Bitcoin Forum
September 26, 2017, 04:16:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 [273] 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 ... 838 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5487908 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 04:14:21 PM
 #5441

I'm on windows 7 and use cgminer and it works flawless.

However I wonder if it's difficult to setup the configuration file so that I don't need to put in data manually every time I restart cgminer?

so currently I put in manually the server, username, password, engine, memory and intensitivty.

But if it's easy to do this things into the config file I would rather do that Smiley

edit---> my A to R ratio is 2%, so 2% rejected, is that good?
          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
.
|
.
|
          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
unthy
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506399369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506399369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506399369
Reply with quote  #2

1506399369
Report to moderator
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 04:56:28 PM
 #5442

Well, I think I am reporting the first casualty of the new LP handling method of CGMiner.  After struggling with my pool servers for the past few days, I've come to the conclusion that the new CGminer is "flooding" the server with LP requests.  Previously, before the LP changes, there would be ~800 or so LP watchers per server.  After the change, there is now more than 3000 LP watchers per server and the servers were struggling to keep up with LPs when they hit, causing stale shares and non/slow response until it was caught up.

I'm redoing the servers to handle LPs more gracefully (thanks to Luke-Jr/Eloipool!)... but I figured I'd make a post in case any other pool ops are suddenly struggling to figure out why their servers might be sluggish during LPs. 

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
DILLIGAF
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
May 10, 2012, 07:30:12 PM
 #5443

I'm on windows 7 and use cgminer and it works flawless.

However I wonder if it's difficult to setup the configuration file so that I don't need to put in data manually every time I restart cgminer?

so currently I put in manually the server, username, password, engine, memory and intensitivty.

But if it's easy to do this things into the config file I would rather do that Smiley

edit---> my A to R ratio is 2%, so 2% rejected, is that good?

There is option in there to save your configuration to file you can use that once you have everything in place and running to get a config file made for you.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 07:39:38 PM
 #5444

However I wonder if it's difficult to setup the configuration file so that I don't need to put in data manually every time I restart cgminer?

start cgminer w/ options from command line.  when it loads click (S) for settings and then (W) for write config file.  You don't need to give it a name just press enter (default is cgminer.conf).  Open it up in notepad and verify for acuracy.  To start in the future just double click cgminer.exe (or put it in the startup folder) and it will load the default config automatically.

Quote
edit---> my A to R ratio is 2%, so 2% rejected, is that good?

Technically your R% is R / (A + R) but the difference is likely minor.
If you are sick 1 day and went to work 4 days you were sick 1 / (1+4) = 1/5th of the days (not 1/4). Smiley

Well technically technically what you really want to look at is ( R + SS ) / (A + R +SS)
although that is less of an issue now since I think cgminer submits all stales by default.



os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 08:00:23 PM
 #5445

However I wonder if it's difficult to setup the configuration file so that I don't need to put in data manually every time I restart cgminer?

Personally I like the using the command line options and create a .bat file.  Look in post #1 and go to the executive summary section for common command line options/suggestions.

Once you get a configuration you like, I understand, you can then write that to a config file and get rid of the command line options.  But I don't do that.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 08:34:06 PM
 #5446

not the default log info up top. the per device info below it. You know generic all your craps info then a line
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
then something like BFL 0 56.2 811.1/796(avg) blah blah blah......
How long of a time is the 811.1 in my example calculated over? not the uppper one I can read it. the single Unit one.
Same.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 662


CHANGE - First Decentralised Global Crypto Bank


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 09:12:40 PM
 #5447

just to hopefully explain why I asked. Wouldn't the numbers match on a machine with 1 single and nothing else if they are over the same time period with the same calculation rate? I ask because mine didn't match last night. Today it matches sometimes and others the top reads less then 500 to over 1200 the single unit line reads 856-858. So the actual calculation of the data is different maybe. I can only see two ways for the same data to give two answers.
Thanks

CHANGE FINANCE First Decentralised Global Crypto Bank
LINK TO ICO | LINK TO DISCUSSION
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 09:58:14 PM
 #5448

just to hopefully explain why I asked. Wouldn't the numbers match on a machine with 1 single and nothing else if they are over the same time period with the same calculation rate? I ask because mine didn't match last night. Today it matches sometimes and others the top reads less then 500 to over 1200 the single unit line reads 856-858. So the actual calculation of the data is different maybe. I can only see two ways for the same data to give two answers.
Thanks
Slightly different. The first number on per-device is updated differently and is more a current average rather than over any particular time period. Even the global 5s value is not truly a 5s value, it just decays over 5 seconds.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 10:00:00 PM
 #5449

