Bitcoin Forum
July 16, 2018, 03:39:41 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 [343] 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756832 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
farfie
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 0



View Profile
August 27, 2012, 07:40:45 AM
 #6841

What are you guys using when there is more then one COM in the double digits? This was my best idea and it's not working

-S COM8 -S COM9 -S \\.\COM10 -S \\.\COM11

cgminer should automatically see BFL devices by itself now, unless you're using something else.

Also, I think 2.6.5 is in the spot for 2.6.6 @ "cgminer-2.6.6-x86_64-built.tar.bz2".
1531712381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531712381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531712381
Reply with quote  #2

1531712381
Report to moderator
1531712381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531712381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531712381
Reply with quote  #2

1531712381
Report to moderator
1531712381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531712381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531712381
Reply with quote  #2

1531712381
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1531712381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531712381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531712381
Reply with quote  #2

1531712381
Report to moderator
1531712381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531712381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531712381
Reply with quote  #2

1531712381
Report to moderator
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 27, 2012, 08:25:03 AM
 #6842

What are you guys using when there is more then one COM in the double digits? This was my best idea and it's not working

-S COM8 -S COM9 -S \\.\COM10 -S \\.\COM11

cgminer should automatically see BFL devices by itself now, unless you're using something else.

Also, I think 2.6.5 is in the spot for 2.6.6 @ "cgminer-2.6.6-x86_64-built.tar.bz2".

Thanks,
I stopped upgrading when the new version started picking up my gpu's in the same window. I could probably use the "device" command to get around it.
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 986
Merit: 500


DIV - Your "Virtual Life" Secured and Decentralize


View Profile
August 27, 2012, 09:22:15 AM
 #6843

or the flag --disable-gpu when you start cgminer.

          ▄▄
        ▄█▀▀█▄
      ▄█▀ ▄▄ ▀█▄
      ▀ ▄████▄ ▀
   ▄▀ ▄ ▀████▀ ▄ ▀▄
 ▄▀ ▄███▄ ▀▀ ▄███▄ ▀▄
█  ███████  ███████  █
 ▀▄ ▀███▀ ▄▄ ▀███▀ ▄▀

   ▀▄ ▀ ▄████▄ ▀ ▄▀
      ▄ ▀████▀ ▄
      ▀█▄ ▀▀ ▄█▀
        ▀█▄▄█▀
          ▀▀
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀▀▀████▀▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀▀███████
██████            ▀████████     ████     █████    █████     ███████
██████     ▄▄▄▄▄    ▀██████     █████    ████      ████    ████████
██████     ██████▄    █████     █████    ▀██▀  ▄▄  ▀██▀    ████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████    ██   ██   ██    █████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████    ██   ██   ██    █████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████     █   ██   █     █████████
██████     █████▀    ██████     ███████       ████       ██████████
██████     ▀▀▀▀▀    ▄██████     ████████     ██████     ███████████
██████            ▄████████     ████████     ██████     ███████████
██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄▄██████▄▄▄▄████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.DIWtoken.com.
▄██████████████████▄
███       ▀███████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███              ██
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███              ███
███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███
██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
███████████▀ ███████
█████████▀   ███████
███████▀     ██▀ ███
███ ▀▀       █▄▄████
███          █▀▀▀▀██
███ ▄▄       ███████
██████▄     █▄ ▀███
█████████▄   ███▄███
███████████▄ ███████
▀██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
████████████████████
███████████████▀▀ ██
█████████▀▀     ███
████▀▀     ▄█▀   ███
███▄    ▄██      ███
█████████▀      ▄██
█████████▄     ████
█████████████▄ ▄████
████████████████████
▀██████████████████▀
......SECURITY DECENTRALIZED...
ydenys
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 27, 2012, 11:18:57 PM
 #6844

Hi, sorry for being stupid – What do I put if I don’t want to touch a rather finicky GPU?

Like 5850/5830/5770 with 5830 being faulty – 750,???,900 core, 250,???,250 memory 100,???,100 fan?

