Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 06:57:07 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 [138] 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 432343 times)
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
September 01, 2013, 02:07:24 AM
 #2741

I just had an avalon that was running fine for weeks suddenly stop working Sad

Red/yellow lights are on. The miner starts but it never does any work (hashrate is 0)

Where should I start looking for the problem?

Start with the power supply.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
1511074627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511074627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511074627
Reply with quote  #2

1511074627
Report to moderator
1511074627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511074627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511074627
Reply with quote  #2

1511074627
Report to moderator
1511074627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511074627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511074627
Reply with quote  #2

1511074627
Report to moderator
"Bitcoin: the cutting edge of begging technology." -- Giraffe.BTC
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511074627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511074627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511074627
Reply with quote  #2

1511074627
Report to moderator
TwinTurbo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89


View Profile
September 01, 2013, 08:18:53 AM
 #2742

I just had an avalon that was running fine for weeks suddenly stop working Sad

Red/yellow lights are on. The miner starts but it never does any work (hashrate is 0)

Where should I start looking for the problem?

I had one do something similar. It turned out to be a bad USB cable connection inside of the case. The cable that runs from the built-in router to the front of the case makes poor contact with the hub where all of the power and data cables connect. Try pushing the cable to the right or left of the socket. My theory is the vibration of the fans eventually wiggled the cable enough to get it to disconnect. Good luck!
dobo79
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
September 01, 2013, 12:19:33 PM
 #2743




I want to ask which kind of resistor is missing here on the second chip from right?
I've been looking around,but can't finded what is the corect name and parameters of that one.

odin.dillinger
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
September 01, 2013, 04:36:22 PM
 #2744

Hello all. After some Internet downtime(damn ISPs) and a swift relocation of my batch 3 3module avalon. I have a hard time getting uptime. The ethernet connection is unbelivably slow and disconnects and connects all the time. It took me 2hours to connect it to the WIFI. It was up to about 68gh/s for one hour, and then died. Now im having a hard time acsessing the web interface. Anybody got any idea whats causing this slow/briken connection on the ethernet between my avalon and my ubuntu laptop? thanks.
Ghost of USD
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
September 01, 2013, 05:57:57 PM
 #2745




I want to ask which kind of resistor is missing here on the second chip from right?
I've been looking around,but can't finded what is the corect name and parameters of that one.

According to the docs: https://github.com/BitSyncom/avalon-ref/blob/master/PDF/SCH/hash_chip.pdf?raw=true

That is a 60 Ohm @ 100MHz Magnetic Ferrite Chip Bead

1ghostLfPmdYi4PuDsECRBXYadsGSHofz
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118


View Profile
September 01, 2013, 06:31:41 PM
 #2746

Hello all. After some Internet downtime(damn ISPs) and a swift relocation of my batch 3 3module avalon. I have a hard time getting uptime. The ethernet connection is unbelivably slow and disconnects and connects all the time. It took me 2hours to connect it to the WIFI. It was up to about 68gh/s for one hour, and then died. Now im having a hard time acsessing the web interface. Anybody got any idea whats causing this slow/briken connection on the ethernet between my avalon and my ubuntu laptop? thanks.

Make sure you have the avalon only have either wifi or ethernet connecting to the default gateway, if both are on the same subnet, your avalon is trying to connect via both to the outside and that gives weird results.

If you stick to ethernet, remove the wifi support in the interface
GandalfG
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259


Dig your freedom


View Profile
September 01, 2013, 07:41:27 PM
 #2747




I want to ask which kind of resistor is missing here on the second chip from right?
I've been looking around,but can't finded what is the corect name and parameters of that one.




You can simple short pad instead MB  M1 on schematic  but there is the reason why this element retorted. I think short inside chip or ceramic capacitor on left side MB.

First: took this module outside.
Moved the last onto his place.
Now can turn on miner.

