Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 05:19:56 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 [323] 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4825837 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 08:48:51 AM
 #6441

...
Kano,

any news on Zefir's patch (test found shares and incremente HW: even for FPGAs if they're not ok)?

spiccioli
No, I haven't done it yet.
Zefir's patch obviously isn't how it should be handled properly, but it's OK to use for yourself since it doesn't cause any problems.

As I pointed out in the other thread, I thought it was internally done automatically, but since it isn't, the relevant solution seems to be to add a device api interface for it.

Since that will affect all devices, I'm leaving it until 2.6.x is out of flux due to the BFL issues.
(I not a git guru and usually end up having to redo things when the code is changing - so I avoid it)
I'll post a message in the other thread when it's done.

Basically, yes, when changed it will report HW: errors (which it doesn't at the moment - they just get a message "Share below target")

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
1481347196
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347196

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347196
Reply with quote  #2

1481347196
Report to moderator
1481347196
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347196

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347196
Reply with quote  #2

1481347196
Report to moderator
1481347196
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347196

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347196
Reply with quote  #2

1481347196
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481347196
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347196

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347196
Reply with quote  #2

1481347196
Report to moderator
1481347196
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347196

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347196
Reply with quote  #2

1481347196
Report to moderator
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
August 06, 2012, 08:57:16 AM
 #6442


It doesn't apply my overclock settings and gives me this message on startup, wondering how I would code to fix it if possible:

"ADL found less devices than opencl!
There is possibly more than one display attached to a GPU
Use the gpu map featured to reliably map OpenCL to ADL"
Hardware monitoring may NOT match up with devices!

what OS are you using? if linux, before running cgminer enter:

Code:
$ export DISPLAY=:0

Doesn't show temperature of my cards which is a real problem and makes me have to rely on other overclock software

Have you installed the ADL SDK from AMD? did you copy the appropriate header files into the cgminer ADL directory before compiling?

http://developer.amd.com/sdks/ADLSDK/Pages/default.aspx

Wait wait wait...what is that?

previously always told to get driver 12.X and SDK 2.X, then told get newest driver 12.6 and use it's built in SDK, is this SDK or something more?

Whatever would be able to let radeon's be detected by software fully when no display is plugged into then, as this should increase slightly the Mhash

Right now I have my main display hooked to onboard and extended the desktop with black background to one off the radeon, otherwise CGMINER doesn't see it properly gives those errors and can't auto fan tune and even MSI afterburner doesn't work

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
farfie
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58



View Profile
August 06, 2012, 09:20:58 AM
 #6443

Wait wait wait...what is that?

previously always told to get driver 12.X and SDK 2.X, then told get newest driver 12.6 and use it's built in SDK, is this SDK or something more?

Whatever would be able to let radeon's be detected by software fully when no display is plugged into then, as this should increase slightly the Mhash

Right now I have my main display hooked to onboard and extended the desktop with black background to one off the radeon, otherwise CGMINER doesn't see it properly gives those errors and can't auto fan tune and even MSI afterburner doesn't work

I'm not sure anyone ever recommended the newest drivers/SDK for CGMiner. I remember back when DiabloMiner came out with that update where he wanted people to start doing that, but that's it. Are you sure you're not thinking of that?

Anyway ck, I've given both 2.6.2. and 2.6.3 (using Ubuntu x64 now) a decent test run, nothing too groundbreaking in terms of testing length, but it seems pretty obvious very early on that I don't get results that can compare with 2.5.0. U with my Ubuntu host has dropped from ~847 to about ~823 over about.. oh.. 10 hours or so of testing?
I also had one of my singles start throttling on me (not related to 2.6.3), so I brought it to a Windows machine (Windows 8 actually, heh, the 'leaked" Enterprise RTM) for tuning, and decided to take the opportunity to also test 2.5.0 vs 2.6.3 on here. Again, the U from 2.6.3 is about 11 exactly, and on 2.5.0 is 11.30 on the 832 firmware which is where this single ended up.

Just here to give some experience, not throw fud around - I love the ideas being put in and hopefully we will see them through to fruition.

Perhaps the newer versions require more time to average out their shown rates?
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 09:31:05 AM
 #6444

Perhaps then you have a few files from different SDKs installed. That's usually how segfaults occur. You'll have to go through and do a cleanup. The newer AMD drivers automatically install the SDK themselves.
I know, that's why I'm having the problem. But how do you get the driver to install without the SDK or at least remove the SDK that it installs? Gah, now I gotta remember how I cleaned up all these files last time...