I cannot touch any of those without a forced restart. Setting defaults does not work either. Auto gpu/fan restarts as well.

The card works okay with no modification on any kernel/vectors/aggression setting, the only thing is, I cannot overclock the stable cards on the same machine. Or can i (without afterburner's/etc's manual set up)?

TIA.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2012, 11:21:38 PM
 #6845

Hi, sorry for being stupid – What do I put if I don’t want to touch a rather finicky GPU?

Like 5850/5830/5770 with 5830 being faulty – 750,???,900 core, 250,???,250 memory 100,???,100 fan?

I cannot touch any of those without a forced restart. Setting defaults does not work either. Auto gpu/fan restarts as well.

The card works okay with no modification on any kernel/vectors/aggression setting, the only thing is, I cannot overclock the stable cards on the same machine. Or can i (without afterburner's/etc's manual set up)?

TIA.
Just don't give it any gpu parameters and it won't try to set anything. Or if you want to disable all the gpu monitoring entirely, start it with --no-adl

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 27, 2012, 11:28:55 PM
 #6846

What are you guys using when there is more then one COM in the double digits? This was my best idea and it's not working

-S COM8 -S COM9 -S \\.\COM10 -S \\.\COM11

cgminer should automatically see BFL devices by itself now, unless you're using something else.

Also, I think 2.6.5 is in the spot for 2.6.6 @ "cgminer-2.6.6-x86_64-built.tar.bz2".

Thanks,
I stopped upgrading when the new version started picking up my gpu's in the same window. I could probably use the "device" command to get around it.
Simplest way to avoid picking up any available GPUs is to use -G on the command line or "disable-gpu" : true, in the config file
I use this with my BFL coz I have an old 8600GTS nVidia card in my desktop and I don't want that mining ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 986
Merit: 500


DIV - Your "Virtual Life" Secured and Decentralize


View Profile
August 28, 2012, 05:38:32 AM
 #6847

Having trouble with mingW.
Windows 7 64 bit.
Followed the directions I believe correctly.
Problem:
No errors on the line with configure
CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure --disable-opencl --disable-adl --enable-bitforce

Make gives me a bunch of lines that seemed ok. then missing a imp_curl

ending with this
collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [cgminer.exe] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/user/ckolivas-cgminer-b768758'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/user/ckolivas-cgminer-b768758'
make: *** [all] Error 2

          ▄▄
        ▄█▀▀█▄
      ▄█▀ ▄▄ ▀█▄
      ▀ ▄████▄ ▀
   ▄▀ ▄ ▀████▀ ▄ ▀▄
 ▄▀ ▄███▄ ▀▀ ▄███▄ ▀▄
█  ███████  ███████  █
 ▀▄ ▀███▀ ▄▄ ▀███▀ ▄▀

   ▀▄ ▀ ▄████▄ ▀ ▄▀
      ▄ ▀████▀ ▄
      ▀█▄ ▀▀ ▄█▀
        ▀█▄▄█▀
          ▀▀
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀▀▀████▀▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀▀███████
██████            ▀████████     ████     █████    █████     ███████
██████     ▄▄▄▄▄    ▀██████     █████    ████      ████    ████████
██████     ██████▄    █████     █████    ▀██▀  ▄▄  ▀██▀    ████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████    ██   ██   ██    █████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████    ██   ██   ██    █████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████     █   ██   █     █████████
██████     █████▀    ██████     ███████       ████       ██████████
██████     ▀▀▀▀▀    ▄██████     ████████     ██████     ███████████
██████            ▄████████     ████████     ██████     ███████████
██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄▄██████▄▄▄▄████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.DIWtoken.com.
▄██████████████████▄
███       ▀███████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███              ██
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███              ███
███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███
██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
███████████▀ ███████
█████████▀   ███████
███████▀     ██▀ ███
███ ▀▀       █▄▄████
███          █▀▀▀▀██
███ ▄▄       ███████
██████▄     █▄ ▀███
█████████▄   ███▄███
███████████▄ ███████
▀██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
████████████████████
███████████████▀▀ ██
█████████▀▀     ███
████▀▀     ▄█▀   ███
███▄    ▄██      ███
█████████▀      ▄██
█████████▄     ████
█████████████▄ ▄████
████████████████████
▀██████████████████▀
......SECURITY DECENTRALIZED...
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 28, 2012, 04:23:32 PM
 #6848

