Bitcoin Forum
May 27, 2020, 11:14:23 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 [92] 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 ... 220 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 437105 times)
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1127


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
July 07, 2013, 10:56:15 PM
 #1821

I cracked it! Hitting 120GH on a 3 module now Cheesy


1590621263
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590621263

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590621263
Reply with quote  #2

1590621263
Report to moderator
1590621263
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590621263

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590621263
Reply with quote  #2

1590621263
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1590621263
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590621263

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590621263
Reply with quote  #2

1590621263
Report to moderator
1590621263
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590621263

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590621263
Reply with quote  #2

1590621263
Report to moderator
1590621263
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590621263

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590621263
Reply with quote  #2

1590621263
Report to moderator
A Meteorite
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
July 07, 2013, 11:10:54 PM
 #1822

I cracked it! Hitting 120GH on a 3 module now Cheesy


Surely you're pulling our leg. Smiley 450 is the max clock rate which puts a 3 module somewhere around 100GH. If not, do spill your secret.

BTC: 1MeTeorfxZNsY6gJDBtrF8JA8KEv6SKGUmLTC: Lejxgou6hUkjupF6RoruxJGG9AQ7t3ovYt
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3164
Merit: 1267


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 12:22:21 AM
 #1823

...
Thanks for the answer. I guess, it comes down to MHSAV right? Doesnt that take everything into account and reflect pretty much what is valid and going to the pool?
I'd actually suggested DiffAccepted, since I'm not sure what gets counted in MHSav on the avalon.

To determine your Accepted MH/s it's:
   DiffAccepted * (2^32) / Elapsed
That shows the MH/s the pool is paying you so ignores anything that doesn't count.

Pool: https://kano.is - lowest fee PPLNS 3 Days Here on Bitcointalk: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1127


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 02:59:59 AM
 #1824

I cracked it! Hitting 120GH on a 3 module now Cheesy


Surely you're pulling our leg. Smiley 450 is the max clock rate which puts a 3 module somewhere around 100GH. If not, do spill your secret.
Spent all of yesterday going through the firmware code, there is a trick people are missing. Uses some information from the github as well.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3164
Merit: 1267


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 03:13:42 AM
 #1825

I cracked it! Hitting 120GH on a 3 module now Cheesy

http://img.ctrlv.in/img/51d9f1d64f595.png
Surely you're pulling our leg. Smiley 450 is the max clock rate which puts a 3 module somewhere around 100GH. If not, do spill your secret.
Spent all of yesterday going through the firmware code, there is a trick people are missing. Uses some information from the github as well.
Lulz - a few things:
1) The pool numbers are not accurate
2) It's easy to get them high when the share difficulty is high - just look at the pool around the time you find a share ...
3) Being the one who wrote all the Icarus timing code I know quite well how to get icarus to fake the numbers ...

Pool: https://kano.is - lowest fee PPLNS 3 Days Here on Bitcointalk: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1110
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 05:03:23 AM
 #1826

Spent all of yesterday going through the firmware code, there is a trick people are missing. Uses some information from the github as well.

Care to post of *what* you modified? Not just a printf I hope...

And can you show a screenshot of the cgminer status page so we can judge from the numbers?
Sitarow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1778
Merit: 1043



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 05:21:34 AM
 #1827

I cracked it! Hitting 120GH on a 3 module now Cheesy


Surely you're pulling our leg. Smiley 450 is the max clock rate which puts a 3 module somewhere around 100GH. If not, do spill your secret.
Spent all of yesterday going through the firmware code, there is a trick people are missing. Uses some information from the github as well.

Post something like this please Smiley

Accepted Shares after 5 days.
8257580 / 7209.39 =1145.39 accepted shares a min or 68723.539 accepted shares per hour.

silverston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 501



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 06:35:49 AM
 #1828

hello.
 looking for a replacement power supply.please advise a good unit for stable overclocking and stable work Smiley

SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1110
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 07:44:15 AM
Last edit: July 08, 2013, 07:56:39 AM by SolarSilver
 #1829

hello.
 looking for a replacement power supply.please advise a good unit for stable overclocking and stable work Smiley
I used a SilverStone Strider Gold 1200W

http://www.silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=284

it fits right into the Batch #2 machines, it does not fit into the Batch #1 machines

In the Batch #1 I used an OCZ ZX 1250 as it's shorter

http://ocz.com/consumer/psu/zx-series-850w-1250w-power-supply

I basically used them because I cannibalize them from my old GPU systems, for future repairs I'm also looking for a Platinum 1200 power supply, that fits into the case

Any suggestions?
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 07:51:46 AM
 #1830

I cracked it! Hitting 120GH on a 3 module now Cheesy



I hope you upgraded the PSU before doing this on units you plan on selling
demkd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 07:52:13 AM
Last edit: July 08, 2013, 08:02:24 AM by demkd
 #1831

silverston
I can recommend Corsair AX860i platinum. Not expensive.
But If you want best available PSU than get Seasonic 860 platinum.
If you remove stock PSU from the case (to prevent overheating) than any 750W PSU is good. (at 354 clock 3 module avalon drain only 630w from PSU (735-740w from wall for gold rated PSU))
silverston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 501



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 08:19:12 AM
 #1832

silverston
I can recommend Corsair AX860i platinum. Not expensive.
But If you want best available PSU than get Seasonic 860 platinum.
If you remove stock PSU from the case (to prevent overheating) than any 750W PSU is good. (at 354 clock 3 module avalon drain only 630w from PSU (735-740w from wall for gold rated PSU))

