Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 08:07:57 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 [81] 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 433739 times)
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 05:17:24 AM
 #1601


I'm not sure which of slush's stratum code you're using, as stratum is the protocol, not the software, and cgminer implements its own stratum support. If it's slush's stratum proxy, then that doesn't do anything more than mining directly to bitcoind, and bitcoind can't keep up with an avalon mining with cgminer (it bombs beyond about 5GH). If you are using some kind of pool software from slush, then I'm not really familiar with it, but it could just be increasing your share target difficulty, which is what you want it to do.

it's coming from here:  https://github.com/generalfault/stratum-mining/blob/master/INSTALL
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511510877
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510877

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510877
Reply with quote  #2

1511510877
Report to moderator
1511510877
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510877

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510877
Reply with quote  #2

1511510877
Report to moderator
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 05:17:42 AM
 #1602

Is it stratum vardiif ramping up so you are submitting far less shares but same hashrate?

is there a way to tell?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2013, 05:21:28 AM
 #1603


I'm not sure which of slush's stratum code you're using, as stratum is the protocol, not the software, and cgminer implements its own stratum support. If it's slush's stratum proxy, then that doesn't do anything more than mining directly to bitcoind, and bitcoind can't keep up with an avalon mining with cgminer (it bombs beyond about 5GH). If you are using some kind of pool software from slush, then I'm not really familiar with it, but it could just be increasing your share target difficulty, which is what you want it to do.

it's coming from here:  https://github.com/generalfault/stratum-mining/blob/master/INSTALL
That's what you want then. The fact that you've submitted 1013 accepted shares in your screenshot and it counts as 39126 DiffA means you can tell you are running vardiff at about diff 40, which is also what you want.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 05:26:02 AM
 #1604


I'm not sure which of slush's stratum code you're using, as stratum is the protocol, not the software, and cgminer implements its own stratum support. If it's slush's stratum proxy, then that doesn't do anything more than mining directly to bitcoind, and bitcoind can't keep up with an avalon mining with cgminer (it bombs beyond about 5GH). If you are using some kind of pool software from slush, then I'm not really familiar with it, but it could just be increasing your share target difficulty, which is what you want it to do.

it's coming from here:  https://github.com/generalfault/stratum-mining/blob/master/INSTALL
That's what you want then. The fact that you've submitted 1013 accepted shares in your screenshot and it counts as 39126 DiffA means you can tell you are running vardiff at about diff 40, which is also what you want.

so i'm good then?  Shocked

anything else you see that i could improve upon in the settings?
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 05:29:05 AM
 #1605


Looks fine to me? Your hardware error count is under 1.5% and your hashrate is 77GH.

i thought the error count was HW/Accepted shares?


actually no

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=140539.msg2579903#msg2579903
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg2574423#msg2574423

Quote



as you can see, cgminer's hashing rate looks perfectly normal and now you're telling me the hardware error count is normal also.  am i misinterpreting something here?

I think the interface is confusing most of us: to the occasional observer your system has

Accepted: 1013
Not accepted: (Rejected 4 + HW 406 + discarded 64)= 474

so about 31% is lost? :-)
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2013, 05:31:24 AM
 #1606

anything else you see that i could improve upon in the settings?
All looks pretty good. My only concern is more about your Avalon itself. It's obviously hot where you are at the moment, as your fans have ramped up to almost the maximum. Due to them including 2 high pressure 38mm fans and 1 regular pressure 25mm fan, when the 38mm fans run at maximum speed, the air pressure is so high in the case that the 25mm fan is blowing but air is actually moving backwards through it. I don't know what the solution there is...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2013, 05:33:46 AM
 #1607


Looks fine to me? Your hardware error count is under 1.5% and your hashrate is 77GH.

i thought the error count was HW/Accepted shares?


actually no

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=140539.msg2579903#msg2579903
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg2574423#msg2574423

Quote



as you can see, cgminer's hashing rate looks perfectly normal and now you're telling me the hardware error count is normal also.  am i misinterpreting something here?

I think the interface is confusing most of us: to the occasional observer your system has

Accepted: 1013
Not accepted: (Rejected 4 + HW 406 + discarded 64)= 474

so about 31% is lost? :-)
Sigh, also wrong.

The absolute values that count here are:
Accepted: 39126
Rejected: 789
HW: 406

Discarded is totally meaningless, I wish it wasn't in the display at all. It's a number from when getwork was the protocol in use and means nothing in the local work generation era.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Vagnavs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1117

First Blood + ChainLink


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 05:34:28 AM
 #1608

how long does it typically take to be delivered from China to the US? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks for time,
Brian


███████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████▐████
███████████████████████
████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
DECENT
FOUNDATION



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


[D]ecentralized application
[E]liminated third parties
[C]ontent distribution       



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


[E]ncrypted & secure
[N]o borders
[T]imeless reputation 



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


Bitrated user: Vagnavs.
demkd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 05:35:16 AM
 #1609

