Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 09:33:35 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 [281] 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4825274 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
May 25, 2012, 03:15:23 PM
 #5601

They will only clock back up if the temperature drops enough again.

How long will this take ? I left them about 15 minutes after the heat stopped and the cold begun and they did not clock back automatically ( I had to do it manually ).

Thanks !
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481319215
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319215

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319215
Reply with quote  #2

1481319215
Report to moderator
wogaut
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
May 25, 2012, 06:39:58 PM
 #5602

I've been trying to run cgminer with remoting into my Raspberry Pi via ssh.
I tried no use nohup to avoid for cgminer to receive a SIGHUP when I leave ssh, but whenever the input is redirected no /dev/null (what nohup does), cgminer maxes out the CPU usage. Bad thing on the RPi.

How can I get around this?


P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2012, 06:50:32 PM
 #5603

Use screen instead?

Look at the scripts in my dd-wrt implementation in my sig. may help you.
wogaut
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
May 25, 2012, 07:10:14 PM
 #5604

Use screen instead?

Look at the scripts in my dd-wrt implementation in my sig. may help you.

Ah, the S99cgminer script I presume.  I'll try the screen command. 

Thanks!

P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2012, 07:16:56 PM
 #5605

There's an updated to that script I've not added yet:

For the kill commands, change them to the following:

Code:
Killall -s SIGINT cgminer
sleep 1
Killall screen
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 25, 2012, 10:45:46 PM
 #5606

I've been trying to run cgminer with remoting into my Raspberry Pi via ssh.
I tried no use nohup to avoid for cgminer to receive a SIGHUP when I leave ssh, but whenever the input is redirected no /dev/null (what nohup does), cgminer maxes out the CPU usage. Bad thing on the RPi.

How can I get around this?


Add to cgminer:
... --api-listen --api-allow W:127.0.0.1,192.168.0/24 ...
(of course you'll have to correct 192.168.0 to match your network)

Then to exit cgminer:
 echo -n quit | nc 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo
OR, if you don't have nc (or ncat) then you can use:
 java API quit
if you have API.class in the current directory

i.e. see if a clean exit resolves it

Also, killing screen after 1 second is often before cgminer completes exiting
(since it has to wait on a bunch of threads and then exit with the summary)
... just get the screen to exit when cgminer exits

Edit: OK that reply is a mix of comments to the previous posts ... but the point is yes use screen ... and also a clean exit

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
wogaut
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
May 26, 2012, 12:59:15 AM
 #5607

I've been trying to run cgminer with remoting into my Raspberry Pi via ssh.
I tried no use nohup to avoid for cgminer to receive a SIGHUP when I leave ssh, but whenever the input is redirected no /dev/null (what nohup does), cgminer maxes out the CPU usage. Bad thing on the RPi.

How can I get around this?


Add to cgminer:
... --api-listen --api-allow W:127.0.0.1,192.168.0/24 ...
(of course you'll have to correct 192.168.0 to match your network)

Then to exit cgminer:
 echo -n quit | nc 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo
OR, if you don't have nc (or ncat) then you can use:
 java API quit
if you have API.class in the current directory

i.e. see if a clean exit resolves it

Also, killing screen after 1 second is often before cgminer completes exiting
(since it has to wait on a bunch of threads and then exit with the summary)
... just get the screen to exit when cgminer exits

Edit: OK that reply is a mix of comments to the previous posts ... but the point is yes use screen ... and also a clean exit

screen works well.

the api-listen I'll try soon too, seems quite convenient for remote control.

cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
May 26, 2012, 02:03:54 AM
 #5608

Since I updated cgminer the program seems to freeze up a lot. My pool will report that the miner disconnects and reconnects every couple minutes. If I then restart cgminer, it stops responding and even task manager can't close it. It has happened on most of my rigs. Is anyone else having this problem?
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 26, 2012, 02:19:38 AM
 #5609

Since I updated cgminer the program seems to freeze up a lot. My pool will report that the miner disconnects and reconnects every couple minutes. If I then restart cgminer, it stops responding and even task manager can't close it. It has happened on most of my rigs. Is anyone else having this problem?
Firstly, make sure you always run with --api-listen (at least)
Then on a rig that has disconnected and reconnected many times, post here the output of 'devdetails' and 'notify'
On windows, the easiest is probably a command prompt in the cgminer directory and type:
 java API devdetails
 java API notify

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
dmcurser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
May 26, 2012, 02:34:14 AM
 #5610

can you write exactly what i need to type and i will do it for you it seem mine freeze up after a few hours but it doesn't freeze my comp just cg

