Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 02:15:44 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 [329] 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4828351 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
ralree
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Manateeeeeeees


View Profile
August 14, 2012, 06:56:11 AM
 #6561

Working great, 7970 with flashed Ghz edition vbios at 1220/700, Windows 8, on air cooling (fan @ 100%).  700+Mh/s.  Love it.  Going to watercool to get to 800+ this week.


1MANaTeEZoH4YkgMYz61E5y4s9BYhAuUjG
1481465744
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481465744

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481465744
Reply with quote  #2

1481465744
Report to moderator
1481465744
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481465744

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481465744
Reply with quote  #2

1481465744
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481465744
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481465744

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481465744
Reply with quote  #2

1481465744
Report to moderator
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 06:56:50 AM
 #6562

Is it possible to disable bitforce devices in the same way you can disable GPU devices? I like to run two instances of cgminer so my gpus and singles are seperated by worker. I am able to get around things by running cgminer with gpus disabled first then runing cgminer with nothing disabled. My second instance shows all of the singles as off, which is fine, but I would rather them be removed from the list.
-S noauto

Ah, yes, thanks!

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - GekkoScience DL580 Breakout Boards are In Stock!
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 06:59:10 AM
 #6563

Working great, 7970 with flashed Ghz edition vbios at 1220/700, Windows 8, on air cooling (fan @ 100%).  700+Mh/s.  Love it.  Going to watercool to get to 800+ this week.



Does the Ghz edition bios let you pass the 150 mhz max engine memory clock diff?

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - GekkoScience DL580 Breakout Boards are In Stock!
BlackPrapor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 584



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 07:07:34 AM
 #6564

To:CrazyBlane
I thought using I higher than 9 makes cgminer load CPU to 100%. How come you run it with I=13?

There is no place like 127.0.0.1
In blockchain we trust
ralree
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Manateeeeeeees


View Profile
August 14, 2012, 04:22:13 PM
 #6565

Working great, 7970 with flashed Ghz edition vbios at 1220/700, Windows 8, on air cooling (fan @ 100%).  700+Mh/s.  Love it.  Going to watercool to get to 800+ this week.



Does the Ghz edition bios let you pass the 150 mhz max engine memory clock diff?

Well, I'm not really sure about that - my card seems to report that it's still clocked at 1500Mhz no matter what I set the mem clocks to or what software I use (CCC, Afterburner, Trixx).  Trixx seems to think the settings are working, but I'm skeptical.  So, my quoted 700Mhz memory clock is what I set it to, but not necessarily what it is running at...

If anyone knows of a way to unlock this Diamond 7970 a little further, I'd appreciate any advice.  Especially voltage-wise since I plan to watercool soon and I don't think my VCC settings are taking (according to GPU-Z).  It's a pretty cheap card - $399 at newegg after rebate.

1MANaTeEZoH4YkgMYz61E5y4s9BYhAuUjG
BlackPrapor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 584



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 04:26:11 PM
 #6566

Working great, 7970 with flashed Ghz edition vbios at 1220/700, Windows 8, on air cooling (fan @ 100%).  700+Mh/s.  Love it.  Going to watercool to get to 800+ this week.

Does the Ghz edition bios let you pass the 150 mhz max engine memory clock diff?

Well, I'm not really sure about that - my card seems to report that it's still clocked at 1500Mhz no matter what I set the mem clocks to or what software I use (CCC, Afterburner, Trixx).  Trixx seems to think the settings are working, but I'm skeptical.  So, my quoted 700Mhz memory clock is what I set it to, but not necessarily what it is running at...

If anyone knows of a way to unlock this Diamond 7970 a little further, I'd appreciate any advice.  Especially voltage-wise since I plan to watercool soon and I don't think my VCC settings are taking (according to GPU-Z).  It's a pretty cheap card - $399 at newegg after rebate.
The best way to monitor real readings is to use GPU-Z

There is no place like 127.0.0.1
In blockchain we trust
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2012, 09:28:55 PM
 #6567

Working great, 7970 with flashed Ghz edition vbios at 1220/700, Windows 8, on air cooling (fan @ 100%).  700+Mh/s.  Love it.  Going to watercool to get to 800+ this week.

