Bitcoin Forum
July 26, 2017, 04:55:08 PM *
News: BIP91 seems stable: there's probably only slightly increased risk of confirmations disappearing. You should still prepare for Aug 1.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 [351] 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 ... 835 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5309772 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226



View Profile
September 09, 2012, 05:04:49 PM
 #7001

Hello everyone, I am using ckolivas's cg miner with an nvidia geforce gt520 and I don't believe I am getting the MH/s rates I shouls be getting as I am currently getting 10.4 - 14.3 MH/s which is pretty much the same speeds I get from my laptop cpu (intel t4400). My current command line is:

"cgminer.exe -o http://mint.bitminter.com:8332 -u c4n10 -p password --gpu-engine 800 --auto-fan --gpu-memclock 800 --gpu-vddc 0.900 --intensity 9"

Can someone please point me in the right direction? Thanks!
Sounds about right. nvidia is garbage

1501088108
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501088108

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501088108
Reply with quote  #2

1501088108
Report to moderator
1501088108
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501088108

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501088108
Reply with quote  #2

1501088108
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1501088108
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501088108

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501088108
Reply with quote  #2

1501088108
Report to moderator
1501088108
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501088108

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501088108
Reply with quote  #2

1501088108
Report to moderator
1501088108
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501088108

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501088108
Reply with quote  #2

1501088108
Report to moderator
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 09, 2012, 07:28:51 PM
 #7002

I have been getting app crash's the last few days.  I'm pretty sure it is only when I'm running balance that it crash's.  Anyone else have that trouble?

My 5830 is running just fine and then I get the app crash and there are a bunch of hardware errors.  I have run this for weeks at a time before without getting any HW Errors.

CGMiner 2.7.5
Win 7 32 bit

Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 811



View Profile WWW
September 10, 2012, 03:01:29 AM
 #7003

CGMINER recommendation / request....Not sure were the correct place is so I will just chuck the idea out there.

Is it possible to set a "rescan" function within cgminer? e.g. set the miner rescan ports every 30min in an effort to restart mining hardware that has gone offline..

Typical scenario.
As someone with a day job, I am AFK at least 10 hours per day. I watch my mining rates via my pool and sigh when I note a miner has dropped off (CM1 not GPUs typically). I then call my wife, hoping she is home, so she can reset the mining operations by closing cgminer and firing it up again. BUT, if we had a rescan / restart "OFF" mining hardware, then a lot of heart ache could be avoided.


I am prepared to chuck some coins towards someone whom can do this or point out that function if it already exists.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 03:55:54 AM
 #7004

CGMINER recommendation / request....Not sure were the correct place is so I will just chuck the idea out there.

Is it possible to set a "rescan" function within cgminer? e.g. set the miner rescan ports every 30min in an effort to restart mining hardware that has gone offline..

Typical scenario.
As someone with a day job, I am AFK at least 10 hours per day. I watch my mining rates via my pool and sigh when I note a miner has dropped off (CM1 not GPUs typically). I then call my wife, hoping she is home, so she can reset the mining operations by closing cgminer and firing it up again. BUT, if we had a rescan / restart "OFF" mining hardware, then a lot of heart ache could be avoided.


I am prepared to chuck some coins towards someone whom can do this or point out that function if it already exists.

If you use miner.php ... and give it access to the restart button ... then just press restart.
My address is in my sig Cheesy

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 811



View Profile WWW
September 10, 2012, 04:17:57 AM
 #7005

CGMINER recommendation / request....Not sure were the correct place is so I will just chuck the idea out there.

Is it possible to set a "rescan" function within cgminer? e.g. set the miner rescan ports every 30min in an effort to restart mining hardware that has gone offline..

Typical scenario.
As someone with a day job, I am AFK at least 10 hours per day. I watch my mining rates via my pool and sigh when I note a miner has dropped off (CM1 not GPUs typically). I then call my wife, hoping she is home, so she can reset the mining operations by closing cgminer and firing it up again. BUT, if we had a rescan / restart "OFF" mining hardware, then a lot of heart ache could be avoided.


I am prepared to chuck some coins towards someone whom can do this or point out that function if it already exists.

If you use miner.php ... and give it access to the restart button ... then just press restart.
My address is in my sig Cheesy

it sounds so simple...but...they said that about getting a CM1 board stable as well.

