Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 06:24:29 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 [113] 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 432282 times)
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 08:27:33 PM
 #2241

I received my Batch 3 unit a few days ago and was hoping someone might be able to recommend someone to help me set it up. I've been mining with a BFGFPGA miner for some time and also the new Asic USB sticks so I do have a little experience. When I got the unit I discover that I need Unix so I installed Ubantu on one of my computers but am not up to speed on using it yet. I was a software test engineer until I retired so I do know a little about computers and software and I learn fast. My first computer was the Sol-20 by Processor Technology. If you haven't heard of it do a google search.

 

I'm willing to pay for help. I'm a disabled Vietnam Veteran and want to get my unit up and mining. Phone help would be a definite plus.


I'm surprised you found it difficult to configure. The wiki currently has difficulties for me but I could get it from Google cache (just google "Avalon setup", should be in the first entries).

The only thing you need is any system capable of web browsing you can setup on a specific IP address (192.168.0.101). Then you only have to use a navigator to connect to http://192.168.0.100.

Edit: you need Ethernet too. It may help us if you described your setup and what you tried.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511029469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511029469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511029469
Reply with quote  #2

1511029469
Report to moderator
1511029469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511029469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511029469
Reply with quote  #2

1511029469
Report to moderator
xiangfu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120


View Profile
August 03, 2013, 03:10:44 AM
 #2242

Imho it's normal and you have little chance of changing anything. Don't give too much about the numbers....

Thanks.  I guess I will leave it alone then. 

The only other thing I am noticing is that the slower one produces 5% HW errors, and the other two are around 2%.  But even using avalon_auto doesn't change that, nor does running it at a lower frequency. 

This is because the chip have a lot of sha256 cores inside. as long as the chip passed hardware test, it's ok for product. pass hardware test not mean 100% core working. one or two may broken.

So you are luck get a 82G machine. (I guess 100% cores passed hardware test). the 79G is also nice. :-)

Xiangfu
xiangfu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120


View Profile
August 03, 2013, 03:13:29 AM
 #2243

Also how would you manage to exchange modules on a board? Cut it?

The small miner (have 10 chips on it) was designed for cut.
Tesla71
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 293



View Profile
August 03, 2013, 07:20:27 PM
 #2244

Is somebody selling clones of this control boards?

I would also be interested in this.. I think my control board have a problem or where does it come from when the avalon section of cgminer screen went sometimes empty after some time of hashing ?

Any ideas? I don't think it is the router because I can access it normaly but the router seems to loose contact to the controller ?
Where to look for bugs ? It is an avalon batch 2 with controller V 1.5
Tried already different firmware and another PSU



Flash your router newly, un-check the keep-settings box. Helped me with the same problem.

already did that once, don't know if it was the same firmware.
But will try it again.

But I also cant get it get to work with a pie, if I plug the avalon in, cgminer says this after short time of hashing normally.
I think it's the controller board for the asic modules, so maybee I will sell the modules individual for people who wants a fourth module in their avalon..



calmindifference
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
August 03, 2013, 07:43:45 PM
 #2245

I need to get a PSU for Batch 3 4 module.
I am thinking of OCZ 1250 as set out here https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon#Power
Does anyone know if the requirements have changed compared to previous batches? In particular max dimensions as I understand its important to keep the PSU in the case to promote airflow.

CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
August 03, 2013, 07:54:12 PM
 #2246

I need to get a PSU for Batch 3 4 module.
I am thinking of OCZ 1250 as set out here https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon#Power
Does anyone know if the requirements have changed compared to previous batches? In particular max dimensions as I understand its important to keep the PSU in the case to promote airflow.

I haven't measured the exact dimensions, but just know that the 1200w PSU I tried was too big to fit. I settled for a 1050w PSU which barely fit, and was still too large to put the top of the case back on.

Ghost of USD
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
August 04, 2013, 12:20:09 AM
 #2247

The largest you could fit is possibly 185mm. The controller board starts at 190.




1ghostLfPmdYi4PuDsECRBXYadsGSHofz
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 04, 2013, 12:50:54 AM
 #2248

My OCZ 1250 is 172mm

http://ocz.com/consumer/psu/zx-series-850w-1250w-power-supply/specifications
Says 175mm but It is a little less.

I bought mine about a month or so ago and it is definitely a bit under 175mm
That ruler is flexible and not exactly straight, as you can see, so that would mean maybe up to 1mm less again.


Click for a bigger pic

Edit: of course that isn't in an Avalon Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
August 04, 2013, 01:04:05 AM
 #2249

My OCZ 1250 is 172mm

http://ocz.com/consumer/psu/zx-series-850w-1250w-power-supply/specifications
Says 175mm but It is a little less.

I bought mine about a month or so ago and it is definitely a bit under 175mm
That ruler is flexible and not exactly straight, as you can see, so that would mean maybe up to 1mm less again.