I'm not really sure why this happens, but it appears to happen when code outside of cgminer kills it, so I suspect it's because it's not allowing it time to shut down properly and perhaps the API port is still bound to the old zombie process and you're not seeing the new one mining, or the new cgminer process is fighting the old one for access to the device.
But I see only one cgminer process, and unit not mining at this time (I have watt meter ~34W at idle) and GetWorks slowly incresing over time so It's a same process.
I see difference in options  & 07/02 frimware:
06/07 frimware: --avalon-options 115200:24:10:43:300 (mining)
07/02 frimware: --avalon-options 115200:24:10:38:300 (not mining & zero temps displayed)
What timeout value means?
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 05:36:36 AM
 #1610

anything else you see that i could improve upon in the settings?
All looks pretty good. My only concern is more about your Avalon itself. It's obviously hot where you are at the moment, as your fans have ramped up to almost the maximum. Due to them including 2 high pressure 38mm fans and 1 regular pressure 25mm fan, when the 38mm fans run at maximum speed, the air pressure is so high in the case that the 25mm fan is blowing but air is actually moving backwards through it. I don't know what the solution there is...

what is the max fan speed?  4000?  what's a good range for them to be in?

which of the 3 fans is the 25 mm?  the one closest to the PSU?

edit:  what's an optimal temp to run at?  someone who knows should publish a set of normal or optimum values for all these parameters.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2013, 05:42:14 AM
 #1611

I'm not really sure why this happens, but it appears to happen when code outside of cgminer kills it, so I suspect it's because it's not allowing it time to shut down properly and perhaps the API port is still bound to the old zombie process and you're not seeing the new one mining, or the new cgminer process is fighting the old one for access to the device.
But I see only one cgminer process, and unit not mining at this time (I have watt meter ~34W at idle) and GetWorks slowly incresing over time so It's a same process.
I see difference in options  & 07/02 frimware:
06/07 frimware: --avalon-options 115200:24:10:43:300 (mining)
07/02 frimware: --avalon-options 115200:24:10:38:300 (not mining & zero temps displayed)
What timeout value means?

That's unusual. It should work out to 42:300 now. Did you start with a fresh configuration or have you always done "keep settings" from the old firmware?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
demkd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 05:44:48 AM
 #1612

That's unusual. It should work out to 42:300 now. Did you start with a fresh configuration or have you always done "keep settings" from the old firmware?
Yes, I flashed with "keep settings", I will try reflash later today w/o keeping settings.
BenTuras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 05:48:33 AM
 #1613

however, initially it was streaming thru pages of hashes w/o problem but now has slowed to a crawl.  some memory buffer or something must be filling up.  
Is it possible that your disk is near its capacity because of the huge logfile ?

I am selling in stock OneStringMiner boards, based on the Bitfury chips. Have a look here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=495536.0
BenTuras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 05:49:32 AM
 #1614

Hardware error percentage is:
100 * HW / (diff1shares + HW)
Friendly suggestion: Is it possible to add this percentage to the cgminer web page to make it easier for us ?

I am selling in stock OneStringMiner boards, based on the Bitfury chips. Have a look here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=495536.0
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 05:50:01 AM
 #1615

how long does it typically take to be delivered from China to the US? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks for time,
Brian

not long.  4 days max?

i got tracking # for my last avalon yesterday and i just checked DHL and it's already left Hong Kong for LA.
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 05:53:15 AM
 #1616

however, initially it was streaming thru pages of hashes w/o problem but now has slowed to a crawl.  some memory buffer or something must be filling up.  
Is it possible that your disk is near its capacity because of the hugh logfile ?

this was answered above:  vardiff.
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 06:21:21 AM
 #1617

I think the interface is confusing most of us: to the occasional observer your system has

Accepted: 1013
Not accepted: (Rejected 4 + HW 406 + discarded 64)= 474

so about 31% is lost? :-)
Sigh, also wrong.

The absolute values that count here are:
Accepted: 39126
Rejected: 789
HW: 406


Again, this proves my point that the way the values are displayed is confusing

The occasional observer does not see Accepted: 39126 (He/she sees 1013)

Where is that value? You calculate it?

Hands up for those that also misread the stats page (and are not afraid to admit it)?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2013, 06:31:25 AM
 #1618

Accepted/Rejected is changed in the current master version for precisely this reason. The web interface, on the other hand, may lag. It's the legacy of constantly shifting changing landscape of bitcoin mining.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Tesla71
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 295



View Profile
July 03, 2013, 06:50:31 AM
 #1619

3 Questions:

- my cgminer process seems to restart after every 4 hours or so.. must watch longer to see if it happens regulary. could it have something to do with the --avalon-auto, maybee the freq gets to high and it restarts? I am using --avalon-freq 300-340

- As I read I can forget the "discarded" shares, what about the number of "rejected", do I have to set them also in relation to diff1shares or to the accepted?

-Is it save to use --avalon-temp 55 ? the fans are running at about 2700 under that environment conditions atm.
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1355

nec sine labore


View Profile
July 03, 2013, 07:55:33 AM
 #1620

Is it stratum vardiif ramping up so you are submitting far less shares but same hashrate?

is there a way to tell?

Yes,

look at the lines with "Checking retarget for...", you'll see that it grows slowing down share submission.

spiccioli
Pages: « 1 ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 [81] 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!