Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 08:24:24 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 [344] 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4816386 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 524


View Profile
August 28, 2012, 10:05:13 PM
 #6861

The OP asked for an example. My settings work usually well for my pools. They may not work well for others. But to get someone started it seemed easier to change a couple of settings to match their settings. I was tempted to post it around 2 days ago to help the OP out but I did not as I was sure that someone would point out why my settings are bad for some pool or another. They are bad or P2Pool. I don't use P2Pool. Settings designed for the overly short LP on P2Pool seems as silly as having settings a little excessive the other way. Still I could likely drop the Expiry back to 60 seconds but a 20 second drop out was having discards immediatly after the pool came back up. It seemed like a waste to me. I do see how it could negativly effect people with high hashrates, me I would get 55 shares in 10 minutes give or take a throttle. I have never had it drop for all 10 minutes but I also haven't seen discards because of short dropouts or delays. I assume most of the discards hadn't been successfully submitted before the problems.

I appreciate donations at ( 1NwkQdmomQPLtdes5KuZhB1D22p7ZGRy4p )
If I am helping in the CGMiner thread give it to Con or Kano. They do the work there.
If you want to sign up for a coinbase account I would appreciate it if you use my referral link. US people now wire, 1% fee give or take a little for sending to your bank account. https://coinbase.com/?r=515bf6145682db9d11000028&utm_campaign=user-referral&src=
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480839864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480839864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480839864
Reply with quote  #2

1480839864
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 28, 2012, 11:03:49 PM
 #6862

Well ... there is example.conf that comes with cgminer as stated twice in the README:

Options for command line only:
--config|-c <arg>   Load a JSON-format configuration file
See example.conf for an example configuration.
--help|-h           Print this message
--version|-V        Display version and exit


In the README FAQ:

Q: Can I put multiple pools in the config file?
A: Yes, check the example.conf file. Alternatively, set up everything either on
the command line or via the menu after startup and choose settings->write
config file and the file will be loaded on each startup.


However, no, the following is not JUST a p2pool issue.

Do not set "no-submit-stale" : true, without good reason.

As I stated: "It will probably mean a reduction of submitted shares, and ..."

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 524


View Profile
August 29, 2012, 06:27:20 AM
 #6863

I see your point. For me it did drop the number of submitted shares. Sure they seemed to be submitted then rejected as prev-blk but it did submit more. My reject rate did drop but I can not gurantee that it was all that configuration option nor that it didn't drop a some shares off accepted. Not all pools request submission of stales. EclipseMC does for me and CGMiner happily sends them (for name coins) and they get rejected as prev-blk. Some I am sure where not rejected and possibly my numbers would be some better without it. I really should try sending stales as I made that config running 2.4.x so it is way old at worst I would only increase my reject ratio. At best I might actually get a valid share from time to time.  

Possibly I mis-stated that. I ment that the 600 second expiry wasn't likely much of an issue except for p2pool. Yes it is a bit over the average block time. It is about right for the expected block time. I know very few blocks will actually land 10 minutes apart. I would guess the number that have is likely very very low. Some are shorter, some longer. 600 seconds on p2pool would be very stupid. it would be about 60 blocks. I couldn't see a way to ask CGMiner nicely to submit all shares from the current block regardless of time except to do that. I wouldn't have messed with it but a pool going down for sometimes less then a second (times for pool disconnects and reconnects matched) would be followed by a series of discarded work. Possibly you can suggest a better setting to fix that issue? EDIT: This may not be an issue at all or was corrected already.


Setting
"net-delay" : false,
"no-submit-stale" : false,

will cause it not to load part of the config file. It seems only the part where those options are false. I tried changing them manually and have found deleting that line entirely will work but changing true to false doesn't work without an error in config file.

I am going out on a limb here and guessing no one has an idea how to fix my problem with mingW.

