Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 08:07:26 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 [126] 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 433729 times)
silverston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Hi


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 06:21:04 PM
 #2501

anyone tried replacing the thermal paste between the chips and the heatsink?

or adding thermal paste between the heatsink and the casing (where the heatsinks are mounted onto the case) ?


I am  Smiley

1511510846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510846
Reply with quote  #2

1511510846
Report to moderator
1511510846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510846
Reply with quote  #2

1511510846
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511510846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510846
Reply with quote  #2

1511510846
Report to moderator
1511510846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510846
Reply with quote  #2

1511510846
Report to moderator
1511510846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510846
Reply with quote  #2

1511510846
Report to moderator
silverston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Hi


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 06:22:56 PM
 #2502

Just watch the freq carefully when using --avalon-auto. New firmware is much more aggressive in overclocking.

After 1.5 hrs on a B3 4M unit with stock PSU, the HW error rate started climbing rapidly while running @360 MHz (6%+ error rate over the runtime, up from 1.7% minutes earlier). Clock speed was not ramping to down to compensate.

Now using --avalon-freq 345-355 to see if that prevents a runaway.

And before anyone says it, yes that unit is getting a PSU swap later this weekend.

we'll see. my power supply already replaced.

mdbssm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 06:24:42 PM
 #2503

Just watch the freq carefully when using --avalon-auto. New firmware is much more aggressive in overclocking.

After 1.5 hrs on a B3 4M unit with stock PSU, the HW error rate started climbing rapidly while running @360 MHz (6%+ error rate over the runtime, up from 1.7% minutes earlier). Clock speed was not ramping to down to compensate.

Now using --avalon-freq 345-355 to see if that prevents a runaway.

And before anyone says it, yes that unit is getting a PSU swap later this weekend.

we'll see. my power supply already replaced.

My other B3 unit with an external 1200w PSU is behaving fine.
tarui
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 06:35:05 PM
 #2504

anyone tried replacing the thermal paste between the chips and the heatsink?

or adding thermal paste between the heatsink and the casing (where the heatsinks are mounted onto the case) ?


I am  Smiley

So what did u do? Replace thermal paste or put thermal paste between hs and case?
What kind of thermal paste did use? Non conductive?
tarui
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 06:36:09 PM
 #2505

Just watch the freq carefully when using --avalon-auto. New firmware is much more aggressive in overclocking.

After 1.5 hrs on a B3 4M unit with stock PSU, the HW error rate started climbing rapidly while running @360 MHz (6%+ error rate over the runtime, up from 1.7% minutes earlier). Clock speed was not ramping to down to compensate.

Now using --avalon-freq 345-355 to see if that prevents a runaway.

And before anyone says it, yes that unit is getting a PSU swap later this weekend.


What's your hashrate?
silverston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Hi


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 06:39:15 PM
 #2506

anyone tried replacing the thermal paste between the chips and the heatsink?

or adding thermal paste between the heatsink and the casing (where the heatsinks are mounted onto the case) ?


I am  Smiley

So what did u do? Replace thermal paste or put thermal paste between hs and case?
What kind of thermal paste did use? Non conductive?
replaced the thermal pad between the board and the heatsink on the thermal paste. used Arctic Ceramic and MX-2

silverston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Hi


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 06:41:05 PM
 #2507


What's your hashrate?
after 35 min is 86Gh  Shocked

mdbssm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 06:46:41 PM
 #2508

Quote
What's your hashrate?

Batch3 4module 1200wPSU, 110.8 GH/s, 352-353 MHz, 0.3% reject rate, 1.75% HW errors
Batch3 4module stock PSU, 111.6 GH/s, 355 MHz, 0.2% reject rate, 0.94% HW errors

The new FW fixed a high reject rate problem on the first unit. Was running 2-3% rejects on the 0703 firmware.
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 06:52:42 PM
 #2509

anyone tried replacing the thermal paste between the chips and the heatsink?

or adding thermal paste between the heatsink and the casing (where the heatsinks are mounted onto the case) ?


I am  Smiley

There are a couple guys I've seen do this. Not sure of a link tho, you could prob. use search. It did improve chip temperatures.

silverston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Hi


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 06:54:54 PM
 #2510

anyone tried replacing the thermal paste between the chips and the heatsink?

or adding thermal paste between the heatsink and the casing (where the heatsinks are mounted onto the case) ?


I am  Smiley

There are a couple guys I've seen do this. Not sure of a link tho, you could prob. use search. It did improve chip temperatures.
it did improve more stable overclocking

tarui
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 07:01:28 PM
 #2511

I'm a bit concerned with the thermal paste used. The manufacturer seems to use so much of it that it overflows thru the holes and on to the circuit board itself and contacting the chip and other components.

