Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 12:19:06 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 [349] 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4823871 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
September 04, 2012, 08:03:40 PM
 #6961

It's overheating because you don't have auto-fan and auto-gpu turned on.  You have told cgminer to run your GPU at a set clock speed, with a set fan speed, and that's exactly what it's doing.  It will happily continue to do so until you GPU bursts into flame. The temp settings don't mean anything if you aren't allowing cgminer to control the temperature.

Just another case of operator error.
To clarify, you need something like this:
--auto-gpu --temp-cutoff <temp> --gpu-engine <MHz> --gpu-memclock <MHz> --gpu-fan <%>

Note that all of the values in <>'s are chosen by you and can be set or ranges, so in this case, --gpu-fan could be 60 or 50-60.  I don't remember exactly what --temp-cutoff does, so you might want to set it a few degrees cooler than you think you should, but it sounds like you have plenty of room to experiment without damaging your card.
1481242746
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481242746

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481242746
Reply with quote  #2

1481242746
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481242746
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481242746

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481242746
Reply with quote  #2

1481242746
Report to moderator
Roland68
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103



View Profile
September 04, 2012, 08:05:25 PM
 #6962

using the provided example.cfg file would help ...just cut/paste auto settings into your cfg file ...
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 04, 2012, 09:29:04 PM
 #6963

...
It's overheating because you don't have auto-fan and auto-gpu turned on.  You have told cgminer to run your GPU at a set clock speed, with a set fan speed, and that's exactly what it's doing.  It will happily continue to do so until you GPU bursts into flame. The temp settings don't mean anything if you aren't allowing cgminer to control the temperature.

Just another case of operator error.
Made me laugh Smiley
Yes that is correct of course Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 04, 2012, 10:40:07 PM
 #6964

Quote
It's overheating because you don't have auto-fan and auto-gpu turned on.  You have told cgminer to run your GPU at a set clock speed, with a set fan speed, and that's exactly what it's doing.  It will happily continue to do so until you GPU bursts into flame. The temp settings don't mean anything if you aren't allowing cgminer to control the temperature.

Just another case of operator error.


Okay, let's start over again.

My cgminer.cfg clearly states, as I said a few posts back:

Code:
"gpu-engine" : "0-1125",
"gpu-fan" : "0-55",
"gpu-memdiff" : "0",
"gpu-powertune" : "0",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.870",
"temp-cutoff" : "90",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "75",

Where is the problem?  Is the config file missing something, or do I need to add more parms to the command line?  Note that I didn't put any of these lines in here, cgminer wrote them when I told it to create a .cfg.  All I did was change some parms.  It's a bit misleading for these parms to be here and do nothing.  Specifically the temp-cutoff part, I would think that means, well, when it reaches that temperature, it stops dead in the water.

And, I would hope the internal shutdown on the GPU would prevent it from bursting into flame.

BTW, thanks for the sarcastic help.  Much appreciated.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
September 04, 2012, 10:46:30 PM
 #6965

Quote
It's overheating because you don't have auto-fan and auto-gpu turned on.  You have told cgminer to run your GPU at a set clock speed, with a set fan speed, and that's exactly what it's doing.  It will happily continue to do so until you GPU bursts into flame. The temp settings don't mean anything if you aren't allowing cgminer to control the temperature.

Just another case of operator error.


Okay, let's start over again.

My cgminer.cfg clearly states, as I said a few posts back:

Code:
"gpu-engine" : "0-1125",
"gpu-fan" : "0-55",
"gpu-memdiff" : "0",
"gpu-powertune" : "0",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.870",
"temp-cutoff" : "90",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "75",

Where is the problem?  Is the config file missing something, or do I need to add more parms to the command line?  Note that I didn't put any of these lines in here, cgminer wrote them when I told it to create a .cfg.  All I did was change some parms.  It's a bit misleading for these parms to be here and do nothing.  Specifically the temp-cutoff part, I would think that means, well, when it reaches that temperature, it stops dead in the water.

And, I would hope the internal shutdown on the GPU would prevent it from bursting into flame.

BTW, thanks for the sarcastic help.  Much appreciated.

M

We're not being sarcastic. You need the --auto-gpu and --auto-fan options, and you've been told this many times! In the config, it would look like this:

Code:
"auto-gpu" : true,
"auto-fan" : true,

My grandfather has a saying: When 3 people tell you you're drunk, you better sit down.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 04, 2012, 10:52:29 PM
 #6966

Yeah I mentioned that at the start also
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1158935#msg1158935

Though I did add the edit back then saying if there was a bug it would need following up just in case I was wrong.

I guess that comment about --auto-gpu --auto-fan has been missed each time?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 04, 2012, 11:28:27 PM
 #6967

We're not being sarcastic. You need the --auto-gpu and --auto-fan options, and you've been told this many times! In the config, it would look like this:

Code:
"auto-gpu" : true,
"auto-fan" : true,

Alright, twice someone has said to use parms, this is the first time someone said to add it to the config file.  I'll adjust it now.

