance? I'm probably getting a new PC in a few weeks, and that's what's on the specs sheet for it.

FirePro V4900 should work with any opencl miner, including cgminer.  You can probably get 100-120 Mh/s out of it. Hint: 480 stream cores same as HD 6670

re: your problem with slower performance

Download afterburner:

http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm

unlock it:

http://forums.overclockersclub.com/index.php?showtopic=182403

See if you can set the core/memory clocks to where you want them to be.

If AB cannot reset the clocks, flash the BIOS with techpowerup images and try again.

Your clocks were probably locked when you down/upgraded.


kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1045


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 10:41:42 PM
 #5749

It became other peoples business when you asked other people to help you steal from your employer.

In my 20+ years of being involved in various online groups of some sort or another (first it was BBS's, then Listservs, then Usenet, and now online forums), I've never encountered a "community" as unhelpful and as vitriolic as this one. And that's saying a lot.

I think my "situation" hit a little too close to home for some, and that's why they have reacted in the hateful, uncalled-for manner in which they did.

Now let's get back on topic.
No, the issue is as simple as stated before, you are doing something that you can EXPECT people to not want to help you with.
Asking people to help you steal something is quite a REASONABLE reason to respond negatively to your request.
It is certainly NOT "uncalled-for"

You're a noob here, get with the program.

P.S. many people here have been online for 20 years ... there's nothing special about that on this forum.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 08, 2012, 11:46:30 PM
 #5750

Calm down guys, for fuck's sake it's not like he's a botnet operator asking for help (which has happened).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
June 09, 2012, 06:20:05 PM
 #5751

So after updating to 2.4.2, I decided to try switching to 2 threads per GPU again. The problem is still there; my display GPU starts to function really slowly, both mining and drawing my desktop. It's on dynamic intensity which means it's still only running on 1 thread, right? Why would enabling 2 threads affect it at all?

I have my .sh script set to run the export commands:

Code:
#!/bin/sh

export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1
export DISPLAY=:0
~/Dropbox/cgminer/cgminer -c ~/Dropbox/cgminer/cgminer.conf

Is that maybe my problem? Not sure what could possibly be causing this.
Thought I'd post a screenshot of my GPU status page to show what's going on. I tried switching the intensities so that the non-display GPU was on dynamic intensity and the same thing happened to that card. They're both 6870s, but I run the display GPU a little slower because it has a tendency to run a bit hotter than the other one.


BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
fabrizziop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 11, 2012, 10:36:37 AM
 #5752

Hi. I'm having some issues, I don't know if it's because of the miner or the pool. When my miner(cgminer 2.4.2) detects by longpoll a new block, the following shares are rejected(like 10). I'm having total 6% rejects because of this. Does anyone experiences that?(I'm with Slush)
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1045


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 11, 2012, 11:07:14 AM
 #5753

Hi. I'm having some issues, I don't know if it's because of the miner or the pool. When my miner(cgminer 2.4.2) detects by longpoll a new block, the following shares are rejected(like 10). I'm having total 6% rejects because of this. Does anyone experiences that?(I'm with Slush)
What hardware and what worker hash rates?
The hash rates matter coz on slush the lower your worker hash rate the later you get the LP.
(so yes you will certainly get more stales if your worker hash rate is lower than average on slush)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
fabrizziop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 11, 2012, 05:28:07 PM
 #5754

Hi. I'm having some issues, I don't know if it's because of the miner or the pool. When my miner(cgminer 2.4.2) detects by longpoll a new block, the following shares are rejected(like 10). I'm having total 6% rejects because of this. Does anyone experiences that?(I'm with Slush)
What hardware and what worker hash rates?
The hash rates matter coz on slush the lower your worker hash rate the later you get the LP.
(so yes you will certainly get more stales if your worker hash rate is lower than average on slush)

I have total 2300 MH/s working, I'm having troubles with my 1300 MH/s rig and both of my 500 MH/s rigs.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1045


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 11, 2012, 09:36:43 PM
 #5755

Hi. I'm having some issues, I don't know if it's because of the miner or the pool. When my miner(cgminer 2.4.2) detects by longpoll a new block, the following shares are rejected(like 10). I'm having total 6% rejects because of this. Does anyone experiences that?(I'm with Slush)
What hardware and what worker hash rates?
The hash rates matter coz on slush the lower your worker hash rate the later you get the LP.
(so yes you will certainly get more stales if your worker hash rate is lower than average on slush)

I have total 2300 MH/s working, I'm having troubles with my 1300 MH/s rig and both of my 500 MH/s rigs.
Try a different pool then.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=14085.0
and see if that makes a difference.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
June 11, 2012, 10:16:53 PM
 #5756

Try a different pool then.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=14085.0
and see if that makes a difference.
I'm liking MaxBTC a bit more right now. Lower ping for me and I just like supporting smaller pools. I am sending half of my Namecoins to Ozcoin though. Smiley

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
dave3
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 344
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 07:30:47 AM
 #5757

Do you know how long the primary pool has to be down before cgminer will switch to the backup pool in failover-only mode?  And is there a setting somewhere to adjust it?

Thanks.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324
Merit: 1022


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2012, 07:42:29 AM
 #5758

Can someone please help with cgminer and 4 BFLs in windows?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=87116
Thank you Smiley

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1045


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 08:14:20 AM
 #5759

I have a pull request up to tidy this up and maybe fix your problem:
 https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/pull/215
If you come to FreeNode IRC #cgminer I'll give you a windows executable compiled with that pull request
My IRC name is kanoi (and I'm one of the two ops in #cgminer - ckolivas (aka conman) is the other of course)
.. and we can see if it sorts it out for you Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626
Merit: 500


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
June 12, 2012, 11:09:52 AM
 #5760

Can someone please help with cgminer and 4 BFLs in windows?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=87116
Thank you Smiley

I would verify that the BFL's are seen in device manager under ports and note what COM they are listed under.

This is what is working for me with Win7 x64, cgminer 2.4.2, (1) 5870, & (4) BFL Singles.

Code:
cgminer.exe -u worker -p pass -o site:8332 -S bitforce://./COM4 -S bitforce://./COM5 -S bitforce://./COM6 -S bitforce://./COM7 --intensity 9 --auto-fan --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 875 --gpu-memclock 500
Pages: « 1 ... 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 [288] 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!