Bitcoin Forum
February 21, 2019, 08:53:44 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 [393] 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 ... 844 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5776754 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (2 posts by 2 users deleted.)
enmaku
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 02:50:34 AM
 #7841

After my recent upgrade to 2.9 I started getting a lot of this:

Code:
[2012-11-05 18:43:46] BFL0: Garbled response probably throttling, clearing buffer
 [2012-11-05 18:43:49] BFL0: Comms error

It happens quite often, every 10-20 lines or so and I'm watching the BFL unit mine and there are no blinky lights to indicate throttling...

Also, every once in a while, I'll come back to my computer to find that cgminer isn't running. I don't see any errors, it starts back up just fine, it just mysteriously stops running...

Is there some kind of debug flag I can set to figure out what's causing these two problems and if they're related?
1550739224
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550739224

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550739224
Reply with quote  #2

1550739224
Report to moderator
1550739224
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550739224

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550739224
Reply with quote  #2

1550739224
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2800
Merit: 1154


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2012, 02:51:42 AM
Last edit: November 06, 2012, 03:56:41 AM by ckolivas
 #7842

Switching from a stratum pool to a gbt pool is a little broken it seems on 2.9.0... No need to report this bug  Lips sealed

EDIT: Hotfix quick update to 2.9.1 getting rid of this bug.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2730
Merit: 1103


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 04:35:20 AM
 #7843

After my recent upgrade to 2.9 I started getting a lot of this:

Code:
[2012-11-05 18:43:46] BFL0: Garbled response probably throttling, clearing buffer
 [2012-11-05 18:43:49] BFL0: Comms error

It happens quite often, every 10-20 lines or so and I'm watching the BFL unit mine and there are no blinky lights to indicate throttling...

Also, every once in a while, I'll come back to my computer to find that cgminer isn't running. I don't see any errors, it starts back up just fine, it just mysteriously stops running...

Is there some kind of debug flag I can set to figure out what's causing these two problems and if they're related?
Best bet would be a bad USB cable.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
enmaku
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 07:01:59 AM
 #7844

After my recent upgrade to 2.9 I started getting a lot of this:

Code:
[2012-11-05 18:43:46] BFL0: Garbled response probably throttling, clearing buffer
 [2012-11-05 18:43:49] BFL0: Comms error

It happens quite often, every 10-20 lines or so and I'm watching the BFL unit mine and there are no blinky lights to indicate throttling...

Also, every once in a while, I'll come back to my computer to find that cgminer isn't running. I don't see any errors, it starts back up just fine, it just mysteriously stops running...

Is there some kind of debug flag I can set to figure out what's causing these two problems and if they're related?
Best bet would be a bad USB cable.

A USB cable that worked fine for several months then magically broke at the exact moment that I upgraded cgminer?
jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 446
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 06, 2012, 07:13:01 AM
 #7845

After my recent upgrade to 2.9 I started getting a lot of this:

Code:
[2012-11-05 18:43:46] BFL0: Garbled response probably throttling, clearing buffer
 [2012-11-05 18:43:49] BFL0: Comms error

It happens quite often, every 10-20 lines or so and I'm watching the BFL unit mine and there are no blinky lights to indicate throttling...

Also, every once in a while, I'll come back to my computer to find that cgminer isn't running. I don't see any errors, it starts back up just fine, it just mysteriously stops running...

Is there some kind of debug flag I can set to figure out what's causing these two problems and if they're related?
Best bet would be a bad USB cable.

A USB cable that worked fine for several months then magically broke at the exact moment that I upgraded cgminer?

Give it a try at least. kano is telling you what the likely issue it. The message you are seeing I have had to deal with off and on for months. Its either been usb issues or bad cooling due to thermal grease/fan problems.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2730
Merit: 1103


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 07:37:41 AM
 #7846

After my recent upgrade to 2.9 I started getting a lot of this:

Code:
[2012-11-05 18:43:46] BFL0: Garbled response probably throttling, clearing buffer
 [2012-11-05 18:43:49] BFL0: Comms error

It happens quite often, every 10-20 lines or so and I'm watching the BFL unit mine and there are no blinky lights to indicate throttling...