What this means is the lines in the config file, written by cgminer, are misleading, as they don't do a thing unless you tweak it.  Which is fine..

Quote
My grandfather has a saying: When 3 people tell you you're drunk, you better sit down.

If this isn't sarcasm, and "another case of operator error", what is?

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 04, 2012, 11:31:55 PM
 #6968

Yeah I mentioned that at the start also
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1158935#msg1158935

Though I did add the edit back then saying if there was a bug it would need following up just in case I was wrong.

I guess that comment about --auto-gpu --auto-fan has been missed each time?

No, I saw it, and I already changed my command line to include it.  Someone else, might have been you, to add the cutoff, which was already in the config.

What was tripping me up was the lines in the config that I didn't put there, and someone telling me to add the temp cutoff line.

Thanks for the assistance.

M

EDIT: It occurred to me after I wrote this that the auto-gpu and auto-fan lines might have been in the config file to begin with, and I might have removed them.  That of course would lead to this situation.  I don't recall doing so, but that doesn't mean it didn't happen.

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 12:10:08 AM
 #6969

Yeah I mentioned that at the start also
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1158935#msg1158935

Though I did add the edit back then saying if there was a bug it would need following up just in case I was wrong.

I guess that comment about --auto-gpu --auto-fan has been missed each time?

No, I saw it, and I already changed my command line to include it.  Someone else, might have been you, to add the cutoff, which was already in the config.

What was tripping me up was the lines in the config that I didn't put there, and someone telling me to add the temp cutoff line.

Thanks for the assistance.

M

EDIT: It occurred to me after I wrote this that the auto-gpu and auto-fan lines might have been in the config file to begin with, and I might have removed them.  That of course would lead to this situation.  I don't recall doing so, but that doesn't mean it didn't happen.

This little exercise in frustration is why I still use all command line options.

Of course I also prefer a config.sys to a registry any day too Smiley
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 12:46:23 AM
 #6970

No, I saw it, and I already changed my command line to include it.  Someone else, might have been you, to add the cutoff, which was already in the config.

What was tripping me up was the lines in the config that I didn't put there, and someone telling me to add the temp cutoff line.

Thanks for the assistance.

M

EDIT: It occurred to me after I wrote this that the auto-gpu and auto-fan lines might have been in the config file to begin with, and I might have removed them.  That of course would lead to this situation.  I don't recall doing so, but that doesn't mean it didn't happen.

Alright, I just got this error that I've never seen before.  I've seen others report this, I never have until I added those two lines:

Code:
[2012-09-04 20:43:11] Rejected 36800659.0478c728 GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:17] Rejected 710d0f98.46c1d6fc GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:19] Rejected 1617f4a0.ca588d24 GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:20] Rejected d857c0d0.b392795b GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:20] Rejected 0af37905.5c08917f GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:23] Rejected 9b8e310c.5e5363de GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:23] Rejected 2186400e.50964116 GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:33] Rejected 80a6c9cb.0acea6f5 GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:41] Rejected 6a9eaba7.fe0df6c3 GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:43] Rejected ef982720.75f0d021 GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:46] Rejected 22eb21ec.e426caee GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:53] Rejected 2aa476d7.db9f2003 GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
September 05, 2012, 01:09:22 AM
 #6971

No, I saw it, and I already changed my command line to include it.  Someone else, might have been you, to add the cutoff, which was already in the config.

What was tripping me up was the lines in the config that I didn't put there, and someone telling me to add the temp cutoff line.

Thanks for the assistance.

M

EDIT: It occurred to me after I wrote this that the auto-gpu and auto-fan lines might have been in the config file to begin with, and I might have removed them.  That of course would lead to this situation.  I don't recall doing so, but that doesn't mean it didn't happen.

Alright, I just got this error that I've never seen before.  I've seen others report this, I never have until I added those two lines:

Code:
[2012-09-04 20:43:11] Rejected 36800659.0478c728 GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:17] Rejected 710d0f98.46c1d6fc GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:19] Rejected 1617f4a0.ca588d24 GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:20] Rejected d857c0d0.b392795b GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:20] Rejected 0af37905.5c08917f GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:23] Rejected 9b8e310c.5e5363de GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:23] Rejected 2186400e.50964116 GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:33] Rejected 80a6c9cb.0acea6f5 GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:41] Rejected 6a9eaba7.fe0df6c3 GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:43] Rejected ef982720.75f0d021 GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:46] Rejected 22eb21ec.e426caee GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)
[2012-09-04 20:43:53] Rejected 2aa476d7.db9f2003 GPU 0 pool 0 (Stale or unknown
work)

M

--auto-gpu and --auto-fan don't have anything to do with stales. Perhaps you missed a LP? Happens to me every once in a while.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 01:11:49 AM
 #6972

...
M
Completely unrelated to using those two options.
We'd need to know about the cgminer version you are using (certain older versions have known issues) and the pool being used and other such information.
Also, that is well known to happen with pools like ABC and GPUMax caused by the pool.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 01:20:25 AM
 #6973

...
M
Completely unrelated to using those two options.
We'd need to know about the cgminer version you are using (certain older versions have known issues) and the pool being used and other such information.
Also, that is well known to happen with pools like ABC and GPUMax caused by the pool.

