Bitcoin Forum
August 24, 2019, 07:21:44 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 [333] 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 »
  Print  
Author Topic: SRBMiner Cryptonight AMD GPU Miner V1.9.3 - native algo switching  (Read 223626 times)
doktor83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 582


View Profile WWW
April 20, 2019, 07:18:53 AM
 #6641

2 doctor83
I don't think it is good idea to mix miner and memory timings optimizer in such manner. User should understand what benefit he/she gets from miner optimization and what benefits from timings.

I thinks Elio's utility will help to understand what timings you apply when "tuning" ))

Nevertheless, thanks for hard work, I'm still using your miner for older cards. But for vegas teamred is the king now.

I think you are wrong, the user doesn't have to know how things work, the user just needs to get out as much as possible from his mining hardware.
The curious ones who want to learn how stuff works will learn.

Also 1% of people want to know how the various timing parameters work, the other 99% just wants everything prepared so they can copy paste. Sometimes even that is too much work for them.
And i am glad you shared what's your favorite miner, or who's da king with me, thank you Smiley

SRBPolaris thread - HERE   |   SRBMiner thread - HERE
http://www.srbminer.com
1566674504
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566674504

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566674504
Reply with quote  #2

1566674504
Report to moderator
1566674504
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566674504

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566674504
Reply with quote  #2

1566674504
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1566674504
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566674504

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566674504
Reply with quote  #2

1566674504
Report to moderator
1566674504
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566674504

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566674504
Reply with quote  #2

1566674504
Report to moderator
rednoW
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1003


View Profile
April 20, 2019, 07:27:49 AM
 #6642

2 doctor83
I don't think it is good idea to mix miner and memory timings optimizer in such manner. User should understand what benefit he/she gets from miner optimization and what benefits from timings.

I thinks Elio's utility will help to understand what timings you apply when "tuning" ))

Nevertheless, thanks for hard work, I'm still using your miner for older cards. But for vegas teamred is the king now.

I think you are wrong, the user doesn't have to know how things work, the user just needs to get out as much as possible from his mining hardware.
The curious ones who want to learn how stuff works will learn.

Also 1% of people want to know how the various timing parameters work, the other 99% just wants everything prepared so they can copy paste. Sometimes even that is too much work for them.
And i am glad you shared what's your favorite miner, or who's da king with me, thank you Smiley
Does your miner return back stock timings when it exits? Sorry, no time to check it by myself on the rig
doktor83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 582


View Profile WWW
April 20, 2019, 07:29:17 AM
 #6643

2 doctor83
I don't think it is good idea to mix miner and memory timings optimizer in such manner. User should understand what benefit he/she gets from miner optimization and what benefits from timings.

I thinks Elio's utility will help to understand what timings you apply when "tuning" ))

Nevertheless, thanks for hard work, I'm still using your miner for older cards. But for vegas teamred is the king now.

I think you are wrong, the user doesn't have to know how things work, the user just needs to get out as much as possible from his mining hardware.
The curious ones who want to learn how stuff works will learn.

Also 1% of people want to know how the various timing parameters work, the other 99% just wants everything prepared so they can copy paste. Sometimes even that is too much work for them.
And i am glad you shared what's your favorite miner, or who's da king with me, thank you Smiley
Does your miner return back stock timings when it exits? Sorry, no time to check it by myself on the rig

Yes it does, it returns the ones that were active before running SRBMiner.

SRBPolaris thread - HERE   |   SRBMiner thread - HERE
http://www.srbminer.com
iRonNuke
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 60
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 20, 2019, 09:27:57 AM
 #6644

I have a mixed rig of two RX 580 8 GB, two Vega 56 flashed to 64 and a Radeon VII. I tried SRBMiner 1.8.4 with driver version 19.4.1 & 19.4.2.

The hashrate of Vega 56/Radeon VII is very low, ~900 H/s but RX 580s is hashing at the same 900+. Have tried with and without memory timings aswell as with and without tweaking settings. Something is very wrong with my setup as it seems? But with another miner it mines very well.

For the sake I tweaked all the cards for very high efficency and low clocks like 1150 MHz for Vega 56s and 1540 MHz for the Radeon VII if that's making any sense. Memory at 900 MHz for Radeon 56 and 1000 MHz for Radeon VII.
alexmpa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 20, 2019, 10:20:10 AM
 #6645


There are 5 (6) profiles, where :

0 - no change, uses your original settings
1 - light tweak
2
3
4
5 - max tweak


You should find separately for every gpu the profile it can handle, and set it in gpu_conf or cmdline.


Is there any way to see if tweak profile was set successfully from config?