Click for a bigger pic

Edit: of course that isn't in an Avalon Tongue

Well... My 1250w PSU was less than 175mm also, and it still didn't fit. You need to take into consideration that you need to have room to plug in the PCIe & CPU power cables. My 1250w PSU would have fit if I didn't need to plug in the PCIe/CPU cables.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 04, 2013, 01:24:37 AM
 #2250

Yes the ATX connector is at the bottom - so if you mean that's required for the Avalon then that would be problematic ...

http://eolref.ocztechnology.com/images/ZX_back_1.jpg

The PCI-e's are at the top and would not make a difference.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
August 04, 2013, 01:42:54 AM
 #2251

Yes the ATX connector is at the bottom - so if you mean that's required for the Avalon then that would be problematic ...

http://eolref.ocztechnology.com/images/ZX_back_1.jpg

The PCI-e's are at the top and would not make a difference.

Well, my PCIe/CPU hookups were on the bottom, so mine was kind of opposite of yours. Shit, maybe I had it upside down...  Cheesy

Anyways, an ATX connector is definitely needed. From memory.. (I could be a little off here on the PCIe connectors) it required an ATX connector, two 4 pin CPU connectors, and three PCIe connectors.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 04, 2013, 01:50:30 AM
 #2252

Yes the ATX connector is at the bottom - so if you mean that's required for the Avalon then that would be problematic ...

http://eolref.ocztechnology.com/images/ZX_back_1.jpg

The PCI-e's are at the top and would not make a difference.

Well, my PCIe/CPU hookups were on the bottom, so mine was kind of opposite of yours. Shit, maybe I had it upside down...  Cheesy

Anyways, an ATX connector is definitely needed. From memory.. (I could be a little off here on the PCIe connectors) it required an ATX connector, two 4 pin CPU connectors, and three PCIe connectors.
Hmm ... though I'm assuming they haven't made the Avalon box upside down ...
If it's not the same orientation as a normal PC case, then yes the ATX would be at the top and 3 of the 6 PCIe would be at the bottom.

Edit: here's a picture from behind in my rig (a normal PC)

(Click for a readable version)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
August 04, 2013, 03:09:52 AM
 #2253

I calculated about 192mm to the PCIe/CPU connectors. So, if your ATX connector to the PSU has low clearance, it may not fit if the connector + the PSU is longer than 192mm.

Measure from the bottom of your PSU to your ATX connector, then compare it to the height of a CPU female plug on a mobo. This is the amount of clearance needed to clear the PCIe/CPU connectors on the Avalon control board.

Hopefully this explains my point better:

CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
August 04, 2013, 03:16:42 AM
 #2254

I feel like I'm just confusing everyone... it's like I know what I want to say, but I can't explain it properly.

Hopefully you can understand my diatribe.  Grin

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 04, 2013, 03:17:47 AM
 #2255

CoinHoarder, which side is the fan on that PSU?
(edit: that would normally face down into the PC case)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
August 04, 2013, 03:30:51 AM
 #2256

CoinHoarder, which side is the fan on that PSU?
(edit: that would normally face down into the PC case)

On the top side in the orientation of that picture was taken.

Ghost of USD
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
August 04, 2013, 03:51:40 AM
 #2257

Also, the Batch 3 PDU has two EPS12V CPU connectors.

1ghostLfPmdYi4PuDsECRBXYadsGSHofz
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
August 04, 2013, 04:02:25 AM
 #2258

Also, the Batch 3 PDU has two EPS12V CPU connectors.

Ya my bad, one of my pcie connectors should of been a cpu connector in the picture.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 04, 2013, 07:49:31 AM
 #2259

CoinHoarder, which side is the fan on that PSU?
(edit: that would normally face down into the PC case)

On the top side in the orientation of that picture was taken.
OK since the fan is at the top, then indeed it is oriented in reverse of a normal PC
So the PCIe connectors on a OCZ 1250 would be at the bottom and the ATX at the top
( from that picure I linked http://eolref.ocztechnology.com/images/ZX_back_1.jpg rotate 90 degrees left )

Though if you only needed 3 PCIe connectors then you could probably get the the top 3 of them without trouble.
The CPU connectors are in the middle so should be OK also.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Bicknellski
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile
August 04, 2013, 10:57:27 AM
 #2260

Paging Jgarzik.  Party of one.  Jgarzik, party of 1!  Your seat at the ASIC table is ready.  JGarzik, party of 1!

I think this is one dinner you'll be happy to eat alone. Smiley

Oh the good old days.

Dogie trust abuse, spam, bullying, conspiracy posts & insults to forum members. Ask the mods or admins to move Dogie's spam or off topic stalking posts to the link above.
Pages: « 1 ... 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 [113] 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!