Bitcoin Forum
May 27, 2020, 11:08:35 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 [89] 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 ... 220 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 437105 times)
el_rlee
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1593
Merit: 1014



View Profile
July 06, 2013, 05:32:25 AM
 #1761

give it a little more time, I notice it climbs up slowly...

Gave it over night, same result at similar HW error rate
1590620915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590620915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590620915
Reply with quote  #2

1590620915
Report to moderator
FAST DICE GAME $500 DAILY CONTEST BEST AUTOBET MODE 30% RAKEBACK FOR VIPS PROVABLY FAIR Play Now Play Now
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1590620915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590620915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590620915
Reply with quote  #2

1590620915
Report to moderator
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 05:33:45 AM
 #1762

give it a little more time, I notice it climbs up slowly...

Gave it over night, same result at similar HW error rate

you gave it overnight yet only 25k diff 1 share equivilant...that dont add up =P

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
irritant
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 469
Merit: 250


Sodium hypochlorite, acetone, ethanol


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 05:45:46 AM
 #1763

give it a little more time, I notice it climbs up slowly...

Gave it over night, same result at similar HW error rate

maybe it is waiting for fan readings?
and because you don't have them, it doesn't work?
is it possible you attach the fans, to see if that helps?
el_rlee
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1593
Merit: 1014



View Profile
July 06, 2013, 06:14:44 AM
Last edit: July 06, 2013, 06:38:19 AM by el_rlee
 #1764

give it a little more time, I notice it climbs up slowly...

Gave it over night, same result at similar HW error rate

maybe it is waiting for fan readings?
and because you don't have them, it doesn't work?
is it possible you attach the fans, to see if that helps?

nope, invader was so nice to make that clear in the code here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=140539.msg2655790#msg2655790
area
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 06:21:58 AM
 #1765

With such a high hashrate over Stratum, what's a normal accepted / rejected ratio for a pool? I seem to be running below 90% which seems bad...
el_rlee
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1593
Merit: 1014



View Profile
July 06, 2013, 06:42:16 AM
 #1766

Increased the water temperatur and frequency a bit... HW error now 1.3%





Still the frequency doesn't move by itself.

With such a high hashrate over Stratum, what's a normal accepted / rejected ratio for a pool? I seem to be running below 90% which seems bad...

I don't know - but I am on the other end of the world and slush's pool is working fine for me...
area
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 06:49:53 AM
 #1767

With such a high hashrate over Stratum, what's a normal accepted / rejected ratio for a pool? I seem to be running below 90% which seems bad...

I don't know - but I am on the other end of the world and slush's pool is working fine for me...

Switching from eustratum on OzCoin to 'regular' stratum seems to have much better numbers coming out now. Which is odd, because eustratum should definitely be closer.
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 06:50:56 AM
 #1768

where did you get the watercooling? is there a setup released for avy yet?

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
NiteShdw
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 06:51:59 AM
 #1769

With such a high hashrate over Stratum, what's a normal accepted / rejected ratio for a pool? I seem to be running below 90% which seems bad...

I don't know - but I am on the other end of the world and slush's pool is working fine for me...

Switching from eustratum on OzCoin to 'regular' stratum seems to have much better numbers coming out now. Which is odd, because eustratum should definitely be closer.

On Ozcoin, I was getting really bad efficiency ratings until I switched from the default to the US URL.  Now I'm getting 99.5% on average.  Network latency will kill you at these hash rates.
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002



View Profile
July 06, 2013, 06:53:07 AM
 #1770

Increased the water temperatur and frequency a bit... HW error now 1.3%





Still the frequency doesn't move by itself.

With such a high hashrate over Stratum, what's a normal accepted / rejected ratio for a pool? I seem to be running below 90% which seems bad...

I don't know - but I am on the other end of the world and slush's pool is working fine for me...

Yeah. I've been noticing that too.   

Frequency hasn't been changing on auto.
el_rlee
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1593
Merit: 1014



View Profile
July 06, 2013, 07:10:00 AM
 #1771

where did you get the watercooling? is there a setup released for avy yet?

in my sig
NiteShdw
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 07:14:47 AM
 #1772

I have 3 Avalons and I'm working on putting in a dedicated circuit in the basement for them.  At an estimated 2100 watts at 110v (USA), I'm looking at 19A, which just pushes the limits of standard 20A breakers, with no room for future expansion.