Well, I think I am reporting the first casualty of the new LP handling method of CGMiner.  After struggling with my pool servers for the past few days, I've come to the conclusion that the new CGminer is "flooding" the server with LP requests.  Previously, before the LP changes, there would be ~800 or so LP watchers per server.  After the change, there is now more than 3000 LP watchers per server and the servers were struggling to keep up with LPs when they hit, causing stale shares and non/slow response until it was caught up.

I'm redoing the servers to handle LPs more gracefully (thanks to Luke-Jr/Eloipool!)... but I figured I'd make a post in case any other pool ops are suddenly struggling to figure out why their servers might be sluggish during LPs. 
Interesting.  Is this because each client is sending more LP requests, or is it just because anyone with EMC as a backup pool is now requesting a longpoll regardless of whether they're currently connected or not?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 10:45:14 PM
 #5450

Cgminer hangs again. Could this be an issue with Sempron CPU's? Running a Sempron 145.

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 11:17:59 PM
 #5451

Cgminer hangs again. Could this be an issue with Sempron CPU's? Running a Sempron 145.

I doubt it, I've been running  rings on 145's for several months now.  Never had a cgminer hang that wasn't directly related to a card settings bork up.

You aren't trying to run it with an unlocked core or odd frequency settings by any chance?

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 11:29:17 PM
 #5452

Kano,
Do you have a list of each version of your API, and what it adds? Change log type thing?
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 12:00:00 AM
 #5453

Cgminer hangs again. Could this be an issue with Sempron CPU's? Running a Sempron 145.

I doubt it, I've been running  rings on 145's for several months now.  Never had a cgminer hang that wasn't directly related to a card settings bork up.

You aren't trying to run it with an unlocked core or odd frequency settings by any chance?

I have a 5970 with one unstable core. I run it at 825 engine and 260 memclock. Any engine clock higher than that or memclock lower than that and the system freezes. The other core is happy at 875/220. SSH/screen other terminals are fine but unable to kill the cgminer process and restart.
Could it be other processes interfering with cgminer or confusing it? What would cause multiple sshd's to run, multiple udisk to run?

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 12:15:46 AM
 #5454

Kano,
Do you have a list of each version of your API, and what it adds? Change log type thing?
NEWS file

I'm pretty certain I've changed the version number every time for a new release with new commands or new data.

Edit: also - it's highly consistent from one version to the next - new fields are added to the end - the order is never changed ... with CGMiner

Edit2: hmm looks like some of the NEWS descriptions don't say the actual API version numbers very often
(I guess I'll need to check the git why ...)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 12:35:53 AM
 #5455

Yeah, Think the API should have it's own section detailing it's changes separately from CGminer.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428



View Profile
May 11, 2012, 02:23:57 AM
 #5456

I just upgraded from 2.3.6 to 2.4.1.  I upgraded because I had annoying problem.  Every so often cgminer would forget I have a keyboard.  It would continually happily mine away, showing on the screen what it was doing.  But it no longer accepted keyboard commands.  To change, or quit, I'd have to terminate it, and restart it.  Then it would work fine again, until it once again forgot I had a keyboard.

On windows 7 64-bit.

Cgminer hangs again. Could this be an issue with Sempron CPU's? Running a Sempron 145.

████████
████████
████
████





████
████
████████
████████
     ▄▄████████▄▄
   ▄██████████████▄
 ▄██████████████████▄
██████▀▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀▀█
██████     █████     █
██████     █████     █             ▄▄▄
██████     ▀▀▀▀▀     █        ███  ███
 ▀████                  ▄▄▄   ███  ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄  ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄  ▄▄
   ▀██     ▄▄▄▄▄      ▄█████▄ ███  ███ ███  ███ ████████████▄
     ▀     █████      ███▄▄██ ███  ███ ███  ███ ███ ▀███ ▀███
           ▀▀███      ███▄▄▄  ███▄ ███ ███▄████ ███  ███  ███
               ▀       ▀████▀  ▀██ ███ ▀███▀███ ███  ███  ███
                   ▀█
████████
████████
████
████