I appreciate donations at ( 1NwkQdmomQPLtdes5KuZhB1D22p7ZGRy4p )
If I am helping in the CGMiner thread give it to Con or Kano. They do the work there.
If you want to sign up for a coinbase account I would appreciate it if you use my referral link. US people now wire, 1% fee give or take a little for sending to your bank account. https://coinbase.com/?r=515bf6145682db9d11000028&utm_campaign=user-referral&src=
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
August 29, 2012, 09:55:28 AM
 #6864

Having trouble with mingW.
Windows 7 64 bit.
Followed the directions I believe correctly.
Problem:
No errors on the line with configure
CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure --disable-opencl --disable-adl --enable-bitforce

Make gives me a bunch of lines that seemed ok. then missing a imp_curl

ending with this
collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [cgminer.exe] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/user/ckolivas-cgminer-b768758'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/user/ckolivas-cgminer-b768758'
make: *** [all] Error 2

I am going out on a limb here and guessing no one has an idea how to fix my problem with mingW.

Did you forget to, or improperly modify "\MinGW\lib\pkgconfig\libcurl.pc"?

As per the documentation...

Edit the file \MinGW\lib\pkgconfig\libcurl.pc and change "-lcurl" to
"-lcurl -lcurldll".

If that is not it, then more of the output from make is needed otherwise I am just guessing.


Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 29, 2012, 10:13:52 AM
 #6865

...
Setting
"net-delay" : false,
"no-submit-stale" : false,
...
Boolean options are off by default, so you either want to turn them on (true) or not put them in the config file

... well that's how the code works anyway Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
narousberg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
August 29, 2012, 01:19:09 PM
 #6866

Hi cgminer gurus!
Please explain me, how get it work my 50x ZTEX quads with last cgminer on Windows 7 prof. 32 bit. Step by step.
Or somebody have a link where this procedure already published.
Thx.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 29, 2012, 01:47:09 PM
 #6867

Hi cgminer gurus!
Please explain me, how get it work my 50x ZTEX quads with last cgminer on Windows 7 prof. 32 bit. Step by step.
Or somebody have a link where this procedure already published.
Thx.
Plug them in, then read the README, and add -T ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kuzetsa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 369


View Profile
August 29, 2012, 03:32:15 PM
 #6868

Bitdefender deletes cgminer.exe, too and doesn't notify, I uninstalled that bullshit and reverted to Avira. They managed to not detect cgminer.exe, as it was a false-positive anyway.

Dia
Code:

This e-mail is an auto-response message. Please do not reply.

AVG Research Lab has analyzed the file(s) you have sent from your AVG Virus Vault. Below you can find the results for each file. The final verdict on the file is either a correct detection or a false positive detection.

Further information about the verdicts are available at our website:
http://www.avg.com/faq-1184

"C:\Users\Sarah White\Desktop\bitcoin\cgminer-2.7.4-win32\libpdcurses.dll" - detection is correct


     Best regards,

    AVG Customer Services
    AVG Technologies
    website: http://www.avg.com

Apparently not. They're still refusing to stop listing the library as a keylogger / trojan or whatever, even though the library is STILL not being used in that way. Lazy jerks.
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 524


View Profile
August 29, 2012, 05:48:27 PM
 #6869

Did you forget to, or improperly modify "\MinGW\lib\pkgconfig\libcurl.pc"?

As per the documentation...

Edit the file \MinGW\lib\pkgconfig\libcurl.pc and change "-lcurl" to
"-lcurl -lcurldll".

If that is not it, then more of the output from make is needed otherwise I am just guessing.



Apparently in my zeal to fix a previous error I over-wrote libcurl.pc. I thought I had gone back and re-edited it again.
I was wrong. Thank you. I now have successfully completed make.

