Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 06:51:42 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 [368] 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4826947 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 04, 2012, 11:07:40 PM
 #7341

Stratum update

<snip>
If you're on linux, and can use git, checkout the stratum branch and build from that.
git pull -a && git checkout stratum

Grabbed, compiled, playing with it on a single machine. (wish it had a subversion# or something so I'd know which was running..)  Didn't change a single line of my config file, and it's working for multiple host entries and pools, including moving away from the stratum proxy directly to the stratum pool.

Quote
[2012-10-04 14:46:26] Switching pool 0 http://my.internal.proxy:8332 to stratum+tcp://198.154.98.196:9332

Too soon to tell if there are any issues, but I'll let you know. Thanks again for all your hard work!

btw, what happens if stratum+tcp fails.. does it drop back to http or eliminate the pool# alltogether?





Thanks. At the moment it only tries to use stratum+tcp if the pool supports it. I'll probably try to make it fall back to whichever works if I can.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481395902
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395902

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395902
Reply with quote  #2

1481395902
Report to moderator
1481395902
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395902

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395902
Reply with quote  #2

1481395902
Report to moderator
1481395902
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395902

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395902
Reply with quote  #2

1481395902
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 04, 2012, 11:09:25 PM
 #7342

just checked debug output and it keeps saying:
Code:
[2012-10-04 14:13:27] Failed to parse a \n terminated string in recv_line

I have the same, looks like there's some issue with Stratum+BFL.
I don't think that's it. Others have used this with BFL devices. Something else is trashing buffers somewhere for your setup, I just haven't found where or why yet. In your case slush, you are on ARM architecture so there are even more issues to deal with.

Kaerf, what version of linux/architecture are you on?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468



View Profile WWW
October 04, 2012, 11:15:01 PM
 #7343


Interesting behavior/question with stratum version..

On my test machine, I have pools set up the following way:

0 - stratum proxy
1 - btcguild #1
2 - btcguild #2
3 - btcguild #3

cgminer talked to pool0 (the proxy) and immediately punched right through to the real IP address for the stratum server, not using the proxy any more.

So should bypass the proxy when it sees the header, or should it stay pointed there? (IE what if the stratum server is diff hostname/IP than the configured pool?)

(as a side note, it immediately reduced all 4 pools to a single IP address, based on the headers it received from each server, since btcguild only has 1 stratum server today, but that will change has they add more)


-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 04, 2012, 11:22:50 PM
 #7344


Interesting behavior/question with stratum version..

On my test machine, I have pools set up the following way:

0 - stratum proxy
1 - btcguild #1
2 - btcguild #2
3 - btcguild #3

cgminer talked to pool0 (the proxy) and immediately punched right through to the real IP address for the stratum server, not using the proxy any more.

So should bypass the proxy when it sees the header, or should it stay pointed there? (IE what if the stratum server is diff hostname/IP than the configured pool?)

(as a side note, it immediately reduced all 4 pools to a single IP address, based on the headers it received from each server, since btcguild only has 1 stratum server today, but that will change has they add more)



Right, a question without an obvious answer. The point of the stratum header on the regular getwork pools is to redirect them to a better protocol pool. The fact that btcg redirects all pools to the same one stratum pool is more a sign of early days with btcg having only one stratum server. I'm guessing with time btcg will have 3 stratum servers to match its 3 getwork servers.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
October 04, 2012, 11:31:35 PM
 #7345

Right, a question without an obvious answer. The point of the stratum header on the regular getwork pools is to redirect them to a better protocol pool. The fact that btcg redirects all pools to the same one stratum pool is more a sign of early days with btcg having only one stratum server. I'm guessing with time btcg will have 3 stratum servers to match its 3 getwork servers.

I'll be updating the BTC Guild getwork-based backends to use different X-Stratum redirects this week, now that we're starting to see integration in the most widely used miner.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468



View Profile WWW
October 04, 2012, 11:35:38 PM
 #7346

Right, a question without an obvious answer. The point of the stratum header on the regular getwork pools is to redirect them to a better protocol pool. The fact that btcg redirects all pools to the same one stratum pool is more a sign of early days with btcg having only one stratum server. I'm guessing with time btcg will have 3 stratum servers to match its 3 getwork servers.

I'll be updating the BTC Guild getwork-based backends to use different X-Stratum redirects this week, now that we're starting to see integration in the most widely used miner.

Thank you!
jork
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15



View Profile
October 04, 2012, 11:39:11 PM
 #7347

Leakage question...

I'm mining with cgminer with 2 workers one on ubuntu 12 and the other on windows 7 and I see the same odd behavior on both...

I've got 2 pools configured as failover (I did not choose load balance or rotate or anything like that), and about 80% of the time I see "leakage" over to my secondary pool! Weird.

