Bitcoin Forum
January 22, 2022, 04:41:50 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 [768] 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5803042 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
kenshirothefist
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 457
Merit: 272



View Profile
August 14, 2014, 08:49:18 AM
 #15341

Hi,

Many of cgminer users are already using NiceHash.com, especially Scrypt and SHA256 ASIC miners; therefore it would be very nice if a small stratum protocol extension called mining.extranonce.subscribe (as described here https://www.nicehash.com/software/#devs) would be implemented into cgminer.

I understand that this is a custom feature and I know you are not very fond of custom features. Nevertheless, there are already many custom features implemented in cgminer to support various ASIC devices and it would be really nice if you could do it since it would improve efficiency for users using cgminer when mining on NiceHash (because no disconnects would be needed when we switch buyers orders internally in our system - there is no other way for us to do it since we can't delegate the work any other way but to cut part of extranonce for ourself). Of course this can be implemented as an optional feature, enabled by a parameter (e.g. "extranonce-subscribe" : true).

It is especially important for this feature to be implemented in cgminer since the majority of ASIC device manufacturers grabs your cgminer, burns it into their devices and in some cases it is hard to put a custom (patched) version into such devices.

This feature has already been included, for example, in the latest sgminer (search for "extranonce" here: https://github.com/nicehash/sgminer/commits/master) or in official sgminer GIT source code at https://github.com/sgminer-dev/sgminer/commits/v5_0

p.s.: I do realize that this is not an optimal implementation; it would be better to extend stratum protocol in such a way that it would make extensions easily auto-detectable, however we can probably consider the stratum protocol not to be worth spending too much time on, since it is a dead end as a centralized protocol ... that's why we proposed this kind of simplified patch.

Thanks and let me know if you need any help!
1642826510
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1642826510

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1642826510
Reply with quote  #2

1642826510
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1642826510
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1642826510

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1642826510
Reply with quote  #2

1642826510
Report to moderator
1642826510
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1642826510

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1642826510
Reply with quote  #2

1642826510
Report to moderator
1642826510
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1642826510

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1642826510
Reply with quote  #2

1642826510
Report to moderator
AndrewK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 820
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 12:06:13 PM
Last edit: August 14, 2014, 12:30:42 PM by AndrewK
 #15342

Hey guys,

Having a somewhat detailed problem and I will try my best to explain. My linux skills are so-so... please bare with me.

Recently I purchased an as-is bitburner A1... It has 5 bitmine chips. I can get it running with standard cgminer but it only recognizes/uses one chip.

I then tried to compile cgminer 4.5.0 in order to add: --enable-bitmine_A1.

Ran into a couple errors but the main one was that the compiler couldn't find a reference for PATH_MAX in spi-context.c or .h...

So I included limits.h in spi-context.h... problem solved. Everything built with make and make install.

However, when I run cgminer it exits immediately. So I ran it with --syslog and this is the output I get:

cgminer: SPI: Can not open SPI device /dev/spidev0.0
cgminer: All devices disabled, cannot mine!

The device seems to be installed...

Any help or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Additional Info: Running ubuntu 14.04, I have root access and have tried these commands with SUDO as well.

Using lsusb i get:

BUS 003 Device 007: ID 0403:6001 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232 USB-Serial (UART) IC

which I just assume is the USB controller IC for the miner.

1K4BacKKdssA5RGzaFx3D4LC9HVXjE2NvS
Taugeran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


CCNA: There i fixed the internet.


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 04:17:29 PM
 #15343

Hey guys,

Having a somewhat detailed problem and I will try my best to explain. My linux skills are so-so... please bare with me.

Recently I purchased an as-is bitburner A1... It has 5 bitmine chips. I can get it running with standard cgminer but it only recognizes/uses one chip.

I then tried to compile cgminer 4.5.0 in order to add: --enable-bitmine_A1.

Ran into a couple errors but the main one was that the compiler couldn't find a reference for PATH_MAX in spi-context.c or .h...

So I included limits.h in spi-context.h... problem solved. Everything built with make and make install.

