Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 09:33:44 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 [277] 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4825277 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 05:21:13 PM
 #5521

It will cut off at 60, but it uses the temp target to re-enable the mining, so best to set that lower or it will keep enabling and disabling it.

This.

 Also remember if you specify nothing for a param then cgminer uses the default.  I alway prefer explicit values rather than suprises due to implicit values.   I just have it set at target & overheat @ 58, and cutoff @ 60.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481319224
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319224

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319224
Reply with quote  #2

1481319224
Report to moderator
1481319224
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319224

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319224
Reply with quote  #2

1481319224
Report to moderator
1481319224
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319224

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319224
Reply with quote  #2

1481319224
Report to moderator
lazyranma
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 05:46:49 PM
 #5522

I have a strange issue with cgminer... After a day or two of work hash rate starts to slowly drop from usual 440 Mhash/s and reaches 340 Mhash/s within 30-40 minutes where it stops. Restarting cgminer brings hashrate back to usual values. Any ideas why this happens?
Right now I have a script which checks hash rate periodically and restarts cgminer when needed.
Ubuntu Linux 12.04, Catalyst 12.4, HD7870.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 05:49:03 PM
 #5523

I have a strange issue with cgminer... After a day or two of work hash rate starts to slowly drop from usual 440 Mhash/s and reaches 340 Mhash/s within 30-40 minutes where it stops. Restarting cgminer brings hashrate back to usual values. Any ideas why this happens?

Does the utility drop too?
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 11:58:48 PM
 #5524

I have a strange issue with cgminer... After a day or two of work hash rate starts to slowly drop from usual 440 Mhash/s and reaches 340 Mhash/s within 30-40 minutes where it stops. Restarting cgminer brings hashrate back to usual values. Any ideas why this happens?
Right now I have a script which checks hash rate periodically and restarts cgminer when needed.
Ubuntu Linux 12.04, Catalyst 12.4, HD7870.
At a guess ... 12.4 is your problem ... since I heard it would often just pack up and die for no reason with cgminer.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 17, 2012, 03:08:28 AM
 #5525

I've got an Icarus pull request up that should increase performance:
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/pull/204

The gain would be due to it running the Icarus much closer to when it becomes idle
The code change is rather extensive since it now includes a new (hidden) option --icarus-timing
If you have an Icarus device (that works the same as Icarus and has 2 FPGA) then this option will allow you to use that device also and at optimum performance (also e.g. if you have an Icarus with a faster bitstream)
For more details see the new FPGA-README in the pull request
(the code is extensively commented also)

The new default MH/s calculation is actually a VERY slight underestimate
(at the 5th digit the default time to do a single hash is rounded up)
So the increase seen should actually be valid (assuming no bugs Smiley)
This calculation only comes into play when a piece of work is aborted at the new 11.2s (or due to an LP)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 17, 2012, 06:47:56 AM
 #5526

Win32/Coinminer is virus?

My windows defender reported that this was harmful, googling it lead to sites saying it steals the wallet.

Now is this something to worry about?
I have removed it when the window popped up.

Now it removed cgminer.exe, wery wierd??
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 17, 2012, 06:51:13 AM
 #5527

Win32/Coinminer is virus?

My windows defender reported that this was harmful, googling it lead to sites saying it steals the wallet.

Now is this something to worry about?
I have removed it when the window popped up.

Now it removed cgminer.exe, wery wierd??
read me said the readme

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
n4l3hp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173


View Profile
May 17, 2012, 08:02:14 AM
 #5528

Using 3 cards with Win7, there are times that the cards stop mining and everything on the desktop disappear except the background. Tried disabling the OC of the cards but the problem remained.

Went back to 2.3.6 and been running 3 days now without hiccups, except for a slight increase in stales.

ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 17, 2012, 09:16:42 AM
 #5529

Win32/Coinminer is virus?

My windows defender reported that this was harmful, googling it lead to sites saying it steals the wallet.

Now is this something to worry about?
I have removed it when the window popped up.

Now it removed cgminer.exe, wery wierd??
read me said the readme

so It is then false alarm then?
Didn't see anything about Win32/Coinminer but this I found in readme:

"Q: Is this a virus?
A: Cgminer is being packaged with other trojan scripts and some antivirus
software is falsely accusing cgminer.exe as being the actual virus, rather
than whatever it is being packaged with. If you installed cgminer yourself,
then you do not have a virus on your computer. Complain to your antivirus
software company."
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
May 17, 2012, 12:16:30 PM
 #5530

Using 3 cards with Win7, there are times that the cards stop mining and everything on the desktop disappear except the background. Tried disabling the OC of the cards but the problem remained.

Went back to 2.3.6 and been running 3 days now without hiccups, except for a slight increase in stales.



Try reducing the hash rate of the main card (the card connected to the display, usually the one closest to the CPU).
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
May 17, 2012, 01:44:47 PM
 #5531

Win32/Coinminer is virus?

My windows defender reported that this was harmful, googling it lead to sites saying it steals the wallet.

Now is this something to worry about?
I have removed it when the window popped up.

Now it removed cgminer.exe, wery wierd??
read me said the readme

so It is then false alarm then?
Didn't see anything about Win32/Coinminer but this I found in readme:

"Q: Is this a virus?
A: Cgminer is being packaged with other trojan scripts and some antivirus
software is falsely accusing cgminer.exe as being the actual virus, rather
than whatever it is being packaged with. If you installed cgminer yourself,
then you do not have a virus on your computer. Complain to your antivirus
software company."
Yes as long as you downloaded it from the link in the first post of this thread, you are safe. You should be able to make an exception for it in your AV software.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
bombo999
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
May 17, 2012, 03:04:39 PM
 #5532

Is there a notification list we can subscribe to that will send e-mail notifications when new releases of cgminer are made available?
n4l3hp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173


View Profile
May 17, 2012, 03:23:59 PM
 #5533

Using 3 cards with Win7, there are times that the cards stop mining and everything on the desktop disappear except the background. Tried disabling the OC of the cards but the problem remained.

