Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:19:00 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 [274] 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4822040 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 01:57:46 PM
 #5461

I'm not sure which reason accounts for the increase, but I have a feeling it's because EMC is used as a backup for a lot of people, so the latter is likely the more likely explanation.  Hit over 5000 LP watchers on one server last night during a few long polls.  We normally only have about 1000 active miners give or take a few hundred at any given time.
Maybe a less invasive method would be for cgminer to delay the getwork on backup pools by a few seconds (and do so randomly)?

So time 0 your would see your 1000 or so active users send getwork and then spread out over the next x seconds randomly requests would come from the other 4000 or so users. 
Does cgminer request work from the backup pools, or is the load caued by the number of connections and the fact that the longpolls (which are pushed, not requested) contain work?
1481156340
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481156340

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481156340
Reply with quote  #2

1481156340
Report to moderator
1481156340
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481156340

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481156340
Reply with quote  #2

1481156340
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481156340
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481156340

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481156340
Reply with quote  #2

1481156340
Report to moderator
1481156340
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481156340

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481156340
Reply with quote  #2

1481156340
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 03:04:49 PM
 #5462

Longpolls are really up to the pool to return, and cgminer will wait for up to 60 minutes for one. There's no real way to say "yeah I want a longpoll, but it's fine if you delay it for a minute or so". It's basically pushed from the pool and the client just receives it whenever. It's probably not ideal for cgminer to get a longpoll from every single backup pool you have configured, but there are logistical reasons for why it's done that way, and is more indicative of just how many people use LOTS of backup pools, EMC obviously being a popular one. There are issues with only running one longpoll from the primary pool when work is gathered from multiple pools during periods of overload, and there is no way to "turn off" a longpoll once it's been requested if you decide to change pools, and some pools have extra longpolls for merged mining, blockchain variations (eg p2pool) and so on. It's virtually impossible to just "do the right thing" since there is no right thing. A longpoll from each pool is the best thing for a miner. As we've seen with EMC, though, the longpoll load can also be quite hefty, even if the rest of networking has become MUCH politer to pools since 2.4.0. I'll think about it some more, but I can't see a solution that is optimal for both miner and pool.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 04:23:00 PM
 #5463

Cgminer hangs again. Could this be an issue with Sempron CPU's? Running a Sempron 145.

I doubt it, I've been running  rings on 145's for several months now.  Never had a cgminer hang that wasn't directly related to a card settings bork up.

You aren't trying to run it with an unlocked core or odd frequency settings by any chance?

I have a 5970 with one unstable core. I run it at 825 engine and 260 memclock. Any engine clock higher than that or memclock lower than that and the system freezes. The other core is happy at 875/220. SSH/screen other terminals are fine but unable to kill the cgminer process and restart.
Could it be other processes interfering with cgminer or confusing it? What would cause multiple sshd's to run, multiple udisk to run?

check the first core VRM temps ( the one closest to the dvi connectors ). the card is throttling because they are getting over 125C, when the card throttles itself this way it crashes cgminer. I have had the same problems, had to remove the heatsink and replace the pads on the vrm there.
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 07:02:37 PM
 #5464

Kano,

From the code, I see that when saving a conf file through the API, a blank parameter will throw up a missing file error... could that be changed to save the default (in use) conf file? Would seem to be a sensible thing to do.
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 08:01:35 PM
 #5465

I can't see a workable solution either at the moment, which is why I'm trying to just shore up the EMC servers to handle LPs better.  Maybe if there's some way to identify a "backup" LP request to the server, so the server can prioritize active LPs and backup LPs in a QoS fashion or something... that way LPs can be pushed out as best effort for the backup LPs.  It would obviously require some changes to pool software, but I don't think they'd be that drastic and it would help out everyone.


If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 08:03:30 PM
 #5466

I can't see a workable solution either at the moment, which is why I'm trying to just shore up the EMC servers to handle LPs better.  Maybe if there's some way to identify a "backup" LP request to the server, so the server can prioritize active LPs and backup LPs in a QoS fashion or something... that way LPs can be pushed out as best effort for the backup LPs.  It would obviously require some changes to pool software, but I don't think they'd be that drastic and it would help out everyone.


Slush prioritizes his LPs already, it sounds like a good idea.
Also, what is the bottleneck with many LPs? Is it processing power? Memory hog? Disk reads/writes blocking? Running out of sockets? I wonder if it could or should be offloaded onto a dedicated box, if it is that much of a load issue.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 08:14:40 PM
 #5467

Well, it's basically up to over 6000 outbound connections at the same instant on one server right now... how does Slush determine who gets LP priority?

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 09:06:29 PM
 #5468

Well, it's basically up to over 6000 outbound connections at the same instant on one server right now... how does Slush determine who gets LP priority?
LP priority is based on hashrate.

EDIT: Link: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1976.msg611014#msg611014

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 09:46:37 PM
 #5469

Well, it's basically up to over 6000 outbound connections at the same instant on one server right now... how does Slush determine who gets LP priority?
LP priority is based on hashrate.