I made this config.txt:
{
"gpu_conf" :
[
   { "id" : 0, "tweak_profile": 5 },
   { "id" : 1, "tweak_profile": 5 }
]
}

But I don't see any differences in hashrates and when I press "+" it says it switches to profile 1, so it looks like it was using profile 0 in the beginning.
doktor83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 582


View Profile WWW
April 20, 2019, 10:33:29 AM
 #6646

Here are some numbers from my Vega56 with Hynix memory, just pushed mem up to 940mhs and P7 to 925mV.

Applied only "tweak_profile" : 5 to every config, nothing else changed in config.

Before tweak / After tweak ~ increase in percents

v4:  1854 / 2128 ~ 15%
haven: 1800 / 2000 ~ 11%
turtle: 15630 / 18440 ~ 18%
mox: 3845 / 4525 ~ 17%
fast2: 3604 / 4111 ~ 14%
conceal: 3726 / 4065 ~9%
litev7: 4386 / 4965 ~13%
xcash: 958 / 1106 ~15%

SRBPolaris thread - HERE   |   SRBMiner thread - HERE
http://www.srbminer.com
doktor83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 582


View Profile WWW
April 20, 2019, 10:34:39 AM
 #6647


There are 5 (6) profiles, where :

0 - no change, uses your original settings
1 - light tweak
2
3
4
5 - max tweak


You should find separately for every gpu the profile it can handle, and set it in gpu_conf or cmdline.


Is there any way to see if tweak profile was set successfully from config?

I made this config.txt:
{
"gpu_conf" :
[
   { "id" : 0, "tweak_profile": 5 },
   { "id" : 1, "tweak_profile": 5 }
]
}

But I don't see any differences in hashrates and when I press "+" it says it switches to profile 1, so it looks like it was using profile 0 in the beginning.

you should really check out the readme or the first page , there are examples on how to use gpu_conf

SRBPolaris thread - HERE   |   SRBMiner thread - HERE
http://www.srbminer.com
impynick
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 6


View Profile
April 20, 2019, 11:02:14 AM
 #6648

I understand the memory tweak only applies to Vegas;

Will it be possible to apply the tweak to the rx series in the future? Thanks Smiley
alexmpa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 20, 2019, 11:30:57 AM
 #6649


Is there any way to see if tweak profile was set successfully from config?

I made this config.txt:
{
"gpu_conf" :
[
   { "id" : 0, "tweak_profile": 5 },
   { "id" : 1, "tweak_profile": 5 }
]
}

But I don't see any differences in hashrates and when I press "+" it says it switches to profile 1, so it looks like it was using profile 0 in the beginning.

you should really check out the readme or the first page , there are examples on how to use gpu_conf

I read it and I took this piece of config above from there. Also tried this: "use the "tweak_profile" parameter on top of config so the same profile is used for all cards":

{
"tweak_profile": 5
}

Also no visible change in miner's behavior. That's why I decided to ask if there is any way to check if tweak profile is applied on miner start.
doktor83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 582


View Profile WWW
April 20, 2019, 11:36:54 AM
 #6650


Is there any way to see if tweak profile was set successfully from config?

I made this config.txt:
{
"gpu_conf" :
[
   { "id" : 0, "tweak_profile": 5 },
   { "id" : 1, "tweak_profile": 5 }
]
}

But I don't see any differences in hashrates and when I press "+" it says it switches to profile 1, so it looks like it was using profile 0 in the beginning.

you should really check out the readme or the first page , there are examples on how to use gpu_conf

I read it and I took this piece of config above from there. Also tried this: "use the "tweak_profile" parameter on top of config so the same profile is used for all cards":

{
"tweak_profile": 5
}

Also no visible change in miner's behavior. That's why I decided to ask if there is any way to check if tweak profile is applied on miner start.

Well what you pasted there is not from any of my examples, sorry Smiley

You need to make a full config file, not just some partial stuff. And yes, there is a notification on miner start that it applied profile X to gpu bus id Y.

Here's a minimal config file that applies tweak profile 5 to every gpu and uses miner auto settings.

