Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 04:57:16 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 [119] 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 432466 times)
Digigami
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 460


View Profile
August 10, 2013, 06:05:14 PM
 #2361

Hey Avalon users!

I'm working on a Bytecoin P2Pool, and now have a testing server with the updated p2pool which supposedly should support your Avalon machines!

I'd like to ask if anyone would be willing to help me test it? I understand Avalons had significant difficulties with the older versions of p2pool, and I would like to make sure it works as advertised before I switch my main pool node over.

If anyone is willing, please send me a PM

Thanks,
Digigami

UPDATE - Had someone volunteer.. and it appears the updated p2pool is still suffering issues at this time.. back to the drawing board
1511110636
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110636

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110636
Reply with quote  #2

1511110636
Report to moderator
1511110636
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110636

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110636
Reply with quote  #2

1511110636
Report to moderator
1511110636
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110636

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110636
Reply with quote  #2

1511110636
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511110636
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110636

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110636
Reply with quote  #2

1511110636
Report to moderator
kefky
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49



View Profile
August 10, 2013, 06:36:33 PM
 #2362

If you haven't already, you have to delete/remove WiFi, not just disable/stop it.  Network->Wifi->Remove

I've deleted but after few hours of mining I see the error message again:

Code:
usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71
usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71
usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71
koxman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
August 10, 2013, 06:46:09 PM
 #2363

Did you restart avalon openwrt afert deleting wifi device?

That problem is described well. Wifi chip is taking too much power (maybe due to missing wifi antena).

I have had same problem and solved it by removing wifi interface and rebooting openwrt (wifi kernel module will be not loaded again).
kefky
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49



View Profile
August 10, 2013, 06:58:44 PM
 #2364

Did you restart avalon openwrt afert deleting wifi device?

hmm Huh I'm not sure
I'll reboot it now.
crazyearner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile
August 11, 2013, 12:05:51 AM
 #2365

i see some users running at 350mhz for batch 2?

is it possible to run at greater than 350mhz, at 360mh? for batch 1 with say 1250w 80+ gold psu?

previously it was running at 345mhz on a 1000w psu

so i got a new 1050w and was thinking if i should return and exchange it for a 1250w psu instead for greater hashing rate and make up the shortfall(downtime)

I am running batch 2 3 modual system with 860W Corsair AXi Series 80PLUS Platinum Modular Digital Power Supply am so far close to taking it to the mark of 400MHz per chip I have so far tested upto 360MHz rock solid and thinking to increase and temps at a good rate too then again I have also done air flow mods to it to improve channeling of airflow to the modules.

If you are on a 4x moudal I am unsure what to set too as I have seen a lot of people having problems taking above 340MHz due to amount of power it sucks up. I am running 3 at 360 to 365MHz and only taking 760 intake feed of power and using only 700 of it so this Platinum psu is very energy effective while temps never going over 50c Am also wondering if I can get to that target of 400MH/s per chip but even then that's pushing it way too much but will see as I have full monitor status of unit of how much each modual is sucking up and how much amps its using.

was wondering how long it'd take people to notice ( and more importantly share the constant that we've released on github.)

the number you are all aiming for is 450 Tongue of course, that's not really possible on just air cooling.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 12:24:55 AM
 #2366

Just a 'somewhat' on topic aside ...

I have a BitBurner XX with 20 Avalon chips in it.
It runs at 400Mhz with about 1.4% HW
Code:
BTB  0: 48/ 48C 1223mV | 10.86G/7.669Gh/s | A:149590 R:748 HW:2151 WU:108.6/m
24hrs runtime

I put it up to 450MHz and it was about 50% Tongue but appropriate cooling would have probably resolved that also.



So indeed the chips can do 450MHz

Using my numbers above:
(7.669 / 20) * 240 = 92GH/s at 400MHz

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Ghost of USD
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 12:50:05 AM
 #2367

If you haven't already, you have to delete/remove WiFi, not just disable/stop it.  Network->Wifi->Remove

I've deleted but after few hours of mining I see the error message again:

Code:
usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71
usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71
usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71

Unload the wifi kernel modules.

log into ssh and rmmod the following:

Code:
ath9k
ath9k_common
ath9k_hw
ath
mac80211
cfg80211

then cd into /etc/modules.d

and comment out, or if you're confident enough, delete the following files in that directory, to prevent them from being loaded on reboot:
Code:
20-cfg80211
21-mac80211
26-ath
27-ath9k-common
28-ath9k


1ghostLfPmdYi4PuDsECRBXYadsGSHofz
Ytterbium
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile WWW
August 11, 2013, 02:41:01 AM
 #2368

So indeed the chips can do 450MHz

Using my numbers above:
(7.669 / 20) * 240 = 92GH/s at 400MHz

You increased the voltage in order to do that, right?

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 02:45:49 AM
 #2369

So indeed the chips can do 450MHz

Using my numbers above:
(7.669 / 20) * 240 = 92GH/s at 400MHz

You increased the voltage in order to do that, right?
No I left it at the 1200mV default for the current run.

As you can see it reads 1223mV - but I'm not exactly sure how accurate that is.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
mdbssm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 02:52:07 AM
 #2370

So indeed the chips can do 450MHz

Using my numbers above:
(7.669 / 20) * 240 = 92GH/s at 400MHz

You increased the voltage in order to do that, right?
No I left it at the 1200mV default for the current run.

As you can see it reads 1223mV - but I'm not exactly sure how accurate that is.

Very nice Kano.

Any idea if this would be possible with batch 3 avalon hardware? With better cooling of course. Like 2x 120mm 6000rpm delta fans in the place of the stock 120mm fans in a batch 3 unit.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 03:06:37 AM
 #2371

So indeed the chips can do 450MHz

Using my numbers above:
(7.669 / 20) * 240 = 92GH/s at 400MHz

You increased the voltage in order to do that, right?
No I left it at the 1200mV default for the current run.

