Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 06:24:04 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 [82] 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 432275 times)
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 08:03:53 AM
 #1621

Accepted/Rejected is changed in the current master version for precisely this reason. The web interface, on the other hand, may lag. It's the legacy of constantly shifting changing landscape of bitcoin mining.

I am not blaming you for legacy cruft, don't get me wrong...

By the way, for those using the 0519 firmware from Strombom, don't forget that old cgminer pre 3.2 counted errors as hashrate, which affects the calculations. Another thing that confuses people when comparing performance ;-)
1511029444
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511029444

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511029444
Reply with quote  #2

1511029444
Report to moderator
1511029444
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511029444

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511029444
Reply with quote  #2

1511029444
Report to moderator
1511029444
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511029444

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511029444
Reply with quote  #2

1511029444
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511029444
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511029444

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511029444
Reply with quote  #2

1511029444
Report to moderator
stfnnn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 09:58:18 AM
 #1622

Slightly updated firmware:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130702-1/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

This rolls back to the previous hardware error target of <2% when using avalon-auto which is worth about 1.5GH more on average.

EDIT: Adds a check for maximum fanspeed before throttling speed at higher temps as well.

Thank you for your work! Donating some hashes as we speak!

BTC send to 1DZK7skHmfLYgu1ZvfiVTRTKGhwfkQn6xH are lost in /dev/null !!
candoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


Vertrau in Gott


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 10:06:51 AM
 #1623

anything else you see that i could improve upon in the settings?
All looks pretty good. My only concern is more about your Avalon itself. It's obviously hot where you are at the moment, as your fans have ramped up to almost the maximum. Due to them including 2 high pressure 38mm fans and 1 regular pressure 25mm fan, when the 38mm fans run at maximum speed, the air pressure is so high in the case that the 25mm fan is blowing but air is actually moving backwards through it. I don't know what the solution there is...

I removed the stock fans and bought 3 Scythe fans with 5400 RPM. I power them with 12V and 100% via a molex connector. Its very loud but works fine and provides good temperatures

Einer trage des andern Last, so werdet ihr das Gesetz Christi erfüllen.
TwinTurbo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 10:39:16 AM
 #1624

I received my Avalon boxes today, but one of them has severe problems:

All of them hash just fine at 300 MHz, but one of them only works if I set it to 256 (but still problems).

When it starts hashing, it will climb to about 66 GH, but then resets every 1-5 minutes, sometimes resets even quicker.

This box had an older firmware on it than my other ones. It had 3.1.1 instead of 3.2.1 (I think).

The temperatures seem to be pretty normal. But it just resets a lot. Sometimes it will not start again even if I stop and start the service, and I have to power off and on again.

What are some things I can do to troubleshoot the issues with this box?
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 10:42:58 AM
 #1625

I received my Avalon boxes today, but one of them has severe problems:

All of them hash just fine at 300 MHz, but one of them only works if I set it to 256 (but still problems).

When it starts hashing, it will climb to about 66 GH, but then resets every 1-5 minutes, sometimes resets even quicker.

This box had an older firmware on it than my other ones. It had 3.1.1 instead of 3.2.1 (I think).

The temperatures seem to be pretty normal. But it just resets a lot. Sometimes it will not start again even if I stop and start the service, and I have to power off and on again.

What are some things I can do to troubleshoot the issues with this box?

Check FPGA controller board USB fuse and power supply to be at least 750W. Then upgrade software and try

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
BenTuras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 10:43:19 AM
 #1626

I received my Avalon boxes today, but one of them has severe problems:

All of them hash just fine at 300 MHz, but one of them only works if I set it to 256 (but still problems).

When it starts hashing, it will climb to about 66 GH, but then resets every 1-5 minutes, sometimes resets even quicker.

This box had an older firmware on it than my other ones. It had 3.1.1 instead of 3.2.1 (I think).

The temperatures seem to be pretty normal. But it just resets a lot. Sometimes it will not start again even if I stop and start the service, and I have to power off and on again.

What are some things I can do to troubleshoot the issues with this box?
Read this thread from begin to end, it has plenty of suggestions.

I am selling in stock OneStringMiner boards, based on the Bitfury chips. Have a look here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=495536.0
thorvald
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 242

Aa7kiQZaSRf7BDPvr3SUJyD7K63HEu6Tnt


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 11:29:46 AM
 #1627

tested today version 702-1
it seems to be a conflict with cgminer
I see multiple cgminer process in the process tab , also with top command ssh , after killing all and restarting the cgminer process
I manage to make it work just 5 min  with the donation on (fresh flash without keep settings) at 300 (with 282 it did not start)
After it started the work I`ve done a soft reboot(to chek if it works after reboot , also I`ve done 2 cold restarts with 1 min power off)  , after that it did not work anymore ,
-auto was the same for me
 had to revert to stromborn version again
10x
Thor
demkd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 11:35:12 AM
 #1628

