Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:56:52 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 [371] 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4824258 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
October 07, 2012, 08:59:25 AM
 #7401

Any stats on how much kb/s would be transferred to a pool for a generic hashrate of like 60Ghash/s ?

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
1481263012
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263012

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263012
Reply with quote  #2

1481263012
Report to moderator
1481263012
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263012

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263012
Reply with quote  #2

1481263012
Report to moderator
1481263012
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263012

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263012
Reply with quote  #2

1481263012
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481263012
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263012

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263012
Reply with quote  #2

1481263012
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 07, 2012, 09:53:20 AM
 #7402

Any stats on how much kb/s would be transferred to a pool for a generic hashrate of like 60Ghash/s ?
Not offhand because it depends on how often the pool sends out a notify update and whether they support variable diff targets. The difference is there is only one lot of new information sent from the pool every 30-60 seconds regardless of the hashrate of the miner which is starkly different to the standard "getwork" protocol. If you tie that into variable diff shares, then you can theoretically make the network transfer volume STATIC regardless of the miner's hashrate with stratum.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 07, 2012, 11:21:06 AM
 #7403

cut/paste ...

2.8.0
An Xubuntu 11.04 x86_64 executable is in my github downloads called cgminer-2.8.0a
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/downloads
(it also works on Fedora 16 and 17)

For anyone who didn't realise, it's just the executable file to put in place of 'cgminer'
Nothing else needs changing
First get and extract the full binary release from ckolivas and then copy my file in place of 'cgminer'

No problems so far on my BFL or my '2xGPU+2xIcarus' (for half an hour) on normal pools

The same configure options as cvolivas' binary version
In case anyone was wondering:
CFLAGS="-O2 -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-ztex --enable-modminer --enable-scrypt
make clean
make

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
October 07, 2012, 02:13:43 PM
 #7404

Hi,

I just got a Sapphire 5970 4GB with a very odd behavior. I already own another of the very same model (verified the SKUs) which works perfectly.
This Sapphire refuses to report its fan speed with aticonfig
Code:
--pplib-cmd "get fanspeed 0"
.

I usually don't use aticonfig, but for an odd reason, cgminer's TUI freezed with this card and a "-D" run reported a problem getting the fan speed.

I tried to disable everything linked to the fanspeed, leaving voltage/engine/memory controls in my cgminer config. These controls work (aticonfig at least reports engine and memory speed being adjusted). But the freeze still happens: the log is displayed for a while below the status lines at the top of the curses interface, but it eventually stops and the status lines remain empty (which from my experience should only be a temporary state for a couple of seconds when I start cgminer).

The only way to make cgminer work properly with this card is to disable ADL entirely at configure time and recompiling it. Removing all command-line parameters linked to ADL isn't enough.

I suspect that with ADL compiled in, cgminer attempts to read the fan speed for the status lines and is somehow blocked here, interfering with the other threads: some shares are submitted but probably at between 10 and 30% of the expected rate (didn't let it mine in these conditions long enough to have a good estimation) and often with large delays (I mine on p2pool and it rejects most of them as stale).

I'm tempted to dig in the cgminer sources to find out if there's a way to disable fan speed reading for a subset of GPUs, but if anyone has suggestions, I'll happily take them!

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
wind
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile
October 07, 2012, 02:28:51 PM
 #7405

can't compile with opencl support under windows!
Result after
Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure
Code:
Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: pdcurses
  OpenCL...............: NOT FOUND. GPU mining support DISABLED
configure: error: No mining configured in
folder ADL_SDK contains:
adl_defines.h
adl_sdk.h
adl_structures.h

BTC : 1LhadV94a3GqFSFg7eDZiQqERSt78w4fKA
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
October 07, 2012, 03:05:31 PM
 #7406

can't compile with opencl support under windows!
Result after
Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure
Code:
Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: pdcurses
  OpenCL...............: NOT FOUND. GPU mining support DISABLED
configure: error: No mining configured in
folder ADL_SDK contains:
adl_defines.h
adl_sdk.h
adl_structures.h


that is for ADL support, now go back and re-read the windows-build.txt file

**************************************************************************************
* Install AMD APP SDK, latest version (only if you want GPU mining)                  *
**************************************************************************************
Note: You do not need to install the AMD APP SDK if you are only using Nvidia GPU's
Go to this url for the latest AMD APP SDK:
 http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPPSDK/downloads/Pages/default.aspx
Go to this url for legacy AMD APP SDK's:
 http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPPSDK/downloads/pages/AMDAPPSDKDownloadArchive.aspx
Download and install whichever version you like best.
Copy the folders in \Program Files (x86)\AMD APP\include to \MinGW\include
Copy \Program Files (x86)\AMD APP\lib\x86\libOpenCL.a to \MinGW\lib
Note: If you are on a 32 bit version of windows "Program Files (x86)" will be
"Program Files".
Note2: If you update your APP SDK later you might want to recopy the above files