Thanks. Plan to once a stable release is out.
2.7.4 gets me ~10% less hashrate than all recent versions (including 2.7.1, 2.7.0 and 2.6.5 for fresh comparisons) on a 5870 with SDK 2.1 (ati-drivers 11.6) on Gentoo amd64.
Didn't test 2.7.2 or 2.7.3.
2.7.2/3 will not even work on sdk2.1. It appears the kernel changes are not so great for sdk2.1. Oh well.
There's a suggestion from IRC that those with ultra low memory clock speeds on sdk2.4/2.5 are seeing this, and going from say 150 to 250 is enough to recover it. Perhaps it's not the SDK at all but the memory speed.

EDIT: Just to further explain why these changes have been made to ALL the kernels. Basically there are some small probability scenarios where some shares are missed by the existing kernel designs. It's not a lot, but given btc mining is entirely a probability game, we need everything on our side.

So there's a chance that previous kernels were hashing just fine, but weren't finding shares. Will this increase U: even by a small amount?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
blksith0
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 28, 2012, 07:25:53 PM
 #6849

Can anyone give an example of a config file? I still can't get cgminer to make one.

Also, does anyone else have their cgminer.exe start using 100% CPU randomly?
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 28, 2012, 07:33:22 PM
 #6850

Can anyone give an example of a config file? I still can't get cgminer to make one.

Also, does anyone else have their cgminer.exe start using 100% CPU randomly?

I can post my config when I get home from work.

What is your I: ?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
blksith0
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 28, 2012, 07:57:03 PM
 #6851

I can post my config when I get home from work.

What is your I: ?

Thanks, it's just on dynamic.
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 986
Merit: 500


DIV - Your "Virtual Life" Secured and Decentralize


View Profile
August 28, 2012, 08:36:10 PM
 #6852

Can anyone give an example of a config file? I still can't get cgminer to make one.

Also, does anyone else have their cgminer.exe start using 100% CPU randomly?

Code:
{
"pools" : [
{
"url" : "http://gpumax.com:8332",
"user" : "UserName",
"pass" : "Password"
},
{
"url" : "http://us3.eclipsemc.com:8337",
"user" : "UserName",
"pass" : "Password"
},
{
"url" : "http://localhost:8331",
"user" : "UserName",
"pass" : "Password"
}
]
,
"api-port" : "####",
"disable-gpu" : true,
"expiry" : "600",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"log" : "5",
"net-delay" : true,
"no-submit-stale" : true,
"protocol-dump" : true,
"queue" : "1",
"retry-pause" : "5",
"scan-time" : "90",
"temp-hysteresis" : "1",
"shares" : "0",
"scan-serial" : [ "bitforce:COM5" ],
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}


I have never seen CGMiner use 100% CPU.

          ▄▄
        ▄█▀▀█▄
      ▄█▀ ▄▄ ▀█▄
      ▀ ▄████▄ ▀
   ▄▀ ▄ ▀████▀ ▄ ▀▄
 ▄▀ ▄███▄ ▀▀ ▄███▄ ▀▄
█  ███████  ███████  █
 ▀▄ ▀███▀ ▄▄ ▀███▀ ▄▀