I appreciate donations at ( 1NwkQdmomQPLtdes5KuZhB1D22p7ZGRy4p )
If I am helping in the CGMiner thread give it to Con or Kano. They do the work there.
If you want to sign up for a coinbase account I would appreciate it if you use my referral link. US people now wire, 1% fee give or take a little for sending to your bank account. https://coinbase.com/?r=515bf6145682db9d11000028&utm_campaign=user-referral&src=
narousberg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
August 29, 2012, 07:53:55 PM
 #6870

Hi cgminer gurus!
Please explain me, how get it work my 50x ZTEX quads with last cgminer on Windows 7 prof. 32 bit. Step by step.
Or somebody have a link where this procedure already published.
Thx.
Plug them in, then read the README, and add -T ...
I have compiled cgminer 2.7.4 with ztex support, but if start i get always:

Ztex check device: Failed to open handle with error -12
prepare device: -12

Whats wrong?Huh

Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 524


View Profile
August 29, 2012, 11:11:52 PM
 #6871

Hi cgminer gurus!
Please explain me, how get it work my 50x ZTEX quads with last cgminer on Windows 7 prof. 32 bit. Step by step.
Or somebody have a link where this procedure already published.
Thx.
Plug them in, then read the README, and add -T ...
I have compiled cgminer 2.7.4 with ztex support, but if start i get always:

Ztex check device: Failed to open handle with error -12
prepare device: -12

Whats wrong?Huh

Maybe we can narrow this down.
Can you get 1 to work by itself by work I mean detected and mining?
Something like cgminer.exe -S \\.\COMn
(where n = the correct device number for the FPGA device)
This is on page one of the thread. Under FPGA's  Substitute A for the and one should work. Once one works then we can improve upon that easily.
-T is a great idea as well as more then a few units will cause a crash. Curses issue.

I appreciate donations at ( 1NwkQdmomQPLtdes5KuZhB1D22p7ZGRy4p )
If I am helping in the CGMiner thread give it to Con or Kano. They do the work there.
If you want to sign up for a coinbase account I would appreciate it if you use my referral link. US people now wire, 1% fee give or take a little for sending to your bank account. https://coinbase.com/?r=515bf6145682db9d11000028&utm_campaign=user-referral&src=
narousberg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
August 29, 2012, 11:22:04 PM
 #6872

Hi cgminer gurus!
Please explain me, how get it work my 50x ZTEX quads with last cgminer on Windows 7 prof. 32 bit. Step by step.
Or somebody have a link where this procedure already published.
Thx.
Plug them in, then read the README, and add -T ...
I have compiled cgminer 2.7.4 with ztex support, but if start i get always:

Ztex check device: Failed to open handle with error -12
prepare device: -12

Whats wrong?Huh

Maybe we can narrow this down.
Can you get 1 to work by itself by work I mean detected and mining?

Yes, with BTCMiner on the same computer all work perfect.
I tested cgminer only with one quad Board.
i have loaded bitstream with ZTEX BTCMiner to Board but it looks as though cggminer unresolved the ZTEX Board.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 29, 2012, 11:23:05 PM
 #6873

Hi cgminer gurus!
Please explain me, how get it work my 50x ZTEX quads with last cgminer on Windows 7 prof. 32 bit. Step by step.
Or somebody have a link where this procedure already published.
Thx.
Plug them in, then read the README, and add -T ...
I have compiled cgminer 2.7.4 with ztex support, but if start i get always:

Ztex check device: Failed to open handle with error -12
prepare device: -12

Whats wrong?Huh

Maybe we can narrow this down.
Can you get 1 to work by itself by work I mean detected and mining?
I have no ztex and nothing to do with the ztex code, so I simply googled when you asked and that said -12 meant the usb version was a problem.
(-12 meant device wasn't supported)
It seemed that the older version of the usb library worked with more devices than the newer version ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
narousberg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
August 29, 2012, 11:35:27 PM
 #6874

Hi cgminer gurus!
Please explain me, how get it work my 50x ZTEX quads with last cgminer on Windows 7 prof. 32 bit. Step by step.
Or somebody have a link where this procedure already published.
Thx.
Plug them in, then read the README, and add -T ...
I have compiled cgminer 2.7.4 with ztex support, but if start i get always:

Ztex check device: Failed to open handle with error -12
prepare device: -12

Whats wrong?Huh

Maybe we can narrow this down.
Can you get 1 to work by itself by work I mean detected and mining?
I have no ztex and nothing to do with the ztex code, so I simply googled when you asked and that said -12 meant the usb version was a problem.
(-12 meant device wasn't supported)
It seemed that the older version of the usb library worked with more devices than the newer version ...
Maybe i must try to bild cgminer with old libusb? same version which used BTCMiner? at all possible in cgminer 2.7.4?

