Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 12:04:58 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 [85] 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 432419 times)
NiteShdw
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 07:48:39 PM
 #1681

a general question about these slots; is it possible to plug accompanying cords into a wrong slot on the Seasonic?  or are they dummy proof?  do the different labelled slots have different power outputs or are they all the same?

Dummy proof.  Look at the connectors, they have some mixed square and rounded plugs.  Those are there to prevent you from plugging it into a place that doesn't provide the right power on the right pins.  If it fits into the slot, it works.
1511093098
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511093098

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511093098
Reply with quote  #2

1511093098
Report to moderator
1511093098
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511093098

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511093098
Reply with quote  #2

1511093098
Report to moderator
1511093098
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511093098

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511093098
Reply with quote  #2

1511093098
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511093098
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511093098

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511093098
Reply with quote  #2

1511093098
Report to moderator
1511093098
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511093098

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511093098
Reply with quote  #2

1511093098
Report to moderator
bitdaniel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 08:39:52 PM
 #1682

where do they stash the wireless antenna?  Inside the case?  I can't see it anywhere.
It seems that the antenna is sometimes not shiped with the Avalon...
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 09:03:11 PM
 #1683

ok... but if it was shipped, where would I find it?

None of the Batch #2 units shipped with a power cord, antenna or gloves. No Ikea tools either.
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 09:38:28 PM
 #1684

how long does it typically take to be delivered from China to the US? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks for time,
Brian

Mine shipped Monday, arrived Wednesday.

Did it stop in Cincinnati?

I try to be respectful and informed.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 10:13:53 PM
 #1685

how long does it typically take to be delivered from China to the US? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks for time,
Brian

Mine shipped Monday, arrived Wednesday.

Did it stop in Cincinnati?


They all stop in Cincinnati as far as I can tell. DHL has a shipping hub there.

ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 11:09:25 PM
 #1686

how long does it typically take to be delivered from China to the US? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks for time,
Brian

Mine shipped Monday, arrived Wednesday.

Did it stop in Cincinnati?


They all stop in Cincinnati as far as I can tell. DHL has a shipping hub there.

No, I'm in the southwest.  It went Beijing, HK, LA

The outdoor temperature in some parts of the SouthWest today is 51°C.

I try to be respectful and informed.
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 11:26:20 PM
 #1687

The outdoor temperature in some parts of the SouthWest today is 51°C.

Damn... it's about 18 to 22 degrees Celsius here, and it's summer holidays. Poor students that just graduated. Happy miners that can open the window :-)
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 11:41:31 PM
 #1688

This rolls back to the previous hardware error target of <2% when using avalon-auto which is worth about 1.5GH more on average.

How about making the target error rate a parameter?

Buy & Hold
invader
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 262



View Profile
July 04, 2013, 03:31:17 AM
 #1689

Backported my changes to latest cgminer source ( --avalon-invert-pwm , --avalon-hysteresis ), build new firmware.
Looks uberstable since reflash, 8+ 16+ hrs cgminer works without restart
( previous version was usually restarting in 2-3 hrs )
Tesla71
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 293



View Profile
July 04, 2013, 10:44:48 AM
 #1690

Nice thanks, maybe that fix my issue:


- my cgminer process seems to restart after every 4 hours or so.. must watch longer to see if it happens regulary. could it have something to do with the --avalon-auto, maybee the freq gets to high and it restarts? I am using --avalon-freq 300-340
One possibility. There are a few different ways that it restarts. One is an actual error in the code that makes it hang and stop submitting work, which should be fixed in this latest firmware. The other is multiple pool or network outages - and this is where the watchdog is trigger happy, as any period of 2+ minutes without work is enough for cgminer to stop being able to make work and the watchdog is not smart enough to detect what it is. Another is fpga screwups, but they are getting less likely with more fixes going into the cgminer direct USB code than they used to be with the old serial interface thereby bypassing one potential point of failure. An operating system error is also possible, and seems more common with the wifi enabled for reasons that aren't clear. Finally there's true hardware failure of one sort or another - overheat, inadequate power etc.

