Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 05:44:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go.  (Read 283308 times)
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 04:55:29 PM
 #821

root terminal in windows terms Cheesy

start > accessories > root terminal

but after your last input it looks as if you may have managed to change something if sudo su is asking you for a password.

Wiki is on it's way Cheesy !!
1513532687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513532687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513532687
Reply with quote  #2

1513532687
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513532687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513532687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513532687
Reply with quote  #2

1513532687
Report to moderator
1513532687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513532687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513532687
Reply with quote  #2

1513532687
Report to moderator
1513532687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513532687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513532687
Reply with quote  #2

1513532687
Report to moderator
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2011, 05:11:18 PM
 #822

Well I guess when you post the next build I will re-format the USB and start over.

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 05:16:55 PM
 #823

Well I guess when you post the next build I will re-format the USB and start over.

No need to give up yet !! Click on the bitcoin located on the bottom left of your screen and go

Accessories > Root terminal

Next type

Code:
passwd user

PS: Accept / reject graph fixed Cheesy

http://94.197.185.117/monitor/

here's a pict of the mess in my front room lol



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2011, 06:09:19 PM
 #824

Well I guess when you post the next build I will re-format the USB and start over.

No need to give up yet !! Click on the bitcoin located on the bottom left of your screen and go

Accessories > Root terminal

Next type

Code:
passwd user


I did that, created new PW. Shut down, reboot, was not challenged for new PW and was able to get right into bitcoin.

Oh finally got the payment that I sent to the USB last night almost 24 hrs later *with* "speed it up" payment. YAY! took forever to upload the blockchain.

Now if I can only get this PW issue resolved then I think we have a bird that can fly.

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
ahitman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 298


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 09:42:38 PM
 #825

How can I disable the screen from turning off when Im not at the miner? Im perfectly happy using the power button on the monitor, and I feel like the rates go down while the screen is sleeping, has anyone else noticed this or maybe a rise in hash rates? Thanks.
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2011, 10:01:32 PM
 #826

How can I disable the screen from turning off when Im not at the miner? Im perfectly happy using the power button on the monitor, and I feel like the rates go down while the screen is sleeping, has anyone else noticed this or maybe a rise in hash rates? Thanks.

in a terminal type
> xscreensaver

this will bring up the usual gui.

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 10:03:39 PM
 #827

How can I disable the screen from turning off when Im not at the miner? Im perfectly happy using the power button on the monitor, and I feel like the rates go down while the screen is sleeping, has anyone else noticed this or maybe a rise in hash rates? Thanks.

Code:
xset -dpms

But no in fact I see mine stabilize when sleeping.

http://94.197.185.117/monitor/bitcoinminer-1/bitcoinminer-1/phoenix_stats.html

Check out the hour I was away not working on the machine. A steady line on both GPU's as soon as I wake you see the wobbly lines at the end lol
ahitman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 298


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 10:28:04 PM
 #828


But no in fact I see mine stabilize when sleeping.

http://94.197.185.117/monitor/bitcoinminer-1/bitcoinminer-1/phoenix_stats.html

Check out the hour I was away not working on the machine. A steady line on both GPU's as soon as I wake you see the wobbly lines at the end lol

That's some fancy graphs! I look forward to using them in 0.2 final. But if you disable the sleeping of the monitor, and leave the computer alone, do you get the same rates and stability? Or was the instability caused by your use of the computer? Maybe waking up the screen by moving the mouse causes a temporary drop in hashes causing the rate to be displayed lower than normal, but if the screen didnt wake up maybe it was going along at the fast rate?

Also is there something I can use to analyze and generate some fancy graphs like this before using 0.2? Thanks.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 10:38:00 PM
 #829


But no in fact I see mine stabilize when sleeping.

http://94.197.185.117/monitor/bitcoinminer-1/bitcoinminer-1/phoenix_stats.html

Check out the hour I was away not working on the machine. A steady line on both GPU's as soon as I wake you see the wobbly lines at the end lol

That's some fancy graphs! I look forward to using them in 0.2 final. But if you disable the sleeping of the monitor, and leave the computer alone, do you get the same rates and stability? Or was the instability caused by your use of the computer? Maybe waking up the screen by moving the mouse causes a temporary drop in hashes causing the rate to be displayed lower than normal, but if the screen didnt wake up maybe it was going along at the fast rate?

