Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:37:22 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 [310] 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4822062 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
July 16, 2012, 04:12:10 PM
 #6181

Sometimes,also, with a lower overclock setting and lower hashrate you will get a higher Utility.
Sam

Care to explain how that works?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
1481157442
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481157442

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481157442
Reply with quote  #2

1481157442
Report to moderator
1481157442
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481157442

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481157442
Reply with quote  #2

1481157442
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481157442
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481157442

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481157442
Reply with quote  #2

1481157442
Report to moderator
1481157442
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481157442

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481157442
Reply with quote  #2

1481157442
Report to moderator
1481157442
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481157442

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481157442
Reply with quote  #2

1481157442
Report to moderator
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 04:41:41 PM
 #6182

Sometimes,also, with a lower overclock setting and lower hashrate you will get a higher Utility.
Sam

Care to explain how that works?

No,I can't explain how that works, but, ckolivas posted a suggestion a while back.

He said that once you find your max GPU Engine clock that your card runs stable at try to drop your GPU clock 5Mhz at a time to see if there's a sweet spot where your Utility increases.  I tried that and I did find a spot where my Utility went up a little at a lower GPU Clock.

Maybe ckolivas could elaborate on that?
YMMV,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
July 16, 2012, 04:44:15 PM
 #6183

Sometimes,also, with a lower overclock setting and lower hashrate you will get a higher Utility.
Sam

Care to explain how that works?

No,I can't explain how that works, but, ckolivas posted a suggestion a while back.

He said that once you find your max GPU Engine clock that your card runs stable at try to drop your GPU clock 5Mhz at a time to see if there's a sweet spot where your Utility increases.  I tried that and I did find a spot where my Utility went up a little at a lower GPU Clock.

Maybe ckolivas could elaborate on that?
YMMV,
Sam

And you verified this over a 24-48 hour period to negate any U variances, right?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 04:52:10 PM
 #6184

Sometimes,also, with a lower overclock setting and lower hashrate you will get a higher Utility.
Sam

Care to explain how that works?

No,I can't explain how that works, but, ckolivas posted a suggestion a while back.

He said that once you find your max GPU Engine clock that your card runs stable at try to drop your GPU clock 5Mhz at a time to see if there's a sweet spot where your Utility increases.  I tried that and I did find a spot where my Utility went up a little at a lower GPU Clock.

Maybe ckolivas could elaborate on that?
YMMV,
Sam

And you verified this over a 24-48 hour period to negate any U variances, right?

After I found the clock that produced a higher Utility I ran it there for a while.  So yes.  Right now I'm back to running stock clocks since I'm running the AC.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Subo1977
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 345


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 09:08:27 PM
 #6185

Question about Config file:

Can i set up -g and -I for each Pool in the configfile
for example  for the pool at slot 0, "-g 1" AND "-I 7", for pool at slot 1, "-g 2" AND "-I 9"

I provide a 1000Mbit+ Torrent-Seedbox in FR and a 500Mbit Box in NL for orginal Blockchain Bootstrap.dat download. and also for Armoryclient Torrent

Tips are welcome:  15MuGdPSXU62fEFE9XbBZN3UvJMHBDVBoy
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 10:28:04 PM
 #6186

Sometimes,also, with a lower overclock setting and lower hashrate you will get a higher Utility.
Sam

Care to explain how that works?

No,I can't explain how that works, but, ckolivas posted a suggestion a while back.

He said that once you find your max GPU Engine clock that your card runs stable at try to drop your GPU clock 5Mhz at a time to see if there's a sweet spot where your Utility increases.  I tried that and I did find a spot where my Utility went up a little at a lower GPU Clock.

Maybe ckolivas could elaborate on that?
YMMV,
Sam
I did not ever say that. I said there are certain engine/memory clock combinations where the hashrate rises more than linearly with engine clock speed with the unorthodox kernels like phatk. Utility is hashrate * random luck and it should just be linearly related to hashrate.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
July 16, 2012, 11:50:50 PM
 #6187

I guess theoretically it may be possible that there's an overclocking zone where the GPU doesn't freeze but doesn't compute the hashes correctly either and misses some shares (an error occasionally flipping one bit of the resulting hash to 1 even if it should be a 0 could reduce the utility while being undetectable by the miner software).

Even if possible I suspect this isn't very common : the error must be located in the last stage of the sha256d computation and only affect high bits to exhibit this behavior and not a simple hardware error as detected by miners (where a share candidate doesn't pass the software-only check). I don't know enough about OpenCL to guess if the way the OpenCL compiler works may make it more probable though (hash results may end up in registers/memory cells statistically more prone to errors for example).

