Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:16:10 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 [301] 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4823665 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
July 01, 2012, 05:03:33 AM
 #6001

I clearly have trust issues with anything luke-jr says ... maybe others do too? Smiley
You should work on those issues. Would be more productive than posting lies on the forum.
The problem with that statement is:
Prove anywhere one lie you say I have said ... anywhere ...

I'm sorry, but Kano > luke-jr, time and time again...

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
July 01, 2012, 05:04:42 AM
 #6002

Getting this with 2.4.4.

Code:
GPU 0: 290.3 / 289.7 Mh/s | A:74  R:0  HW:0  U:3.65/m  I:4
73.0 C  F: 74% (3049 RPM)  E: 960 MHz  M: 860 Mhz  V: 1.175V  A: 98% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-07-01 00:41:44]
Intensity: Dynamic (only one thread in use)
Thread 0: 146.9 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 1: 146.1 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

It says there's only 1 thread in use, but it shows both threads as being active. Is that right? Performance seems much better at least; ~20 MH/s better than 2.4.3.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 01, 2012, 05:08:15 AM
 #6003

Getting this with 2.4.4.

Code:
GPU 0: 290.3 / 289.7 Mh/s | A:74  R:0  HW:0  U:3.65/m  I:4
73.0 C  F: 74% (3049 RPM)  E: 960 MHz  M: 860 Mhz  V: 1.175V  A: 98% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-07-01 00:41:44]
Intensity: Dynamic (only one thread in use)
Thread 0: 146.9 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 1: 146.1 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

It says there's only 1 thread in use, but it shows both threads as being active. Is that right? Performance seems much better at least; ~20 MH/s better than 2.4.3.
Odd, disables here:

Intensity: Dynamic (only one thread in use)
Thread 0: 190.1 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 1: 0.0 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE paused

Performance should be pretty much dependent on intensity so it will be very different to before since it appears you're going up to intensity 4 where previously it would have been stuck at 0 +/- 1.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
July 01, 2012, 05:11:40 AM
 #6004

Performance should be pretty much dependent on intensity so it will be very different to before since it appears you're going up to intensity 4 where previously it would have been stuck at 0 +/- 1.
I'm getting anywhere from 2 to 6 now. Before, it basically topped out at 4.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
wildemagic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
July 01, 2012, 05:57:56 AM
 #6005

So systems without opencl.dll and sdk dont need to specifically recompile for this version?

Kind regards

.,-._|\     Offgrid 1.7kW Solar and 3G wireless internet powering my mining rig.
/ .Oz. \
\_,--.x/     [219.5btc of successful trades total] with : rastapool, miernik, flatronw & OneFixt
       o
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 01, 2012, 06:00:08 AM
 #6006

So systems without opencl.dll and sdk dont need to specifically recompile for this version?

Kind regards
If you use my precompiled binary you need opencl.dll. If you build it yourself it will require whatever you build it for.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
July 01, 2012, 06:24:03 AM
 #6007

May want to take a look at the windows binary.

Getting 1.5Mh/s on my 5870s with the new 2.4.4.   Undecided

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 01, 2012, 08:38:20 AM
 #6008

...
His excuse for this was: June-1 GMT+10 log discussion:
[Private log reposted without permission removed]

Still no sign of that 'private' code he wrote more than a month ago ...
So everyone using BFL on a pool that doesn't pay stale shares is getting 5x the number of stale shares with the current code than they should (and also of course luke-jr isn't getting this 5x)
...
So WHO THE FUCK is editing my posts here where I posted IRC discussion from the PUBLIC IRC CHANNEL #cgminer on FreeNet?

You better have a good reason for it.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
July 01, 2012, 11:11:41 AM
 #6009

...
His excuse for this was: June-1 GMT+10 log discussion:
[Private log reposted without permission removed]

Still no sign of that 'private' code he wrote more than a month ago ...
So everyone using BFL on a pool that doesn't pay stale shares is getting 5x the number of stale shares with the current code than they should (and also of course luke-jr isn't getting this 5x)
...
So WHO THE FUCK is editing my posts here where I posted IRC discussion from the PUBLIC IRC CHANNEL #cgminer on FreeNet?

