Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 06:57:44 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 [103] 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 432350 times)
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 09:08:30 PM
 #2041

i'm puzzled why my NMW and MWC are both so low even after being up for over 30 hours.  and NMW 0?

1511074664
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511074664

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511074664
Reply with quote  #2

1511074664
Report to moderator
1511074664
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511074664

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511074664
Reply with quote  #2

1511074664
Report to moderator
1511074664
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511074664

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511074664
Reply with quote  #2

1511074664
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
flyonwall
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 232


Centerus Inc


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 09:11:06 PM
 #2042

Sorry if this has been asked already:

Is it possible to run just wired (ethernet, no WAN)? I tried disabling the WAN hoping the packets would route through ethernet, no dice.

--S

It is possible. You need to reserve a fixed IP address on your home router, then connect the WR703N through an Ethernet port (most WiFi routers come with extra Ethernet ports). The WR703N has a fixed IP address (I believe it's 192.168.0.100). Once you do this, I believe you can also connect to the WR703N though your home WiFi router.

Here's a sample setup: http://www.kraterminer.com

koxman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 09:46:38 PM
 #2043

Same problem here.

You have to disable wifi interface. This will unload kernel module I think. Deleting wifi interface will not help. Since than several days uptime @ 340Mhz.

So you can keep wifi network device but in menu Network->Wifi disable the device.

I think this has something to do with unattached wifi antena. I havent tried it but its possible that this problem will disappear with attached wifi antena even when not using wifi.
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 02:52:39 AM
 #2044

My cgminer is restarting too frequently. Is there a log showing why it was restarted?

Buy & Hold
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 02:56:29 AM
 #2045

My cgminer is restarting too frequently. Is there a log showing why it was restarted?

System Log.

try a hard reboot.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 03:41:11 AM
 #2046

i'm puzzled why my NMW and MWC are both so low even after being up for over 30 hours.  and NMW 0?

http://i.imgur.com/CnyGxSV.png
... check Elapsed ... if it reboots or cgminer restarts, of course it wont add up to 30 hours of mining Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 03:44:41 AM
 #2047

My cgminer is restarting too frequently. Is there a log showing why it was restarted?
System Log.

try a hard reboot.

syslog is simply showing that cgminer-monitor is running regularly. It doesn't show why cgminer died/restarted.

Buy & Hold
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 03:45:08 AM
 #2048

i'm puzzled why my NMW and MWC are both so low even after being up for over 30 hours.  and NMW 0?

http://i.imgur.com/CnyGxSV.png
... check Elapsed ... if it reboots or cgminer restarts, of course it wont add up to 30 hours of mining Smiley

i've taken that into account.  for some reason, on this machine, i get NMW=0 no matter how high the MWC goes.  and then the MWC never gets that high despite the Elapsed.

i know the machine is hashing and reaching the network as i'm monitoring the hashrate at the exit port, so it doesn't make sense to me.  perhaps the sensor responsible for these stats is malfunctioning?
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 03:47:26 AM
 #2049

My cgminer is restarting too frequently. Is there a log showing why it was restarted?
System Log.

try a hard reboot.

syslog is simply showing that cgminer-monitor is running regularly. It doesn't show why cgminer died/restarted.

how about the cgminer API log?
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 03:49:09 AM
 #2050


how about the cgminer API log?

The API log in the web interface just shows the current state of the system. Is there an actual log file somewhere else?

Buy & Hold
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 03:50:34 AM
 #2051

i'm puzzled why my NMW and MWC are both so low even after being up for over 30 hours.  and NMW 0?

http://i.imgur.com/CnyGxSV.png
... check Elapsed ... if it reboots or cgminer restarts, of course it wont add up to 30 hours of mining Smiley

i've taken that into account.  for some reason, on this machine, i get NMW=0 no matter how high the MWC goes.  and then the MWC never gets that high despite the Elapsed.

i know the machine is hashing and reaching the network as i'm monitoring the hashrate at the exit port, so it doesn't make sense to me.  perhaps the sensor responsible for these stats is malfunctioning?
Those stats say 800MH/s ... so clearly that isn't expected for hashing for 30 hours ...

NMW=0 is good - may or may not be what you want - but it is of course good.

If it has been hashing for 30 hours then of course you need to post the mining stats, not what you posted, to determine what it is doing.

Matching work is simply the amount of recognised work sent back to cgminer ... not sure what you mean by "sensor"

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 03:52:49 AM
 #2052


how about the cgminer API log?

The API log in the web interface just shows the current state of the system. Is there an actual log file somewhere else?
Well, not to be too pedantic, but my API also shows historical information ...
Just only about the current running cgminer Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 04:01:32 AM
 #2053

I can watch MHS5s slowly drop to 0, and eventually cgminer-monitor will restart cgminer. Why is cgminer stopping hashing?