Also, every once in a while, I'll come back to my computer to find that cgminer isn't running. I don't see any errors, it starts back up just fine, it just mysteriously stops running...

Is there some kind of debug flag I can set to figure out what's causing these two problems and if they're related?
Best bet would be a bad USB cable.

A USB cable that worked fine for several months then magically broke at the exact moment that I upgraded cgminer?
Well - it's like this.
You want to HOPE it's a bad USB cable problem that often people have with BFLs

On the other hand it could be something worse ...

To add doom and gloom to the discussion, things often fail when they change - specifically turning them off and on or letting them cool down and heat up (if no power cycle)

Software change is VERY unlikely since no one has changed the BFL code for a month.
Not impossible of course, but certainly not a likely suspect.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2800
Merit: 1154


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2012, 07:39:55 AM
 #7847

Software change is VERY unlikely since no one has changed the BFL code for a month.
Not impossible of course, but certainly not a likely suspect.
Right, none of the fpga code has been touched in a while. On the other hand, cgminer keeps devices busier than ever so if they're borderline, it will push them over.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 807
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
November 06, 2012, 07:53:16 AM
 #7848

Request for help...

I have 2 CM1s mining in Australia due to high elec costs...Over the last few weeks I have noticed that they only mine for between a few minutes to a few hours (8 tops). Having said this, the best I have done is 2 days str8 mining.

They just appear to drop of the USB line with a "boink" then cgminer reports they are "OFF". I have been using cgminer 2.7.0 > 2.8.4 on a Win 7 system with the same reuslts...could I please get some stability help. (whilling to sheel out BTC for help)

P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1020


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 08:57:21 AM
Last edit: November 06, 2012, 05:05:43 PM by P_Shep
 #7849

After my recent upgrade to 2.9 I started getting a lot of this:

Code:
[2012-11-05 18:43:46] BFL0: Garbled response probably throttling, clearing buffer
 [2012-11-05 18:43:49] BFL0: Comms error

It happens quite often, every 10-20 lines or so and I'm watching the BFL unit mine and there are no blinky lights to indicate throttling...

Also, every once in a while, I'll come back to my computer to find that cgminer isn't running. I don't see any errors, it starts back up just fine, it just mysteriously stops running...

Is there some kind of debug flag I can set to figure out what's causing these two problems and if they're related?
Best bet would be a bad USB cable.

A USB cable that worked fine for several months then magically broke at the exact moment that I upgraded cgminer?


Well - it's like this.
You want to HOPE it's a bad USB cable problem that often people have with BFLs

On the other hand it could be something worse ...

To add doom and gloom to the discussion, things often fail when they change - specifically turning them off and on or letting them cool down and heat up (if no power cycle)

Software change is VERY unlikely since no one has changed the BFL code for a month.
Not impossible of course, but certainly not a likely suspect.

One of my units up a died on me today. Kinda.

Re-flashed it and it started working again. Had a short power cut which probably initiated it, but still an odd failure... How does the firmware just up disappear?

Edit: Fix garbled quoting.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2730
Merit: 1103


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 09:20:48 AM
 #7850

Yeah that's what happened to me as I have mentioned before back around July I think it was.
My BFL half died (one FPGA stopped working randomly then long term then random ...)
Then eventually it stopped working completely so I tried to reflash it with the 880 bitstream ... to try kill it Smiley
It's been fine hashing away on that since then (just a few throttles on hot days a couple of times)
So yeah reflash is also another option if the BFL is actually playing up due to that.
That's also a rather simple thing to try in windows or linux.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2730
Merit: 1103


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 09:36:58 AM
 #7851

Request for help...