However, when I run cgminer it exits immediately. So I ran it with --syslog and this is the output I get:

cgminer: SPI: Can not open SPI device /dev/spidev0.0
cgminer: All devices disabled, cannot mine!

The device seems to be installed...

Any help or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Additional Info: Running ubuntu 14.04, I have root access and have tried these commands with SUDO as well.

Using lsusb i get:

BUS 003 Device 007: ID 0403:6001 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232 USB-Serial (UART) IC

which I just assume is the USB controller IC for the miner.


As far as I know the bitburner series of devices (Avalon, Bitfury and A1) all use Avalon emulated protocol do you have avalon enabled

Bitfury HW & Habañero : 1.625Th/s
tips/Donations: 1NoS89H3Mr6U5CmP4VwWzU2318JEMxHL1
Come join Coinbase
AndrewK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 820
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 09:25:23 PM
 #15344

^ so, I tried it with --enable-avalon along with --enable-bitmine_A1...

it worked but I'm still only getting 30gh/s

tried it with --enable-avalon and without --enable-bitmine_A1 and still 30gh/s...

Anything else I could try?

Thanks,

1K4BacKKdssA5RGzaFx3D4LC9HVXjE2NvS
zefir
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 919
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 07:17:36 AM
 #15345

^ so, I tried it with --enable-avalon along with --enable-bitmine_A1...

it worked but I'm still only getting 30gh/s

tried it with --enable-avalon and without --enable-bitmine_A1 and still 30gh/s...

Anything else I could try?

Thanks,

Are you sure the bitburnerA1 is supported by upstream cgminer? When I bought a few of those some months ago, I was pointed to the private repository at https://github.com/someone42/cgminer

Worked for me. Good Luck.

AndrewK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 820
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 12:21:19 PM
 #15346

^F-in sweet.

Thanks man!

1K4BacKKdssA5RGzaFx3D4LC9HVXjE2NvS
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2014, 06:19:27 PM
 #15347

Hi ck & kano,

Sorry, a bit off topic - but have you read this?:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=671189.msg8381364#msg8381364

Interested to hear on what you guys think - PM me if you'd prefer to keep it off your thread  Wink

Peace.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3472
Merit: 1368


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2014, 10:06:32 PM
 #15348

Hi ck & kano,

Sorry, a bit off topic - but have you read this?:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=671189.msg8381364#msg8381364

Interested to hear on what you guys think - PM me if you'd prefer to keep it off your thread  Wink

Peace.
I'm not really sure what else there is to say. They're violating the GPL like quite a few Chinese manufacturers have done to date. The only difference is they're the poster child for whom to buy from currently. They have complied in the past with the S1 and S2 so it is possible it's just too far down their care factor unless there's enough outrage over it.

I started a thread a little while ago to get a forum policy on GPL violations so that at least action can be taken at a moderation level in this forum but there is no ruling:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=738936.0

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2014, 10:40:19 PM
 #15349

Thanks for the link ck - I wasn't aware of that thread. Reading through it, apart from the couple of posters who are confusing Open Source with Copywrong, it seems that name & shame and/or public pressure seems to be the only option apart from legal avenues then? That's naff. I reckon 90% of miners are very uncomfortable using closed software for obvious reasons, and am surprised that there hasn't been a louder noise about this already.

Public pressure it is then.

If Bitmain were to fall in line, I'm presuming that you guys would then be able to tweak/improve their drivers & implement the security fixes & improvements to cgminer as IYFTech mentioned in the post?

Peace.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 05:36:26 PM
 #15350

I think that all of us shall refuse to buy closed source miners no matter of their origin.
That will be the solution to the problem. But we have to act like a community which ain't going to happen...
Greed is first and then all follows.