Also is there something I can use to analyze and generate some fancy graphs like this before using 0.2? Thanks.

Your probably spot on there. Your more than likely seeing your hashrate decrease from your monitor waking up rather than loosing MH/s while sleeping. If anything it should improve stability.

And yes you can install and configure munin from the package manager but I'd wait because the GPU and mining stuff is native to linuxcoin Wink

TripHammer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 10:40:34 PM
 #830

Got a rough ETA for 0.2 release?

Save me checking the forum every 30 seconds Smiley

Just in case Smiley 13AP8mCpruBQVtVWbQgYGSnBgGxe2g8ERe
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 10:44:00 PM
 #831

Got a rough ETA for 0.2 release?

Save me checking the forum every 30 seconds Smiley

Lol I'm waiting on something important so it's out of my hands. I would say by mid nxt week maybe sooner.
TripHammer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 11:14:22 PM
 #832

Roger that,

Thanks Chap

Trip

Just in case Smiley 13AP8mCpruBQVtVWbQgYGSnBgGxe2g8ERe
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
July 09, 2011, 03:35:07 AM
 #833

Did not expect this one:

We just had a power outage and when I rebooted LinuxCoin BitCoin gives an error message and does not load.

Bit coin was running confirming a payment made to it at the time of power outage. I did not have time to backup the wallet.dat file.

Do I need to re-download the bitcoin client?

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
July 09, 2011, 05:08:10 AM
 #834

Well I've finally managed to find and email the wallet.dat file out for safekeeping

I am unsuccessful in deleting and/or upgrading bitcoin so far

Tomorrow I plan to re-format the USB, copy the old wallet.dat on top of the new one and hope for the best

From previous experience that will take the better part of a day or so

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
July 09, 2011, 06:39:26 AM
 #835

Ok so I re-created my USB, booted, deleted the wallet.dat, replaced with my backup wallet.dat and lo and behold it appears it just might be working!

It is currently downloading blocks and the original transactions are showing, but greyed out. Looking forward to them actually being there.

Fingers crossed!

It took about 1 1/2 hours to re-format and install the already downloaded files on to the USB

Then on to password fun to make sure no one else can use it. (I'm dreading this part)

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
pinjas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 09:03:27 AM
 #836

This is a great blog Smalleyster.  I especially loved the part where you wrote "Tomorrow I plan to re-format the USB," it was enthralling.  Bravo.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 09, 2011, 01:49:53 PM
 #837

Great news Smalleyster. There are much easier ways to keep your files Cheesy I will add some info to the blog once it's online. Remember this OS is still being tested. The final version is expected the middle of next week Cheesy I would ask if you are the last poster on a thread can you edit your post rather than re-posting ? It's just the more posts the harder it is for people to search through and find what they need.

To everyone else. Would you like to see freedos and the ATI flashing tools added to the PXE boot menu ? I'm on the fence on if this will be helpful.
ahitman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 298


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 03:01:55 PM
 #838

To everyone else. Would you like to see freedos and the ATI flashing tools added to the PXE boot menu ? I'm on the fence on if this will be helpful.
IMHO linuxcoin should have the features and tool to mine, things like flashing the bios is something that should be done before starting full time mining, using the tools that are already available out there, no point of making linuxcoin overly complicated. Also I though with Catalyst 11.6 it allowed overclock past bios limits, so is there still advantages of flashing?
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 09, 2011, 03:05:32 PM
 #839

Its not complicated for me to setup and you will have a extra boot menu option to boot into freedos with atiflash installed. I thought this might be handy for someone that has just bought a load of 6850's and want to batch unlock the shaders. You could just unlock one bios file and flash 100 in about a hour Cheesy Just one example how this might be useful. But you do have a point Cheesy How many people would I hear from with bricked cards hahaha Cheesy

miscreanity
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 06:58:47 PM
 #840

How many people would I hear from with bricked cards hahaha Cheesy

Guaranteed! The community is small enough that most can understand and at least figure out what they're doing. As it grows, that in-depth comprehension won't be as widespread.

You could always make the BIOS flash image a separate supplemental download. It'd be great for an old 128Mb flash drive.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!