Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:26:11 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 [285] 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4828269 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 424



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 05:05:22 PM
 #5681

Is there a known issue trying to run 5 or more BFL singles under windows in either 2.4.1 or 2.4.2?  2.3.6 seems to be able to handle 5 singles fine.  But every time I try to run all five under a single instance with 2.4.1 or 2.4.2, I get a crash in libpdcurses.dll.

Faulting application name: cgminer.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4fcad128
Faulting module name: libpdcurses.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4f460f95
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000012fe
Faulting process id: 0xb24
Faulting application start time: 0x01cd419e02e067d8
Faulting application path: C:\Users\miner\Desktop\cgminer-2.4.2-win32\cgminer.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Users\miner\Desktop\cgminer-2.4.2-win32\libpdcurses.dll

I think I saw a thread elsewhere here that said if you increase the size of the command window in windows, it might solve this problem.

Yes, increasing the size of the command window (before starting cgminer) has helped people with similar symptoms.

(EDIT: I've seen you already got it working.)

To set a larger size as a default, hit start->run and type in cmd.exe<enter>; then click the black system icon in the top left corner of the command window that pops up. Choose 'properties'. The important thing here is the 'Layout' tab. Specifically Window Height. Set the Window height to 40 or 50. You can change the font as well to make it fit your monitor better. Click ok. You may then exit the command window. Any command window you open after this will come up with its new size.

There is a difference in how different versions of cgminer behave with Singles. 2.3.6 worked perfectly for me with up to 15 Singles. I since moved to 2.4.1 (and now 2.4.2) and have found that, using the same command line and command window layout size, 15 Singles crashes it. 2.4.1 are happy with 10 Singles, but not 15. 2.3.6 works fine with 15.

I don't know what broke between cgminer 2.3.6 and 2.4.1. It also behaves differently when Singles go offline; 2.3.6 just exited (which was good) but 2.4.1 and 2.4.2 just mark them as 'OFF' and do not exit (bad).

I hope that this can be fixed. I want to consolidate everything to one host computer. I'm wasting power running multiple rigs. (10 on one and 4 on another)

I'm wondering if the BFL Mini-Rig will be seen as one device or as many. If its many then that's going to be a problem.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481459171
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481459171

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481459171
Reply with quote  #2

1481459171
Report to moderator
1481459171
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481459171

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481459171
Reply with quote  #2

1481459171
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 09:54:34 PM
 #5682

...
I hope that this can be fixed. I want to consolidate everything to one host computer. I'm wasting power running multiple rigs. (10 on one and 4 on another)
...
Run two (or more) cgminers on the one computer?
7 (or less) BFL's in each cgminer

Edit: N.B. for the API, each miner will need a different --api-port

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2012, 10:16:41 PM
 #5683

This multi device display issue is because it gets corrupt at 14 devices with the old code. The curses display was never designed with people throwing so many devices at it and I never anticipated people would do it. Then I made it stop showing all the devices if there were over 8 - and people complained bitterly, so I made it scale to draw as many devices as you can fit. However pdcurses isnt as smart as ncurses which is used on linux so it just decides to crash instead of display them. SOOOOOOooooo what we're left with is yet another moronic scenario where the choice is either don't display devices and don't crash, or do something to your window before it runs to display them all and not crash, or it will crash. Solution? If you are using LOTS of devices - don't run cgminer with the display enabled by using -T and use a monitoring app to manage that many devices. The basic display was not designed with bucketloads of devices in mind.

Summary: Fuck you windows.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 10:39:37 PM
 #5684

Thanks for the update. Much appreciated ckolivas !

Anybody know the answer to my previous question, though :

They will only clock back up if the temperature drops enough again.

How long will this take ? I left them about 15 minutes after the heat stopped and the cold begun and they did not clock back automatically ( I had to do it manually ).

Thanks !

Anybody know how much this "unthrottling" takes once the source of heat is gone ?

It seems that the cards do clock back up after some time ( as ckolivas said ) but I still have not managed to determine after how long.

I left them overnight and they did clock back up !

Just for my reference and for others wondering about this. It seems they only clock back up slowly after the temperature reaches (target temp. - hysteresis ).

For example if the target temp is 70 then they will only start clocking back up when reaching 64.5.
nedbert9
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Inactive


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 10:42:17 PM
 #5685

Is there a known issue trying to run 5 or more BFL singles under windows in either 2.4.1 or 2.4.2?  2.3.6 seems to be able to handle 5 singles fine.  But every time I try to run all five under a single instance with 2.4.1 or 2.4.2, I get a crash in libpdcurses.dll.