Sad
The funny part is that most of overseas bitmain customers and CHINESE MINING EQUIPMENT DISTRIBUTORS are based in us and they just do not care....if they are committing  a crime using/distributing such a software....
But law does not apply in bitcoin world for sure

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
IYFTech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500


WANTED: Active dev to fix & re-write p2pool in C


View Profile
August 18, 2014, 02:32:39 AM
 #15351

Dear Community,

Our truly apologies for the mis-understanding reported in this Support Thread. We are very willing to share the cgminer code to the Community.
Just reviewed our internal resource again, there is a little mis-communicaton between Customer Service Team and R&D Department. We thought this task was done 3 weeks ago.. 
However, R&D Department is repacking the cgminer code and will upload it to GitHub.com in 3 hours.

Any advice from the Community and Global Customers is appreciated, feel free to contact us via PM or info@bitmaintech.com.

Thank you!


And there you have it  Smiley

That's the first of the big boys down - just a few more smaller players to do...... Cheesy Cheesy

Just goes to show the power of the Bitcoin community if only a few people start making a noise - very happy!

Well done all concerned  Smiley

-- Smiley  Thank you for smoking  Smiley --  If you paid VAT to dogie for items you should read this thread:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1018906.0
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 18, 2014, 03:06:37 AM
 #15352

Dear Community,

Our truly apologies for the mis-understanding reported in this Support Thread. We are very willing to share the cgminer code to the Community.
Just reviewed our internal resource again, there is a little mis-communicaton between Customer Service Team and R&D Department. We thought this task was done 3 weeks ago.. 
However, R&D Department is repacking the cgminer code and will upload it to GitHub.com in 3 hours.

Any advice from the Community and Global Customers is appreciated, feel free to contact us via PM or info@bitmaintech.com.

Thank you!


And there you have it  Smiley

That's the first of the big boys down - just a few more smaller players to do...... Cheesy Cheesy

Just goes to show the power of the Bitcoin community if only a few people start making a noise - very happy!

Well done all concerned  Smiley
Have they actually posted the driver/code anywhere yet?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3472
Merit: 1368


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 18, 2014, 04:33:12 AM
 #15353

Excellent work. I assume they'll finally update the public git repository they have at https://github.com/bitmaintech/cgminer

It will likely take us a while to digest the changes before we can do anything with their driver to bring it up to speed with current cgminer.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Axiste
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 152
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 18, 2014, 07:24:08 AM
 #15354

Its updated! Plenty of drivers showing as updated 2 hours ago, Including a USB3 driver, and all the usuals.

If my advice has helped you out, feel free to throw some Satoshi's my way!
BTC: 1Nq7hrRDamdnNiTBaFxEn5DuZYS9kD3tbJ
Running a Full Node Smiley
canford
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
August 18, 2014, 10:29:15 AM
 #15355

I am running 12 Antminer U2's off a dedicated Win7 box.  Usually works fine, but lately I been getting tortured by cgminer thinking one of the 12 is a LIN device:



Rebooting results in the same problem.  The only way to fix it is to shutdown the PC, unpower and repower all 12 of the U2s, then reboot, so it seems like something in the internal miner state itself is the cause.  Then it works again for a couple of days before the problem recurs.  I've tried moving things around between USB ports, same issue.  Any ideas about what is causing this?  Any and all help much appreciated, ckolivas you do an amazing job maintaining cgminer.

Thanks!

Пoльзyйтecь бecплaтнo и пишитe чтo вaм нyжнo yлyчшить:trd.ai
Bидeo, кaк пoльзoвaтьcя пpoeктoм:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pNhx715vOOk&feature=youtu.be
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3472
Merit: 1368


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 18, 2014, 10:37:23 AM
 #15356

I am running 12 Antminer U2's off a dedicated Win7 box.  Usually works fine, but lately I been getting tortured by cgminer thinking one of the 12 is a LIN device:

Rebooting results in the same problem.  The only way to fix it is to shutdown the PC, unpower and repower all 12 of the U2s, then reboot, so it seems like something in the internal miner state itself is the cause.  Then it works again for a couple of days before the problem recurs.  I've tried moving things around between USB ports, same issue.  Any ideas about what is causing this?  Any and all help much appreciated, ckolivas you do an amazing job maintaining cgminer.
Unfortunately a lot of these devices don't have identifiers so the only thing that we have to identify them by is the communication chip they use or the protocol they share (like U2 and R-Box [LIN]), so telling them apart is precarious. You could try telling cgminer to not try to enable any lin devices by adding: --usb LIN:0