I will DL from GITHUB tonight and have a go at getting it running...if all goes well...a fee for service will becoming your way  Smiley

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 05:03:03 AM
 #7006

...
If you use miner.php ... and give it access to the restart button ... then just press restart.
My address is in my sig Cheesy

it sounds so simple...but...they said that about getting a CM1 board stable as well.

I will DL from GITHUB tonight and have a go at getting it running...if all goes well...a fee for service will becoming your way  Smiley
I wrote miner.php (and the API and API-README)
The file API-README includes a lot of details at the end about how to use miner.php
Those 2 files are in every release of cgminer.
Of course the latest 2 on GIT would, however, be best if you don't have the latest cgminer.

Edit: if you have trouble setting it up, come visit FreeNode IRC #cgminer
ckolivas and I are also in Aus (like you) so similar timezone also
(though ckolivas is absent at the moment as he mentioned already)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
ocminer
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1806



View Profile WWW
September 10, 2012, 08:03:21 AM
 #7007

CGMiner 2.7.5 fails to build under mac osx 10.8 with installed macports if I run ./configure with --enable-ztex
because of libusb, even though it is installed:


checking libudev.h usability... no
checking libudev.h presence... no
checking for libudev.h... no
checking for libusb_init in -lusb-1.0... no
configure: error: Could not find usb library - please install libusb


#port list libusb
libusb                         @1.0.9          devel/libusb


It builds fine without --enable-ztex though..

Any thoughts ?

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 09:44:16 AM
 #7008

libudev-dev ... ?

and ... fyi
Code:
root@erio:~# apt-cache policy libudev-dev libusb-dev
libusb-dev:
  Installed: 2:0.1.12-17
  Candidate: 2:0.1.12-17
  Version table:
 *** 2:0.1.12-17 0
        500 http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ natty/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
libudev-dev:
  Installed: 167-0ubuntu3
  Candidate: 167-0ubuntu3
  Version table:
 *** 167-0ubuntu3 0
        500 http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ natty/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
root@erio:~#

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
ocminer
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1806



View Profile WWW
September 10, 2012, 10:11:28 AM
 #7009

hey kano,

I'm talking about mac os x Smiley

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 11:39:21 AM
 #7010

hey kano,

I'm talking about mac os x Smiley
... and I'm showing you the version numbers on linux.

OSX is VERY similar to linux.
If you ssh into an OSX box it's almost the same.
(and a lot of the software running the non-gui side of OSX comes from linux)
OSX is just unix with a window manager to make it look like an old mac ...

The libusb version number may be the issue.
As you can see, on linux it's 0.1.12 ... not 1.x

Also, you are missing libudev-dev

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
ocminer
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1806



View Profile WWW
September 10, 2012, 12:03:38 PM
 #7011

I tried an older version of libusb but having the same trouble..

also there is no libudev for mac os x (at least in the macports repositories..):

sudo port search libudev
No match for libudev found

I'll try to google it this evening, maybe there is something special with the mac port of libusb..

Everything works fine btw if i do not use "--enable-ztex"... ztex uses libusb exclusively it seems

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
September 10, 2012, 03:17:02 PM
 #7012

A bug exists for scrypt mining algorithm in which thread concurrencies of above 8192 (required to get better performance on 79xx cards) fail, preventing the GPU from using most of its memory.  This results in a -25% performance hit for 79xx cards mining the scrypt algorithm.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
September 11, 2012, 04:39:54 PM
 #7013

how often does it check if the main pool is back up?

Is there an option?

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
September 11, 2012, 09:14:08 PM
 #7014

Hello ckolivas,

any chance to add native support for Stratum mining protocol?

http://mining.bitcoin.cz/stratum-mining

There're already two pools supporting it (me and BtcGuild) and I expect that others will join us soon. I have also support from Python miners developers (poclbm and Guiminer) so we will add native support to their code. Unfortunately I'm not a C++ programmer, so I can give you only some consultations about the protocol itself but I cannot provide you any code.

The major improvement in all this stuff is that miner can produce unique coinbases locally, so creating block headers is done locally, without asking the server. Also the network layer is improved significantly, so you need only up to 10kB/minute of bandwidth even for 18ExaHash/s (10**18) rigs.

