Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 06:48:11 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 [273] 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4814762 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 02:12:53 PM
 #5441

...
Updated git tree:
I've added dynamic adjustment of intensity for usage on a normal desktop. This flag is enabled by default and tests to ensure the GPU is constantly available for desktop use and will scale intensity down when you are watching a movie, gaming or just about any other intense GPU usage, and scale it up when otherwise idle. This is best disabled on dedicated miners:
...
The difference can be quite dramatic in terms of how much smoother the desktop is, and how much higher the throughput is when it's idle.

I just switched over from Diablo on my work PC, and I have to say this is the one of the coolest things about cgminer.  I don't have to kill my miner whenever I'm doing graphic intense work (2x or 3x a day).  Kudos.

I'll send you some bitcents when next I access my wallet (from cold storage) Wink

Thanks for some great software!
Glad you appreciate it. I think it's one of the most underrated features myself too since most miners tend to just use dedicated rigs. Just remember you can also tune the intensity of the dynamic mode as well with the --gpu-dyninterval option.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1480747691
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747691

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747691
Reply with quote  #2

1480747691
Report to moderator
"This isn't the kind of software where we can leave so many unresolved bugs that we need a tracker for them." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480747691
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747691

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747691
Reply with quote  #2

1480747691
Report to moderator
1480747691
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747691

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747691
Reply with quote  #2

1480747691
Report to moderator
1480747691
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747691

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747691
Reply with quote  #2

1480747691
Report to moderator
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 10, 2012, 03:18:17 PM
 #5442

Is it possible to have an option like --computer-restart, to restart the computer when it detects a sick/dead card?
I a aware there is a gpu restart, but this would be a nice option for me too.

That's not possible in a cross platform way. It's not even possible to cleanly close cgminer once a driver has crashed (dead device). You need to use the API or log to monitor it happening and use an external program to do that.

AniceInovation,

If you are running cgminer on Windows, you could try my akbash watchdog.  It will do what you wanted (and more).
ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 04:14:21 PM
 #5443

I'm on windows 7 and use cgminer and it works flawless.

However I wonder if it's difficult to setup the configuration file so that I don't need to put in data manually every time I restart cgminer?

so currently I put in manually the server, username, password, engine, memory and intensitivty.

But if it's easy to do this things into the config file I would rather do that Smiley

edit---> my A to R ratio is 2%, so 2% rejected, is that good?
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 04:56:28 PM
 #5444

Well, I think I am reporting the first casualty of the new LP handling method of CGMiner.  After struggling with my pool servers for the past few days, I've come to the conclusion that the new CGminer is "flooding" the server with LP requests.  Previously, before the LP changes, there would be ~800 or so LP watchers per server.  After the change, there is now more than 3000 LP watchers per server and the servers were struggling to keep up with LPs when they hit, causing stale shares and non/slow response until it was caught up.

I'm redoing the servers to handle LPs more gracefully (thanks to Luke-Jr/Eloipool!)... but I figured I'd make a post in case any other pool ops are suddenly struggling to figure out why their servers might be sluggish during LPs. 

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
DILLIGAF
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
May 10, 2012, 07:30:12 PM
 #5445

I'm on windows 7 and use cgminer and it works flawless.

However I wonder if it's difficult to setup the configuration file so that I don't need to put in data manually every time I restart cgminer?

so currently I put in manually the server, username, password, engine, memory and intensitivty.

But if it's easy to do this things into the config file I would rather do that Smiley

edit---> my A to R ratio is 2%, so 2% rejected, is that good?

There is option in there to save your configuration to file you can use that once you have everything in place and running to get a config file made for you.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 07:39:38 PM
 #5446

However I wonder if it's difficult to setup the configuration file so that I don't need to put in data manually every time I restart cgminer?

start cgminer w/ options from command line.  when it loads click (S) for settings and then (W) for write config file.  You don't need to give it a name just press enter (default is cgminer.conf).  Open it up in notepad and verify for acuracy.  To start in the future just double click cgminer.exe (or put it in the startup folder) and it will load the default config automatically.

Quote
edit---> my A to R ratio is 2%, so 2% rejected, is that good?

Technically your R% is R / (A + R) but the difference is likely minor.
If you are sick 1 day and went to work 4 days you were sick 1 / (1+4) = 1/5th of the days (not 1/4). Smiley

Well technically technically what you really want to look at is ( R + SS ) / (A + R +SS)
although that is less of an issue now since I think cgminer submits all stales by default.



os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 08:00:23 PM
 #5447

However I wonder if it's difficult to setup the configuration file so that I don't need to put in data manually every time I restart cgminer?

Personally I like the using the command line options and create a .bat file.  Look in post #1 and go to the executive summary section for common command line options/suggestions.

Once you get a configuration you like, I understand, you can then write that to a config file and get rid of the command line options.  But I don't do that.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 08:34:06 PM
 #5448

not the default log info up top. the per device info below it. You know generic all your craps info then a line
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
then something like BFL 0 56.2 811.1/796(avg) blah blah blah......
How long of a time is the 811.1 in my example calculated over? not the uppper one I can read it. the single Unit one.
Same.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 524


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 09:12:40 PM
 #5449

just to hopefully explain why I asked. Wouldn't the numbers match on a machine with 1 single and nothing else if they are over the same time period with the same calculation rate? I ask because mine didn't match last night. Today it matches sometimes and others the top reads less then 500 to over 1200 the single unit line reads 856-858. So the actual calculation of the data is different maybe. I can only see two ways for the same data to give two answers.
Thanks