1Q7TPBHHVmGCvqffYHpXCCBgbcBQ4NwXdW
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 26, 2012, 02:45:46 AM
 #5611

can you write exactly what i need to type and i will do it for you it seem mine freeze up after a few hours but it doesn't freeze my comp just cg
Well it relates to cuz0882 since he says he is getting disconnects and 'notify' might say why
Anyway, make sure you also include --api-listen when running cgminer then:
(above reworded Smiley)
Start -> run -> cmd (or Start Menu -> accessories -> command prompt) ... or wherever it is now Tongue
then cd to wherever cgminer is
then the two commands (assuming you have java installed):
 java API devdetails
 java API notify
(before cgminer freezes)

Edit: of course if you are just overclocking you card too far, you simply just need to clock it down a bit more ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
May 26, 2012, 07:20:15 AM
 #5612

Firstly, make sure you always run with --api-listen (at least)
Then on a rig that has disconnected and reconnected many times, post here the output of 'devdetails' and 'notify'
On windows, the easiest is probably a command prompt in the cgminer directory and type:
 java API devdetails
 java API notify
[/quote]
I have java 7 installed but the commands are not recognized. I put api listen on though.
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 26, 2012, 01:33:24 PM
 #5613

Firstly, make sure you always run with --api-listen (at least)
Then on a rig that has disconnected and reconnected many times, post here the output of 'devdetails' and 'notify'
On windows, the easiest is probably a command prompt in the cgminer directory and type:
 java API devdetails
 java API notify
I have java 7 installed but the commands are not recognized. I put api listen on though.
Well if you just type java and it gives an error that java is not found then it wont work - oh well.

If on the other hand when you type java you get a reply stating the options for java then for some unknown reason you didn't cd to the directory where cgminer is.

In the cgminer directory there is a file API.class which means you can type java API notify when that is your current directory
Also type java API devdetails

If you can't do that - then I give up Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
May 27, 2012, 06:26:48 AM
 #5614

cgminer stops working, these are it's last entries in the log.

Code:
Discarded cloned or rolled work
Reaped curl 6 from pool 0
Received kill message
Received kill message

Sometimes "Reaped" line is 2 hours passing until "Received kill message"

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 27, 2012, 06:57:37 AM
 #5615

There are only a limited number of ways you can get a "Received kill message"
All of them that could match your screen would be initiated by you or your "extra" software you are running.
Something external to cgminer is telling it to quit.
('Reaped' has nothing to do with it)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
dmcurser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
May 27, 2012, 09:54:39 PM
 #5616

does anyone have a old copy or a link where i can get one i cant take the freeze after 5 mins

1Q7TPBHHVmGCvqffYHpXCCBgbcBQ4NwXdW
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 27, 2012, 10:30:00 PM
 #5617

does anyone have a old copy or a link where i can get one i cant take the freeze after 5 mins
Well ... so far you've provided zero information about the problem
(you clearly haven't even looked in your cgminer logs to see if it says anything about why it's happening when it happens)

My API commands are a shortcut to seeing some of the possible errors that may have been logged.

We have no info at all about what hardware you are running.

The most common cause of freezing is that your GPUs are being pushed too hard (as I mentioned about stepping them down a bit) or there is something wrong with one of your GPUs.

... and on a slight tangent Smiley
... I had my first GPU hardware issue with mining this weekend ... one of my 2x6950's seems to have a fan problem on one of the 3 fans
They have both been mining for 10 months now - but not non-stop I used to switch them off for 6 hours a day when BTC was below $4
Anyway, I'm impressed - 10 months of card abuse and the only problem on 2 cards so far is a single fan needing something done about it Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
dmcurser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
May 28, 2012, 03:38:36 AM
 #5618

sorry for the no info i would love to provide it if i was able to.
the system is a crossfire 5 board bulldozer processor, 1250 power supply and 3 5970, all 3 5970 cores are running stock clocks with me lowered to 300, temps are from 62-70 not any hotter then that. ive tried running the java commands but like i said cg pretty much freezes up not even a min after starting it i just wanted to try an older version of cg to see if it was somthing to do with the new version or if it was me. 

1Q7TPBHHVmGCvqffYHpXCCBgbcBQ4NwXdW
jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 424



View Profile
May 28, 2012, 04:04:42 AM
 #5619

sorry for the no info i would love to provide it if i was able to.
the system is a crossfire 5 board bulldozer processor, 1250 power supply and 3 5970, all 3 5970 cores are running stock clocks with me lowered to 300, temps are from 62-70 not any hotter then that. ive tried running the java commands but like i said cg pretty much freezes up not even a min after starting it i just wanted to try an older version of cg to see if it was somthing to do with the new version or if it was me. 

It shows up in cgminer as 6 gpu's/cores then? I had problems when I tried 6 "cores" on one of my rigs and had to split one off but I don't remember if it was cgminer or windows 7 that didn't like it.
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
May 28, 2012, 06:11:19 AM
 #5620

('Reaped' has nothing to do with it)

Doesn't 'Reaped curl' mean the sockets have closed, meaning no communication?

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
Pages: « 1 ... 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 [281] 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!