████
████
████████
████████
█  ████▀  █
█  ██▀▄█  █
█  ▀▄███  █
█  ████▀  █
██▀▄█
▀▄███
████▀
██▀▄█

▀▄███

█  ████▀  █

█  ██▀▄█  █

█  ▀▄███  █

█  █████  █
|
█  ████▀  █
█  ██▀▄█  █
█  ▀▄███  █
█  ████▀  █
██▀▄█
▀▄███
████▀
██▀▄█

▀▄███

█  ████▀  █

█  ██▀▄█  █

█  ▀▄███  █

█  █████  █
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 12:35:16 PM
 #5457

Well, I think I am reporting the first casualty of the new LP handling method of CGMiner.  After struggling with my pool servers for the past few days, I've come to the conclusion that the new CGminer is "flooding" the server with LP requests.  Previously, before the LP changes, there would be ~800 or so LP watchers per server.  After the change, there is now more than 3000 LP watchers per server and the servers were struggling to keep up with LPs when they hit, causing stale shares and non/slow response until it was caught up.

I'm redoing the servers to handle LPs more gracefully (thanks to Luke-Jr/Eloipool!)... but I figured I'd make a post in case any other pool ops are suddenly struggling to figure out why their servers might be sluggish during LPs. 
Interesting.  Is this because each client is sending more LP requests, or is it just because anyone with EMC as a backup pool is now requesting a longpoll regardless of whether they're currently connected or not?

I'm not sure which reason accounts for the increase, but I have a feeling it's because EMC is used as a backup for a lot of people, so the latter is likely the more likely explanation.  Hit over 5000 LP watchers on one server last night during a few long polls.  We normally only have about 1000 active miners give or take a few hundred at any given time.


If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 12:43:37 PM
 #5458

I'm not sure which reason accounts for the increase, but I have a feeling it's because EMC is used as a backup for a lot of people, so the latter is likely the more likely explanation.  Hit over 5000 LP watchers on one server last night during a few long polls.  We normally only have about 1000 active miners give or take a few hundred at any given time.

Maybe a less invasive method would be for cgminer to delay the getwork on backup pools by a few seconds (and do so randomly)?

So time 0 your would see your 1000 or so active users send getwork and then spread out over the next x seconds randomly requests would come from the other 4000 or so users. 
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 807


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 01:57:46 PM
 #5459

I'm not sure which reason accounts for the increase, but I have a feeling it's because EMC is used as a backup for a lot of people, so the latter is likely the more likely explanation.  Hit over 5000 LP watchers on one server last night during a few long polls.  We normally only have about 1000 active miners give or take a few hundred at any given time.
Maybe a less invasive method would be for cgminer to delay the getwork on backup pools by a few seconds (and do so randomly)?

So time 0 your would see your 1000 or so active users send getwork and then spread out over the next x seconds randomly requests would come from the other 4000 or so users. 
Does cgminer request work from the backup pools, or is the load caued by the number of connections and the fact that the longpolls (which are pushed, not requested) contain work?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 03:04:49 PM
 #5460

Longpolls are really up to the pool to return, and cgminer will wait for up to 60 minutes for one. There's no real way to say "yeah I want a longpoll, but it's fine if you delay it for a minute or so". It's basically pushed from the pool and the client just receives it whenever. It's probably not ideal for cgminer to get a longpoll from every single backup pool you have configured, but there are logistical reasons for why it's done that way, and is more indicative of just how many people use LOTS of backup pools, EMC obviously being a popular one. There are issues with only running one longpoll from the primary pool when work is gathered from multiple pools during periods of overload, and there is no way to "turn off" a longpoll once it's been requested if you decide to change pools, and some pools have extra longpolls for merged mining, blockchain variations (eg p2pool) and so on. It's virtually impossible to just "do the right thing" since there is no right thing. A longpoll from each pool is the best thing for a miner. As we've seen with EMC, though, the longpoll load can also be quite hefty, even if the rest of networking has become MUCH politer to pools since 2.4.0. I'll think about it some more, but I can't see a solution that is optimal for both miner and pool.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 [273] 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 ... 838 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!