Then make measure on the damaged PCB:
for a short on 7 pin  to GND and 3v3
If chip are damaged go to cellphone repair box, and swap  chip from last position U12 to U6.
Chip work in the chain and if you remove broken have 2 options:
insert new or one from last position
make wire connection
pin 1 to pin 36
pin 2 to pin 35
Before mount repaired PCB check for short on all chip (1V2  3V3 to GDN)

I hope this help.

Want to say thanks? 16ragydppe9QFRVhrdwEUjgfMS7KCfEFGY
driksson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
September 02, 2013, 11:48:22 AM
 #2748

Hello all. After some Internet downtime(damn ISPs) and a swift relocation of my batch 3 3module avalon. I have a hard time getting uptime. The ethernet connection is unbelivably slow and disconnects and connects all the time. It took me 2hours to connect it to the WIFI. It was up to about 68gh/s for one hour, and then died. Now im having a hard time acsessing the web interface. Anybody got any idea whats causing this slow/briken connection on the ethernet between my avalon and my ubuntu laptop? thanks.

Make sure you have the avalon only have either wifi or ethernet connecting to the default gateway, if both are on the same subnet, your avalon is trying to connect via both to the outside and that gives weird results.

If you stick to ethernet, remove the wifi support in the interface

That, and i realised if wifi reception is low, somehow after a few hours or days, it just continues to drop connection (read somewhere that wifi card looses power if reception is low). Make sure to use antennae or switch in full to LAN as above poster mentioned.
prodigits7
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120



View Profile
September 02, 2013, 07:07:18 PM
 #2749

You're problem is with the TP-LINK, I was able to fix the issue by replacing that module. You can see pictures here: www.neo-asics.com
odin.dillinger
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
September 03, 2013, 08:34:39 AM
 #2750

Thanks Guys. Its hasing nicely along now, on the ethernet.
Darioux
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 04:00:26 AM
 #2751

I just had an avalon that was running fine for weeks suddenly stop working Sad

Red/yellow lights are on. The miner starts but it never does any work (hashrate is 0)

Where should I start looking for the problem?

I had one do something similar. It turned out to be a bad USB cable connection inside of the case. The cable that runs from the built-in router to the front of the case makes poor contact with the hub where all of the power and data cables connect. Try pushing the cable to the right or left of the socket. My theory is the vibration of the fans eventually wiggled the cable enough to get it to disconnect. Good luck!


Woke up this morning with a very similar issue, on B3 unit running 20130821 firmware and LAN connection. I've been using SilverStone 1500W PSU so don't think PSU is the problem. I've opened Avalon up and the blue LED doesn't seem to be flashing anymore! It only does one brief flash when reconnecting the USB cable (to check the connections). Tried couple of different USB cables with the same results. Not sure, but looks like my TL-WR703N could be dead? I'm thinking the quickest solution might be connecting directly to PC to mine that way, cos looks like ordering a replacement TL-WR703N from Ebay would take ages to arrive. How do I connect avalon to computer via USB and mine that way? or any other ideas?

goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 04:30:10 AM
 #2752

What is the current consensus on the volt mod right now? Is 1.2V fine for 3 module Avalons wrt cooling with factory heatsink and fans ans casings??

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
driksson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
September 04, 2013, 03:25:02 PM
 #2753

I just had an avalon that was running fine for weeks suddenly stop working Sad

Red/yellow lights are on. The miner starts but it never does any work (hashrate is 0)

Where should I start looking for the problem?

I had one do something similar. It turned out to be a bad USB cable connection inside of the case. The cable that runs from the built-in router to the front of the case makes poor contact with the hub where all of the power and data cables connect. Try pushing the cable to the right or left of the socket. My theory is the vibration of the fans eventually wiggled the cable enough to get it to disconnect. Good luck!