   ▀▄ ▀ ▄████▄ ▀ ▄▀
      ▄ ▀████▀ ▄
      ▀█▄ ▀▀ ▄█▀
        ▀█▄▄█▀
          ▀▀
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀▀▀████▀▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀▀███████
██████            ▀████████     ████     █████    █████     ███████
██████     ▄▄▄▄▄    ▀██████     █████    ████      ████    ████████
██████     ██████▄    █████     █████    ▀██▀  ▄▄  ▀██▀    ████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████    ██   ██   ██    █████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████    ██   ██   ██    █████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████     █   ██   █     █████████
██████     █████▀    ██████     ███████       ████       ██████████
██████     ▀▀▀▀▀    ▄██████     ████████     ██████     ███████████
██████            ▄████████     ████████     ██████     ███████████
██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄▄██████▄▄▄▄████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.DIWtoken.com.
▄██████████████████▄
███       ▀███████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███              ██
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███              ███
███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███
██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
███████████▀ ███████
█████████▀   ███████
███████▀     ██▀ ███
███ ▀▀       █▄▄████
███          █▀▀▀▀██
███ ▄▄       ███████
██████▄     █▄ ▀███
█████████▄   ███▄███
███████████▄ ███████
▀██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
████████████████████
███████████████▀▀ ██
█████████▀▀     ███
████▀▀     ▄█▀   ███
███▄    ▄██      ███
█████████▀      ▄██
█████████▄     ████
█████████████▄ ▄████
████████████████████
▀██████████████████▀
......SECURITY DECENTRALIZED...
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 28, 2012, 08:45:19 PM
 #6853

I have never seen CGMiner use 100% CPU.

Only time I've ever seen it is when my Intensity is set too high. On 12.8 with a 7970, any I > 9 gives me 100% cpu bug.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 28, 2012, 08:51:15 PM
 #6854

Thanks. Plan to once a stable release is out.
2.7.4 gets me ~10% less hashrate than all recent versions (including 2.7.1, 2.7.0 and 2.6.5 for fresh comparisons) on a 5870 with SDK 2.1 (ati-drivers 11.6) on Gentoo amd64.
Didn't test 2.7.2 or 2.7.3.
2.7.2/3 will not even work on sdk2.1. It appears the kernel changes are not so great for sdk2.1. Oh well.
There's a suggestion from IRC that those with ultra low memory clock speeds on sdk2.4/2.5 are seeing this, and going from say 150 to 250 is enough to recover it. Perhaps it's not the SDK at all but the memory speed.

EDIT: Just to further explain why these changes have been made to ALL the kernels. Basically there are some small probability scenarios where some shares are missed by the existing kernel designs. It's not a lot, but given btc mining is entirely a probability game, we need everything on our side.

So there's a chance that previous kernels were hashing just fine, but weren't finding shares. Will this increase U: even by a small amount?
Yes, but I haven't done the math to figure out how much. Luck will make it impossible to see on a simple kernel swap since luck's effect on U is greater than the magnitude of increase this may afford.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 28, 2012, 09:44:15 PM
 #6855

Can anyone give an example of a config file? I still can't get cgminer to make one.

Also, does anyone else have their cgminer.exe start using 100% CPU randomly?

Code:
{
...
"disable-gpu" : true,
"expiry" : "600",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"log" : "5",
"net-delay" : true,
"no-submit-stale" : true,
"protocol-dump" : true,
"queue" : "1",
"retry-pause" : "5",
"scan-time" : "90",
...
}


I have never seen CGMiner use 100% CPU.
Please, no one, follow the above example without understanding the following options he's using:

Do not set "expiry" : "600", without good reason.

That will mean it will hold all shares generated but not able to be submitted for 10 minutes - which is a long time and could cause problems if you have a high hash rate and network instability.

Do not set "no-submit-stale" : true, without good reason.

It will probably mean a reduction of submitted shares, and on p2pool it can mean throwing away valid blocks.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 986
Merit: 500


DIV - Your "Virtual Life" Secured and Decentralize


View Profile
August 28, 2012, 10:05:13 PM
 #6856

The OP asked for an example. My settings work usually well for my pools. They may not work well for others. But to get someone started it seemed easier to change a couple of settings to match their settings. I was tempted to post it around 2 days ago to help the OP out but I did not as I was sure that someone would point out why my settings are bad for some pool or another. They are bad or P2Pool. I don't use P2Pool. Settings designed for the overly short LP on P2Pool seems as silly as having settings a little excessive the other way. Still I could likely drop the Expiry back to 60 seconds but a 20 second drop out was having discards immediatly after the pool came back up. It seemed like a waste to me. I do see how it could negativly effect people with high hashrates, me I would get 55 shares in 10 minutes give or take a throttle. I have never had it drop for all 10 minutes but I also haven't seen discards because of short dropouts or delays. I assume most of the discards hadn't been successfully submitted before the problems.