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 11:54:13 PM
 #6188

I guess theoretically it may be possible that there's an overclocking zone where the GPU doesn't freeze but doesn't compute the hashes correctly either and misses some shares (an error occasionally flipping one bit of the resulting hash to 1 even if it should be a 0 could reduce the utility while being undetectable by the miner software).

Even if possible I suspect this isn't very common : the error must be located in the last stage of the sha256d computation and only affect high bits to exhibit this behavior and not a simple hardware error as detected by miners (where a share candidate doesn't pass the software-only check). I don't know enough about OpenCL to guess if the way the OpenCL compiler works may make it more probable though (hash results may end up in registers/memory cells statistically more prone to errors for example).
Hardware errors would easily reveal this being a problem though. I would definitely advise to keep clocks below a level where HW errors start appearing. If you're not getting HW errors, there is no real mechanism for a lower utility at a higher hashrate.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bronan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765


Lazy Lurker Reads Alot


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2012, 12:51:13 AM
 #6189

Hey ckolivas
I posted my hardware and config file earlier, but non gave a suggestion nor an answer.
But before i read your post about the readme, i took an old batch for testing which had a small difference with my normal config file
my dual 7970 cards run for a long time fine with 750 core / 800 mem mhz speed this because our country has one of the highest energy price worldwide due to extreme taxes.
Anyway the old batch was as follows :
-I 7 --verbose --gpu-engine 800 --temp-target 75 --temp-cutoff 95 --temp-overheat 80 --gpu-memclock 800 --debug -T 2>logfile.txt

Now here comes the thing i do not understand the 2.4.3 runs fine with the settings earlier provided but here i post them again :

"intensity" : "7",
"gpu-engine" : "750",
"gpu-memclock" : "800",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-cutoff" : "95",
"temp-target" : "75",
"failover-only" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"retry-pause" : "5",
"scan-time" : "60",
"worksize" : "256",
"expiry" : "120",
"vectors" : "2",
"algo" : "auto",
"queue" : "1",
"log" : "5"

Believe it or not the difference is the 50 mhz lesser clock on the core which causes cgminer to crash with 2.4.4 and 2.5.0
Nevertheless i might miss a error or another reason for the fail, ofcourse you could says keep it running at 800 core but that would actually produce a lot of heat and ofcourse bigger usage on the meter.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 10:15:20 AM
 #6190

Sometimes,also, with a lower overclock setting and lower hashrate you will get a higher Utility.
Sam

Care to explain how that works?

No,I can't explain how that works, but, ckolivas posted a suggestion a while back.

He said that once you find your max GPU Engine clock that your card runs stable at try to drop your GPU clock 5Mhz at a time to see if there's a sweet spot where your Utility increases.  I tried that and I did find a spot where my Utility went up a little at a lower GPU Clock.

Maybe ckolivas could elaborate on that?
YMMV,
Sam
I did not ever say that. I said there are certain engine/memory clock combinations where the hashrate rises more than linearly with engine clock speed with the unorthodox kernels like phatk. Utility is hashrate * random luck and it should just be linearly related to hashrate.

I think this is the post I was referring to.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg742189#msg742189

When I was doing this I did find a spot where my Utility increased and obviously my hashrate increased too.  Funny how the minds eye works sometimes Smiley
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 10:38:49 AM
 #6191

People seem to miss that 'random' element of U: often.
You can't expect U: to do anything quickly of course
(nor can you expect it do anything with any real precision)

Basically a few days should start to converge on the expected U: value
(and maybe an hour to be within about 10% for most hardware in the 300-800MH/s range)

I guess one of the statisticians could work that out as a function of MH/s where it would be within say > 99% or even > 99.9% confidence ...
But from experience those numbers I've said ... seem ... to be close to reality.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1745


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 01:19:06 PM
 #6192

hi
is there any way to run cgminer with different configs (night/day) with the scheduler without restarting cgminer?
eg:
night 11:00 PM:  -I 9,9
day   06:00 AM: -I d,9

TIA
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 01:57:14 PM
 #6193

Just use console to change it in the fly Smiley
G I D <enter>
G I 9 <enter>
Smiley

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
July 17, 2012, 02:01:54 PM
 #6194

hi
is there any way to run cgminer with different configs (night/day) with the scheduler without restarting cgminer?
eg:
night 11:00 PM:  -I 9,9
day   06:00 AM: -I d,9

TIA

If you're in Windows, you could make a .bat file with a IF statement inside a loop, that compares the time, and then starts your miner with different configs. Then have a 2nd very simple batch file on a loop that kills CGMiner every 10800 seconds (3 hours). I ran like this for a while, but for a different issue. Not a very clean way of quitting CGMiner, but it works...i guess...