You better have a good reason for it.

luke-jr flagged your posts saying they were "illegal log posting", but I ignored his mod request. One of the other mods must have done it.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 01, 2012, 11:42:51 AM
 #6010

May want to take a look at the windows binary.

Getting 1.5Mh/s on my 5870s with the new 2.4.4.   Undecided
Others are using this binary without any problems and I can't think of anything that would do this. I suggest you delete any .bin files you have and start again, or just extract it fresh and start again, doing the windows three finger salute (reboot) first.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 01, 2012, 11:43:45 AM
 #6011

...
His excuse for this was: June-1 GMT+10 log discussion:
[Private log reposted without permission removed]

Still no sign of that 'private' code he wrote more than a month ago ...
So everyone using BFL on a pool that doesn't pay stale shares is getting 5x the number of stale shares with the current code than they should (and also of course luke-jr isn't getting this 5x)
...
So WHO THE FUCK is editing my posts here where I posted IRC discussion from the PUBLIC IRC CHANNEL #cgminer on FreeNet?

You better have a good reason for it.
There's certainly nothing private about the #cgminer logs as far as I'm concerned, otherwise it wouldn't be an open public channel.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
July 01, 2012, 01:19:11 PM
 #6012

May want to take a look at the windows binary.

Getting 1.5Mh/s on my 5870s with the new 2.4.4.   Undecided

I'm not seeing this on a quad 6990 on Windows.

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
July 01, 2012, 01:34:27 PM
 #6013

May want to take a look at the windows binary.

Getting 1.5Mh/s on my 5870s with the new 2.4.4.   Undecided
All of my 58xx series is working perfectly. In fact, I got a marginal increase of 1~Mh/s

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
July 01, 2012, 01:37:07 PM
 #6014

Great work Con, keep it up Smiley. I always enjoy reading the changelog to see what progress you've made with that release.

A question, is there a way to achieve the following:

- set a fixed (low) fan speed, which is taken as upper limit
- set an engine range, which is taken into account, while maintaining the maximum fan speed and temperature
- set a maximum temperature and when this is reached the engine clock is lowered until we are in a safe sector

I tried width "--gpu-fan 30 --gpu-engine 600-1100 --temp-overheat 75" and "--gpu-fan 30 --auto-gpu --temp-overheat 75", but that does not seem to do the job.

The first one stays at 30% fan, 1100 MHz and does nothing, when reaching 75 °C.
The secon one stays at 30% fan, 925 MHz and does nothing, when reaching 75°C.

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 01, 2012, 01:43:13 PM
 #6015

Great work Con, keep it up Smiley. I always enjoy reading the changelog to see what progress you've made with that release.

A question, is there a way to achieve the following:

- set a fixed (low) fan speed, which is taken as upper limit
- set an engine range, which is taken into account, while maintaining the maximum fan speed and temperature
- set a maximum temperature and when this is reached the engine clock is lowered until we are in a safe sector

I tried width "--gpu-fan 30 --gpu-engine 600-1100 --temp-overheat 75" and "--gpu-fan 30 --auto-gpu --temp-overheat 75", but that does not seem to do the job.

The first one stays at 30% fan, 1100 MHz and does nothing, when reaching 75 °C.
The secon one stays at 30% fan, 925 MHz and does nothing, when reaching 75°C.

Dia
Thanks  Smiley

You need to differentiate target temp from overheat from cutoff temps. cgminer has a graded response depending on which of the 3 it is reaching, and you have to remember there is the hysteresis (3 default). So if you use the first of your numbers, and get rid of the overheat value, but enable autogpu, then it will start throttling the engine speed when it gets to about 78 degrees. ie you probably want:
--gpu-fan 30 --gpu-engine 600-1100 --auto-gpu
and that will keep the fan at static 30%, start the engine at 1100 and then if the temperature gets to 78 will start decreasing the engine speed. If 78 is too high, you can set the --temp-target to something besides 75.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
July 01, 2012, 02:08:07 PM
 #6016

Con, will you be writing BFL support via their remote solution?