Faulting application name: cgminer.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4fcad128
Faulting module name: libpdcurses.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4f460f95
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000012fe
Faulting process id: 0xb24
Faulting application start time: 0x01cd419e02e067d8
Faulting application path: C:\Users\miner\Desktop\cgminer-2.4.2-win32\cgminer.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Users\miner\Desktop\cgminer-2.4.2-win32\libpdcurses.dll

I think I saw a thread elsewhere here that said if you increase the size of the command window in windows, it might solve this problem.

Yes, increasing the size of the command window (before starting cgminer) has helped people with similar symptoms.

(EDIT: I've seen you already got it working.)

To set a larger size as a default, hit start->run and type in cmd.exe<enter>; then click the black system icon in the top left corner of the command window that pops up. Choose 'properties'. The important thing here is the 'Layout' tab. Specifically Window Height. Set the Window height to 40 or 50. You can change the font as well to make it fit your monitor better. Click ok. You may then exit the command window. Any command window you open after this will come up with its new size.

There is a difference in how different versions of cgminer behave with Singles. 2.3.6 worked perfectly for me with up to 15 Singles. I since moved to 2.4.1 (and now 2.4.2) and have found that, using the same command line and command window layout size, 15 Singles crashes it. 2.4.1 are happy with 10 Singles, but not 15. 2.3.6 works fine with 15.

I don't know what broke between cgminer 2.3.6 and 2.4.1. It also behaves differently when Singles go offline; 2.3.6 just exited (which was good) but 2.4.1 and 2.4.2 just mark them as 'OFF' and do not exit (bad).

Being able to service or temporarily power down units in a non GPU multi hasher setup without having cgminer exit is a good thing.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 10:46:11 PM
 #5686

It also behaves differently when Singles go offline; 2.3.6 just exited (which was good) but 2.4.1 and 2.4.2 just mark them as 'OFF' and do not exit (bad).
This was requested, and seemed logical. Would it be more acceptable to you, if it automatically reenabled the devices when they're plugged back in?

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2012, 11:10:33 PM
 #5687

Repackaged the source as 2.4.2-1 because 2 of the READMEs were missing. Binary packages are unchanged.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 11:44:54 PM
 #5688

This multi device display issue is because it gets corrupt at 14 devices with the old code. The curses display was never designed with people throwing so many devices at it and I never anticipated people would do it. Then I made it stop showing all the devices if there were over 8 - and people complained bitterly, so I made it scale to draw as many devices as you can fit. However pdcurses isnt as smart as ncurses which is used on linux so it just decides to crash instead of display them. SOOOOOOooooo what we're left with is yet another moronic scenario where the choice is either don't display devices and don't crash, or do something to your window before it runs to display them all and not crash, or it will crash. Solution? If you are using LOTS of devices - don't run cgminer with the display enabled by using -T and use a monitoring app to manage that many devices. The basic display was not designed with bucketloads of devices in mind.

Summary: Fuck you windows.
cgminer 2.6.2's display worked very well with 15 devices under Windows. 2.4.1 does not. I don't know if this change was intentional or an accidental side-effect, but it certainly is frustrating to find that something which *used* to work before is suddenly broken without notice.

I have a PC with a 'bucketload' of devices. Under Windows I can conveniently remotely connect to it via Remote Desktop, or VNC, or Live Mesh, or TeamViewer ... I don't use the API because I've no need for it. If cgminer's display remains broken for 'bucketloads' of devices, at least I can run multiple instances. Inefficient and inelegant, but we're not in an aesthetics contest here.

So in the 'grand scheme' of things, it doesn't really matter.

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2012, 11:50:40 PM
 #5689

cgminer 2.6.2's display worked very well with 15 devices under Windows. 2.4.1 does not. I don't know if this change was intentional or an accidental side-effect, but it certainly is frustrating to find that something which *used* to work before is suddenly broken without notice.

I have a PC with a 'bucketload' of devices. Under Windows I can conveniently remotely connect to it via Remote Desktop, or VNC, or Live Mesh, or TeamViewer ... I don't use the API because I've no need for it. If cgminer's display remains broken for 'bucketloads' of devices, at least I can run multiple instances. Inefficient and inelegant, but we're not in an aesthetics contest here.

So in the 'grand scheme' of things, it doesn't really matter.
I don't disagree, but the problem is it does different things on different operating systems and different shells. Working with curses is painful on a scale that almost puts it on par with working with Luke-jr as it never does something predictable or logical. I fixed stuff after that old cgminer and yeah it broke other stuff. It's an endless tirade of one piece of shit after another and I'm sick of fighting with it, like Luke-jr.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 11:53:21 PM
 #5690

cgminer 2.6.2's display worked very well with 15 devices under Windows. 2.4.1 does not. I don't know if this change was intentional or an accidental side-effect, but it certainly is frustrating to find that something which *used* to work before is suddenly broken without notice.