I appreciate donations at ( 1NwkQdmomQPLtdes5KuZhB1D22p7ZGRy4p )
If I am helping in the CGMiner thread give it to Con or Kano. They do the work there.
If you want to sign up for a coinbase account I would appreciate it if you use my referral link. US people now wire, 1% fee give or take a little for sending to your bank account. https://coinbase.com/?r=515bf6145682db9d11000028&utm_campaign=user-referral&src=
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 09:58:14 PM
 #5450

just to hopefully explain why I asked. Wouldn't the numbers match on a machine with 1 single and nothing else if they are over the same time period with the same calculation rate? I ask because mine didn't match last night. Today it matches sometimes and others the top reads less then 500 to over 1200 the single unit line reads 856-858. So the actual calculation of the data is different maybe. I can only see two ways for the same data to give two answers.
Thanks
Slightly different. The first number on per-device is updated differently and is more a current average rather than over any particular time period. Even the global 5s value is not truly a 5s value, it just decays over 5 seconds.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 10:00:00 PM
 #5451

Well, I think I am reporting the first casualty of the new LP handling method of CGMiner.  After struggling with my pool servers for the past few days, I've come to the conclusion that the new CGminer is "flooding" the server with LP requests.  Previously, before the LP changes, there would be ~800 or so LP watchers per server.  After the change, there is now more than 3000 LP watchers per server and the servers were struggling to keep up with LPs when they hit, causing stale shares and non/slow response until it was caught up.

I'm redoing the servers to handle LPs more gracefully (thanks to Luke-Jr/Eloipool!)... but I figured I'd make a post in case any other pool ops are suddenly struggling to figure out why their servers might be sluggish during LPs. 
Interesting.  Is this because each client is sending more LP requests, or is it just because anyone with EMC as a backup pool is now requesting a longpoll regardless of whether they're currently connected or not?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 10:45:14 PM
 #5452

Cgminer hangs again. Could this be an issue with Sempron CPU's? Running a Sempron 145.

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 11:17:59 PM
 #5453

Cgminer hangs again. Could this be an issue with Sempron CPU's? Running a Sempron 145.

I doubt it, I've been running  rings on 145's for several months now.  Never had a cgminer hang that wasn't directly related to a card settings bork up.

You aren't trying to run it with an unlocked core or odd frequency settings by any chance?

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 11:29:17 PM
 #5454

Kano,
Do you have a list of each version of your API, and what it adds? Change log type thing?
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 12:00:00 AM
 #5455

Cgminer hangs again. Could this be an issue with Sempron CPU's? Running a Sempron 145.

I doubt it, I've been running  rings on 145's for several months now.  Never had a cgminer hang that wasn't directly related to a card settings bork up.

You aren't trying to run it with an unlocked core or odd frequency settings by any chance?

I have a 5970 with one unstable core. I run it at 825 engine and 260 memclock. Any engine clock higher than that or memclock lower than that and the system freezes. The other core is happy at 875/220. SSH/screen other terminals are fine but unable to kill the cgminer process and restart.
Could it be other processes interfering with cgminer or confusing it? What would cause multiple sshd's to run, multiple udisk to run?

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 12:15:46 AM
 #5456

Kano,
Do you have a list of each version of your API, and what it adds? Change log type thing?
NEWS file

I'm pretty certain I've changed the version number every time for a new release with new commands or new data.

Edit: also - it's highly consistent from one version to the next - new fields are added to the end - the order is never changed ... with CGMiner

Edit2: hmm looks like some of the NEWS descriptions don't say the actual API version numbers very often
(I guess I'll need to check the git why ...)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 12:35:53 AM
 #5457

Yeah, Think the API should have it's own section detailing it's changes separately from CGminer.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 02:23:57 AM
 #5458

I just upgraded from 2.3.6 to 2.4.1.  I upgraded because I had annoying problem.  Every so often cgminer would forget I have a keyboard.  It would continually happily mine away, showing on the screen what it was doing.  But it no longer accepted keyboard commands.  To change, or quit, I'd have to terminate it, and restart it.  Then it would work fine again, until it once again forgot I had a keyboard.

On windows 7 64-bit.

Cgminer hangs again. Could this be an issue with Sempron CPU's? Running a Sempron 145.

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 12:35:16 PM
 #5459

Well, I think I am reporting the first casualty of the new LP handling method of CGMiner.  After struggling with my pool servers for the past few days, I've come to the conclusion that the new CGminer is "flooding" the server with LP requests.  Previously, before the LP changes, there would be ~800 or so LP watchers per server.  After the change, there is now more than 3000 LP watchers per server and the servers were struggling to keep up with LPs when they hit, causing stale shares and non/slow response until it was caught up.

I'm redoing the servers to handle LPs more gracefully (thanks to Luke-Jr/Eloipool!)... but I figured I'd make a post in case any other pool ops are suddenly struggling to figure out why their servers might be sluggish during LPs. 
Interesting.  Is this because each client is sending more LP requests, or is it just because anyone with EMC as a backup pool is now requesting a longpoll regardless of whether they're currently connected or not?

I'm not sure which reason accounts for the increase, but I have a feeling it's because EMC is used as a backup for a lot of people, so the latter is likely the more likely explanation.  Hit over 5000 LP watchers on one server last night during a few long polls.  We normally only have about 1000 active miners give or take a few hundred at any given time.


If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 12:43:37 PM
 #5460

I'm not sure which reason accounts for the increase, but I have a feeling it's because EMC is used as a backup for a lot of people, so the latter is likely the more likely explanation.  Hit over 5000 LP watchers on one server last night during a few long polls.  We normally only have about 1000 active miners give or take a few hundred at any given time.

Maybe a less invasive method would be for cgminer to delay the getwork on backup pools by a few seconds (and do so randomly)?

So time 0 your would see your 1000 or so active users send getwork and then spread out over the next x seconds randomly requests would come from the other 4000 or so users. 
Pages: « 1 ... 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 [273] 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!