I inverted fans on my unit now they take out warm air from the box. (PSU removed)
Fan1/Fan2/Fan3/T1/T2/T3
Before: 1560 2520 2640 26 45 47 (temperature in my room 25C)
After:   1440 2160 2280 33 43 44
But thin fan now seems useless, vibration slightly increased fan and noise changed to lower frequencies Cheesy
I think cooling in this way more effective Wink
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 12:12:10 PM
 #1629

I inverted fans on my unit now they take out warm air from the box. (PSU removed)
Fan1/Fan2/Fan3/T1/T2/T3
Before: 1560 2520 2640 26 45 47 (temperature in my room 25C)
After:   1440 2160 2280 33 43 44

Did you change the location of the intake and outlet temperature sensors?

Your fan speed settings are based on those values...
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2013, 12:55:28 PM
 #1630

New Avalon firmware:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130703/

Fixed one longstanding bug where it would occasionally fail to start yay. \o/

Should also prevent one mode of failure while it's running.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Tesla71
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 293



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 12:59:56 PM
 #1631

New Avalon firmware:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130703/

Fixed one longstanding bug where it would occasionally fail to start yay. \o/

Should also prevent one mode of failure while it's running.

Nice thanks, maybe that fix my issue:


- my cgminer process seems to restart after every 4 hours or so.. must watch longer to see if it happens regulary. could it have something to do with the --avalon-auto, maybee the freq gets to high and it restarts? I am using --avalon-freq 300-340
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2013, 01:06:51 PM
 #1632

Nice thanks, maybe that fix my issue:


- my cgminer process seems to restart after every 4 hours or so.. must watch longer to see if it happens regulary. could it have something to do with the --avalon-auto, maybee the freq gets to high and it restarts? I am using --avalon-freq 300-340
One possibility. There are a few different ways that it restarts. One is an actual error in the code that makes it hang and stop submitting work, which should be fixed in this latest firmware. The other is multiple pool or network outages - and this is where the watchdog is trigger happy, as any period of 2+ minutes without work is enough for cgminer to stop being able to make work and the watchdog is not smart enough to detect what it is. Another is fpga screwups, but they are getting less likely with more fixes going into the cgminer direct USB code than they used to be with the old serial interface thereby bypassing one potential point of failure. An operating system error is also possible, and seems more common with the wifi enabled for reasons that aren't clear. Finally there's true hardware failure of one sort or another - overheat, inadequate power etc.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
demkd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 01:15:23 PM
 #1633

Fixed one longstanding bug where it would occasionally fail to start yay. \o/
Thanks, this firmware works for me, changed cgminer settings/chip frequencies several times and miner starts without problem Smiley
Today tried flashing 07/02 firmware w/o keep settings flag and get not working cgminer, so bug fixed only in 07/03... at least for me Smiley
Tesla71
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 293



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 01:28:45 PM
 #1634

Fixed one longstanding bug where it would occasionally fail to start yay. \o/
Thanks, this firmware works for me, changed cgminer settings/chip frequencies several times and miner starts without problem Smiley
Today tried flashing 07/02 firmware w/o keep settings flag and get not working cgminer, so bug fixed only in 07/03... at least for me Smiley

will try that too as soon as I am at home. I noticed also that it seems sometimes running but not hashing, but it fixed itself after a short time maybe the watchdog restarts the process if no hashing is done?
demkd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 01:38:45 PM
 #1635

time maybe the watchdog restarts the process if no hashing is done?
No, in my case cgminer won't hashing on previous firmware after change of settings or reboot, now it starts hashing immediately Smiley
demkd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 01:44:15 PM
 #1636

Did you change the location of the intake and outlet temperature sensors?
Your fan speed settings are based on those values...
No, I don't know where sensors located Smiley
Tesla71
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 293



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 01:51:06 PM
 #1637

Then you should be carefull with inverting the fans, normally pulling heat out of the case should not be as effective as blow it directly onto the heatsinks.
Therefore your temp-readings COULD be lower because the sensor maybe sitting to the now more cold site.

Only a thought, I also dont know where they are located, didn't even open the unit yet..
thorvald
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 242

Aa7kiQZaSRf7BDPvr3SUJyD7K63HEu6Tnt


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 02:09:34 PM
 #1638

problem solved 10x it works with no problem now  
on what address do I send donation ?
There is the address from your status and the one form the readme.
Regards
Thor
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 02:13:22 PM
 #1639

New Avalon firmware:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130703/

Fixed one longstanding bug where it would occasionally fail to start yay. \o/

Should also prevent one mode of failure while it's running.

geez, you're amazing.

everyone here needs to step up and donate to this man.
Tesla71
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 293



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 02:17:11 PM
 #1640

+1, what would the community do without him?
Pages: « 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 [82] 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!