Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 07:36:54 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 [161] 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4825066 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
January 27, 2012, 02:35:50 PM
 #3201

Hmmmm D&T... I was thinking that I can't fix the ordering, as that happens on a bios+mobo+os+driver+/- crossfire basis  Undecided

There is a way though... hmm but it would require running through all the ADL code first and then renumbering everything... hmmmmmm
* ckolivas hmms some more...

I think I have a way.
* ckolivas ponders.

BBIAW...
I think D&T's concern was that you assumed it was always A+C,B+D,E+F more than what order they displayed in.  Based on your acknowledgements RE: bios+mobo+os+driver+/-crossfire that isn't the case and you may be able to identify them appropriately regardless.  However, if you can and want to make them display in a logical order, more power to you.  Wink
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 27, 2012, 02:37:11 PM
 #3202

Yes I understood that. I just didn't expect it was possible, but this extra debugging has shown me it is. I just need to actually code it up now.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 27, 2012, 05:38:56 PM
 #3203

Yes I understood that. I just didn't expect it was possible, but this extra debugging has shown me it is. I just need to actually code it up now.

That would be awesome and would certainly warrant a donation from any miner who uses multiple dual GPU cards.  Well certainly from the non-cheapo ones. Smiley
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 27, 2012, 10:35:24 PM
 #3204

Theoretically it should even fix card ordering of any sort, not just dual GPUs that are split up:


Here it is completely untested... so please test it  Wink
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe


EDIT: tested, doesn't work. Hold on...

Just use as per normal.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
January 27, 2012, 10:44:14 PM
 #3205

CK - worth a git pull to test on linux machines as well?

None of mine are dual 5970 currently but that will soon change  Grin

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 27, 2012, 11:03:10 PM
 #3206

I haven't pushed it to the git tree. I have no idea if it works at all... since I don't even have a GPU that can mine at the moment still  Roll Eyes
Ok I've added a git branch called "reorder". If you git pull and then "git checkout reorder" you can try it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 27, 2012, 11:12:05 PM
 #3207

On further inspection this code won't work...

Back to the drawing board.  Tongue

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
January 27, 2012, 11:49:33 PM
 #3208

excuse me for being lazy but I keep seeing a lot of talk about 5970 , ive been too busy to keep up with the conversation - but if someone could tell me whats going on in respect  the 5970 development I would really appreciate it

my 5970 gets 380 mhash per core in windows 7 with the ccc 11.8

is it possible to do better?

thanks in advance for filling me in!
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
January 27, 2012, 11:53:30 PM
 #3209

excuse me for being lazy but I keep seeing a lot of talk about 5970 , ive been too busy to keep up with the conversation - but if someone could tell me whats going on in respect  the 5970 development I would really appreciate it

my 5970 gets 380 mhash per core in windows 7 with the ccc 11.8

is it possible to do better?

thanks in advance for filling me in!
Same hashrates as you except I am mining on linux. (My U is a little less than expected because I have p2pool as my secondary pool)
Code:
GPU 0:  72.5C 4349RPM | 380.7/379.8Mh/s | A:4693 R:243 HW:0 U: 5.01/m I: 8
GPU 1:  68.5C         | 377.9/377.6Mh/s | A:4644 R:241 HW:0 U: 4.95/m I: 8

sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 01:24:34 AM
 #3210

Good news and bad news, ckolivas:

All of my previous 7970 testing was getting bottlenecked by CPU usage.  This is the reason why the hashrate fluctuated so heavily.  I enabled the other 2 cores on this rig and I'm getting much better results.  I usually leave 2 cores disabled and undervolt the CPU to save power.

Now that the other 2 cores are enabled, I can get around 633Mhash/sec with the poclbm kernel and the same clocks used in the other testing.  I say "around 630Mhash/sec" because the hash rate bounces around quite a bit due to the CPU still being bottlenecked.  If I only run CGMiner against 1 card, the hash rate starts around 610Mhash, gradually increases to 633, falls down again, etc etc.  Running CGMiner like this averaged 612Mhash/sec over 5 minutes.

I'll toy around with Phatk and the modified version you posted, and then report back.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 01:28:07 AM
 #3211

(I had to use 13 for intensity to get this, BTW)

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 01:37:27 AM
 #3212

Turning intensity down to 9 makes CPU usage sink to almost nothing.  Increasing it to 10 (or above) completely saturates 1 core...

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 03:49:21 AM
 #3213

Turning intensity down to 9 makes CPU usage sink to almost nothing.  Increasing it to 10 (or above) completely saturates 1 core...