Using 2.7.4 on ozcoin.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 02:32:17 AM
 #6974

...
M
Completely unrelated to using those two options.
We'd need to know about the cgminer version you are using (certain older versions have known issues) and the pool being used and other such information.
Also, that is well known to happen with pools like ABC and GPUMax caused by the pool.

Using 2.7.4 on ozcoin.

M
2 things:
1) Is that once or over and over again?
Things like a dynamic IP address change, or an OzCoin server DNS switch, or a pool restart can cause that.
2) Try 2.7.5 Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 03:08:11 AM
 #6975

1) Is that once or over and over again?
Things like a dynamic IP address change, or an OzCoin server DNS switch, or a pool restart can cause that.
2) Try 2.7.5 Smiley

Endlessly, a page of it before I restarted it.

If it happens again I'll upgrade.. I like stability.

Tx,

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Subo1977
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 345


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 10:11:48 AM
 #6976

It there a Plan to implemet queue and Threats in the API?

I provide a 1000Mbit+ Torrent-Seedbox in FR and a 500Mbit Box in NL for orginal Blockchain Bootstrap.dat download. and also for Armoryclient Torrent

Tips are welcome:  15MuGdPSXU62fEFE9XbBZN3UvJMHBDVBoy
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 10:18:38 PM
 #6977

It there a Plan to implemet queue and Threats in the API?
At the moment the socket queue is 100 but a single thread.
What are you doing with the API that needs more than that? Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Subo1977
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 345


View Profile
September 06, 2012, 06:12:48 AM
 #6978

It there a Plan to implemet queue and Threats in the API?
At the moment the socket queue is 100 but a single thread.
What are you doing with the API that needs more than that? Smiley

Ok i miswrote it.
I dont wont Threat and queue for the API. I want to Set These options over the API like Intensity.

If i Mine with a normal Pool the Standard Setting for these Parameters are ok.

If i Switch to p2pool over the API in an Script, i want to change the Queue And threats too.

I provide a 1000Mbit+ Torrent-Seedbox in FR and a 500Mbit Box in NL for orginal Blockchain Bootstrap.dat download. and also for Armoryclient Torrent

Tips are welcome:  15MuGdPSXU62fEFE9XbBZN3UvJMHBDVBoy
steveme
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
September 06, 2012, 08:31:33 AM
 #6979

Or if anyone is interested in additions after 2.7.5 Smiley

The master branch in my git has a rather large number of commits I've worked on in the last 24 hours (and a couple before that)
The list is: debug control in the API, generic HW error handling for all devices except ztex, Diff1 information, BFL identify via a led flash, BFL throttle counter in 'notify' and a few other bit and pieces.

The pull request is here: https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/pull/310 that shows them all.
That is simply my master branch - and each change I've done I keep adding to that pull request.

Anyone interested in any of those additions feel free to compile my master and let me know if you have any problems.
I haven't changed the ztex code coz I don't have any ztex hardware and the original code does some weird shit dealing with HW errors - if someone has a ztex and has time to visit IRC I could add some changes in another branch and get them to test it also.

Thanks for anyone who can test this.

Edit: of course this is what I am running on my 2 rigs - BFL, and ICA+GPU

I built it last night on 32bit Ubuntu 12.04. It's been running for 8hrs and is showing a modest amount of HW errors for my CM1 board.

Looks good Smiley
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 06, 2012, 09:14:12 AM
 #6980

It there a Plan to implemet queue and Threats in the API?
At the moment the socket queue is 100 but a single thread.
What are you doing with the API that needs more than that? Smiley

Ok i miswrote it.
I dont wont Threat and queue for the API. I want to Set These options over the API like Intensity.

If i Mine with a normal Pool the Standard Setting for these Parameters are ok.

If i Switch to p2pool over the API in an Script, i want to change the Queue And threats too.
Ah OK - Queue, ScanTime and Expiry are certainly no issue to add.
(It currently shows ScanTime, but doesn't let you change it - easy enough to do that)
I'll add them to my list of stuff to be done some time in the future ... or you can prompt me to do it sooner ... Smiley

Adjusting the number of threads ... not in the near future ... cgminer doesn't let you do that through the screen, so doing it via the API might mean a change in the scanhash thread control code ... I'd have to look closer at it ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: « 1 ... 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 [349] 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!