As you can see it reads 1223mV - but I'm not exactly sure how accurate that is.

Very nice Kano.

Any idea if this would be possible with batch 3 avalon hardware? With better cooling of course. Like 2x 120mm 6000rpm delta fans in the place of the stock 120mm fans in a batch 3 unit.

Well the API stats should pretty much answer that for you.
Though, from what I understand about Avalons, you need to pay attention to what PSU you have also.
These changes of course use more power.
I'd certainly suggest monitoring it at the wall vs the PSU you have and then adjust the frequency as you go and pay close attention to that and the temperature.
I added to the API in 3.3.2 the option to change the frequency as it is running ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
tarui
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 03:52:24 AM
 #2372

So indeed the chips can do 450MHz

Using my numbers above:
(7.669 / 20) * 240 = 92GH/s at 400MHz

You increased the voltage in order to do that, right?
No I left it at the 1200mV default for the current run.

As you can see it reads 1223mV - but I'm not exactly sure how accurate that is.

Very nice Kano.

Any idea if this would be possible with batch 3 avalon hardware? With better cooling of course. Like 2x 120mm 6000rpm delta fans in the place of the stock 120mm fans in a batch 3 unit.

Well the API stats should pretty much answer that for you.
Though, from what I understand about Avalons, you need to pay attention to what PSU you have also.
These changes of course use more power.
I'd certainly suggest monitoring it at the wall vs the PSU you have and then adjust the frequency as you go and pay close attention to that and the temperature.
I added to the API in 3.3.2 the option to change the frequency as it is running ...

how much power does it use at 400mhz?
BitCoiner2012
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
August 11, 2013, 03:56:48 AM
 #2373

Lowering of frequency with auto avalon is a result of it trying to maintain a certain temperature as well, yes?

What would be the conclusion if a particular machine hashes at over 80, but slowly declines to the mid 70s lowering frequency? Lack of adequate cooling?

BTC Long.
Ytterbium
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile WWW
August 11, 2013, 04:20:17 AM
 #2374

So indeed the chips can do 450MHz

Using my numbers above:
(7.669 / 20) * 240 = 92GH/s at 400MHz

You increased the voltage in order to do that, right?
No I left it at the 1200mV default for the current run.

As you can see it reads 1223mV - but I'm not exactly sure how accurate that is.

Huh.  Increasing the clockrate on my B2 over a certain point only increases HW errors.  I wonder what the difference is between these boards and the ones Avalon shipped with.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 04:29:20 AM
 #2375

Lowering of frequency with auto avalon is a result of it trying to maintain a certain temperature as well, yes?

What would be the conclusion if a particular machine hashes at over 80, but slowly declines to the mid 70s lowering frequency? Lack of adequate cooling?
FYI: Aside: The GH/s reported by the avalon code is not the device hash rate, it is the 1diff share find rate.
Thus it will also change with luck.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
BitCoiner2012
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
August 11, 2013, 04:58:12 AM
 #2376

Lowering of frequency with auto avalon is a result of it trying to maintain a certain temperature as well, yes?

What would be the conclusion if a particular machine hashes at over 80, but slowly declines to the mid 70s lowering frequency? Lack of adequate cooling?
FYI: Aside: The GH/s reported by the avalon code is not the device hash rate, it is the 1diff share find rate.
Thus it will also change with luck.

But the pool shows sustained lowering of submitted shares, the device seems to agree, and the MHashes are lowering. You are saying that even if it said hashing 3ghash, that's not the "actual hash rate"? Where can I find accurate data on the machine then? Or maybe I misunderstood your reply.

BTC Long.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 07:06:09 AM
 #2377

Lowering of frequency with auto avalon is a result of it trying to maintain a certain temperature as well, yes?

What would be the conclusion if a particular machine hashes at over 80, but slowly declines to the mid 70s lowering frequency? Lack of adequate cooling?
FYI: Aside: The GH/s reported by the avalon code is not the device hash rate, it is the 1diff share find rate.
Thus it will also change with luck.

But the pool shows sustained lowering of submitted shares, the device seems to agree, and the MHashes are lowering. You are saying that even if it said hashing 3ghash, that's not the "actual hash rate"? Where can I find accurate data on the machine then? Or maybe I misunderstood your reply.
With an avalon - the 'actual' hash rate is not available.
The hardware is ... for want of a better word ... "difficult" to determine the actual hash rate.
(maybe a better word is "crap")

Yes if the pool is indeed showing a generally decreasing hash rate over short interval measurements, then your device is slowing down.
However, of course, short interval measurements are also unreliable and affected by luck, so you would need a definite clear reduction over many samples over that time period to be sure it was systematic and not luck.

However, my point is that the screen average (or API "MHS av") will be affected by "luck" and the higher your work difficulty, the more obvious that effect will be.

It may or may not be the case for your observations, but it's just that there is more than one possibility.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2013, 07:08:05 AM
 #2378

However, my point is that the screen average (or API "MHS av") will be affected by "luck" and the higher your work difficulty, the more obvious that effect will be.
That's not quite correct. The avalon hashmeter is indeed based on share return, but it's based on diff1 return so luck affects it, but difficulty does not.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
tarui
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 03:25:40 PM
 #2379

Is it possible to connect the lan port to a mobile Internet device so that it can hash in public places?
koxman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 05:09:24 PM
 #2380

Is it possible to connect the lan port to a mobile Internet device so that it can hash in public places?

Yes you can.
Pages: « 1 ... 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 [119] 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!