Went back to 2.3.6 and been running 3 days now without hiccups, except for a slight increase in stales.



Try reducing the hash rate of the main card (the card connected to the display, usually the one closest to the CPU).

Already tried that. With 2.4.1, the problem persist even if I run the primary card at default core clock. With 2.3.6, all 3 6870s at 960 core work for days without problems.
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
May 17, 2012, 03:30:10 PM
 #5534

Another this I've noticed:
When you change the priority of a pool to the top (via the API) and you save the config file, the order of the pools in the config file remains unchanged from is original. Maybe this should change to match the current priority order?

I've implemented this and put in a pull request for it.
A quick look at the code suggests that if the primary pool goes down and the next back up comes on, the priority doesn't change. Just the index is incremented.
lazyranma
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
May 17, 2012, 06:25:04 PM
 #5535

I have a strange issue with cgminer... After a day or two of work hash rate starts to slowly drop from usual 440 Mhash/s and reaches 340 Mhash/s within 30-40 minutes where it stops. Restarting cgminer brings hashrate back to usual values. Any ideas why this happens?
Does the utility drop too?
Sam
The script restarts cgminer right away, so it don't have chance to drop, but p2pool also sees the drop in hash rate, so I guess - yes.
At a guess ... 12.4 is your problem ... since I heard it would often just pack up and die for no reason with cgminer.
Had same issue with 12.3. Sad

I had similar issue with DiabloMiner, but in that case hash rate was dropping below 150. I also think it's a driver issue. I'll try older versions to see if that helps.
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 17, 2012, 06:44:53 PM
 #5536

I have a strange issue with cgminer... After a day or two of work hash rate starts to slowly drop from usual 440 Mhash/s and reaches 340 Mhash/s within 30-40 minutes where it stops. Restarting cgminer brings hashrate back to usual values. Any ideas why this happens?
Does the utility drop too?
Sam
The script restarts cgminer right away, so it don't have chance to drop, but p2pool also sees the drop in hash rate, so I guess - yes.
At a guess ... 12.4 is your problem ... since I heard it would often just pack up and die for no reason with cgminer.
Had same issue with 12.3. Sad

I had similar issue with DiabloMiner, but in that case hash rate was dropping below 150. I also think it's a driver issue. I'll try older versions to see if that helps.

I'm not impressed with 12.4.  After I installed it, on top of 12.2, all my 7970 cards got "locked" to 500/150  (not the usual 300/150).  AB, cgminer, Trixx, GPUTweak could not reset clocks to defaults.  I even switched to second BIOS.  No luck. cgminer could only mine at 500/150. I also noticed cgminer handles jumped to over 20,000 from the usual 9000.  Maybe it was trying to reset clocks and was failing but something was not closing handles.

I uninstalled all the AMD crap, all the third party tools. Rebooted, uninstalled video drivers.  Rebooted to VGA mode.
Installed 12.1, no SDK, just the cat.  AB 2.2.1 did reset the clocks and lowered the voltage.

Now I'm happily mining at 925/34085/0.88V. Yes that is right, 340 85 MHz for the memory.

M4v3R
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 607



View Profile
May 18, 2012, 04:42:44 PM
 #5537

Could somebody help me with an issue I'm having using any miner (cgminer included)?

My cards are only using 50% of their power constantly, as shown on the screenies below:





Any idea why this is happening?
My system:

- 2x 5970
- Ubuntu 11.04
- AMD SDK 2.4
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
May 18, 2012, 05:45:25 PM
 #5538

Could somebody help me with an issue I'm having using any miner (cgminer included)?

My cards are only using 50% of their CPU Shocked constantly, as shown on the screenies below:





Any idea why this is happening?
My system:

- 2x 5970
- Ubuntu 11.04
- AMD SDK 2.4

You think you have a CPU in your GPU Huh
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 18, 2012, 06:06:23 PM
 #5539

Could somebody help me with an issue I'm having using any miner (cgminer included)?

My cards are only using 50% of their CPU constantly, as shown on the screenies below:


Are you purposely running your intensity that low?

Are all of your GPU's running displays?

Do you use your system while mining or is this dedicated?

I would suggest only using one display and setting the intensity for that GPU to dynamic if being used or 7 if it is dedicated.  Then the GPU's that aren't driving displays set the intensities to 8 or 9 and then tinker around a bit for best performance.

But that's me,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
M4v3R
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 607



View Profile
May 18, 2012, 06:16:09 PM
 #5540

Could somebody help me with an issue I'm having using any miner (cgminer included)?

My cards are only using 50% of their CPU constantly, as shown on the screenies below:


Are you purposely running your intensity that low?

Are all of your GPU's running displays?

Do you use your system while mining or is this dedicated?

I would suggest only using one display and setting the intensity for that GPU to dynamic if being used or 7 if it is dedicated.  Then the GPU's that aren't driving displays set the intensities to 8 or 9 and then tinker around a bit for best performance.

But that's me,
Sam

No, I'm not doing this purposely, that's why I'm asking Smiley. I don't run anything on this rig, it's a pure miner. Only one display is connected.

How do I set intensity of mining though?
Pages: « 1 ... 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 [277] 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!