I could confirm that the newest firmware 2130703 fixed the restarts of cgminer. It's running since 18 hours so far.
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
July 04, 2013, 01:02:18 PM
 #1691

Nice thanks, maybe that fix my issue:


- my cgminer process seems to restart after every 4 hours or so.. must watch longer to see if it happens regulary. could it have something to do with the --avalon-auto, maybee the freq gets to high and it restarts? I am using --avalon-freq 300-340
One possibility. There are a few different ways that it restarts. One is an actual error in the code that makes it hang and stop submitting work, which should be fixed in this latest firmware. The other is multiple pool or network outages - and this is where the watchdog is trigger happy, as any period of 2+ minutes without work is enough for cgminer to stop being able to make work and the watchdog is not smart enough to detect what it is. Another is fpga screwups, but they are getting less likely with more fixes going into the cgminer direct USB code than they used to be with the old serial interface thereby bypassing one potential point of failure. An operating system error is also possible, and seems more common with the wifi enabled for reasons that aren't clear. Finally there's true hardware failure of one sort or another - overheat, inadequate power etc.

I could confirm that the newest firmware 2130703 fixed the restarts of cgminer. It's running since 18 hours so far.


Same here.  I installed it on 2 units last night (Batch 1 and Batch 2), and both now show 10+ hours of cgminer uptime.

It also seems to solve the issue where cgminer would sometimes not start hashing, and have to be restarted.  I was doing some config changes which let to a bunch of restarts last night, and it started hashing every time.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
silverston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


Hi


View Profile
July 04, 2013, 01:28:17 PM
 #1692

Hello!
please help!
I can not connect to the Avalon ...
Connecting to laptop via patchcord, I type in the browser 192.168.0.100 and wrote some time - Error connecting.
how to stop it?
only from box ...
sorry for my english

shmadz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498


@theshmadz


View Profile
July 04, 2013, 01:35:34 PM
 #1693

Hello!
please help!
I can not connect to the Avalon ...
Connecting to laptop via patchcord, I type in the browser 192.168.0.100 and wrote some time - Error connecting.
how to stop it?
only from box ...
sorry for my english

Did you set a static address on your laptop?

May or may not need a crossover cable,

google "How to set static IP"

"You have no moral right to rule us, nor do you possess any methods of enforcement that we have reason to fear." - John Perry Barlow, 1996
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
July 04, 2013, 01:39:00 PM
 #1694

one of my avalons connects via 192.168.0.110
silverston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


Hi


View Profile
July 04, 2013, 02:28:21 PM
 #1695

after static ip configuration i see black screen with LuCI - Lua Configuration Interface, still loading and after again  - can not connect!!

el_rlee
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1493



View Profile
July 04, 2013, 03:39:54 PM
 #1696

Can it be that --avalon-auto is only working with a reading for the fan rpm's? I use water cooling and have no fans...
Also is it possible that the setting for 16 miners instead of 24 is not working?

@ckolivas: I got some water cooling blocks on spare - if you like I would send you one over as a donation  Smiley Just PM me if interested.
silverston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


Hi


View Profile
July 04, 2013, 04:12:09 PM
 #1697

after static ip configuration i see black screen with LuCI - Lua Configuration Interface, still loading and after again  - can not connect!!

If you changed the IP you also need to change the IP of the computer you are connecting with.
Can such as reset to default?

cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
July 04, 2013, 07:08:33 PM
 #1698

Is it stratum vardiif ramping up so you are submitting far less shares but same hashrate?

is there a way to tell?

Yes,

look at the lines with "Checking retarget for...", you'll see that it grows slowing down share submission.

spiccioli

so please tell me what these details mean:

Code:
2013-07-04 12:01:33,573 INFO BasicShareLimiter # Checking Retarget for 1 (30) avg. 1 target 30+-15
2013-07-04 12:01:33,573 INFO BasicShareLimiter # Retarget for 1 870 old: 30 new: 900
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
July 04, 2013, 07:43:57 PM
 #1699

after static ip configuration i see black screen with LuCI - Lua Configuration Interface, still loading and after again  - can not connect!!

If you changed the IP you also need to change the IP of the computer you are connecting with.
Can such as reset to default?

Google for OpenWRT failsafe
Also, search in these forums.

I try to be respectful and informed.
tiktoc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173


View Profile
July 04, 2013, 07:44:06 PM
 #1700


so please tell me what these details mean:

Code:
2013-07-04 12:01:33,573 INFO BasicShareLimiter # Checking Retarget for 1 (30) avg. 1 target 30+-15
2013-07-04 12:01:33,573 INFO BasicShareLimiter # Retarget for 1 870 old: 30 new: 900

Checking difficulty, connection 1  at 30 diff on average. 1 second per share, target  is 30seconds avg plus or minus 15 seconds

change in retarget diff for connection 1 for  1 share in 30 seconds is 870, so old diff which is 30 plus new diff change of 870 = new diff total of 900 difficulty

so each 1 share is now worth 900 normal diff shares.

edit slight change to wording after reading more logs
Pages: « 1 ... 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 [85] 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!