Woke up this morning with a very similar issue, on B3 unit running 20130821 firmware and LAN connection. I've been using SilverStone 1500W PSU so don't think PSU is the problem. I've opened Avalon up and the blue LED doesn't seem to be flashing anymore! It only does one brief flash when reconnecting the USB cable (to check the connections). Tried couple of different USB cables with the same results. Not sure, but looks like my TL-WR703N could be dead? I'm thinking the quickest solution might be connecting directly to PC to mine that way, cos looks like ordering a replacement TL-WR703N from Ebay would take ages to arrive. How do I connect avalon to computer via USB and mine that way? or any other ideas?



Try this: (failsafe mode)
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=140539.msg3027863#msg3027863
burlow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 03:17:01 AM
 #2754

i just upgraded to cgminer 8/21/13 and now 2 of my 3 avalons have yellow flashing lights even though they appear to be hashing just fine.

anyone else notice this and what does it mean?

Don't worry about it. It's been mentioned before and said it has something to do with the changes in the timing code in the new firmware.  Mine are the same way and are mining a bit faster than with the 0703 firmware.

what is your chip frequency set to with the 8/21 firmware?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 07:56:47 AM
 #2755

FYI - and I'd not be surprised at all if he didn't want me to say this - but when has that stopped me before ... Smiley

ckolivas isn't making any more firmware releases for now.
His OpenWRT thingy (whatever it is) died - he's mining over the USB connection.

So I'd suggest if someone wants more firmware releases, they should band together and send him the hardware needed to replace whatever it is that has a reset switch on it that broke.

Now the reason being the obvious one, that Team Avalon fucked you all over when it comes to support, ckolivas has been supporting you all very well, even though in my Kano vs GitSyncom thread, Team Avalon said I was wrongs suggesting that hardware was required to support them ... yet they pretty much didn't at all ... yeah clearly yet another thing to add the the list of crap from GitSyncom ...

So, yeah, get him a replacement OpenWRT board (I think that's what needed) if you want more firmware releases Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 03:07:48 PM
 #2756

FYI - and I'd not be surprised at all if he didn't want me to say this - but when has that stopped me before ... Smiley

ckolivas isn't making any more firmware releases for now.
His OpenWRT thingy (whatever it is) died - he's mining over the USB connection.

So I'd suggest if someone wants more firmware releases, they should band together and send him the hardware needed to replace whatever it is that has a reset switch on it that broke.

Now the reason being the obvious one, that Team Avalon fucked you all over when it comes to support, ckolivas has been supporting you all very well, even though in my Kano vs GitSyncom thread, Team Avalon said I was wrongs suggesting that hardware was required to support them ... yet they pretty much didn't at all ... yeah clearly yet another thing to add the the list of crap from GitSyncom ...

So, yeah, get him a replacement OpenWRT board (I think that's what needed) if you want more firmware releases Smiley

The TP link openwrt is placed at the egress of airflow and gets heated up pretty bad with all the hot air from the modules. I guess either a paper heat shield, or relocation is needed.

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 03:08:25 PM
 #2757

FYI - and I'd not be surprised at all if he didn't want me to say this - but when has that stopped me before ... Smiley

ckolivas isn't making any more firmware releases for now.
His OpenWRT thingy (whatever it is) died - he's mining over the USB connection.

So I'd suggest if someone wants more firmware releases, they should band together and send him the hardware needed to replace whatever it is that has a reset switch on it that broke.

Now the reason being the obvious one, that Team Avalon fucked you all over when it comes to support, ckolivas has been supporting you all very well, even though in my Kano vs GitSyncom thread, Team Avalon said I was wrongs suggesting that hardware was required to support them ... yet they pretty much didn't at all ... yeah clearly yet another thing to add the the list of crap from GitSyncom ...

So, yeah, get him a replacement OpenWRT board (I think that's what needed) if you want more firmware releases Smiley

BTW how much does the module cost? Is there a link to a store? If you provide me the details I may start a donation thread.

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 03:25:25 PM
 #2758

FYI - and I'd not be surprised at all if he didn't want me to say this - but when has that stopped me before ... Smiley

ckolivas isn't making any more firmware releases for now.
His OpenWRT thingy (whatever it is) died - he's mining over the USB connection.