I have 2 CM1s mining in Australia due to high elec costs...Over the last few weeks I have noticed that they only mine for between a few minutes to a few hours (8 tops). Having said this, the best I have done is 2 days str8 mining.

They just appear to drop of the USB line with a "boink" then cgminer reports they are "OFF". I have been using cgminer 2.7.0 > 2.8.4 on a Win 7 system with the same reuslts...could I please get some stability help. (whilling to sheel out BTC for help)
The base Icarus has no MHz control or temperature reading.
Thus if there is a heat issue, cgminer won't tell you about it

I've no idea how to ask a CM1 for the temperature, and if you send it to an Icarus, it will not work
- nor any idea what problem that would cause the Icarus.

Someone was gonna send me a CM1 a while back but they changed their mind.
So I don't have one.

Back when CM1s were first around I wrote the basic support of devices with varying speeds that work like an Icarus
(since I could test it on an Icarus also and get either the expected results or the expected failure)
- with options about expected clock speed and FPGA counts to ensure the hashing is correct and baud rate since early CM1 were 57600.

End of story Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 06, 2012, 09:44:09 AM
 #7852

I have 2 CM1s mining in Australia due to high elec costs...Over the last few weeks I have noticed that they only mine for between a few minutes to a few hours (8 tops). Having said this, the best I have done is 2 days str8 mining.
Did you try using a (powered) usb hub?

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 807
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
November 06, 2012, 10:37:53 AM
 #7853

I have 2 CM1s mining in Australia due to high elec costs...Over the last few weeks I have noticed that they only mine for between a few minutes to a few hours (8 tops). Having said this, the best I have done is 2 days str8 mining.
Did you try using a (powered) usb hub?
No powered USB hub as the gigabyte MB has 3*power USB ports. I do have my eye on a nice Dr who powered hub though...will give it a try

Have you found this to be a good solution on ur rigs?

Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 807
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
November 06, 2012, 10:39:52 AM
 #7854

Request for help...

I have 2 CM1s mining in Australia due to high elec costs...Over the last few weeks I have noticed that they only mine for between a few minutes to a few hours (8 tops). Having said this, the best I have done is 2 days str8 mining.

They just appear to drop of the USB line with a "boink" then cgminer reports they are "OFF". I have been using cgminer 2.7.0 > 2.8.4 on a Win 7 system with the same reuslts...could I please get some stability help. (whilling to sheel out BTC for help)
The base Icarus has no MHz control or temperature reading.
Thus if there is a heat issue, cgminer won't tell you about it

I've no idea how to ask a CM1 for the temperature, and if you send it to an Icarus, it will not work
- nor any idea what problem that would cause the Icarus.

Someone was gonna send me a CM1 a while back but they changed their mind.
So I don't have one.

Back when CM1s were first around I wrote the basic support of devices with varying speeds that work like an Icarus
(since I could test it on an Icarus also and get either the expected results or the expected failure)
- with options about expected clock speed and FPGA counts to ensure the hashing is correct and baud rate since early CM1 were 57600.

End of story Tongue

It is only spring here so hope the heat is not the issue....

I will try cycling back to a 200MHs stream though

ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 06, 2012, 02:40:23 PM
 #7855

I have 2 CM1s mining in Australia due to high elec costs...Over the last few weeks I have noticed that they only mine for between a few minutes to a few hours (8 tops). Having said this, the best I have done is 2 days str8 mining.
Did you try using a (powered) usb hub?
No powered USB hub as the gigabyte MB has 3*power USB ports. I do have my eye on a nice Dr who powered hub though...will give it a try

Have you found this to be a good solution on ur rigs?
Yes, I had problems with a high-S/N board. After connecting it via a (powered) USB hub it worked great. The problem isn't that the USB port of your mainboard can't provide enough power, but that there seems to be some kind of "interference/noise" going through the USB cable and to the mainboard, making the USB link unstable. The USB hub should "protect" the mainboard.