Buy & Hold
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 04:04:42 AM
 #2054

i'm puzzled why my NMW and MWC are both so low even after being up for over 30 hours.  and NMW 0?

http://i.imgur.com/CnyGxSV.png
... check Elapsed ... if it reboots or cgminer restarts, of course it wont add up to 30 hours of mining Smiley

i've taken that into account.  for some reason, on this machine, i get NMW=0 no matter how high the MWC goes.  and then the MWC never gets that high despite the Elapsed.

i know the machine is hashing and reaching the network as i'm monitoring the hashrate at the exit port, so it doesn't make sense to me.  perhaps the sensor responsible for these stats is malfunctioning?
Those stats say 800MH/s ... so clearly that isn't expected for hashing for 30 hours ...

NMW=0 is good - may or may not be what you want - but it is of course good.

If it has been hashing for 30 hours then of course you need to post the mining stats, not what you posted, to determine what it is doing.

Matching work is simply the amount of recognised work sent back to cgminer ... not sure what you mean by "sensor"

wait, where do you get 800MH/s?

i know the MWC's are in the 800's but those aren't hashing rates are they?  they accumulate over time....
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 14, 2013, 04:09:47 AM
 #2055

I can watch MHS5s slowly drop to 0, and eventually cgminer-monitor will restart cgminer. Why is cgminer stopping hashing?
Common reasons:
Wifi kernel problem
Overdoing the overclocking
Pool failure and the cgminer-monitor watchdog is trigger happy and kills cgminer when all it's doing is waiting for a pool to come back online.
FPGA failure in the avalon.

For maximum stability while I'm away, I limited my batch 2 overclock to 333 and it's been up for a week. At 350 it would restart cgminer every 12 hours and eventually after a few days would restart the entire router.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 04:19:19 AM
 #2056

I can watch MHS5s slowly drop to 0, and eventually cgminer-monitor will restart cgminer. Why is cgminer stopping hashing?
Common reasons:
Wifi kernel problem
Overdoing the overclocking
Pool failure and the cgminer-monitor watchdog is trigger happy and kills cgminer when all it's doing is waiting for a pool to come back online.
FPGA failure in the avalon.

For maximum stability while I'm away, I limited my batch 2 overclock to 333 and it's been up for a week. At 350 it would restart cgminer every 12 hours and eventually after a few days would restart the entire router.

* wifi is already disabled.
* running at a moderate 300 mhz
* other miners are connected to the pool just fine

I don't see how restarting cgminer would fix a FPGA failure. So from that list of possibilities, pool issue seems most likely. I'll set a backup pool and see if it switches to that.

Buy & Hold
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 04:20:25 AM
 #2057

I can watch MHS5s slowly drop to 0, and eventually cgminer-monitor will restart cgminer. Why is cgminer stopping hashing?
Common reasons:
Wifi kernel problem
Overdoing the overclocking
Pool failure and the cgminer-monitor watchdog is trigger happy and kills cgminer when all it's doing is waiting for a pool to come back online.
FPGA failure in the avalon.

For maximum stability while I'm away, I limited my batch 2 overclock to 333 and it's been up for a week. At 350 it would restart cgminer every 12 hours and eventually after a few days would restart the entire router.

* wifi is already disabled.
* running at a moderate 300 mhz
* other miners are connected to the pool just fine

I don't see how restarting cgminer would fix a FPGA failure. So from that list of possibilities, pool issue seems most likely. I'll set a backup pool and see if it switches to that.

also try deleting the WWAN.
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 05:56:44 AM
 #2058

It's not the pool connection. Something happens and all work ends up "discarded" until cgminer is restarted. What would cause that?

Buy & Hold
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 05:59:21 AM
 #2059

i'm puzzled why my NMW and MWC are both so low even after being up for over 30 hours.  and NMW 0?

http://i.imgur.com/CnyGxSV.png
... check Elapsed ... if it reboots or cgminer restarts, of course it wont add up to 30 hours of mining Smiley

i've taken that into account.  for some reason, on this machine, i get NMW=0 no matter how high the MWC goes.  and then the MWC never gets that high despite the Elapsed.

i know the machine is hashing and reaching the network as i'm monitoring the hashrate at the exit port, so it doesn't make sense to me.  perhaps the sensor responsible for these stats is malfunctioning?
Those stats say 800MH/s ... so clearly that isn't expected for hashing for 30 hours ...

NMW=0 is good - may or may not be what you want - but it is of course good.

If it has been hashing for 30 hours then of course you need to post the mining stats, not what you posted, to determine what it is doing.

Matching work is simply the amount of recognised work sent back to cgminer ... not sure what you mean by "sensor"

wait, where do you get 800MH/s?

i know the MWC's are in the 800's but those aren't hashing rates are they?  they accumulate over time....
Approx 840 shares per device in 30 hours.
840 * 24 * 2^32 / 30 / 60 / 60 ... 800MH/s Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
snaxion
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 06:19:40 AM
 #2060

Same problem here.

You have to disable wifi interface. This will unload kernel module I think. Deleting wifi interface will not help. Since than several days uptime @ 340Mhz.

So you can keep wifi network device but in menu Network->Wifi disable the device.

I think this has something to do with unattached wifi antena. I havent tried it but its possible that this problem will disappear with attached wifi antena even when not using wifi.

Thanks! Seems to work so far. Grin

Somebody pick-pocketed my brainwallet.
Pages: « 1 ... 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 [103] 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!