Bitcoin Forum
July 18, 2018, 03:59:04 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 [284] 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756868 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
dave3
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 344
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 02:38:08 AM
 #5661

This is probably a bad way to do it, but I just found the section in cgminer.c with the disabled message and changed it to exit.

Code:
if (unlikely(!hashes)) {
applog(LOG_ERR, "%s %d failure, disabling!", api->name, cgpu->device_id);
cgpu->deven = DEV_DISABLED;

cgpu->device_last_not_well = time(NULL);
cgpu->device_not_well_reason = REASON_THREAD_ZERO_HASH;
cgpu->thread_zero_hash_count++;

goto disabled;
}

Code:
Changed:
goto disabled;

To:
exit(1);

Then I start it with a .bat file:

Code:
:loop
C:\cgminer\cgminer.exe -S COM8 -S COM9
timeout /T 60
goto loop

Now if I pull the plug on the BFL Singles, it stops and waits for 60 seconds and then tries to restart again.
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1531886344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531886344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531886344
Reply with quote  #2

1531886344
Report to moderator
1531886344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531886344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531886344
Reply with quote  #2

1531886344
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2012, 03:33:42 AM
 #5662

New version - 2.4.2, June 3rd 2012

Human readable changelog:
-Longpoll will now finally only connect to the main pool unless you switch pools, and then it will drop the longpoll on the next block if you are still on the new pool. This should complete the rework to make cgminer have the absolute optimum number of connections open at any one time - the minimum possible while having the best hashrate, and will likely decrease the lost work across block changes. No solution to multipool+LP here was going to be perfect but this seemed the best overall to miners and pools alike.
-The windows crash at 7 days which occurred thanks to the AMD driver fuckage should be fixed. Now it will behave the way it used to behave:you'll just lose your fan monitoring once the driver has fucked up.
-New Icarus code should scan more of each work item and has some hidden advanced timing options (see new readme file)
-Saved config file when there are no GPUs should no longer be corrupt.
-Separate READMEs for API and FPGA evolving.

Full changelog
- API.class compiled with Java SE 6.0_03 - works with Win7x64
- miner.php highlight devs too slow finding shares (possibly failing)
- API update version to V1.11 and document changes
- API save default config file if none specified
- api.c save success incorrectly returns error
- api.c replace BUFSIZ (linux/windows have different values)
- Move RPC API content out of README to API-README
- Open a longpoll connection if a pool is in the REJECTING state as it's the
only way to re-enable it automatically.
- Use only one longpoll as much as possible by using a pthread conditional
broadcast that each longpoll thread waits on and checks if it's the current pool
before
- If shares are known stale, don't use them to decide to disable a pool for
sequential rejects.
- Restarting cgminer from within after ADL has been corrupted only leads to a
crash. Display a warning only and disable fanspeed monitoring.
- Icarus: fix abort calculation/allow user specified abort
- Icarus: make --icarus-timing hidden and document it in FPGA-README
- Icarus: high accuracy timing and other bitstream speed support
- add-MIPSEB-to-icarus-for-BIG_ENDIAN
- work_decode only needs swab32 on midstate under BIG ENDIAN
- add compile command to api-example.c
- save config bugfix: writing an extra ',' when no gpus
- Add dpkg-source commits

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 04:41:22 AM
 #5663

Kano,
Do you have a list of each version of your API, and what it adds? Change log type thing?
NEWS file

I'm pretty certain I've changed the version number every time for a new release with new commands or new data.

Edit: also - it's highly consistent from one version to the next - new fields are added to the end - the order is never changed ... with CGMiner

Edit2: hmm looks like some of the NEWS descriptions don't say the actual API version numbers very often
(I guess I'll need to check the git why ...)
As per 2.4.2 (as stated above), the new API-README also includes, at the bottom, information showing the API versions, the cgminer version it was released in and also the changes from an external point of view
e.g. commands added/changed, fields added and such

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
bitcoindaddy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 479
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 02:20:20 PM
 #5664

Should I be running "--no-submit-stale " when I use BFL (FPGA)?
Tittiez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 02:27:28 PM
 #5665

Should I be running "--no-submit-stale " when I use BFL (FPGA)?

