Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 12:31:44 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 [387] 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 ... 841 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5664820 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 22, 2012, 11:47:16 PM
 #7721

I notice that i am getting many more rejected shares now that im using 2.8.4 compared to 2.7.5. I usualy get about 10 rejected shares per 20 000 accepted shares. Now with 2.8.4 ive gotten 200
Nothing's changed in management therein, so I can only assume it's coincidence and pool related.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1511483504
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511483504

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511483504
Reply with quote  #2

1511483504
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511483504
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511483504

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511483504
Reply with quote  #2

1511483504
Report to moderator
1511483504
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511483504

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511483504
Reply with quote  #2

1511483504
Report to moderator
1511483504
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511483504

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511483504
Reply with quote  #2

1511483504
Report to moderator
ryann
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 11:48:19 PM
 #7722

I notice that i am getting many more rejected shares now that im using 2.8.4 compared to 2.7.5. I usualy get about 10 rejected shares per 20 000 accepted shares. Now with 2.8.4 ive gotten 200
Nothing's changed in management therein, so I can only assume it's coincidence and pool related.

I immediately stopped the 2.8.4 and restarted 2.7.5 and i have no stale shares at all yet. Soemthing is definetly up
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 22, 2012, 11:51:10 PM
 #7723

I notice that i am getting many more rejected shares now that im using 2.8.4 compared to 2.7.5. I usualy get about 10 rejected shares per 20 000 accepted shares. Now with 2.8.4 ive gotten 200
Nothing's changed in management therein, so I can only assume it's coincidence and pool related.

I immediately stopped the 2.8.4 and restarted 2.7.5 and i have no stale shares at all yet. Soemthing is definetly up
Did you move to stratum with 2.8.4?

EDIT: To explain why I ask that, cgminer + stratum gets notification of block changes much faster than ever so it should reduce the number of stales. On the other hand, I have noticed that slush uses that as an excuse to ignore any shares that are returned from the previous block immediately once it has stratum notified you of the new block saying job not recognised, so to me it looks like stales on slush went up, not down, despite the potential advantages. I'm not sure how btcguild fares there.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2282


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 23, 2012, 01:50:15 AM
 #7724

... as per API-README - you say in cgminer what IP addresses are allowed to access cgminer.
Then in miner.php you say the IP:port:randomshortname of the cgminer
Yeah, I forgot to mention that I did that. I set the allowed addresses in the config file, and as you saw below that statement, I added it to miner.php.

... as per the README FAQ ... it means sockets are either disabled on not installed in your PHP
There is a link in the FAQ.

That's the part I can't figure out.

Code:
Q: I run PHP on windows to access the API with the example miner.php. Why does
it fail when php is installed properly but I only get errors about Sockets not
working in the logs?
A: http://us.php.net/manual/en/sockets.installation.php
 

I am not running PHP on windows. I have bluehost, and they use apache.  Visiting that link doesn't help me. I don't know what this means, or how to do it:

Code:
The socket functions described here are part of an extension to PHP which must be enabled at compile time by giving the --enable-sockets option to configure.

There's a user note on that page that says you need to uncomment the line that reads
;extension=php_sockets.dll (by removing the semi colon), or if it's not there, to add it.  I don't know where to add it, so I added it to the end.  Still having same error.

So, AS PER THE README FAQ, I am not running php on windows to access the API, so I didn't think it applied.

This is not a priority because I only want to monitor one rig, and I can use CMD.exe to run API calls. (it's just that it doesn't like when I use the pipe, for some reason)

Thanks for your help. Anyone got it working on bluehost? LMK.

I will continue to interface with the google for now.
Well if sockets are actually working (the link there is about how to enable them when they aren't working) then it's a problem with the socket connecting to the target.

So it's a firewall/port forwarding problem if sockets are installed properly and enabled in PHP
(they are on by default usually in linux, but not always in windows)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Sant001
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
October 23, 2012, 03:25:34 AM
 #7725

How to enter multiple pools from the command line?
GlenBot
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
October 23, 2012, 03:29:59 AM
 #7726

How to enter multiple pools from the command line?

Here's my shortcut that launches it upon startup (win7):
C:\cgminer\cgminer.exe -o http://pool.bitclockers.com:8332 -u MyPoolUsername1 -p MyPoolPassword1 -o http://mtred.com:8337 -u MyPoolUsername2 -p MyPoolPassword2 --load-balance

Hope that helps...