I have a PC with a 'bucketload' of devices. Under Windows I can conveniently remotely connect to it via Remote Desktop, or VNC, or Live Mesh, or TeamViewer ... I don't use the API because I've no need for it. If cgminer's display remains broken for 'bucketloads' of devices, at least I can run multiple instances. Inefficient and inelegant, but we're not in an aesthetics contest here.

So in the 'grand scheme' of things, it doesn't really matter.
I don't disagree, but the problem is it does different things on different operating systems and different shells. Working with curses is painful on a scale that almost puts it on par with working with Luke-jr as it never does something predictable or logical. I fixed stuff after that old cgminer and yeah it broke other stuff. It's an endless tirade of one piece of shit after another and I'm sick of fighting with it, like Luke-jr.

Not only a coding GOD but a good sense of humour too ! Cheesy

2.4.2 works very well for me in LINUX.

Windows <- there's your problem. Are miners still using Windows ? LOL.
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 11:54:02 PM
 #5691

It also behaves differently when Singles go offline; 2.3.6 just exited (which was good) but 2.4.1 and 2.4.2 just mark them as 'OFF' and do not exit (bad).
This was requested, and seemed logical. Would it be more acceptable to you, if it automatically reenabled the devices when they're plugged back in?
Luke, one benefit of exiting is that cgminer can then be executed in a 'forever loop' script such as this, which is useful for automated and unattended error recovery (in lieu of something like akbash):

:loop
cgminer <params>
waitfor xx seconds
goto loop

Because cgminer is re-run automatically by the script, it re-enables all the Singles. This was the behavior with 2.3.6, and worked well.

With 2.4.1 and 2.4.2, if any Singles goes offline for whatever reason (temporary power failure, USB cable unplugged, it crashes, ...) cgminer marks it as OFF and it can never be re-enabled unless you quit cgminer and re-run it. This makes it less suitable for this type of automated error recovery.

Now, if cgminer could be altered to re-enable any devices when they are plugged back in, that would be a significant improvement.

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 11:56:48 PM
 #5692

It also behaves differently when Singles go offline; 2.3.6 just exited (which was good) but 2.4.1 and 2.4.2 just mark them as 'OFF' and do not exit (bad).
This was requested, and seemed logical. Would it be more acceptable to you, if it automatically reenabled the devices when they're plugged back in?
Luke, one benefit of exiting is that cgminer can then be executed in a 'forever loop' script such as this, which is useful for automated and unattended error recovery (in lieu of something like akbash):

:loop
cgminer <params>
waitfor xx seconds
goto loop

Because cgminer is re-run automatically by the scrpt, it re-enables all the Singles. This was the behavior with 2.3.6, and worked well.
If a Single is unplugged, it won't be detected when the new cgminer starts... so you get the same thing, minus the ability to enable it later. Is there something else going on here?

Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 11:57:41 PM
 #5693

cgminer 2.6.2's display worked very well with 15 devices under Windows. 2.4.1 does not. I don't know if this change was intentional or an accidental side-effect, but it certainly is frustrating to find that something which *used* to work before is suddenly broken without notice.

I have a PC with a 'bucketload' of devices. Under Windows I can conveniently remotely connect to it via Remote Desktop, or VNC, or Live Mesh, or TeamViewer ... I don't use the API because I've no need for it. If cgminer's display remains broken for 'bucketloads' of devices, at least I can run multiple instances. Inefficient and inelegant, but we're not in an aesthetics contest here.

So in the 'grand scheme' of things, it doesn't really matter.

I don't disagree, but the problem is it does different things on different operating systems and different shells. Working with curses is painful on a scale that almost puts it on par with working with Luke-jr as it never does something predictable or logical. I fixed stuff after that old cgminer and yeah it broke other stuff. It's an endless tirade of one piece of shit after another and I'm sick of fighting with it, like Luke-jr.
Agreed. Having to support multiple OS's is a pain. And there will be casualties. I can accept that.