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468



View Profile WWW
October 07, 2012, 04:05:35 PM
 #7407

New version - 2.8.0, 7th October 2012

This version is a massive upgrade compared to the stable 2.7 releases and involves over 1000 lines of changed code and a lot of new work implementing the stratum protocol for pooled mining, which is currently only implemented on slush's and btcguild pools. With such a massive change, breakage is likely but there have been numerous people who have graciously tested along the way paving the way for a much more bug tested release to the public.


<looked, didn't find this answer in the readme/notes/etc>

In the case of X-Stratum headers, what's the behavior on failure of the "promoted" stratum pool? Does it fail back to "demoted" pool, or mark the entire "pool" dead and fall down to the next one?

eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
October 07, 2012, 04:16:51 PM
 #7408

Any stats on how much kb/s would be transferred to a pool for a generic hashrate of like 60Ghash/s ?

On BTC Guild, Stratum also includes variable difficulty to control the rate of share submissions, with a target rate of approximately 1 share per 5 seconds.  

Each share submission is roughly 110 bytes.  So your upstream bandwidth will be approximately 30 bytes per second upstream (a bit higher when you first connect due to not being adjusted to variable difficulty).  A share response is roughly 50 bytes, meaning 10 bytes per second downstream (for share submissions).

New work jobs are delivered every 30 seconds, and clock in at about 700-1100 bytes.  Using 1kb averages, that is 2 kb/min, or roughly 35 bytes per second downstream.

In the end, you're looking at less than 0.5 KB/s for both downstream and upstream communications.  Since backup pools will be receiving jobs as well, add maybe 0.1 KB/s downstream per connected backup pool.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
October 07, 2012, 06:03:05 PM
 #7409

Looks like there's a bug in the stratum support Sad.  If the pool is turned off, cgminer doesn't register that the pool is dead.  This means it never attempts to reconnect when the pool comes back up.  Unable to test if the same thing happens on a local network failure since I'm not in a situation to turn off my router or the PC my FPGAs are plugged into.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
October 07, 2012, 06:15:59 PM
 #7410

I can confirm the bug, cgminer doesn't detect connection failure.

mezzomix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
October 07, 2012, 07:41:56 PM
 #7411

I see a problem with stratum support, too. I use the following pool config:
Code:
"pools" : [
        {
                "url" : "stratum+tcp://api-stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333",
                "user" : "<user>",
                "pass" : "<password>"
        },
        {
                "url" : "stratum+tcp://stratum.btcguild.com:9332",
                "user" : "<user>",
                "pass" : "<password>"
        },
        {
                "url" : "http://mining.eligius.st:8337",
                "user" : "<user>",
                "pass" : "<password>"
        }
]

In cgminer the stratum pools that are not immediately selected are dead. The example config above leads to the following picture in cgminer:

Code:
0: Enabled Alive Priority 0: api-stratum.bitcoin.cz  User:<user>
1: Enabled Dead Priority 1: stratum.btcguild.com  User:<user>
2: Enabled Alive Priority 2: http://mining.eligius.st:8337  User:<user>
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 07, 2012, 08:00:11 PM
 #7412

You should be able to easily replicate this just by setting --thread-concurrency 12288 (which works fine on reaper).

I'm pretty sure the problem has to do with these lines,
Code:
clState->padbufsize = bufsize;
clState->padbuffer8 = clCreateBuffer(clState->context, CL_MEM_READ_WRITE, bufsize, NULL, &status);

For whatever reason your program is calculating 0 for the bufsize.  You should be able to step through this with a debugger and figure it out pretty easily I would presume.
I'm unable to reproduce this anywhere. Can you give me your whole command line minus any account details?

--scrypt -I 20 -g 1 -v 1 -w 256 --shaders 1792 --thread-concurrency 12288 or 24000

Off the top of my head

It's been a noted bug in the windows version since the tittiez beta builds
Now that is just bizarre. I tried it even on a windows machine and it didn't give me zero...

EDIT: Nm, can now reproduce.
Okay I've done quite a bit of investigation around this "0" displayed issue. Ironically, that is a display bug in windows. The buffer size is actually being worked out to something like 1.5 billion, and if it's put on a separate line you can see that bufsize is  not zero (I'll do it in the next version). However this does not fix your original complaint that you can't set very high thread concurrency counts like you could on raper [sic]. But you've reminded me of what happened when I investigated this originally.