If windows, you can select "custom" instead of "express" when installing or uninstalling.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 06, 2012, 09:32:16 AM
 #6445

That's really funny/sad/disappointing/pissing me off. Apart from being able to recover from hardware errors, it seems that there is nothing good about all the BFL fixes that went into 2.6.x so far even though 2.5.0 was littered with bugs. The only way I can imagine that the U is lower with the new code is that you are having lots of throttling episodes and it is now throwing out the work during those throttling episodes in an attempt to try and recover - this should be obvious because 2.6.3 will throw a hardware error if it does that. There really isn't anything else that should affect utility that I can think of. Perhaps it's actually keeping the device busier for more sustained periods and it throttles more as a result. Do you get any hardware errors?
EDIT: Oh and usual comment about utility being related to luck till thousands of shares have passed.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
August 06, 2012, 09:32:57 AM
 #6446

If windows, you can select "custom" instead of "express" when installing or uninstalling.
I'm on Ubuntu and I can select custom when I install the driver, but every option besides the Catalyst control center is grayed out.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
dave3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 11:36:23 AM
 #6447

I am getting a lot of "This program has stopped working and will be shutdown" with 2.6.3.  Running windows X32 7 on 13 different miner rigs with 5970, 7970, and some BFL singles.  Both the 7970 rigs and 5970 rigs are getting the error, I have reverted back to 2.6.2, and haven't had issues.  Just thought I'd share.

I compiled cgminer 2.6.3 for windows (windows 7 64 bit), and had it running for 5-6 hours and ran into the same problem.  It didn't just crash so the .bat file could restart it;  it seemed to be stuck there until I clicked "Close program."

Here's a screenshot:


-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 06, 2012, 11:42:54 AM
 #6448

Well I *have* seen reports of new instability with cgminer that people running certain antivirus programs ran into (?avast or something).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
August 06, 2012, 11:48:18 AM
 #6449

I am getting a lot of "This program has stopped working and will be shutdown" with 2.6.3.  Running windows X32 7 on 13 different miner rigs with 5970, 7970, and some BFL singles.  Both the 7970 rigs and 5970 rigs are getting the error, I have reverted back to 2.6.2, and haven't had issues.  Just thought I'd share.

I compiled cgminer 2.6.3 for windows (windows 7 64 bit), and had it running for 5-6 hours and ran into the same problem.  It didn't just crash so the .bat file could restart it;  it seemed to be stuck there until I clicked "Close program."

Here's a screenshot:


First off even seen your screenshot of cgminer crashing is frightening Tongue

I'm on win7 64-bit home no antivirus, 5970's running cgminer over 24-hours with no crashes

Edit/retoractive reply: the guy 'auctioneeeeer' apparently had rigs withouth BFL's and crashing, under 32-bit windows.

to clarify i'm using 2.6.3 of course

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
dave3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 12:00:45 PM
 #6450

Well I *have* seen reports of new instability with cgminer that people running certain antivirus programs ran into (?avast or something).

I'm running AVG, but the cgminer directory is excluded.  I haven't had any other versions of cgminer crash like that before.  I went back to 2.6.2 for now.

First off even seen your screenshot of cgminer crashing is frightening Tongue

I'm on win7 64-bit home no antivirus, 5970's running cgminer over 24-hours with no crashes

This is something new with 2.6.3.  I haven't had this sort of crash with older versions.

I compile it for bitforce support only, so it won't require any special graphics drivers, since I'm only using it for 2 BFL singles.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 06, 2012, 12:07:59 PM
 #6451

Well I *have* seen reports of new instability with cgminer that people running certain antivirus programs ran into (?avast or something).

I'm running AVG, but the cgminer directory is excluded.  I haven't had any other versions of cgminer crash like that before.  I went back to 2.6.2 for now.

Just telling you what I've seen, and different versions get a different response from the same antivirus software. Quite sure AVG was mentioned and only gets better with a full uninstall, but it's up to you how to tackle it. I only recommend microsoft security essentials, but I'm not a windows person by nature. Even games like HL2 have the same issues... https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=9402-MKEN-1517

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 02:21:37 PM
 #6452

I am getting a lot of "This program has stopped working and will be shutdown" with 2.6.3.  Running windows X32 7 on 13 different miner rigs with 5970, 7970, and some BFL singles.  Both the 7970 rigs and 5970 rigs are getting the error, I have reverted back to 2.6.2, and haven't had issues.  Just thought I'd share.