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1745


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 02:05:56 PM
 #6195

Just use console to change it in the fly Smiley
G I D <enter>
G I 9 <enter>
Smiley
thx Wink
no I mean it automatically every day in Linux...
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 02:41:36 PM
 #6196

Just use console to change it in the fly Smiley
G I D <enter>
G I 9 <enter>
Smiley
thx Wink
no I mean it automatically every day in Linux...
I'm guessing you could use something like curl in cron to do this via the API, but you'd have to figure it out yourself unless someone else chimes in with specific instructions.
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 08:06:39 PM
 #6197

kill pgrep cgminer
cgminer -options
Tongue

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 08:16:47 PM
 #6198

kill pgrep cgminer
cgminer -options
Tongue
is there any way to run cgminer with different configs (night/day) with the scheduler without restarting cgminer?
Tongue
JinTu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


Hopping down the bunny trail


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 08:33:04 PM
 #6199

Just use console to change it in the fly Smiley
G I D <enter>
G I 9 <enter>
Smiley
thx Wink
no I mean it automatically every day in Linux...

This doesn't meet all your criteria wrt not restarting cgminer, but here is something I whipped up before API support was added:

Code:
#!/bin/sh

export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1

while true ; do
 killall -HUP cgminer > /dev/null 2>&1
 now="`date +%Y%m%d%H%M%S`"
 if [ -e "/usr/tmp/mine-high" ];
 then
   echo "Starting cgminer in high mode"
   cgminer --url xxxx --user xxxx --pass xxxx --url xxxx --user xxxx --pass xxxx --auto-fan --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 300-750 --gpu-memclock 150 --gpu-vddc 1.0 --intensity "d,8,8,8" --gpu-fan 30-85 --temp-target 73 -w 256 --text-only 2> /home/jintu/cgminer-logs/run.$now.$$.log
 else
  if [ -e "/usr/tmp/mine-low" ];
   then
    echo "Starting cgminer in low mode"
    cgminer --url xxxx --user xxxx --pass xxxx --url xxxx --user xxxx --pass xxxx --auto-fan --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 300-550 --gpu-memclock 150 --gpu-vddc 1.0 --intensity "d,8,8,8" --gpu-fan 30-50 --temp-target 73 -w 256 --text-only 2> /home/jintu/cgminer-logs/run.$now.$$.log
   fi
 fi
 echo "Sleeping for 10 seconds."
 sleep 10

done

This script fires up automatically when X starts (my miners are setup to autologin).

I also have the following cron config to control when it should be in each mode:

Code:
#Weekdays
0 0 * * mon,tue,wed,thu,fri /usr/local/bin/mine-high.sh
0 12 * * mon,tue,wed,thu,fri /usr/local/bin/mine-low.sh
#Weekend
0 0 * * sat,sun /usr/local/bin/mine-high.sh
0 13 * * sat,sun /usr/local/bin/mine-low.sh

and finally here are the scripts called by cron:

mine-high.sh
Code:
#!/bin/sh
#
rm /usr/tmp/mine-low > /dev/null 2>&1
touch /usr/tmp/mine-high > /dev/null 2>&1
killall -HUP cgminer > /dev/null 2>&1

mine-low.sh
Code:
#!/bin/sh
#
rm /usr/tmp/mine-high > /dev/null 2>&1
touch /usr/tmp/mine-low > /dev/null 2>&1
killall -HUP cgminer > /dev/null 2>&1



Please donate if this was helpful: 14CLqCNphUJ54ro2PtqQWJDmW3Eic1WmUd
Cacti templates for pool, GPU and CGMINER monitoring.
GPU monitoring with SNMP
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 10:00:57 PM
 #6200

Step 1:
 ensure --api-listen --api-allow w:127.0.0.1 is set

Step 2:
 Have 2 cron jobs that run at whatever 2 times you want e.g.
  00 23 * * * root /usr/local/bin/cgspeed up
  00 6 * * * root /usr/local/bin/cgspeed down


Step 3: /usr/local/bin/cgspeed (don't forget to chmod +x /usr/local/bin/cgspeed)
Code:
#!/bin/sh
#
if [ "$1" = "up" ] ; then
 echo -n 'gpuintensity|0,9' | nc 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo
fi
#
if [ "$1" = "down" ] ; then
 echo -n 'gpuintensity|0,d' | nc 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo
fi
... I haven't tested it but it looks OK Smiley

Also, if your linux doesn't have 'nc' it may be called 'ncat' or 'netcat'

Lastly if you don't want the email status messages sent to root twice a day, then make the echo lines look like:
  echo -n 'gpuintensity|0,d' | nc 127.0.0.1 4028 &> /dev/null on the end of each 'echo' line

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: « 1 ... 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 [310] 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!