Sant001
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
October 23, 2012, 04:03:51 AM
 #7727

Perfect, thanks GlenBot!
PandaMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
October 23, 2012, 04:48:59 AM
 #7728

Well if sockets are actually working (the link there is about how to enable them when they aren't working) then it's a problem with the socket connecting to the target.

So it's a firewall/port forwarding problem if sockets are installed properly and enabled in PHP
(they are on by default usually in linux, but not always in windows)

That's what I figured.  I will update this thread if I ever find a solution. I am trying out some experiments from the php.net website.

CENTRA

            ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████████████████▄▄
      ▄███████▀▀         ▀▀███████▄
    ▄█████▀                  ▀██████
   █████▀      ▄▄▄█████▄▄      ▀█████▄
  █████     ▄██████████████▄     ▀████▄
 █████     ██████▀▀  ▀▀██████▄    ▀████
▐████     █████          █████     █████
█████    ▐████                     ▐████
█████    █████                     ▐████
█████     █████          ▄████▌    █████
 ████▌    ▀█████▄▄    ▄▄█████▀    ▄████▌
 ▀████▄     ▀██████████████▀     ▄████▀
  ▀█████▄     `▀████████▀▀     ▄█████▀
   `██████▄                  ▄██████
     ▀███████▄▄          ▄▄███████▀
       ▀██████████████████████▀
           ▀▀▀█████████████▀▀

.
.
.
.
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2282


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 23, 2012, 06:20:53 AM
 #7729

Well if sockets are actually working (the link there is about how to enable them when they aren't working) then it's a problem with the socket connecting to the target.

So it's a firewall/port forwarding problem if sockets are installed properly and enabled in PHP
(they are on by default usually in linux, but not always in windows)

That's what I figured.  I will update this thread if I ever find a solution. I am trying out some experiments from the php.net website.
If you 'roll' on over to FreeNode #cgminer it's usually easy to sort out where the problem is.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1253


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
October 23, 2012, 08:27:27 AM
 #7730

Any ideas about how to fix "hanging" on windows when ADL is enabled?
cgminer frozen after about 3-4hrs of mining yesterday :/ I`m not getting it, it always happen when I`m away form pc and user is switched to login screen.

I`m using now startup batch:
Code:
cgminer --shares 1
cgminer --no-adl
1st instance is setting up clocks and exit after one share, 2nd one is mining.

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 23, 2012, 08:29:58 AM
 #7731

User switching on windows does mystical voodoo the adl library doesn't like.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 303



View Profile
October 23, 2012, 08:39:12 AM
 #7732

is there any chance of a GUI to be made for this to make miners and configs a lot simpler etc like over clocking settings miner settings then add in and done makes it up

Most likely not.  You can use the menu's within Cgminer to set those settings and then save a conf file. Further startups of Cgminer would use that saved conf file.

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
Roland68
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96



View Profile
October 23, 2012, 08:41:49 AM
 #7733

Hi, what would be the parameter syntax in the cgminer.conf file to stop the stratum protocol on btcguils and returning to the old connect way ?

I have 3 PC's ans all 3 are crashing after some time ... at the same time ... (must be stratum/pool related).

thanks for your help.
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1253


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
October 23, 2012, 08:49:43 AM
 #7734

User switching on windows does mystical voodoo the adl library doesn't like.
It is impossible to catch that somehow?
Some watchdog on ADL thread to detect and fix when it happen?
ADL thingy is good to disable mining when it is overheating.
It is my desktop pc, so i need to switch user to allow my kids play on theirs accounts...

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 23, 2012, 09:39:10 AM
 #7735

User switching on windows does mystical voodoo the adl library doesn't like.
It is impossible to catch that somehow?
Some watchdog on ADL thread to detect and fix when it happen?
ADL thingy is good to disable mining when it is overheating.
It is my desktop pc, so i need to switch user to allow my kids play on theirs accounts...
Alas not that I'm aware of.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 23, 2012, 09:43:22 AM
 #7736

New version: 2.8.5, 23rd October 2012

Minor bugfix version.


Human readable changelog

More minor stratum fixes hopefully addressing some of the remaining windows crashes. No debugging has been able to capture their actual cause as of yet.
cgminer now tries to actually catch crashes and unless the --no-restart option is given, it will try to restart cleanly. Yes this is a desperate but hopefully quite useful thing to do.
A small delay is added between queues when the network is out to prevent the huge sudden spikes in queued values.
It was possible to run out of work if a stratum pool was going down often and cgminer was resorting to a regular getwork pool.
Build fixes for mingw builds on windows.
Stratum information now in the API.