I had this happen as well on a 2.6.3 test rig, Win 7 x64: (Was running 2.5.0 prior without issue.)
Code:
Faulting application name: cgminer.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x501e265c
Faulting module name: libcurl-4.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4f460f95
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000061c7
Faulting process id: 0x4050
Faulting application start time: 0x01cd73772469323e
Faulting application path: C:\cgminer-2.6.3-win32\cgminer.exe
Faulting module path: C:\cgminer-2.6.3-win32\libcurl-4.dll
Report Id: 9abfd399-dfc4-11e1-b5d9-bcaec569c129
auctioneeeeer
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 249


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 02:24:44 PM
 #6453

It happened on my BFL rig last night, same error as before, it had uptime of about 1.5 days before.  Now all 13 of my rigs have done this, back on 2.5 and everything is stable.
dave3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 02:52:53 PM
 #6454

I found this in the event log, too (from the 2.6.3 crash):

Code:
Faulting application name: cgminer.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x501f5dba
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7601.17725, time stamp: 0x4ec49b8f
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0002dfe4
Faulting process id: 0x1d0
Faulting application start time: 0x01cd7399902a3c50
Faulting application path: C:\cgminer\cgminer.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ntdll.dll
auctioneeeeer
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 249


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 03:49:54 PM
 #6455

Here is my log as well from the crash from one of my rigs:

Log Name:      Application
Source:        Application Error
Date:          8/6/2012 3:43:22 AM
Event ID:      1000
Task Category: (100)
Level:         Error
Keywords:      Classic
User:          N/A
Computer:      spklsf4
Description:
Faulting application name: cgminer.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x501e265c
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7601.17725, time stamp: 0x4ec49b8f
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0002dfe4
Faulting process id: 0x107c
Faulting application start time: 0x01cd73311a165c2a
Faulting application path: C:\Users\jensen\Desktop\cgminer-2.6.3-win32\cgminer.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ntdll.dll
misternoodle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108



View Profile
August 06, 2012, 04:45:22 PM
 #6456

So I've tried setting up scrypt in CGminer but regardless of what pool I use it hangs on Longpoll activated.  

http://imgur.com/LumIV

Am I missing something?

I've tried this on 2 of my systems and it's the same.
muqali
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 05:34:40 PM
 #6457

So I've tried setting up scrypt in CGminer but regardless of what pool I use it hangs on Longpoll activated.  

http://imgur.com/LumIV

Am I missing something?

I've tried this on 2 of my systems and it's the same.

I'm using W7 x64 and having no issues with scrypt on what is my initial run with it. 24 hours and going now.

donations BTC: 1CaCwo4xneTqTLEdomW76Cg5NteZyvXi1c
donations LTC: LTcasvjtLuN92ks1Pc1qtkvE9PswsXEbev
cyberlync
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 226



View Profile
August 06, 2012, 05:57:13 PM
 #6458

Faulting application name: cgminer.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x501e265c
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7601.17725, time stamp: 0x4ec49b60
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00052c39
Faulting process id: 0x210
Faulting application start time: 0x01cd737050196b5f
Faulting application path: C:\Users\1\Desktop\cgminer-2.6.3-win32\cgminer.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll

edit: Running on win7 32bit, no bfl's, just gpu's, 58xx series.

Giving away your BTC's? Send 'em here: 1F7XgercyaXeDHiuq31YzrVK5YAhbDkJhf
nitrox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


tester


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 06:02:46 PM
 #6459

windows 7 x64
driver 12.06
SDK 2.7
cgminer 2.6.3 - crash every 5 - 6 hours
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Log Name:      Application
Source:        Application Error
Date:          06.08.2012 00:18:45
Event ID:      1000
Task Category: (100)
Level:         Error
Keywords:      Classic
User:          N/A
Computer:      MINER
Description:
Faulting application name: cgminer.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x501e265c
Faulting module name: libcurl-4.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4f460f95
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000147d8
Faulting process id: 0x4f0
Faulting application start time: 0x01cd7344c2481a40
Faulting application path: D:\mining\cgminer\cgminer.exe
Faulting module path: D:\mining\cgminer\libcurl-4.dll
Report Id: 234bd240-df43-11e1-8745-001d60c3d47b
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

back to cgminer 2.6.2

Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
August 06, 2012, 06:04:18 PM
 #6460

If you guys install DrMingw, you'll get a Debug button on crashes that will dump a stack trace, which is usually much more useful than Windows's crash info.

Pages: « 1 ... 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 [323] 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!