That was covered in the readme.  Simple solution use intensity 9 (or possibly Cool.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 03:59:25 AM
 #3214

Turning intensity down to 9 makes CPU usage sink to almost nothing.  Increasing it to 10 (or above) completely saturates 1 core...

That was covered in the readme.  Simple solution use intensity 9 (or possibly Cool.

tru, but doesn't 79xx like the 10 ?  

I am about to try the poclbm for the first time with the 79....

edit:   YAAAAAHHHH
Code:
GPU 0: 70.0C 1763RPM 31% | 526.1/519.4Mh/s | 1025Mhz 1.17V A:24 R:0 HW:0 U:5.48/m I: 7
GPU 1: 67.0C 1448RPM 25% | 526.2/519.7Mh/s | 1025Mhz 1.17V A:33 R:1 HW:0 U:7.54/m I: 7
GPU 2: 68.0C 1332RPM 25% | 526.2/519.7Mh/s | 1025Mhz 1.17V A:35 R:2 HW:0 U:8.00/m I: 7
GPU 3: 72.0C 1763RPM 33% | 526.3/519.8Mh/s | 1025Mhz 1.17V A:25 R:1 HW:0 U:5.71/m I: 7

edit2:  looks like I need to add mem now to the webmon

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 04:08:40 AM
 #3215

That was covered in the readme.  Simple solution use intensity 9 (or possibly Cool.

Pff.  Do you think I read manuals?   Wink  Yeah, I never saw that.  The problem is that the hash rate on the 7970s seem to still increase significantly when you turn the intensity above 9.  Other cards barely budge.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 04:18:32 AM
 #3216

That was covered in the readme.  Simple solution use intensity 9 (or possibly Cool.

Pff.  Do you think I read manuals?   Wink  Yeah, I never saw that.  The problem is that the hash rate on the 7970s seem to still increase significantly when you turn the intensity above 9.  Other cards barely budge.

do I have to get older bin files to get the hashrate your getting ?

I have never used poclbm before, so I dont have any  Sad

GPU 1:   54.0C   3188RPM    50% |    557.5/559.0Mh/s |    1100Mhz    1020Mhz    1.17V    A:21   R:0   HW:0   U:7.15/m    I: 9


edit:  I set one of the cards to 10, getting only 1 Mh more then the 9's.

btw,  gpu-vddc did not change the voltage on the card.  were you able to change voltage.?  and please someone answer the 'older bin' question?

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2012, 06:13:51 AM
 #3217

Okay, here is the first windows executable with PCI bus based reordering of GPU devices. Put it into an existing 2.1.2 installation.

Please test it out to see if it works and what it does to your advertised card order!

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe

Linux build works from "reorder" branch on git.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
freakfantom
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73



View Profile
January 28, 2012, 08:40:29 AM
 #3218

Okay, here is the first windows executable with PCI bus based reordering of GPU devices. Put it into an existing 2.1.2 installation.

Please test it out to see if it works and what it does to your advertised card order!

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe

Yes, it works fine on windows x64 3x6990. It seems to me the order of gpus is reversed, but I don't have any proof Smiley Just want to confirm that new exe is working.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 10:58:20 AM
 #3219

That was covered in the readme.  Simple solution use intensity 9 (or possibly Cool.

Pff.  Do you think I read manuals?   Wink  Yeah, I never saw that.  The problem is that the hash rate on the 7970s seem to still increase significantly when you turn the intensity above 9.  Other cards barely budge.

do I have to get older bin files to get the hashrate your getting ?

I have never used poclbm before, so I dont have any  Sad

GPU 1:   54.0C   3188RPM    50% |    557.5/559.0Mh/s |    1100Mhz    1020Mhz    1.17V    A:21   R:0   HW:0   U:7.15/m    I: 9


edit:  I set one of the cards to 10, getting only 1 Mh more then the 9's.

btw,  gpu-vddc did not change the voltage on the card.  were you able to change voltage.?  and please someone answer the 'older bin' question?
The bin files will of course be related to the opencl version you were running at the time the bin file was generated.
So it's not really older or newer, the performance figures anyone quotes will also be directly related to the opencl version they were using to generate the bin.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2012, 02:42:56 PM
 #3220

Okay, here is the first windows executable with PCI bus based reordering of GPU devices. Put it into an existing 2.1.2 installation.

Please test it out to see if it works and what it does to your advertised card order!

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe

Yes, it works fine on windows x64 3x6990. It seems to me the order of gpus is reversed, but I don't have any proof Smiley Just want to confirm that new exe is working.
Thanks very much. Yes the order will often be reversed due to mobo+os+drivr discrepancies.. The order should now most accurately represent what is happening physically with the cards.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 [161] 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!