Full changelog

- Handle crash exceptions by trying to restart cgminer unless the --no-restart
option is used.
- Switch queued count when choosing a different pool from a failed stratum pool
in getwork thread.
- Put a mandatory 5s wait between reattempting a getwork on failure to avoid
hammering requests.
- The ATI stream / AMD APP SDK environment variables appear to only interfere
with win32 builds so bypass them.
- Make sure to check pool stratum curl exists under lock before attempting any
recv to not risk dereferencing upon attempting to reinitiate stratum.
- Avoid redefining macros and align to 4 byte boundaries.
- API - add Stratum information to pools
- update FPGA-README for MMQ

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2282


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 23, 2012, 10:05:43 AM
 #7737

cut/paste ...

2.8.5
An Xubuntu 11.04 x86_64 executable is in my github downloads called cgminer-2.8.5a
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/downloads
(it also works on Fedora 16 and 17)

For anyone who didn't realise, it's just the executable file to put in place of 'cgminer'
Nothing else needs changing
First get and extract the full binary release from ckolivas and then copy my file in place of 'cgminer'

The same configure options as cvolivas' binary version
In case anyone was wondering:
CFLAGS="-O2 -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-ztex --enable-modminer --enable-scrypt
make clean
make

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498



View Profile
October 23, 2012, 10:21:10 AM
 #7738

I'm still using 2.8.4.  Yesterday I'd swear it restarted itself.  I manually removed all the pools I didn't want using the P command, but they were still in the config file.  A few hours later I noticed my p2pool activity had dropped to zero again, so I checked it.  cgminer was mining away to a pool that wasn't supposed to be there, and a pool I'd added manually was no longer there!  I'm 99% positive I didn't restart it, and I don't have any scripts that would restart it if it crashed.  After that I edited the config file to put it the way I wanted...

M

New version: 2.8.5, 23rd October 2012

Minor bugfix version.


Human readable changelog

More minor stratum fixes hopefully addressing some of the remaining windows crashes. No debugging has been able to capture their actual cause as of yet.
cgminer now tries to actually catch crashes and unless the --no-restart option is given, it will try to restart cleanly. Yes this is a desperate but hopefully quite useful thing to do.
A small delay is added between queues when the network is out to prevent the huge sudden spikes in queued values.
It was possible to run out of work if a stratum pool was going down often and cgminer was resorting to a regular getwork pool.
Build fixes for mingw builds on windows.
Stratum information now in the API.


Full changelog

- Handle crash exceptions by trying to restart cgminer unless the --no-restart
option is used.
- Switch queued count when choosing a different pool from a failed stratum pool
in getwork thread.
- Put a mandatory 5s wait between reattempting a getwork on failure to avoid
hammering requests.
- The ATI stream / AMD APP SDK environment variables appear to only interfere
with win32 builds so bypass them.
- Make sure to check pool stratum curl exists under lock before attempting any
recv to not risk dereferencing upon attempting to reinitiate stratum.
- Avoid redefining macros and align to 4 byte boundaries.
- API - add Stratum information to pools
- update FPGA-README for MMQ


I'm X-Fueled.  Are you? 
Tip for NiceHash: use their wallet to decrease fees!  Check out Helium!  Referral for Cryptopia.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 23, 2012, 10:22:30 AM
 #7739

User switching on windows does mystical voodoo the adl library doesn't like.
It is impossible to catch that somehow?
Some watchdog on ADL thread to detect and fix when it happen?
ADL thingy is good to disable mining when it is overheating.
It is my desktop pc, so i need to switch user to allow my kids play on theirs accounts...

I have CGMiner in the startup.  So my kid logs my session out, which shuts down CGMiner, and logs into his which starts CGMiner again.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 23, 2012, 10:24:59 AM
 #7740

I'm still using 2.8.4.  Yesterday I'd swear it restarted itself.  I manually removed all the pools I didn't want using the P command, but they were still in the config file.  A few hours later I noticed my p2pool activity had dropped to zero again, so I checked it.  cgminer was mining away to a pool that wasn't supposed to be there, and a pool I'd added manually was no longer there!  I'm 99% positive I didn't restart it, and I don't have any scripts that would restart it if it crashed.  After that I edited the config file to put it the way I wanted...
There is only one occasion where cgminer restarts itself prior to version 2.8.5: That is when the fanspeed monitoring fails on windows. It used to be the bane of my existence quite a few versions ago where people would either lose their fanspeed monitoring or cgminer would crash. Now it sneakily restarts itself if the ATI driver's fanspeed monitoring stops working so it can get it going again.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 [387] 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 ... 841 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!