EDIT: Link: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1976.msg611014#msg611014
LP priority based on hash rate ... yeah right ... piss on the little guy Tongue
Slush is certainly on my ban list once I found out about that a while back (though I have never created a slush account ...)
I used to be 720MH/s (now 2.295GH/s) so I have plenty of sympathy for people with only one or 2 medium hashing ATI cards.
Of course setting a lower limit is fine (yes people should not be CPU mining) and that would also cover people using the pool as a backup but not mining, but everyone else should be random - and anyone mining BTC (and/or running a pool) should understand exactly what random means ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 10:18:07 PM
 #5470

I agree basing longpoll priority on absolute hashrate would be a real shame to all the smaller miners. The original bitcoin vision was that anyone connected to it could contribute a few cycles in a massively distributed computing power entity, and it's actually unfortunate that it is becoming such a "professional job" to actually earn something via mining. On the other hand, all it would take is some kind of nominal number of shares, say 1 in the last minute, to detect an active miner versus a backup miner. It would also kick botnets' arses.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 10:47:01 PM
 #5471

I agree basing longpoll priority on absolute hashrate would be a real shame to all the smaller miners. The original bitcoin vision was that anyone connected to it could contribute a few cycles in a massively distributed computing power entity, and it's actually unfortunate that it is becoming such a "professional job" to actually earn something via mining. On the other hand, all it would take is some kind of nominal number of shares, say 1 in the last minute, to detect an active miner versus a backup miner. It would also kick botnets' arses.
I believe this is the case. At that link, you will see that Slush mentions CPU miners and says that this should deal with them. I assume that the priority doesn't apply to miners over a low rate such as 100mhash, and therefore implementing prioritization on EMC may not make a noticeable difference in load or such things.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 12, 2012, 12:14:04 AM
 #5472

I used cgminer pool and it told me that the pool I'm on has 2.3% rejected.

Is this normal or should I look into my PC or change pool?
DutchBrat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
May 12, 2012, 01:50:58 AM
 #5473

Ckolivas:

this is a funny message generated by CGMiner (on all my miners) !:

Code:
cgminer version 2.4.1 - Started: [2012-05-12 03:29:42]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):312.0 (avg):311.9 Mh/s | Q:193  A:83  R:4  HW:0  E:43%  U:4.4/m
 TQ: 2  ST: 5  SS: 0  DW: 11  NB: 2  LW: 139  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to http://pool.bonuspool.co.cc:80 with LP as user
 Block: 00000263027422ab47efedc55dcc2dc4...  Started: [03:47:03]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  73.5C 2287RPM | 312.4/311.9Mh/s | A:84 R:4 HW:0 U:4.50/m I: 6
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2012-05-12 03:45:47] Accepted 65beb547.b86069e7 GPU 0 pool 0
 [2012-05-12 03:45:53] Accepted 3acd4866.8076a92d GPU 0 pool 0
 [2012-05-12 03:45:54] Accepted ff3aae97.f1bf6754 GPU 0 pool 0
 [2012-05-12 03:46:59] Accepted 0df92b7c.be02982a GPU 0 pool 0
 [2012-05-12 03:47:03] [font=Verdana][b]LONGPOLL from pool 4 detected new block[/b][/font]
 [2012-05-12 03:47:31] Rejected 9d002557.57674fb4 GPU 0 pool 0
 [2012-05-12 03:47:34] Rejected 751cb3f6.be3a7a7b GPU 0 pool 0
 [2012-05-12 03:47:53] Rejected b102aecc.98c97f4d GPU 0 pool 0
 [2012-05-12 03:47:59] Rejected 49048041.99b08d57 GPU 0 pool 0
 [2012-05-12 03:48:04] Accepted 460ba46d.385763c2 GPU 0 pool 1
 [2012-05-12 03:48:16] Accepted cde0f3d9.bd62e648 GPU 0 pool 0
 [2012-05-12 03:48:19] Accepted 7c523153.1d02f184 GPU 0 pool 0
 [2012-05-12 03:48:26] Accepted 9522afd5.ca52eaaf GPU 0 pool 0

I only have 3 pools !!! My main pool (pool 0) and 2 backup pools !!!

Pool 4 does not exist !!!

Lols  Grin
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 12, 2012, 01:53:49 AM
 #5474

I used cgminer pool and it told me that the pool I'm on has 2.3% rejected.

Is this normal or should I look into my PC or change pool?
Just a little more information might be helpful Cheesy

Edit: OK from browsing around the forum, you are using EMC and have around 1.4GH/s
The reject number is high if it is long term.
How long were you mining to get that number?
What are your long term numbers from cgminer?
Basically the output of the top of the screen (everything down to the "Accepted" lines) or if you have the API enabled, as much info as possible from the commands: config, summary, devs and pools.

Edit2: also the non-standard API 'stats' would be interesting if someone else using EMC would post theirs also

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2012, 05:30:06 PM
 #5475

Something else to look into:

Since upping one of my BFLs to the 864 firmware, it seems to stop working (not the CGminer issue - I don't think). the 'status' reports 'Thread got zero hashes' and the 'dev' command reports enabled 'N', how ever it still says the dev status as 'Alive'. Not so sure it should be alive, trying to re-enable it remains disabled.