What I've been thinking is that I can wire up an outlet at 220v, get slightly better power efficiency, and reduce my amps to about 10A, leaving plenty of room for future boxes.

Can anyone advise on a proper wiring diagram for 220v that's compatible with the 3-pin input on the Avalon PSUs?

As of right now, my understanding is that I'd wire black and white both to hot (on a dual-pole 20A breaker) and ground to ground, with no neutral.  I should get 220v with the two hots as the breaker pulls in 110 and -110 for the two hots.  I know I would need to get the correct outlets for 220v also as well as adapters or proper 220v PSU cables.
el_rlee
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1593
Merit: 1014



View Profile
July 06, 2013, 07:45:35 AM
 #1773

I have 3 Avalons and I'm working on putting in a dedicated circuit in the basement for them.  At an estimated 2100 watts at 110v (USA), I'm looking at 19A, which just pushes the limits of standard 20A breakers, with no room for future expansion.

What I've been thinking is that I can wire up an outlet at 220v, get slightly better power efficiency, and reduce my amps to about 10A, leaving plenty of room for future boxes.

Can anyone advise on a proper wiring diagram for 220v that's compatible with the 3-pin input on the Avalon PSUs?

As of right now, my understanding is that I'd wire black and white both to hot (on a dual-pole 20A breaker) and ground to ground, with no neutral.  I should get 220v with the two hots as the breaker pulls in 110 and -110 for the two hots.  I know I would need to get the correct outlets for 220v also as well as adapters or proper 220v PSU cables.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEC_60320 . The biggest and longest pin is PE.
fpgaminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 505



View Profile WWW
July 06, 2013, 08:34:05 AM
 #1774

ckolivas, thank you for all of your hard work!  I had a question about your latest Avalon firmware (20130703).  I upgraded one of my Avalons to it tonight (was running ~20130624 at the time).  I noticed that suddenly the numbers reported under MHS5s lost a lot of variance.  This is a graph of MHS5s over time:



8pm is when I upgraded the unit to 20130703.  You can see that it suddenly quieted down quite a bit.  Before and after the upgrade I was using a constant clock frequency (345).

I'm curious, did you change any of the code related to that particular statistic?

GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 09:02:50 AM
 #1775

if I had to guess, yes its lower variance, which means its probably a good thing... means more effecient hashing / comms .. etc.. but thats just my guess =)

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
area
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 09:44:42 AM
 #1776

So which pools are people using for their Avalons?
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3150
Merit: 1325


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 06, 2013, 12:37:17 PM
 #1777

ckolivas, thank you for all of your hard work!  I had a question about your latest Avalon firmware (20130703).  I upgraded one of my Avalons to it tonight (was running ~20130624 at the time).  I noticed that suddenly the numbers reported under MHS5s lost a lot of variance.  This is a graph of MHS5s over time:



8pm is when I upgraded the unit to 20130703.  You can see that it suddenly quieted down quite a bit.  Before and after the upgrade I was using a constant clock frequency (345).

I'm curious, did you change any of the code related to that particular statistic?
Well spotted. I fixed the hashrate meter for 5s so it really is a true exponentially decaying 5s average now. The old hashmeter was a little more "imaginitive".

Just as an aside, I am currently touring through Europe for the next 6 weeks. So while I will have generous internet access at times to answer questions, there is close to zero chance of me creating new firmware, especially since my main development machine with build environments and so on decided to fail about 1 hour before I left home and I just left it off in disgust. So please keep your requests on hold till then.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002



View Profile
July 06, 2013, 01:02:40 PM
 #1778

So which pools are people using for their Avalons?

i've used ozcoin and slush.
bitdude
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 01:15:58 PM
 #1779

i'm trying bitminter
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002



View Profile
July 06, 2013, 01:19:08 PM
Last edit: July 06, 2013, 01:36:06 PM by cypherdoc
 #1780

just checked my freq after 15h of continuous uptime.  

i've got settings of --avalon -auto --avalon -temp 40 and i have 325 set in default box above.  according to con the latter shouldn't matter.

problem is that hashrate is averaging only about 70 Mh/sec.  i thought it was supposed to go as high as 80-85?

edit:  and freq are btwn 285-305
Pages: « 1 ... 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 [89] 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 ... 220 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!