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2012, 12:00:05 AM
 #5694

Agreed. Having to support multiple OS's is a pain. And there will be casualties. I can accept that.
A most enlightened response. Thanks. All I can do is try my best within reasonable effort.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
June 04, 2012, 12:04:29 AM
 #5695

It also behaves differently when Singles go offline; 2.3.6 just exited (which was good) but 2.4.1 and 2.4.2 just mark them as 'OFF' and do not exit (bad).
This was requested, and seemed logical. Would it be more acceptable to you, if it automatically reenabled the devices when they're plugged back in?
Luke, one benefit of exiting is that cgminer can then be executed in a 'forever loop' script such as this, which is useful for automated and unattended error recovery (in lieu of something like akbash):

:loop
cgminer <params>
waitfor xx seconds
goto loop

Because cgminer is re-run automatically by the scrpt, it re-enables all the Singles. This was the behavior with 2.3.6, and worked well.
If a Single is unplugged, it won't be detected when the new cgminer starts... so you get the same thing, minus the ability to enable it later. Is there something else going on here?
I understand that if a Single is not connected when cgminer is run, the ability to enable it later is lost. But in the case where the Single 'crashes' or experiences a temporary power failure (i.e. a 'power glitch' which caused the Single to reboot), a script like the above works well to recover from that. I'll be the first to admit that it is very primitive and will not address all possible issues, but having cgminer exit when a Single goes offline seems to be, IMHO, a more attractive option for automation purposes.

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
June 04, 2012, 12:14:45 AM
 #5696

It also behaves differently when Singles go offline; 2.3.6 just exited (which was good) but 2.4.1 and 2.4.2 just mark them as 'OFF' and do not exit (bad).
This was requested, and seemed logical. Would it be more acceptable to you, if it automatically reenabled the devices when they're plugged back in?
Luke, one benefit of exiting is that cgminer can then be executed in a 'forever loop' script such as this, which is useful for automated and unattended error recovery (in lieu of something like akbash):

:loop
cgminer <params>
waitfor xx seconds
goto loop

Because cgminer is re-run automatically by the scrpt, it re-enables all the Singles. This was the behavior with 2.3.6, and worked well.
If a Single is unplugged, it won't be detected when the new cgminer starts... so you get the same thing, minus the ability to enable it later. Is there something else going on here?
I understand that if a Single is not connected when cgminer is run, the ability to enable it later is lost. But in the case where the Single 'crashes' or experiences a temporary power failure (i.e. a 'power glitch' which caused the Single to reboot), a script like the above works well to recover from that. I'll be the first to admit that it is very primitive and will not address all possible issues, but having cgminer exit when a Single goes offline seems to be, IMHO, a more attractive option for automation purposes.
If your Single is crashing, you should probably use the warranty while you can to get it replaced with one that works...

I suppose I can look into automatic recovery for people with power glitches anyway tho Tongue

mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
June 04, 2012, 12:17:13 AM
 #5697

Agreed. Having to support multiple OS's is a pain. And there will be casualties. I can accept that.
A most enlightened response. Thanks. All I can do is try my best within reasonable effort.

This is all display related, right?  The under the hood engine still works, it's all about the display, correct?  

If so, is all this information available via the API?

Making a windows based GUI front end to monitor (and control) my miners is on my list of things to do.  That would help the windows guys (yes, we still exist, and aren't likely going anywhere anytime soon).

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2012, 12:23:21 AM
 #5698

Agreed. Having to support multiple OS's is a pain. And there will be casualties. I can accept that.
A most enlightened response. Thanks. All I can do is try my best within reasonable effort.

This is all display related, right?  The under the hood engine still works, it's all about the display, correct?  

If so, is all this information available via the API?

Making a windows based GUI front end to monitor (and control) my miners is on my list of things to do.  That would help the windows guys (yes, we still exist, and aren't likely going anywhere anytime soon).

M
Yes I already said that the best way of working with many devices is to just use cgminer as a backend and work through the API using a different front end, which is why I see no point killing myself over the limited text interface. There are already quite a few front ends that do that, even on windows.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
June 04, 2012, 12:28:55 AM
 #5699

If your Single is crashing, you should probably use the warranty while you can to get it replaced with one that works...

I suppose I can look into automatic recovery for people with power glitches anyway tho Tongue
The Singles I have work properly with their stock hardware ... I've been making hardware mods which take them closer to their limits, so I've experienced the odd lockup and have seen cgminer's response to that. 2.3.6 behaved differently than 2.4.1, which is essentially all I'm trying to say. I can work with either one but, given a choice, I'd prefer 2.3.6's behavior under this condition (which was simply to stop execution and exit).

Automatic recovery would be welcome, though it may not address all possible error conditions. An external software watchdog polling the API would likely be more robust and there is already at least one solution in that vein.

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2012, 02:44:24 AM
 #5700

By the way, windows virus software must have reached an all time new record for false positives. When I was compiling the 2.4.2 version for release on a windows xp virtual machine, microsoft security essentials detected the cgminer executable as a potential threat as soon as it was created. Of course I just told MSE to ignore it, but that was impressive...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 [285] 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!