Unless they use non conductive thermal paste.
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
August 17, 2013, 07:04:11 PM
 #2512

Changed options 1 hour ago:

--avalon-options 115200:24:10:d:355 --avalon-auto --avalon-freq 256-375 --avalon-temp 50

My match_work_count shows more spread:
min: 3001
max: 3288
0.5 * (3288-3001) / (3288+3001) --> 0.002_28

When the uptime is several days, these numbers become very close.

My freq dropped to 351 MHz.
The orange light is still blinking.
Temperatures are now 22, 46, 47°C
Fans are 2760, 3720, 3720 and seem to vary a lot, and the temperature wanders around also.

   [timeout] => 35


I show 3387 accepted, 4 rejects, 83372 diff1shares at 1h 11m 18s


I try to be respectful and informed.
tarui
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 07:05:26 PM
 #2513

Quote
What's your hashrate?

Batch3 4module 1200wPSU, 110.8 GH/s, 352-353 MHz, 0.3% reject rate, 1.75% HW errors
Batch3 4module stock PSU, 111.6 GH/s, 355 MHz, 0.2% reject rate, 0.94% HW errors

The new FW fixed a high reject rate problem on the first unit. Was running 2-3% rejects on the 0703 firmware.

Mine looks worst. Batch 1 4 module

Hashrate swings wildly so it's hard to judge.

1250w psu and around 0.56% rejected.
Cant remember how to read the hw error rate though.


The fact that I'm in a tropical country doesn't help much with thr temps
mdbssm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 07:09:29 PM
 #2514

Cant remember how to read the hw error rate though.

HW error rate in % = HW / (diff1shares + HW) x 100

Or better yet, apply the patch:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=254331.0
whizter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 09:10:06 PM
 #2515

I'm getting very good results so far with the new 20130818 firmware. Orange LED is blinking but I don't care.

Today I discovered a potential problem with my Fractal Newton 1000W PSU, the PSU Fan doesn't work at all, it just stands still. I don't know how the Fan Control is implemented in this PSU, but I can't imagine the Fan not running at all @ 680W load. I already contacted Fractal about this, but I don't expect an answer before monday. So I'll just let it run like this and see what happens. Cooling should be enough with those powerful Avalon fans. Wink

        ███████████████████▄▄▄
        ████████████████████████▄▄
           ████████████████████████▄
    ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████████████████████████▄
    ███████████████       ▀▀███████████
        ███████               ██████████
        ███████                ██████████
████████   ████████             █████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄▄████████             █████████
        ███████████             █████████
    ████   ████████            ██████████
    ████   ████████           ██████████
        ███    ████       ▄▄███████████
    ▄▄▄▄███▄▄▄▄██████████████████████▀
    ███████████████████████████████▀
████    ████████████████████████▀▀
████    ███████████████████▀▀▀
DIMCOIN   
❱❱❱  facebook  ❱❱❱  twitter  ❱❱❱  Telegram  ❱❱❱
.The Future of Equity on The Blockchain.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 09:22:48 PM
 #2516

Cant remember how to read the hw error rate though.

HW error rate in % = HW / (diff1shares + HW) x 100

Or better yet, apply the patch:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=254331.0

Except that the patch is wrong Tongue
Use current cgminer and it reports the % figures directly, and correctly, in the API

... and in older versions of cgminer, through the API, they are called: "Hardware Errors" and "Diff1 Work" to calculate them

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
zoro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 226


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 09:41:48 PM
 #2517

excellent work ckolivas with new FW 130818. after 4 hours, utility is increased due to more accepted shares!

"killer app" of BTC = MasterCoin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=265488.0Mastercoin(A new protocol layer on top of Bitcoin)
mdbssm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 09:47:48 PM
 #2518

Cant remember how to read the hw error rate though.

HW error rate in % = HW / (diff1shares + HW) x 100

Or better yet, apply the patch:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=254331.0

Except that the patch is wrong Tongue
Use current cgminer and it reports the % figures directly, and correctly, in the API

... but not in the cgminer status page of the avalon itself, and not in the miner.php generate page.

The 0817 avalon firmware reports that it is using cgminer 3.3.4.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 17, 2013, 10:07:22 PM
 #2519

Cant remember how to read the hw error rate though.

HW error rate in % = HW / (diff1shares + HW) x 100

Or better yet, apply the patch:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=254331.0

Except that the patch is wrong Tongue
Use current cgminer and it reports the % figures directly, and correctly, in the API

... but not in the cgminer status page of the avalon itself, and not in the miner.php generate page.

The 0817 avalon firmware reports that it is using cgminer 3.3.4.
Well it's in 3.3.4 in the master git - I put it there before it was released Tongue
I don't have an avalon - so I can only guess someone missed something or the avalon does something different to my miner.php ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2013, 11:51:11 PM
 #2520

The avalon web interface does not report the API devs command back, so you don't see the hw error% reported anywhere unless you're logged into the avalon some other way, using the devs command. The calculated HW error percentage is wrong in that lua modification by BenTuras as kano said.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 [126] 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!