Depends which pool your using.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2394
Merit: 1001



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 02:36:22 PM
 #5666

Should I be running "--no-submit-stale " when I use BFL (FPGA)?
Probably not. "--no-submit-stale" is basically broken-by-design, but exists because it is technically required by the old longpoll specification. I say broken-by-design because it tries to guess which shares are stale based on insufficient information (this algorithm is also required by the old LP spec): whenever a longpoll is received, all shares found on old work is discarded. Many pools are using longpolls even when the old shares are still valid as a way to improve the Bitcoin network (by processing more transactions) - at least Eligius, EclipseMC, and TripleMining to my knowledge. p2pool also expects valid blocks to be found in stale shares, so you don't want to discard those either. Additionally, discarding stale shares makes all pools' website stats underreport your stale rate. So if you do use "--no-submit-stale", anything your pool tells you about your stales is wrong. On the other hand, submitting stales doesn't hurt unless your internet connection can't handle your mining rigs (in which case, your mining experience will suffer all the time there isn't a longpoll!).

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 02:39:46 PM
 #5667

Thanks for the update. Much appreciated ckolivas !

Anybody know the answer to my previous question, though :

They will only clock back up if the temperature drops enough again.

How long will this take ? I left them about 15 minutes after the heat stopped and the cold begun and they did not clock back automatically ( I had to do it manually ).

Thanks !

Anybody know how much this "unthrottling" takes once the source of heat is gone ?

It seems that the cards do clock back up after some time ( as ckolivas said ) but I still have not managed to determine after how long.

I left them overnight and they did clock back up !
rkozola
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 03:42:40 PM
 #5668

Is there a known issue trying to run 5 or more BFL singles under windows in either 2.4.1 or 2.4.2?  2.3.6 seems to be able to handle 5 singles fine.  But every time I try to run all five under a single instance with 2.4.1 or 2.4.2, I get a crash in libpdcurses.dll.



Faulting application name: cgminer.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4fcad128
Faulting module name: libpdcurses.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4f460f95
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000012fe
Faulting process id: 0xb24
Faulting application start time: 0x01cd419e02e067d8
Faulting application path: C:\Users\miner\Desktop\cgminer-2.4.2-win32\cgminer.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Users\miner\Desktop\cgminer-2.4.2-win32\libpdcurses.dll
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 03:53:49 PM
 #5669

Is there a known issue trying to run 5 or more BFL singles under windows in either 2.4.1 or 2.4.2?  2.3.6 seems to be able to handle 5 singles fine.  But every time I try to run all five under a single instance with 2.4.1 or 2.4.2, I get a crash in libpdcurses.dll.



Faulting application name: cgminer.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4fcad128
Faulting module name: libpdcurses.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4f460f95
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000012fe
Faulting process id: 0xb24
Faulting application start time: 0x01cd419e02e067d8
Faulting application path: C:\Users\miner\Desktop\cgminer-2.4.2-win32\cgminer.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Users\miner\Desktop\cgminer-2.4.2-win32\libpdcurses.dll


I think I saw a thread elsewhere here that said if you increase the size of the command window in windows, it might solve this problem.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
rkozola
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 04:08:57 PM
 #5670

thanks for the tip.  that did it.
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 04:10:30 PM
 #5671

Is there a known issue trying to run 5 or more BFL singles under windows in either 2.4.1 or 2.4.2?  2.3.6 seems to be able to handle 5 singles fine.  But every time I try to run all five under a single instance with 2.4.1 or 2.4.2, I get a crash in libpdcurses.dll.

Faulting application name: cgminer.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4fcad128
Faulting module name: libpdcurses.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4f460f95
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000012fe
Faulting process id: 0xb24
Faulting application start time: 0x01cd419e02e067d8
Faulting application path: C:\Users\miner\Desktop\cgminer-2.4.2-win32\cgminer.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Users\miner\Desktop\cgminer-2.4.2-win32\libpdcurses.dll

I think I saw a thread elsewhere here that said if you increase the size of the command window in windows, it might solve this problem.

Yes, increasing the size of the command window (before starting cgminer) has helped people with similar symptoms.

(EDIT: I've seen you already got it working.)

To set a larger size as a default, hit start->run and type in cmd.exe<enter>; then click the black system icon in the top left corner of the command window that pops up. Choose 'properties'. The important thing here is the 'Layout' tab. Specifically Window Height. Set the Window height to 40 or 50. You can change the font as well to make it fit your monitor better. Click ok. You may then exit the command window. Any command window you open after this will come up with its new size.