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
ancow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 373
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2012, 08:46:50 PM
 #7856

Latest cgminer from git doesn't seem to want to do long polling in conjunction with p2pool any more. Pastebin link to log: http://pastebin.com/g3A3z1hb (note line 46, where the long polling URL is sent)

After reverting to 2.8.7 (git checkout v2.8.7), long polling works again.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2800
Merit: 1154


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2012, 10:27:56 PM
 #7857

Latest cgminer from git doesn't seem to want to do long polling in conjunction with p2pool any more. Pastebin link to log: http://pastebin.com/g3A3z1hb (note line 46, where the long polling URL is sent)

After reverting to 2.8.7 (git checkout v2.8.7), long polling works again.
Thanks, will investigate.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 807
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
November 07, 2012, 01:37:44 AM
 #7858

I have 2 CM1s mining in Australia due to high elec costs...Over the last few weeks I have noticed that they only mine for between a few minutes to a few hours (8 tops). Having said this, the best I have done is 2 days str8 mining.
Did you try using a (powered) usb hub?
No powered USB hub as the gigabyte MB has 3*power USB ports. I do have my eye on a nice Dr who powered hub though...will give it a try

Have you found this to be a good solution on ur rigs?
Yes, I had problems with a high-S/N board. After connecting it via a (powered) USB hub it worked great. The problem isn't that the USB port of your mainboard can't provide enough power, but that there seems to be some kind of "interference/noise" going through the USB cable and to the mainboard, making the USB link unstable. The USB hub should "protect" the mainboard.

thnx...sounds like a good excuse to acquire a DR Who Tardis 4 port powered hub....    Grin

Naelr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2012, 02:56:29 AM
 #7859

OK I looked.. used the search function and even google but can't find an answer to this question...  I posted on a new thread and was directed to this one.  My question is why will cgminer running on ubuntu 12.04 64 bit will not submit shares (in a timely manner) for scrypt mining.  Hashrate in the cgminer console is ~310Kh/s but share submits are reporting 2Kh/s

Here is my post https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=120773.0

When I posted it I was running 2.7.5 and now I am running 2.8.7 and having the same problem.  Any ideas?
Any help is much appreciated.

Naelr

I think my post got trumped by release 2.9.0... anyone have any ideas?

Naelr

Join me in hosted mining.  And always use 2 Factor Auth whenever possible.
CEX.IO hosting mining
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1360
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2012, 02:45:10 PM
 #7860

Latest cgminer from git doesn't seem to want to do long polling in conjunction with p2pool any more. Pastebin link to log: http://pastebin.com/g3A3z1hb (note line 46, where the long polling URL is sent)

After reverting to 2.8.7 (git checkout v2.8.7), long polling works again.
Thanks, will investigate.
Confirmed, same there on 2.9.1
Code:
cgminer version 2.9.1 - Started: [2012-11-07 15:42:23]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (3s):13.01M (avg):11.27Mh/s | Q:3  A:0  R:1  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.0/m
 TQ: 0  ST: 1  SS: 0  DW: 0  NB: 1  LW: 0  GF: 0  RF: 0  WU: 0.5
 Connected to rav3n.dtdns.net without LP as user toy.gpu
 Block: 033c5d4cfc943e4f85e5a5ec...  Started: [15:42:23]  Best share: 1
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  61.0C  48%    | 12.79M/11.27Mh/s | A:0 R:1 HW:0 U:0.00/m I: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2012-11-07 15:42:22] Started cgminer 2.9.1
 [2012-11-07 15:42:22] Loaded configuration file cgminer.conf
 [2012-11-07 15:42:22] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-11-07 15:42:23] No suitable long-poll found for pool http://rav3n.dtdns.net:9332
 [2012-11-07 15:42:47] Rejected b636ebc2 Diff 1/1 GPU 0

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
Pages: « 1 ... 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 [393] 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 ... 844 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!