Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 04:32:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 [164] 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4827810 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 29, 2012, 10:07:37 AM
 #3261

Plus I can't use any sdk higher than 2.1, because of cpu bug.
By the way, "cpu bug" has nothing to do with SDK, only the ATI driver does.
Others saying that cpu bug is in SDK, not in drivers. Plus, I've 11.12 installed (tested 11.6 as well) and I don't have this bug with 2.1 sdk, but with just switching to 2.3/2.4/2.5/2.6 the bug "suddenly" appear on W7 x64.
 Can you fix 2.2.0 version so I can use hardware monitoring with 2.1 sdk? It's working in 2.1.2, so why not in 2.2.0?
 Btw can I change for example phatk110817.cl on phatk 2.2 kernel from Phoenix, by just renaming it's kernel.cl to phatk110817.cl and replace the default one? It will work that way?

1481430729
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481430729

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481430729
Reply with quote  #2

1481430729
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481430729
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481430729

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481430729
Reply with quote  #2

1481430729
Report to moderator
1481430729
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481430729

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481430729
Reply with quote  #2

1481430729
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 10:12:59 AM
 #3262

Plus I can't use any sdk higher than 2.1, because of cpu bug.
By the way, "cpu bug" has nothing to do with SDK, only the ATI driver does.
Others saying that cpu bug is in SDK, not in drivers. Plus, I've 11.12 installed (tested 11.6 as well) and I don't have this bug with 2.1 sdk, but with just switching to 2.3/2.4/2.5/2.6 the bug "suddenly" appear on W7 x64.
 Can you fix 2.2.0 version so I can use hardware monitoring with 2.1 sdk? It's working in 2.1.2, so why not in 2.2.0?
 Btw can I change for example phatk110817.cl on phatk 2.2 kernel from Phoenix, by just renaming it's kernel.cl to phatk110817.cl and replace the default one? It will work that way?
Mystery. That does not make any sense about the SDK using CPU. I suspect you are actually having conflict issues with the files on your installation rather than anything to do with the SDK itself. I hear that putting the .dlls into the cgminer directory on windows will allow you to run it with whatever sdk you want.

No I cannot fix it to work with 2.1 sdk because I suspect the extra features in cgminer 2.2.0 are breaking with that older sdk.

No you cannot use a .cl from any other project in cgminer. The Application Programming Interface is different on all of them.

I suggest you treat any "reported" speeds from phoenix and guiminer with caution as they're allegedly not reliable...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 29, 2012, 10:40:31 AM
 #3263

Plus I can't use any sdk higher than 2.1, because of cpu bug.
By the way, "cpu bug" has nothing to do with SDK, only the ATI driver does.
Others saying that cpu bug is in SDK, not in drivers. Plus, I've 11.12 installed (tested 11.6 as well) and I don't have this bug with 2.1 sdk, but with just switching to 2.3/2.4/2.5/2.6 the bug "suddenly" appear on W7 x64.
 Can you fix 2.2.0 version so I can use hardware monitoring with 2.1 sdk? It's working in 2.1.2, so why not in 2.2.0?
 Btw can I change for example phatk110817.cl on phatk 2.2 kernel from Phoenix, by just renaming it's kernel.cl to phatk110817.cl and replace the default one? It will work that way?
Mystery. That does not make any sense about the SDK using CPU. I suspect you are actually having conflict issues with the files on your installation rather than anything to do with the SDK itself.
Nope. I'm deleting from Win32 and SysWOW64 folders all sdk dlls (amdocl.dll, amdoclcl.dll, OpenCL.dll) all the time after sdk deinstallation and removing all remaining ati dlls and registry crap with Driver Sweeper. Maybe it's somehow related to enabled integrated gpu HD4250 on motherboard? Btw I don't have this bug with 11.6/2.4/2.1, 11.12/2.5/2.4/2.1, on WinXP (32 or 64 bit). But only 11.12/2.1 combo is working for me with Win7x64. And not only for me.
 https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=61340.0
 
Quote
I hear that putting the .dlls into the cgminer directory on windows will allow you to run it with whatever sdk you want.]I hear that putting the .dlls into the cgminer directory on windows will allow you to run it with whatever sdk you want.
If no other OpenCL.dll is installed into Windows folder.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 10:47:15 AM
 #3264

No idea then  Huh

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 29, 2012, 10:53:11 AM
 #3265

No idea then  Huh
I guess I'll just switch to 2.2.0 and 2.5 sdk with XP, when I'm not around/night. Because gpu clocks/temp autocontrol is essential for me.

BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 29, 2012, 11:03:39 AM
 #3266

 Err, hardware monitoring in 2.2.0 isn't working even with 2.5 sdk. Just checked with XP.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 11:07:43 AM
 #3267

Err, hardware monitoring in 2.2.0 isn't working even with 2.5 sdk. Just checked with XP.
Huh wot?  Shocked

Do you get any useful error messages when you start it with -D -T --verbose (as well as your usual parameters) ?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 29, 2012, 11:18:51 AM
 #3268

 Thats what I have with these parameters.
 

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 11:28:42 AM
 #3269

Well that's interesting, you're getting the "adl found more devices than opencl" problem. How many GPUs do you have? Just one? Did you change anything in your driver setup at all? What output do you get if you use this http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgdebug.exe in the cgminer directory the same way you would use cgminer.exe and start with -T ? It will give more information about the devices with lines that look like this:
Code:
[2012-01-22 17:31:58] lpAdapterID 20016752 iBusNumber 1 iDeviceNumber 0 iFunctionNumber 0 iVendorID 4098 strAdapterName AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series  strDisplayName :0.0 lpInfo.strUDID  256:26393:4098:12583:5762

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 29, 2012, 11:39:21 AM
 #3270

Well that's interesting, you're getting the "adl found more devices than opencl" problem. How many GPUs do you have? Just one? Did you change anything in your driver setup at all? What output do you get if you use this http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgdebug.exe in the cgminer directory the same way you would use cgminer.exe and start with -T ? It will give more information about the devices with lines that look like this:
Code:
[2012-01-22 17:31:58] lpAdapterID 20016752 iBusNumber 1 iDeviceNumber 0 iFunctionNumber 0 iVendorID 4098 strAdapterName AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series  strDisplayName :0.0 lpInfo.strUDID  256:26393:4098:12583:5762

2 gpus. 5770 and internal 4250 (set as primary). And no problems with this setup and v2.1.2. Driver installed in XP is 11.12 and 2.5 sdk, nothing else.

 

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 11:46:14 AM
 #3271

2 gpus. 5770 and internal 4250 (set as primary). And no problems with this setup and v2.1.2. Driver installed in XP is 11.12 and 2.5 sdk, nothing else.

 
Okay so what's happening here is that the ATI display library is finding both GPUs but opencl is only finding one GPU...

Now look at this post:
I just had an annoying multi-hour debugging session, trying to figure out why cgminer thinks there's only one GPU in my (Debian Testing) system.

$ aticonfig --list-ad
* 0. 06:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
  1. 07:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
  2. 08:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5450

Turns out that AMD is being stupid. Again.

OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4 (595.10) (don't remember where I downloaded it from): library works.
OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (831.4) (available from http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPPSDK/Pages/default.aspx ) does NOT see more than one GPU.

You can extract the build number etc. from the library with
$ strings -a /pth/to/the/library.so | grep "^OpenCL.*AMD-APP"
 

Yes I realise that's a linux report but it could be related.

Next, download this bleeding edge build http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe
and try this command:
cgminer.exe  --ndevs  

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 29, 2012, 12:03:01 PM
 #3272


-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 12:09:17 PM
 #3273

Question: Can your other device (4250) mine?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 12:17:19 PM
 #3274

Question: Can your other device (4250) mine?
I guess you don't need to answer that, I checked.

So this is the problem. One device that can mine and one that can't. There's already nothing to correlate openCL devices with devices that appear in the ATI display library apart from "how many there are" and "in what order they appear". Put a non-opencl device in there (like the 4250) and it's a mess... GAH. Nothing short of some kind of massive whitelist will fix this. If it worked previously you were lucky it wasn't monitoring the 1st card instead.

EDIT: This recurring problem of having no way of correlating opencl and ATI devices is getting seriously long in the tooth. Can we get a re-post of those facepalms please?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 29, 2012, 12:28:41 PM
 #3275

Question: Can your other device (4250) mine?
I guess you don't need to answer that, I checked.

So this is the problem. One device that can mine and one that can't. There's already nothing to correlate openCL devices with devices that appear in the ATI display library apart from "how many there are" and "in what order they appear". Put a non-opencl device in there (like the 4250) and it's a mess... GAH. Nothing short of some kind of massive whitelist will fix this. If it worked previously you were lucky it wasn't monitoring the 1st card instead.

EDIT: This recurring problem of having no way of correlating opencl and ATI devices is getting seriously long in the tooth. Can we get a re-post of those facepalms please?
But why 2.1.2 don't have such issue then?

Quote
If it worked previously you were lucky it wasn't monitoring the 1st card instead.
2.1.2 hardware monitoring is working, right now, after I tested 2.2.0, without problems. So maybe just a bug in 2.2.0?

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 12:33:57 PM
 #3276

Question: Can your other device (4250) mine?
I guess you don't need to answer that, I checked.