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
canford
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
August 18, 2014, 12:21:11 PM
 #15357

I am running 12 Antminer U2's off a dedicated Win7 box.  Usually works fine, but lately I been getting tortured by cgminer thinking one of the 12 is a LIN device:

Rebooting results in the same problem.  The only way to fix it is to shutdown the PC, unpower and repower all 12 of the U2s, then reboot, so it seems like something in the internal miner state itself is the cause.  Then it works again for a couple of days before the problem recurs.  I've tried moving things around between USB ports, same issue.  Any ideas about what is causing this?  Any and all help much appreciated, ckolivas you do an amazing job maintaining cgminer.
Unfortunately a lot of these devices don't have identifiers so the only thing that we have to identify them by is the communication chip they use or the protocol they share (like U2 and R-Box [LIN]), so telling them apart is precarious. You could try telling cgminer to not try to enable any lin devices by adding: --usb LIN:0

I tried that, but it just results in a cgminer error:



Is there any way to tell cgminer to look for 12 ANU devices and nothing else?

Thanks!

Пoльзyйтecь бecплaтнo и пишитe чтo вaм нyжнo yлyчшить:trd.ai
Bидeo, кaк пoльзoвaтьcя пpoeктoм:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pNhx715vOOk&feature=youtu.be
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3388
Merit: 1077


Think for yourself


View Profile
August 18, 2014, 12:56:25 PM
 #15358



That's the exact error message I get when I try your suggested --usb BXM:0

CGMiner misidentifies my Jalapeno as a BXM too.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3472
Merit: 1368


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 19, 2014, 05:11:54 AM
 #15359


That's the exact error message I get when I try your suggested --usb BXM:0

CGMiner misidentifies my Jalapeno as a BXM too.
I suck Sad

The code only allows you to restrict by the parent driver type, and ANU and LIN are both icarus (ICA) so there's no workaround for that.

BXM is however bitfury so assuming you don't have any other bitfury devices... restricting it as BF1 is the key there. (--usb BF1:0).

Unfortunately the name is based on the first device that had that parent driver and I know BF1 doesn't make much sense for all bitfury devices...

Anyway we didn't anticipate other devices would use variants of the same driver and hadn't worked around this possibility to date, and I kinda forgot  Embarrassed

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1493
Merit: 1003



View Profile
August 19, 2014, 10:12:19 AM
 #15360


That's the exact error message I get when I try your suggested --usb BXM:0

CGMiner misidentifies my Jalapeno as a BXM too.
I suck Sad

The code only allows you to restrict by the parent driver type, and ANU and LIN are both icarus (ICA) so there's no workaround for that.

BXM is however bitfury so assuming you don't have any other bitfury devices... restricting it as BF1 is the key there. (--usb BF1:0).

Unfortunately the name is based on the first device that had that parent driver and I know BF1 doesn't make much sense for all bitfury devices...

Anyway we didn't anticipate other devices would use variants of the same driver and hadn't worked around this possibility to date, and I kinda forgot  Embarrassed

IMHO, I don't think you suck.
As far as I've understood, manufacturers have their share of guilty on this since they don't do any effort to distinguish how the devices get recognized.
I understand it isn't quite easy to do, it implies some effort.
But they prefer the easy way as they think we don't mix devices, we only use the ones they manufacture, they are the last water in the desert.
As far as I've followed this topic, I've seen a great effort from you, trying to have CGMiner to recognize them all, when it would be useful if they introduced themselves correctly! (Hey, Hi CGMiner! I'm a Ant Miner S3 siting on /dev/USB0! Could you please include me in the workload?)
Since you are not omniscient, you've been doing a hell of a job, given the lack of help some manufacturers provide.
At least from me, my sincere thank you!

Best faucet EVER! - Freebitco.in
Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
Why not mine from the browser?
Pages: « 1 ... 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 [768] 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!