There is a difference in how different versions of cgminer behave with Singles. 2.3.6 worked perfectly for me with up to 15 Singles. I since moved to 2.4.1 (and now 2.4.2) and have found that, using the same command line and command window layout size, 15 Singles crashes it. 2.4.1 are happy with 10 Singles, but not 15. 2.3.6 works fine with 15.

I don't know what broke between cgminer 2.3.6 and 2.4.1. It also behaves differently when Singles go offline; 2.3.6 just exited (which was good) but 2.4.1 and 2.4.2 just mark them as 'OFF' and do not exit (bad).

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
deadlyasp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 04:21:47 PM
 #5672

Pardon any noob-ness this shows, but I only converted to cgminer from GUIMiner about a week ago, and just have a quick query;
With Intensity (that is in the OP) It warns of the futility of going over I:9, is this still the case or would I be able to go higher with my 6870HD? (Doubt this one is worth asking, but I also have a 6670HD miner as well till it gets upgraded in a few days)

If a moderator sees this please delete this account. I'm still getting insults and trolling via a work email resulting from a poorly edited job posting thread I made months ago. It's not funny anymore Tongue
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
June 03, 2012, 04:24:38 PM
 #5673

With Intensity (that is in the OP) It warns of the futility of going over I:9, is this still the case or would I be able to go higher with my 6870HD?
I use 2 6870s at dynamic and 9 for intensity. I definitely wouldn't recommend putting it above 9 because it sends your rejects through the roof. Tongue

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
deadlyasp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 04:34:31 PM
 #5674

With Intensity (that is in the OP) It warns of the futility of going over I:9, is this still the case or would I be able to go higher with my 6870HD?
I use 2 6870s at dynamic and 9 for intensity. I definitely wouldn't recommend putting it above 9 because it sends your rejects through the roof. Tongue

Thanks for the update! I thought maybe it had been answered before, but gods only know how many rejected I would waste while wading through almost 300 pages Wink

Sent you a small donation for your trouble Smiley

If a moderator sees this please delete this account. I'm still getting insults and trolling via a work email resulting from a poorly edited job posting thread I made months ago. It's not funny anymore Tongue
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
June 03, 2012, 04:58:10 PM
 #5675

Sent you a small donation for your trouble Smiley
Oh cool, thanks. Cheesy

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 446
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 05:05:22 PM
 #5676

Is there a known issue trying to run 5 or more BFL singles under windows in either 2.4.1 or 2.4.2?  2.3.6 seems to be able to handle 5 singles fine.  But every time I try to run all five under a single instance with 2.4.1 or 2.4.2, I get a crash in libpdcurses.dll.

Faulting application name: cgminer.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4fcad128
Faulting module name: libpdcurses.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4f460f95
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000012fe
Faulting process id: 0xb24
Faulting application start time: 0x01cd419e02e067d8
Faulting application path: C:\Users\miner\Desktop\cgminer-2.4.2-win32\cgminer.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Users\miner\Desktop\cgminer-2.4.2-win32\libpdcurses.dll

I think I saw a thread elsewhere here that said if you increase the size of the command window in windows, it might solve this problem.

Yes, increasing the size of the command window (before starting cgminer) has helped people with similar symptoms.

(EDIT: I've seen you already got it working.)

To set a larger size as a default, hit start->run and type in cmd.exe<enter>; then click the black system icon in the top left corner of the command window that pops up. Choose 'properties'. The important thing here is the 'Layout' tab. Specifically Window Height. Set the Window height to 40 or 50. You can change the font as well to make it fit your monitor better. Click ok. You may then exit the command window. Any command window you open after this will come up with its new size.

There is a difference in how different versions of cgminer behave with Singles. 2.3.6 worked perfectly for me with up to 15 Singles. I since moved to 2.4.1 (and now 2.4.2) and have found that, using the same command line and command window layout size, 15 Singles crashes it. 2.4.1 are happy with 10 Singles, but not 15. 2.3.6 works fine with 15.

I don't know what broke between cgminer 2.3.6 and 2.4.1. It also behaves differently when Singles go offline; 2.3.6 just exited (which was good) but 2.4.1 and 2.4.2 just mark them as 'OFF' and do not exit (bad).