Does the Ghz edition bios let you pass the 150 mhz max engine memory clock diff?

Well, I'm not really sure about that - my card seems to report that it's still clocked at 1500Mhz no matter what I set the mem clocks to or what software I use (CCC, Afterburner, Trixx).  Trixx seems to think the settings are working, but I'm skeptical.  So, my quoted 700Mhz memory clock is what I set it to, but not necessarily what it is running at...

If anyone knows of a way to unlock this Diamond 7970 a little further, I'd appreciate any advice.  Especially voltage-wise since I plan to watercool soon and I don't think my VCC settings are taking (according to GPU-Z).  It's a pretty cheap card - $399 at newegg after rebate.
Check within cgminer while it's running. It tells you the real "current" settings. It's also why there's a small delay after you try to manually set a value from the menu it will report back the detected settings. 7970s only support memory 150 lower than engine speed without special tools that have access to unofficial overclocking (and cgminer is not one of those special tools).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 09:32:55 PM
 #6568

7970s only support memory 150 lower than engine speed without special tools that have access to unofficial overclocking (and cgminer is not one of those special tools).

I've always kinda wondered why AB can set my mem speed down to 300, but CGMiner can't. Will this be added in the future?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2012, 09:37:25 PM
 #6569

7970s only support memory 150 lower than engine speed without special tools that have access to unofficial overclocking (and cgminer is not one of those special tools).

I've always kinda wondered why AB can set my mem speed down to 300, but CGMiner can't. Will this be added in the future?
No. cgminer uses the ATI Display Library to do all its manipulations. As you'd imagine,  they're all "official" overclocking. Stuff that has unofficial modes pokes into the card in ways that AMD gives no data on, and only works on windows.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Elokane
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 761


Truth is a consensus among neurons www.synereo.com


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2012, 09:47:49 PM
 #6570

How much faster will this be for a 5870 or a 6990 than Guiminer running pre-2 Phoenix?

Seems like an awful lot to deal with. Wonder if it's worth it.

Synereo: a completely decentralized and distributed application ecosystem.

Beware of he who would deny you access to information, for in his heart, he dreams himself your master.
<br>
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
August 15, 2012, 12:55:55 AM
 #6571

7970s only support memory 150 lower than engine speed without special tools that have access to unofficial overclocking (and cgminer is not one of those special tools).

I've always kinda wondered why AB can set my mem speed down to 300, but CGMiner can't. Will this be added in the future?
No. cgminer uses the ATI Display Library to do all its manipulations. As you'd imagine,  they're all "official" overclocking. Stuff that has unofficial modes pokes into the card in ways that AMD gives no data on, and only works on windows.

Sounds fair enough. Thanks for the info.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2012, 02:41:35 AM
 #6572

New version - 2.6.5, 15th August 2012

Bugfixes yay

Human readable changelog
Found the longstanding problem with dynamic mode not really working on windows - the windows timer resolution is only 15ms and we're trying to sample much smaller than that. This was leading to the time taken to do GPU work appearing as zero for many samples. I used oversampling of results to find a mean time.
gpu-memdiff should now take effect when you change gpu engine clock from the menu as well
Hopefully the ADL gpu-map feature should work now when you have more adl devices than opencl (more ATI cards that dont support opencl).
More tweaks to the queueing mechanism to increase efficiency and keep minirigs fully work laden.
failover-only is available via the RPC API now.
More tweaks to bitforce devices to decrease comms errors.
Fixes to writing json config files.
Updated miner.php