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2012, 11:43:08 PM
 #6875

I have no ztex and nothing to do with the ztex code, so I simply googled when you asked and that said -12 meant the usb version was a problem.
(-12 meant device wasn't supported)
It seemed that the older version of the usb library worked with more devices than the newer version ...
Maybe i must try to bild cgminer with old libusb? same version which used BTCMiner? at all possible in cgminer 2.7.4?
Did you try the prebuilt binary I provide?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
narousberg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
August 29, 2012, 11:57:08 PM
 #6876

I have no ztex and nothing to do with the ztex code, so I simply googled when you asked and that said -12 meant the usb version was a problem.
(-12 meant device wasn't supported)
It seemed that the older version of the usb library worked with more devices than the newer version ...
Maybe i must try to bild cgminer with old libusb? same version which used BTCMiner? at all possible in cgminer 2.7.4?
Did you try the prebuilt binary I provide?
no, i cant use prebuilt binary. I have only macs computer without OpenGl GPU. If i try start your binary, cgminer break starting with error. (need OpenGL files)
I try today first time with cgminer!!!) maybe i make something wrong, maybe it can be disabled using OpenGL before starting with some options. But i cant find how? Only one solution i found: bild my own binary of cgminer.)))

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 30, 2012, 12:00:12 AM
 #6877

I have no ztex and nothing to do with the ztex code, so I simply googled when you asked and that said -12 meant the usb version was a problem.
(-12 meant device wasn't supported)
It seemed that the older version of the usb library worked with more devices than the newer version ...
Maybe i must try to bild cgminer with old libusb? same version which used BTCMiner? at all possible in cgminer 2.7.4?
Did you try the prebuilt binary I provide?
no, i cant use prebuilt binary. I have only macs computer without OpenGl GPU. If i try start your binary, cgminer break starting with error. (need OpenGL files)
I try today first time with cgminer!!!) maybe i make something wrong, maybe it can be disabled using OpenGL before starting with some options. But i cant find how? Only one solution i found: bild my own binary of cgminer.)))
Oh a mac? Use libusbx, not libusb which is almost unmaintained

http://libusbx.org/

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
narousberg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
August 30, 2012, 12:13:48 AM
 #6878

I have no ztex and nothing to do with the ztex code, so I simply googled when you asked and that said -12 meant the usb version was a problem.
(-12 meant device wasn't supported)
It seemed that the older version of the usb library worked with more devices than the newer version ...
Maybe i must try to bild cgminer with old libusb? same version which used BTCMiner? at all possible in cgminer 2.7.4?
Did you try the prebuilt binary I provide?
no, i cant use prebuilt binary. I have only macs computer without OpenGl GPU. If i try start your binary, cgminer break starting with error. (need OpenGL files)
I try today first time with cgminer!!!) maybe i make something wrong, maybe it can be disabled using OpenGL before starting with some options. But i cant find how? Only one solution i found: bild my own binary of cgminer.)))
Oh a mac? Use libusbx, not libusb which is almost unmaintained

http://libusbx.org/
i have used exactly this libusbx. I folow only steps from "windows-build.txt" from scratch.
I have used in the assembly of these options: --enable-ztex --disable-opencl --enable-scrypt --enable-cpumining
Nothing more.
CPU mining works.....
Q: And why you write "only ignore luke-jr"? He sayd it will be a solution in the next version of BFGminer for Ztex boards.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 30, 2012, 12:20:17 AM
 #6879

...
Q: And why you write "only ignore luke-jr"? He sayd it will be a solution in the next version of CPminer for Ztex boards.
wrong thread .........

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 30, 2012, 12:21:26 AM
 #6880

Q: And why you write "only ignore luke-jr"?
You haven't been here very long, have you?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 [344] 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!