Edit: restarting CGminer will kick it back into action (for a while, anyway) so maybe some re-init code should be sent when re-enabling.

Edit2: It would seem it never recovers when it throttles
ModusPwnd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100



View Profile
May 13, 2012, 02:51:33 AM
 #5476

For some reason 2.4.0 and 2.4.1 will not properly save the configuration file for me. On restart after saving and having everything working I get this.

Code:

 [2012-05-07 02:24:42] Started cgminer 2.4.1
 [2012-05-07 02:24:42] Started cgminer 2.4.1
 [2012-05-07 02:24:42] Loaded configuration file cgminer.conf
 [2012-05-07 02:24:42] Fatal JSON error in configuration file.
 [2012-05-07 02:24:42] Configuration file could not be used.
 [2012-05-07 02:24:42] Icarus Detect: Failed to open bitforce:COM3
 [2012-05-07 02:24:43] Found 0 ztex board(s)
 [2012-05-07 02:24:43] Need to specify at least one pool server.
Input server details.
URL:


This isn't a tragedy per se but it makes it very hard to restart to try to reset my averages or change placement.


I'm having the same issue.  Did you ever figure out a fix?
ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 13, 2012, 03:40:56 AM
 #5477

I used cgminer pool and it told me that the pool I'm on has 2.3% rejected.

Is this normal or should I look into my PC or change pool?
Just a little more information might be helpful Cheesy

Edit: OK from browsing around the forum, you are using EMC and have around 1.4GH/s
The reject number is high if it is long term.
How long were you mining to get that number?
What are your long term numbers from cgminer?
Basically the output of the top of the screen (everything down to the "Accepted" lines) or if you have the API enabled, as much info as possible from the commands: config, summary, devs and pools.

Edit2: also the non-standard API 'stats' would be interesting if someone else using EMC would post theirs also

I got it down to 1.7% R 1.4% R with the eclipseMC EU server(I'm in europe).

I recently started to mine on bonuspool, it's not the standard 8332 port, do I manually need to change it to the correct port in cgminer?

It seems to be working but I need to check website if it indeed does.

Edit--> Sorry I forgot mention it is long term and when switching to EU server eclipsemc it now is 1.4% instead of 2.3%.
So is there anything else I can do to improve Rejected shares?

Also I switched to bonuspool so new pool and server now
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 13, 2012, 06:02:12 PM
 #5478

Ok, so I'm at stumped, maybe someone has an idea:

I have a W7 x64 box that I reloaded recently.  I loaded the ATI drivers and the SDK... firing up CGMiner, it mines just fine.  However, when I q out of CGminer, W7 will BSOD with a SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION in atikmdag.sys.  I've Googled the hell out of it and tried all the suggestions and nothing seems to work.  I've uninstalled and reinstalled several different drivers versions, including 11.2 which I know worked with v2.4, v2.5 and v2.6 of the SDK.  Nothing changes the behavior.  

I realize it's not directly a CGMiner problem and something is wrong somewhere in the system, but bugger all if I can figure out what it is.  Does anyone have any ideas?  I've tried Driver Sweeper and reinstalled the drivers from scratch, but nothing works.

The system operates fine, I can play games, etc... and CGMiner mines fine.  The only time there is a problem is when I quit CGMiner, otherwise zero problems at all.  I'm completely stumped.

PS - this is mining with a pair of 6990's.


Anyone?

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 13, 2012, 06:06:17 PM
 #5479

...
I'm having the same issue.  Did you ever figure out a fix?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg886474#msg886474

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 13, 2012, 06:56:32 PM
 #5480

Ok, so I'm at stumped, maybe someone has an idea:

I have a W7 x64 box that I reloaded recently.  I loaded the ATI drivers and the SDK... firing up CGMiner, it mines just fine.  However, when I q out of CGminer, W7 will BSOD with a SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION in atikmdag.sys.  I've Googled the hell out of it and tried all the suggestions and nothing seems to work.  I've uninstalled and reinstalled several different drivers versions, including 11.2 which I know worked with v2.4, v2.5 and v2.6 of the SDK.  Nothing changes the behavior.  

I realize it's not directly a CGMiner problem and something is wrong somewhere in the system, but bugger all if I can figure out what it is.  Does anyone have any ideas?  I've tried Driver Sweeper and reinstalled the drivers from scratch, but nothing works.

The system operates fine, I can play games, etc... and CGMiner mines fine.  The only time there is a problem is when I quit CGMiner, otherwise zero problems at all.  I'm completely stumped.

PS - this is mining with a pair of 6990's.


Anyone?


Maybe some other things in your BIOS/drivers are interfering with ATI.

Did you try a clean machine (formatted re-install of OS) with 12.2 and SDK 2.6?   12.2 or 12.3 has been the most stable in my experience.
Pages: « 1 ... 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 [274] 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!