I hope that this can be fixed. I want to consolidate everything to one host computer. I'm wasting power running multiple rigs. (10 on one and 4 on another)

I'm wondering if the BFL Mini-Rig will be seen as one device or as many. If its many then that's going to be a problem.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 09:54:34 PM
 #5677

...
I hope that this can be fixed. I want to consolidate everything to one host computer. I'm wasting power running multiple rigs. (10 on one and 4 on another)
...
Run two (or more) cgminers on the one computer?
7 (or less) BFL's in each cgminer

Edit: N.B. for the API, each miner will need a different --api-port

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2012, 10:16:41 PM
 #5678

This multi device display issue is because it gets corrupt at 14 devices with the old code. The curses display was never designed with people throwing so many devices at it and I never anticipated people would do it. Then I made it stop showing all the devices if there were over 8 - and people complained bitterly, so I made it scale to draw as many devices as you can fit. However pdcurses isnt as smart as ncurses which is used on linux so it just decides to crash instead of display them. SOOOOOOooooo what we're left with is yet another moronic scenario where the choice is either don't display devices and don't crash, or do something to your window before it runs to display them all and not crash, or it will crash. Solution? If you are using LOTS of devices - don't run cgminer with the display enabled by using -T and use a monitoring app to manage that many devices. The basic display was not designed with bucketloads of devices in mind.

Summary: Fuck you windows.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 10:39:37 PM
 #5679

Thanks for the update. Much appreciated ckolivas !

Anybody know the answer to my previous question, though :

They will only clock back up if the temperature drops enough again.

How long will this take ? I left them about 15 minutes after the heat stopped and the cold begun and they did not clock back automatically ( I had to do it manually ).

Thanks !

Anybody know how much this "unthrottling" takes once the source of heat is gone ?

It seems that the cards do clock back up after some time ( as ckolivas said ) but I still have not managed to determine after how long.

I left them overnight and they did clock back up !

Just for my reference and for others wondering about this. It seems they only clock back up slowly after the temperature reaches (target temp. - hysteresis ).

For example if the target temp is 70 then they will only start clocking back up when reaching 64.5.
nedbert9
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250

Inactive


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 10:42:17 PM
 #5680

Is there a known issue trying to run 5 or more BFL singles under windows in either 2.4.1 or 2.4.2?  2.3.6 seems to be able to handle 5 singles fine.  But every time I try to run all five under a single instance with 2.4.1 or 2.4.2, I get a crash in libpdcurses.dll.

Faulting application name: cgminer.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4fcad128
Faulting module name: libpdcurses.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4f460f95
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000012fe
Faulting process id: 0xb24
Faulting application start time: 0x01cd419e02e067d8
Faulting application path: C:\Users\miner\Desktop\cgminer-2.4.2-win32\cgminer.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Users\miner\Desktop\cgminer-2.4.2-win32\libpdcurses.dll

I think I saw a thread elsewhere here that said if you increase the size of the command window in windows, it might solve this problem.

Yes, increasing the size of the command window (before starting cgminer) has helped people with similar symptoms.

(EDIT: I've seen you already got it working.)

To set a larger size as a default, hit start->run and type in cmd.exe<enter>; then click the black system icon in the top left corner of the command window that pops up. Choose 'properties'. The important thing here is the 'Layout' tab. Specifically Window Height. Set the Window height to 40 or 50. You can change the font as well to make it fit your monitor better. Click ok. You may then exit the command window. Any command window you open after this will come up with its new size.

There is a difference in how different versions of cgminer behave with Singles. 2.3.6 worked perfectly for me with up to 15 Singles. I since moved to 2.4.1 (and now 2.4.2) and have found that, using the same command line and command window layout size, 15 Singles crashes it. 2.4.1 are happy with 10 Singles, but not 15. 2.3.6 works fine with 15.

I don't know what broke between cgminer 2.3.6 and 2.4.1. It also behaves differently when Singles go offline; 2.3.6 just exited (which was good) but 2.4.1 and 2.4.2 just mark them as 'OFF' and do not exit (bad).

Being able to service or temporarily power down units in a non GPU multi hasher setup without having cgminer exit is a good thing.
Pages: « 1 ... 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 [284] 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!