So this is the problem. One device that can mine and one that can't. There's already nothing to correlate openCL devices with devices that appear in the ATI display library apart from "how many there are" and "in what order they appear". Put a non-opencl device in there (like the 4250) and it's a mess... GAH. Nothing short of some kind of massive whitelist will fix this. If it worked previously you were lucky it wasn't monitoring the 1st card instead.

EDIT: This recurring problem of having no way of correlating opencl and ATI devices is getting seriously long in the tooth. Can we get a re-post of those facepalms please?
But why 2.1.2 don't have such issue then?
It stopped after it found the first device. 2.2.0 finds all the devices and then reorders them correctly according to their PCI bus position. As I said you were lucky it wasn't giving you temps and fanspeed for the 4250 instead because it happened to put the 4250 second in the driver order even though you physically have it first in the slot - You can see it has a higher adapterindex in that list despite having a lower busnumber.

As for a solution to this problem that is correct as opposed to "lucky"... I'm thinking, but I have no ideas apart from explicitly telling cgminer at this stage.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
January 29, 2012, 12:35:57 PM
 #3277

Hmm thanks for the link, but that doesn't even appear in my code anywhere. Presumably that's ufa they're talking about. Meanwhile cgminer mines fine on my nvidia laptop so  Huh
I guess I'm a bit late to be responding now regardless, but yes that code was for (and posted by) ufasoft.  I quoted what I did because the person who they were responding to said cgminer stopped working in their environment with the same nvidia driver version leading me to believe it could possibly be a similar cause, so I thought I'd bring it up just in case.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2012, 12:43:13 PM
 #3278

But why 2.1.2 don't have such issue then?
It stopped after it found the first device. 2.2.0 finds all the devices and then reorders them correctly according to their PCI bus position. As I said you were lucky it wasn't giving you temps and fanspeed for the 4250 instead because it happened to put the 4250 second in the driver order even though you physically have it first in the slot - You can see it has a higher adapterindex in that list despite having a lower busnumber.

As for a solution to this problem that is correct as opposed to "lucky"... I'm thinking, but I have no ideas apart from explicitly telling cgminer at this stage.
This won't be the correct fix, but this exe should work around the problem for you for now (put into 2.2.0 directory):
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 29, 2012, 12:47:14 PM
 #3279

...Can we get a re-post of those facepalms please?
Ask and you shall receive.



Code:
root@haerdalis::/home/jake# /opt/bcm/cgminer-testing/cgminer                    [2012-01-29 13:48:56] Started cgminer 2.2.0
WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/00local, it will be ignored in a future release.
FATAL: Module nvidia not found.
*** glibc detected *** /opt/bcm/cgminer-testing: realloc(): invalid old size: 0xbfa81ce8 ***
======= Backtrace: =========
/lib/i686/cmov/libc.so.6(+0x6b381)[0xb75b7381]
/lib/i686/cmov/libc.so.6(+0x70aad)[0xb75bcaad]
/lib/i686/cmov/libc.so.6(realloc+0xdd)[0xb75bcd8d]
/opt/bcm/cgminer-testing[0x80590ad]
/usr/lib/libcurl-gnutls.so.4(Curl_client_write+0x198)[0xb770e6e8]
/usr/lib/libcurl-gnutls.so.4(Curl_readwrite+0x12c0)[0xb7721b00]
/usr/lib/libcurl-gnutls.so.4(+0x29f1b)[0xb7721f1b]
/usr/lib/libcurl-gnutls.so.4(curl_easy_perform+0x43)[0xb7722d93]
/opt/bcm/cgminer-testing[0x805a1db]
/opt/bcm/cgminer-testing[0x80509d2]
/opt/bcm/cgminer-testing[0x80566a8]
/lib/i686/cmov/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe6)[0xb7562ca6]
/opt/bcm/cgminer-testing[0x804ad01]
======= Memory map: ========
...
Latest git tends to die a miserable death, Con.
The previous build i reported testing some 12 hours ago works just fine.
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 29, 2012, 12:54:35 PM
 #3280

But why 2.1.2 don't have such issue then?
It stopped after it found the first device. 2.2.0 finds all the devices and then reorders them correctly according to their PCI bus position. As I said you were lucky it wasn't giving you temps and fanspeed for the 4250 instead because it happened to put the 4250 second in the driver order even though you physically have it first in the slot - You can see it has a higher adapterindex in that list despite having a lower busnumber.

As for a solution to this problem that is correct as opposed to "lucky"... I'm thinking, but I have no ideas apart from explicitly telling cgminer at this stage.
This won't be the correct fix, but this exe should work around the problem for you for now (put into 2.2.0 directory):
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe
Yeah, it's working, even with 2.1 sdk. Thanks!

Pages: « 1 ... 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 [164] 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!