So if I have inside  750W? there is no reason to change? a model is  unknown ... something in Chinese written on it.
 is stable at 300MHz, 325 goes to idle mode and orange light blinking. the temperature is not more than 48 degrees. it is the power supply or something else? I connected directly to PC because my TP-link internal router not working

elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 08:26:30 AM
 #1833

just kill cgmiiner in the process tab,(if you see anything about max children, kill it also) kill it 2 times and then goto startup and then RESTART cgminer
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3150
Merit: 1325


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 08:50:04 AM
 #1834

just checked my freq after 15h of continuous uptime.  

i've got settings of --avalon -auto --avalon -temp 40 and i have 325 set in default box above.  according to con the latter shouldn't matter.

problem is that hashrate is averaging only about 70 Mh/sec.  i thought it was supposed to go as high as 80-85?

edit:  and freq are btwn 285-305
It's going to really struggle to keep it at 40 degrees. That's probably why.

well, if that's the case then i'm going to try this:  --avalon-auto --avalon-freq 350-375 --avalon-temp 40

i don't care about killing the fans.  they can be replaced.  i want to get the freq and resulting HR up (w/o killing the chips of course  Tongue)
If you don't care about killing the fans then what you want is to set the fanspeed high, not set the target temperature low because if it can't keep the temperature low it will stop the avalon from clocking higher. Remove the avalon-temp argument and add --avalon-fan 80 to keep it at 80%. I don't think there's much advantage to going above 80% fanspeed due to it reversing the flow of the third fan.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3150
Merit: 1325


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 08:53:04 AM
 #1835

Just as an aside, I am currently touring through Europe for the next 6 weeks.

Care to elaborate which countries? Smiley
Just Greece from here on Smiley Net access is not so great so far where I am...

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 09:00:27 AM
 #1836

Just as an aside, I am currently touring through Europe for the next 6 weeks.

Care to elaborate which countries? Smiley
Just Greece from here on Smiley Net access is not so great so far where I am...

Have a nice holiday CON!

Something to share:
My batch 1 unit makes 83+GH steady autoclock reaching 355 Mhz stable err <2%
My batch 2 unit makes 80+ steady autoclock reaching 343  Mhz stable  err <2%

I have tried batch 2 unit clackoed at 350 auto-clock disabled - same performance  80+ with err about 5%

I am sure it is due to HW itslef. I am wondering what may be different. I will play with FPGA USB plugs(jumpers) when i have time

Can anyone share batch 2 results - auto clock ?

 

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1000


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 09:10:59 AM
 #1837

Batch 2 autoclock results:

ambient 80 - 85 F, 340 - 344MHz
ambient 75 - 80F, 348 - 353MHz

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1000


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 09:12:36 AM
 #1838

I cracked it! Hitting 120GH on a 3 module now Cheesy


Surely you're pulling our leg. Smiley 450 is the max clock rate which puts a 3 module somewhere around 100GH. If not, do spill your secret.
Spent all of yesterday going through the firmware code, there is a trick people are missing. Uses some information from the github as well.

I rechecked the schematics, I doubt it's got something to do with voltage mod, since the voltage regulator is a fixed one.
 That leaves coding trickery somewhere, unless I have grossly misunderstood something somewhere.

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
Elokane
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 817
Merit: 1000


Truth is a consensus among neurons www.synereo.com


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 10:45:19 AM
 #1839

There was a bug on BTCGuild yesterday. My 3 units also showed 350GH/S at the peak.
I'd post the picture, but I'm lazy.

Synereo: liberating the Internet from abusive business models.

Beware of he who would deny you access to information, for in his heart, he dreams himself your master.
<br>
demkd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 11:32:47 AM
 #1840

So if I have inside  750W? there is no reason to change? a model is  unknown ... something in Chinese written on it.
 is stable at 300MHz, 325 goes to idle mode and orange light blinking. the temperature is not more than 48 degrees. it is the power supply or something else? I connected directly to PC because my TP-link internal router not working
Move out PSU from case.
I run my avalon with external PSU at 336 with 750 stock PSU (Enermax ENM750EWT-S RG) and it never restarts.
Tested @354 but noise level unacceptable, 750w PSU easily handle moderately overclocked units.
if problem still occurs than check you "cgminer api log"
It must be something like that (my unit @336 2 days w/o restart):
   [no_matching_work] => 0
   [match_work_count1] => 20069
   [match_work_count2] => 20320
   [match_work_count3] => 20197
   [match_work_count4] => 19944
   [match_work_count5] => 20103
   [match_work_count6] => 19962
   [match_work_count7] => 19976
   [match_work_count8] => 20163
   [match_work_count9] => 20064
   [match_work_count10] => 19961
   [match_work_count11] => 20056
   [match_work_count12] => 20235
   [match_work_count13] => 20173
   [match_work_count14] => 20481
   [match_work_count15] => 20215
   [match_work_count16] => 20042
   [match_work_count17] => 20044
   [match_work_count18] => 19992
   [match_work_count19] => 20040
   [match_work_count20] => 20398
   [match_work_count21] => 19627
   [match_work_count22] => 19978
   [match_work_count23] => 20354
   [match_work_count24] => 20186
All counters have almost same values. (~5% diffs) if not you have defective modules or some module overheated (usually second module w/o temp sensor ).

And you can try to reset your router, may be it's not dead.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=140539.msg2672023#msg2672023
Pages: « 1 ... 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 [92] 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 ... 220 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!