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 01, 2012, 02:26:01 PM
 #6017

Con, will you be writing BFL support via their remote solution?
I haven't decided yet because this is not a sign of BFL supporting the community, the developer or the clients. Of course taking a stand when BFL are guaranteed of sales monopoly and cornering the market will just make me look like I'm taking a stance when no one gives a shit, but then, I'm not sure what I get out of doing the hard work for them.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
July 01, 2012, 02:43:38 PM
 #6018

May want to take a look at the windows binary.

Getting 1.5Mh/s on my 5870s with the new 2.4.4.   Undecided
Others are using this binary without any problems and I can't think of anything that would do this. I suggest you delete any .bin files you have and start again, or just extract it fresh and start again, doing the windows three finger salute (reboot) first.

Okay, it was late when I posted this, so I didn't mess with it last night, just shut it down and went back to 2.4.3.  Now it's a new day and I tried it again.  I noticed something immediately this morning, the intensity was set to "-10".  It will switch to any static (-10 through 14) intensity if I enter it with the GPU settings, or in the .conf file, but as soon as it is set back to dynamic (d) it pegs right back to -10 and stays there.

Have tried;
New clean copy, no .bin, no .conf
New copy with old .bin, old .conf
And all the variations of old and new

Running a Win7 x64 w/ 2.5 SDK and Cat 12.6

So, ckolivas, tell me what I can do to help you figure this out.

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
July 01, 2012, 02:52:44 PM
 #6019

Great work Con, keep it up Smiley. I always enjoy reading the changelog to see what progress you've made with that release.

A question, is there a way to achieve the following:

- set a fixed (low) fan speed, which is taken as upper limit
- set an engine range, which is taken into account, while maintaining the maximum fan speed and temperature
- set a maximum temperature and when this is reached the engine clock is lowered until we are in a safe sector

I tried width "--gpu-fan 30 --gpu-engine 600-1100 --temp-overheat 75" and "--gpu-fan 30 --auto-gpu --temp-overheat 75", but that does not seem to do the job.

The first one stays at 30% fan, 1100 MHz and does nothing, when reaching 75 °C.
The secon one stays at 30% fan, 925 MHz and does nothing, when reaching 75°C.

Dia
Thanks  Smiley

You need to differentiate target temp from overheat from cutoff temps. cgminer has a graded response depending on which of the 3 it is reaching, and you have to remember there is the hysteresis (3 default). So if you use the first of your numbers, and get rid of the overheat value, but enable autogpu, then it will start throttling the engine speed when it gets to about 78 degrees. ie you probably want:
--gpu-fan 30 --gpu-engine 600-1100 --auto-gpu
and that will keep the fan at static 30%, start the engine at 1100 and then if the temperature gets to 78 will start decreasing the engine speed. If 78 is too high, you can set the --temp-target to something besides 75.

Great, this does the job. Although 30% is rather low for a 7970 ^^, but when working I want to keep the fan as quiet as possible.
Btw. I can't set --temp-hysteresis to 0, which I would say should disable it entirely.

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 893

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
July 01, 2012, 08:50:05 PM
 #6020

the intensity was set to "-10".  It will switch to any static (-10 through 14) intensity if I enter it with the GPU settings, or in the .conf file, but as soon as it is set back to dynamic (d) it pegs right back to -10 and stays there.



same here.

dynamic sits a -10. took a while though (started around 5), not sure exactly but within 1/2 hour of firing up 2.4.4 it was a -10 and wont budge. set intensity to a number, then back to "d", and its back to -10

clean install (I always just create a new folder and install to it). 6870, win7 64 bit, 11.11 driver, 2.5 sdk. this rig is my daily driver, maybe some program I ran triggered it.

I did notice a "pool 0 not providing work fast enough" in the command window but am unsure if that had anything to do with it.

EDIT: set intensity to 7 for a while (an hour maybe?) and then to dynamic. nows its sitting at 4.
EDIT 2: back to -10 in ten minutes. didnt run much of anything, and nothing in the command windows but accepted shares.

just setting to 7 for now.
Pages: « 1 ... 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 [301] 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!