Code:
{
"cryptonight_type" : "normalv4",
"intensity" : 0,
"double_threads" : true,
"tweak_profile" : 5
}

SRBPolaris thread - HERE   |   SRBMiner thread - HERE
http://www.srbminer.com
abg00
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 214
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 20, 2019, 11:40:01 AM
 #6651

tweak work only on vegas?
4xx 5xx dont work?
lttsi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 20, 2019, 12:18:07 PM
 #6652

Anybody give me speed X-cash  (rx570,580x ) pleas .
My rx 570 4g run ~460 h/s with core 1100/1950 elpida timming
kibatronic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 20, 2019, 02:22:10 PM
 #6653

V1.8.4
- Performance increase for Vega56/64/Fe/Vii up to 15%!
- Minimum for 'main_pool_reconnect' is now 60 seconds instead of 180
- Added new cmd parameters: --disabletweaking, --cgputweakprofile
- Added new config parameter: tweak_profile
- Minor bug fixes


+ Yes, you read it right. Performance increase on ALL algos on Vega56/64/Fe/VII up to 15%!
A new parameter 'tweak_profile' was added, which if used can significantly boost your hashrate. There is section about this on the first page, but in short:

There are 5 (6) profiles, where :

0 - no change, uses your original settings
1 - light tweak
2
3
4
5 - max tweak


You should find separately for every gpu the profile it can handle, and set it in gpu_conf or cmdline.

VERY IMPORTANT :
1. Miner must run with administrator privileges [right click on SRBMiner-CN.exe->properties->compatibility-> check 'Run this program as an administrator' option-> click OK button
2. Don't apply any memory timings with ElioVP's tool before running miner
3. Don't start testing/tweaking with your highly optimised PPT and ODT settings - because it is probably optimised for a miner/algo combination.. Start with stock settings.
4. Be patient, it takes some time to find settings optimal for your gpu/rig


Tweaking is enabled by default, and can be used on supported devices.
If you want to disable it use the --disabletweaking parameter in start.bat

It can't get easier to use, just use + and - on your keyboard to move between the profiles.

Examples on how to use it can be found on the first page.

Special thanks goes to ElioVP for sharing the offset of the timings position.

On my two rigs the WinIO64.sys blocked usage of WinAMDTweak.exe by blocking the loading of EIO.dll. This persisted even after rebooting. The only way of deleting the file was by booting into safe mode and deleting the SRB 1.8.4 folder.
cas333
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 20, 2019, 04:39:11 PM
 #6654

tweak work only on vegas?
4xx 5xx dont work?

Tweak is for vega...,doesnt work on 4xx/5xx
doktor83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 582


View Profile WWW
April 20, 2019, 04:53:55 PM
 #6655


On my two rigs the WinIO64.sys blocked usage of WinAMDTweak.exe by blocking the loading of EIO.dll. This persisted even after rebooting. The only way of deleting the file was by booting into safe mode and deleting the SRB 1.8.4 folder.

Winio gets started/loaded on demand when miner starts. When miner is closed Winio gets unloaded but it wont get disabled until windows restart. After restart it won't be active so you probably ran miner again after restart, that's why you could not delete it.

SRBPolaris thread - HERE   |   SRBMiner thread - HERE
http://www.srbminer.com
ManDoneKTM
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 131
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 20, 2019, 05:17:25 PM
 #6656

New version seems to be a little bit faster , but i want to mine Wtips , wich algo should i use ? The coin need PICO algo ... i cant find it in setup guide . Thanks .
doktor83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 582


View Profile WWW
April 20, 2019, 05:21:04 PM
 #6657

New version seems to be a little bit faster , but i want to mine Wtips , wich algo should i use ? The coin need PICO algo ... i cant find it in setup guide . Thanks .

turtle

SRBPolaris thread - HERE   |   SRBMiner thread - HERE
http://www.srbminer.com
doktor83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 582


View Profile WWW
April 20, 2019, 05:57:54 PM
 #6658

tweak work only on vegas?
4xx 5xx dont work?

Polaris cards can be modded and yours probably are, if you are mining.
If not, i recommend you SRBPolaris and pimp my straps feature. Smiley

That said, messing with an already tweaked bios is the right way to freeze/bsod/crash.
There would be sense in tweaking an unmodded gpu, but i believe there are not many of those in the mining world  Grin

SRBPolaris thread - HERE   |   SRBMiner thread - HERE
http://www.srbminer.com
kibatronic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 20, 2019, 07:37:37 PM
 #6659


On my two rigs the WinIO64.sys blocked usage of WinAMDTweak.exe by blocking the loading of EIO.dll. This persisted even after rebooting. The only way of deleting the file was by booting into safe mode and deleting the SRB 1.8.4 folder.

Winio gets started/loaded on demand when miner starts. When miner is closed Winio gets unloaded but it wont get disabled until windows restart. After restart it won't be active so you probably ran miner again after restart, that's why you could not delete it.

Tested again and you are correct. If I restart and do not start the miner it is possible to delete the file. Sorry for your trouble.
Mashy81
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 223
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 21, 2019, 03:03:33 AM
 #6660

Nice work.
UPX algo nice increase.
haven't tried the other algo's yet.

UPX V64 9800hs  V56 9400hs
Pages: « 1 ... 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 [333] 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!