There are a number of problems with the way raper uses the padbuffer there. Firstly it is reused between threads which means that if you set multiple threads per device they fight over and can trash the data in the buffer. That's not a huge problem with raper because its threading is pretty primitive, unlike cgminer which is heavily multithreaded. However, the main problem is that there is NO error checking on setting values to run the opencl commands. If it  returns invalid values, raper just does it again, and assumes the hashes have been done. So it intermittently works, and intermittently just counts up a number of hashes that never happened. So what happens is you get a displayed hash rate that is really high that does not translate into a proportional rise in number of shares generated.

Summary: I implore you to compare the best share generation rate of raper to cgminer rather than the displayed hashrate.

I only go by pool hashrate.  Reaper pulls 550kh/s per card versus 460kh/s per card with cgminer.  That's a 20% improvement.  Reaper gets ~3% stales which is more or less the same as compared with cgminer.

edit: tried these settings
Code:
--scrypt --thread-concurrency 8000 --shaders 1792 -I 20 -g 1 -v 1 -w 64


Okay.  The problem is the same as the one with reaper, in that when thread_concurrency is too low 7xxx cards will only yield hardware errors at intensity = 20.  to fix this, you need to use more memory.  if you could, it'd be extremely helpful to add a flag to the program to simply ignore the memory size checking and create the pad on the GPU anyway (for some reason, cgminer is only reporting that my video cards have 512mb of memory when they have 3gb.  I don't know why this is)



basically, i'm pretty sure the problem is that cgminer is calculating the memory size available on the card incorrectly.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
luffy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 606



View Profile
October 07, 2012, 08:32:59 PM
 #7413

high HW values are normal? also utility is very low!
i haven't found yet correct ltc settings for 79xx cards. changing to btc  Wink
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 07, 2012, 08:35:08 PM
 #7414

high HW values are normal? also utility is very low!
i haven't found yet correct ltc settings for 79xx cards. changing to btc  Wink
yeah, i realized it after posting. still broken.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
wind
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile
October 07, 2012, 08:45:05 PM
 #7415

that is for ADL support, now go back and re-read the windows-build.txt file
But it all worked while compiling cgminer 2.7.5
Have APPSDK 2.5
Do I need the latest APPSDK 2.7 ?

BTC : 1LhadV94a3GqFSFg7eDZiQqERSt78w4fKA
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 07, 2012, 09:07:12 PM
 #7416

if you could, it'd be extremely helpful to add a flag to the program to simply ignore the memory size checking and create the pad on the GPU anyway (for some reason, cgminer is only reporting that my video cards have 512mb of memory when they have 3gb.  I don't know why this is)

It will set it to whatever you choose regardless if it can instead of what it detects as the maximum.

The reported size is just the reported max size allocatable by opencl, it is NOT the gpu ramsize. I already said that it will try to set it to what you set it to. It fails, and we are back to my original response - I have no idea why it fails, but that is the response to the command asking for that much memory.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 07, 2012, 09:18:32 PM
 #7417

can't compile with opencl support under windows!
Result after
Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -msse2" ./configure
Code:
Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: pdcurses
  OpenCL...............: NOT FOUND. GPU mining support DISABLED
configure: error: No mining configured in
folder ADL_SDK contains:
adl_defines.h
adl_sdk.h
adl_structures.h
Last time this happened it was a packaging error on my part. I'll reupload shortly. I've reuploaded it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 07, 2012, 09:33:07 PM
 #7418

I can confirm the bug, cgminer doesn't detect connection failure.
It keeps hashing for up to 2 minutes before it  can tell the pool is down. How long did you leave it for?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
October 07, 2012, 09:53:15 PM
 #7419

It keeps hashing for up to 2 minutes before it  can tell the pool is down. How long did you leave it for?

Over 30 minutes? There's something broken in it, really. At this stage I cannot recommend people to update, because when I'll restart the pool (update or whatever), cgminer will freeze forever Sad.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 07, 2012, 10:17:58 PM
 #7420

It keeps hashing for up to 2 minutes before it  can tell the pool is down. How long did you leave it for?

Over 30 minutes? There's something broken in it, really. At this stage I cannot recommend people to update, because when I'll restart the pool (update or whatever), cgminer will freeze forever Sad.
I hate sockets. They never  do what you expect. Ok well it was always going to be a rough introduction.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 [371] 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!