          ▄▄
        ▄█▀▀█▄
      ▄█▀ ▄▄ ▀█▄
      ▀ ▄████▄ ▀
   ▄▀ ▄ ▀████▀ ▄ ▀▄
 ▄▀ ▄███▄ ▀▀ ▄███▄ ▀▄
█  ███████  ███████  █
 ▀▄ ▀███▀ ▄▄ ▀███▀ ▄▀

   ▀▄ ▀ ▄████▄ ▀ ▄▀
      ▄ ▀████▀ ▄
      ▀█▄ ▀▀ ▄█▀
        ▀█▄▄█▀
          ▀▀
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀▀▀████▀▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀▀███████
██████            ▀████████     ████     █████    █████     ███████
██████     ▄▄▄▄▄    ▀██████     █████    ████      ████    ████████
██████     ██████▄    █████     █████    ▀██▀  ▄▄  ▀██▀    ████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████    ██   ██   ██    █████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████    ██   ██   ██    █████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████     █   ██   █     █████████
██████     █████▀    ██████     ███████       ████       ██████████
██████     ▀▀▀▀▀    ▄██████     ████████     ██████     ███████████
██████            ▄████████     ████████     ██████     ███████████
██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄▄██████▄▄▄▄████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.DIWtoken.com.
▄██████████████████▄
███       ▀███████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███              ██
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███              ███
███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███
██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
███████████▀ ███████
█████████▀   ███████
███████▀     ██▀ ███
███ ▀▀       █▄▄████
███          █▀▀▀▀██
███ ▄▄       ███████
██████▄     █▄ ▀███
█████████▄   ███▄███
███████████▄ ███████
▀██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
████████████████████
███████████████▀▀ ██
█████████▀▀     ███
████▀▀     ▄█▀   ███
███▄    ▄██      ███
█████████▀      ▄██
█████████▄     ████
█████████████▄ ▄████
████████████████████
▀██████████████████▀
......SECURITY DECENTRALIZED...
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 28, 2012, 11:03:49 PM
 #6857

Well ... there is example.conf that comes with cgminer as stated twice in the README:

Options for command line only:
--config|-c <arg>   Load a JSON-format configuration file
See example.conf for an example configuration.
--help|-h           Print this message
--version|-V        Display version and exit


In the README FAQ:

Q: Can I put multiple pools in the config file?
A: Yes, check the example.conf file. Alternatively, set up everything either on
the command line or via the menu after startup and choose settings->write
config file and the file will be loaded on each startup.


However, no, the following is not JUST a p2pool issue.

Do not set "no-submit-stale" : true, without good reason.

As I stated: "It will probably mean a reduction of submitted shares, and ..."

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 986
Merit: 500


DIV - Your "Virtual Life" Secured and Decentralize


View Profile
August 29, 2012, 06:27:20 AM
 #6858

I see your point. For me it did drop the number of submitted shares. Sure they seemed to be submitted then rejected as prev-blk but it did submit more. My reject rate did drop but I can not gurantee that it was all that configuration option nor that it didn't drop a some shares off accepted. Not all pools request submission of stales. EclipseMC does for me and CGMiner happily sends them (for name coins) and they get rejected as prev-blk. Some I am sure where not rejected and possibly my numbers would be some better without it. I really should try sending stales as I made that config running 2.4.x so it is way old at worst I would only increase my reject ratio. At best I might actually get a valid share from time to time.  