Basically you can just bundle mining proxy (pure python) which I provide together with cgminer and run it on the demand, but it is quite ugly solution and native support would be much better.

Let me know what you think about it!

P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2012, 09:34:49 PM
 #7015

Hello ckolivas,

any chance to add native support for Stratum mining protocol?

http://mining.bitcoin.cz/stratum-mining

There're already two pools supporting it (me and BtcGuild) and I expect that others will join us soon. I have also support from Python miners developers (poclbm and Guiminer) so we will add native support to their code. Unfortunately I'm not a C++ programmer, so I can give you only some consultations about the protocol itself but I cannot provide you any code.

The major improvement in all this stuff is that miner can produce unique coinbases locally, so creating block headers is done locally, without asking the server. Also the network layer is improved significantly, so you need only up to 10kB/minute of bandwidth even for 18ExaHash/s (10**18) rigs.

Basically you can just bundle mining proxy (pure python) which I provide together with cgminer and run it on the demand, but it is quite ugly solution and native support would be much better.

Let me know what you think about it!

And while you're at it, change the mining API to event-driven Smiley
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
September 11, 2012, 10:45:30 PM
 #7016

And while you're at it, change the mining API to event-driven Smiley

What do you mean exactly?

eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2012, 11:10:03 PM
 #7017

Hello ckolivas,

any chance to add native support for Stratum mining protocol?

http://mining.bitcoin.cz/stratum-mining

There're already two pools supporting it (me and BtcGuild) and I expect that others will join us soon. I have also support from Python miners developers (poclbm and Guiminer) so we will add native support to their code. Unfortunately I'm not a C++ programmer, so I can give you only some consultations about the protocol itself but I cannot provide you any code.

The major improvement in all this stuff is that miner can produce unique coinbases locally, so creating block headers is done locally, without asking the server. Also the network layer is improved significantly, so you need only up to 10kB/minute of bandwidth even for 18ExaHash/s (10**18) rigs.

Basically you can just bundle mining proxy (pure python) which I provide together with cgminer and run it on the demand, but it is quite ugly solution and native support would be much better.

Let me know what you think about it!

Just to build on slush's request:  I previously sent you a PM about a new protocol months ago, and another one just the other day because my protocol proposal was posted.  I've withdrawn that proposal and have backed slush's because they accomplish the same task in the same way, just different markup.

Also, the 18 ExaHash/s number slush is posting isn't a limit of the protocol.  It can easily go beyond that with a simple change in initial handshake message.  18 EH/s not enough?  How about 4.2 billion 18 EH/s farms with only an extra 8 bytes per share submission?  That would be 75,600,000,000,000,000 TH/s (pretty sure I calculated that right).  Also known as future proof Smiley.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2012, 11:17:47 PM
 #7018

And while you're at it, change the mining API to event-driven Smiley

What do you mean exactly?

At the moment, hashing works in a loop... start work -> wait for results -> get results - > go back to start. The mining thread issues work, then collects it.

Where as each mining device could be asychronous. The device gets work from the queue when its idle, submits it when it's done. The device calls the shots... calls the routine to get work, calls the routine to submit work.
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
September 11, 2012, 11:28:00 PM
 #7019

At the moment, hashing works in a loop... start work -> wait for results -> get results - > go back to start. The mining thread issues work, then collects it.

Where as each mining device could be asychronous. The device gets work from the queue when its idle, submits it when it's done. The device calls the shots... calls the routine to get work, calls the routine to submit work.
@ckolivas could better answer this, but I think that a thread per mining device is not such a bad thing: a benefit is that in case of a GPU crashing, if the driver goes nuts it often doesn't bring all cards down but only one GPU.
With an event-based system, a single process will access all devices : a blocked syscall would freeze the entire process.
Usually I prefer event-based systems for handling asynchronous tasks, but here threads might well be the better option.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
September 11, 2012, 11:31:21 PM
 #7020

At the moment, hashing works in a loop... start work -> wait for results -> get results - > go back to start. The mining thread issues work, then collects it.

Great. I expected that it is related to the protocol proposal. I was surprised because actually it *is* event driven :-)

Quote from: eleuthria
That would be 75,600,000,000,000,000 TH/s (pretty sure I calculated that right).  Also known as future proof Smiley.
Quote

:-)

Pages: « 1 ... 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 [351] 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 ... 835 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!