Full changelog
- Don't try to get bitforce temperature if we're polling for a result to
minimise the chance of interleaved responses.
- Set memory clock based on memdiff if present from with engine changes,
allowing it to parallel manual changes from the menu as well.
- Increase the timeout on bitforce as per Paul Sheppard's suggestion to account
for throttling + work time + excess.
- Fix ADL gpu-map not working when there are more ADL devices than openCL.
Initial patch supplied by Nite69. Modified to suit.
- Windows' timer resolution is limited to 15ms accuracy. This was breaking
dynamic intensity since it tries to measure below this. Since we are repeatedly
sampling similar timeframes, we can average the gpu_us result over 5 different
values to get very fine precision.
- Fix harmless unused warnings in scrypt.h.
- API allow display/change failover-only setting
- Check we are not lagging as well as there is enough work in getwork.
- Minimise locking and unlocking when getting counts by reusing shared mutex
lock functions.
- Avoid getting more work if by the time the getwork thread is spawned we find
ourselves with enough work.
- The bitforce buffer is cleared and hw error count incremented on return from a
failed send_work already so no need to do it within the send_work function.
- miner.php allow a custom page section to select all fields with '*' - e.g. to
create a STATS section on a custom page
- Escape " and \ when writing json config file
- miner.php optional single rig totals (on by default)

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
August 15, 2012, 03:03:40 AM
 #6573

New version - 2.6.5, 15th August 2012
Damn, still requires that random file. Back to 2.6.2.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
ScarecrowMagick
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
August 15, 2012, 03:49:22 AM
 #6574

Still kind of new at this GIT stuff.

I stopped cgminer, (on linux) then did the following:

git pull
./configure --enable-cpuminer
make
sudo make install

when it was done, I started cgminer again, and it still said it was v 2.6.4

It's working, tho.  Did I do it correctly?

scarecrowmagick
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2012, 03:54:57 AM
 #6575

Still kind of new at this GIT stuff.

I stopped cgminer, (on linux) then did the following:

git pull
./configure --enable-cpuminer
make
sudo make install

when it was done, I started cgminer again, and it still said it was v 2.6.4

It's working, tho.  Did I do it correctly?

Not quite, you need to execute "./autogen.sh" before the configure step. (Also, you probably don't need the sudo there.)

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 15, 2012, 04:18:07 AM
 #6576

I always do a "make clean", before "make"

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
ScarecrowMagick
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
August 15, 2012, 04:21:28 AM
 #6577

Awesome, thanks. That did it. I am now running v 2.6.5

ScarecrowMagick
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
August 15, 2012, 04:46:55 AM
 #6578

New version - 2.6.5, 15th August 2012

So far working great on Pi with multiple BFLs.
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
August 15, 2012, 04:52:31 AM
 #6579

How much faster will this be for a 5870 or a 6990 than Guiminer running pre-2 Phoenix?

Seems like an awful lot to deal with. Wonder if it's worth it.

maybe 5%. it's worth it. 5870 I could give you good settings

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 15, 2012, 05:03:02 AM
 #6580

cut/paste Smiley

2.6.5
An Xubuntu 11.04 x86_64 executable is in my github downloads called cgminer-2.6.5a
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/downloads

For anyone who didn't realise, it's just the executable file to put in place of 'cgminer'
Nothing else needs changing
First get and extract the full binary release from ckolivas and then copy my file in place of 'cgminer'

No Problems so far on my GPU+2xIcarus or BFL (I'm now only running 2 instances of cgminer)

The same configure options as cvolivas' binary version
In case anyone was wondering:
CFLAGS="-O2 -W -Wall" ./configure --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-ztex --enable-modminer --enable-scrypt

I have also added a WinXP cgminer-2.6.5a.exe

This ONLY has BFL + ICA (as below) thus it doesn't need a computer with OpenCL on it
CFLAGS="-O2 -W -Wall" ./configure --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce

You will most likely also need the windowsdlls.zip file there in my downloads since some of my *.dll might be slightly different to ckolivas

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: « 1 ... 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 [329] 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!