Possibly I mis-stated that. I ment that the 600 second expiry wasn't likely much of an issue except for p2pool. Yes it is a bit over the average block time. It is about right for the expected block time. I know very few blocks will actually land 10 minutes apart. I would guess the number that have is likely very very low. Some are shorter, some longer. 600 seconds on p2pool would be very stupid. it would be about 60 blocks. I couldn't see a way to ask CGMiner nicely to submit all shares from the current block regardless of time except to do that. I wouldn't have messed with it but a pool going down for sometimes less then a second (times for pool disconnects and reconnects matched) would be followed by a series of discarded work. Possibly you can suggest a better setting to fix that issue? EDIT: This may not be an issue at all or was corrected already.


Setting
"net-delay" : false,
"no-submit-stale" : false,

will cause it not to load part of the config file. It seems only the part where those options are false. I tried changing them manually and have found deleting that line entirely will work but changing true to false doesn't work without an error in config file.

I am going out on a limb here and guessing no one has an idea how to fix my problem with mingW.

          ▄▄
        ▄█▀▀█▄
      ▄█▀ ▄▄ ▀█▄
      ▀ ▄████▄ ▀
   ▄▀ ▄ ▀████▀ ▄ ▀▄
 ▄▀ ▄███▄ ▀▀ ▄███▄ ▀▄
█  ███████  ███████  █
 ▀▄ ▀███▀ ▄▄ ▀███▀ ▄▀

   ▀▄ ▀ ▄████▄ ▀ ▄▀
      ▄ ▀████▀ ▄
      ▀█▄ ▀▀ ▄█▀
        ▀█▄▄█▀
          ▀▀
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀▀▀████▀▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀▀███████
██████            ▀████████     ████     █████    █████     ███████
██████     ▄▄▄▄▄    ▀██████     █████    ████      ████    ████████
██████     ██████▄    █████     █████    ▀██▀  ▄▄  ▀██▀    ████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████    ██   ██   ██    █████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████    ██   ██   ██    █████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████     █   ██   █     █████████
██████     █████▀    ██████     ███████       ████       ██████████
██████     ▀▀▀▀▀    ▄██████     ████████     ██████     ███████████
██████            ▄████████     ████████     ██████     ███████████
██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄▄██████▄▄▄▄████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.DIWtoken.com.
▄██████████████████▄
███       ▀███████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███              ██
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███              ███
███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███
██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
███████████▀ ███████
█████████▀   ███████
███████▀     ██▀ ███
███ ▀▀       █▄▄████
███          █▀▀▀▀██
███ ▄▄       ███████
██████▄     █▄ ▀███
█████████▄   ███▄███
███████████▄ ███████
▀██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
████████████████████
███████████████▀▀ ██
█████████▀▀     ███
████▀▀     ▄█▀   ███
███▄    ▄██      ███
█████████▀      ▄██
█████████▄     ████
█████████████▄ ▄████
████████████████████
▀██████████████████▀
......SECURITY DECENTRALIZED...
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 382
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 29, 2012, 09:55:28 AM
 #6859

Having trouble with mingW.
Windows 7 64 bit.
Followed the directions I believe correctly.
Problem:
No errors on the line with configure
CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure --disable-opencl --disable-adl --enable-bitforce

Make gives me a bunch of lines that seemed ok. then missing a imp_curl

ending with this
collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [cgminer.exe] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/user/ckolivas-cgminer-b768758'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/user/ckolivas-cgminer-b768758'
make: *** [all] Error 2

I am going out on a limb here and guessing no one has an idea how to fix my problem with mingW.

Did you forget to, or improperly modify "\MinGW\lib\pkgconfig\libcurl.pc"?

As per the documentation...

Edit the file \MinGW\lib\pkgconfig\libcurl.pc and change "-lcurl" to
"-lcurl -lcurldll".

If that is not it, then more of the output from make is needed otherwise I am just guessing.


Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 29, 2012, 10:13:52 AM
 #6860

...
Setting
"net-delay" : false,
"no-submit-stale" : false,
...
Boolean options are off by default, so you either want to turn them on (true) or not put them in the config file

... well that's how the code works anyway Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Pages: « 1 ... 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 [343] 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!