So I'd suggest if someone wants more firmware releases, they should band together and send him the hardware needed to replace whatever it is that has a reset switch on it that broke.

Now the reason being the obvious one, that Team Avalon fucked you all over when it comes to support, ckolivas has been supporting you all very well, even though in my Kano vs GitSyncom thread, Team Avalon said I was wrongs suggesting that hardware was required to support them ... yet they pretty much didn't at all ... yeah clearly yet another thing to add the the list of crap from GitSyncom ...

So, yeah, get him a replacement OpenWRT board (I think that's what needed) if you want more firmware releases Smiley

BTW how much does the module cost? Is there a link to a store? If you provide me the details I may start a donation thread.

I also posted this in the cgminer thread.

I am usually able to get a TP-Link 703n on Amazon for about $30 in the US.  They come with a Chinese only interface, but it is pretty obvious where the firmware upload page is.

The stock unit can run as-is if it is outside the Avalon case, and has the micro-usb power cable connected.  If it is to replace the Avalon board, two resistors and an antenna wire have to be modified.


I try to be respectful and informed.
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 03:27:12 PM
 #2759

FYI - and I'd not be surprised at all if he didn't want me to say this - but when has that stopped me before ... Smiley

ckolivas isn't making any more firmware releases for now.
His OpenWRT thingy (whatever it is) died - he's mining over the USB connection.

So I'd suggest if someone wants more firmware releases, they should band together and send him the hardware needed to replace whatever it is that has a reset switch on it that broke.

Now the reason being the obvious one, that Team Avalon fucked you all over when it comes to support, ckolivas has been supporting you all very well, even though in my Kano vs GitSyncom thread, Team Avalon said I was wrongs suggesting that hardware was required to support them ... yet they pretty much didn't at all ... yeah clearly yet another thing to add the the list of crap from GitSyncom ...

So, yeah, get him a replacement OpenWRT board (I think that's what needed) if you want more firmware releases Smiley

It's just a WR703N with a few mods.  I'll try and get one of mine modded to send him if he'll take it.  I'll need a shipping address if someone wants to PM me one.

I most definitely appreciate his contributions.  I received some more avalons yesterday that came with 0723.  After I put 0821 on them they're all mining substantially faster.

I really hope to see a firmware some day that can clock each 10-chip board individually.  I don't know what it would take to accomplish that...I guess reprogramming the FPGA controller.

For now I plan to play games swapping modules around to try and make some strong machines (clocked higher) and some weaker ones.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 05, 2013, 03:42:21 PM
 #2760

Well, I *can* make more firmware, but I will be making it blind, and since the new usb library needs udev, I will have modified the avalon build to include udev in it. I have no idea if that even works just like that or needs some other modifications to work. So while I can build the firmware, I can't test if it works, and likely, given the change to the underlying OS, it will brick the avalon. If someone is capable of unbricking their avalon and is willing to try it, I'll post said firmware (the former requirement is more important than the latter desire).

However... there is nothing particularly new in the latest cgminer for Avalon except for the inclusion of a new libusb built statically into the binary which may make it less likely to have USB failures, but since the last firmware I posted was so solid, I don't see the need for upgrading.

It's just a WR703N with a few mods.  I'll try and get one of mine modded to send him if he'll take it.  I'll need a shipping address if someone wants to PM me one.

I most definitely appreciate his contributions.  I received some more avalons yesterday that came with 0723.  After I put 0821 on them they're all mining substantially faster.

I really hope to see a firmware some day that can clock each 10-chip board individually.  I don't know what it would take to accomplish that...I guess reprogramming the FPGA controller.

For now I plan to play games swapping modules around to try and make some strong machines (clocked higher) and some weaker ones.
Thanks for the offer Bogart, but I'm not expecting to pull any more rabbits out of my hat for Avalon hardware. I still wouldn't mind a fixed device (broke the damn thing trying to hold down reset button) so I can at least keep the avalon firmware in line with latest cgminer.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 [138] 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!