I'm mining at 4500Mh/s at bitminter (2 workers) with no overt pool switching--either automatically or by my choice. I keep it steadily pointed at bitminter....But most of the time I'm seeing about 14Mh/s coming from my 2 workers to Mtred--my secondary pool!

I see no indication of this in either worker's console--they both look solidly connected to bitminter. I don't have any connection errors or slow communication or anything. Everything looks great except there's 14Mh/s leakage to Mtred from both workers.

What gives?? Any ideas?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 04, 2012, 11:44:25 PM
 #7348

Leakage question...

I'm mining with cgminer with 2 workers one on ubuntu 12 and the other on windows 7 and I see the same odd behavior on both...

I've got 2 pools configured as failover (I did not choose load balance or rotate or anything like that), and about 80% of the time I see "leakage" over to my secondary pool! Weird.

I'm mining at 4500Mh/s at bitminter (2 workers) with no overt pool switching--either automatically or by my choice. I keep it steadily pointed at bitminter....But most of the time I'm seeing about 14Mh/s coming from my 2 workers to Mtred--my secondary pool!

I see no indication of this in either worker's console--they both look solidly connected to bitminter. I don't have any connection errors or slow communication or anything. Everything looks great except there's 14Mh/s leakage to Mtred from both workers.

What gives?? Any ideas?
Read the readme faq

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jork
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15



View Profile
October 05, 2012, 12:14:29 AM
 #7349

Leakage question...

I'm mining with cgminer with 2 workers one on ubuntu 12 and the other on windows 7 and I see the same odd behavior on both...

I've got 2 pools configured as failover (I did not choose load balance or rotate or anything like that), and about 80% of the time I see "leakage" over to my secondary pool! Weird.

I'm mining at 4500Mh/s at bitminter (2 workers) with no overt pool switching--either automatically or by my choice. I keep it steadily pointed at bitminter....But most of the time I'm seeing about 14Mh/s coming from my 2 workers to Mtred--my secondary pool!

I see no indication of this in either worker's console--they both look solidly connected to bitminter. I don't have any connection errors or slow communication or anything. Everything looks great except there's 14Mh/s leakage to Mtred from both workers.

What gives?? Any ideas?
Read the readme faq

Got it Thanks!

Quote
"Q: Work keeps going to my backup pool even though my primary pool hasn't
failed?
A: Cgminer checks for conditions where the primary pool is lagging and will
pass some work to the backup servers under those conditions. The reason for
doing this is to try its absolute best to keep the GPUs working on something
useful and not risk idle periods. You can disable this behaviour with the
option --failover-only."

I've been over that readme.txt many times getting things going and I've really appreciated all your work that went into it--so thanks much for that--it's all working very smoothly.
OgNasty
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030


Powered by NastyFans


View Profile WWW
October 05, 2012, 02:43:40 AM
 #7350

What is the correct way to include the "-S COM2" command in the config file?

BITSLER                 ▄███
               ▄████▀
             ▄████▀
           ▄████▀  ▄██▄
         ▄████▀    ▀████▄
       ▄████▀        ▀████▄
     ▄████▀            ▀████▄
   ▄████▀                ▀████▄
 ▄████▀ ▄████▄      ▄████▄ ▀████▄
█████   ██████      ██████   █████
 ▀████▄ ▀████▀      ▀████▀ ▄████▀
   ▀████▄                ▄████▀
     ▀████▄            ▄████▀
       ▀████▄        ▄████▀
         ▀████▄    ▄████▀
           ▀████▄▄████▀
             ▀██████▀
               ▀▀▀▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄            
▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀    ▄▄█▄▄ ▀▀▄         
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄      
█  ▀▄▄  ▀█▀▀ ▄      ▀████   ▀▀▄   
█ █▄  ▀▄   ▀████       ▀▀ ▄██▄ ▀▀▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█  ▀▀       ▀▄▄ ▀████      ▄▄▄▀▀▀  █
█            ▄ ▀▄    ▄▄▄▀▀▀   ▄▄  █
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█ ▄▄   ███   ▀██  █           ▀▀  █ 
█ ███  ▀██       █        ▄▄      █ 
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  
▀▄            █        ▀▀      █  
▀▀▄   ███▄  █   ▄▄          █   
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀    
▀▀▄   █   ▀▀▄▄▄▀▀▀         
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▄▄▀▀▀▀              
              ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
          ▄▄████████████████▄▄
        ▄██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▄
▄     ▄█████▀             ▀█████▄
██▄▄ █████▀                ▀█████
 ████████            ▄██      █████
  ████████▄         ███▀       ████▄
  █████████▀▀     ▄███▀        █████
   █▀▀▀          █████         █████
     ▄▄▄         ████          █████
   █████          ▀▀           ████▀
    █████                     █████
     █████▄                 ▄█████
      ▀█████▄             ▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▀
          ▀▀████████████████▀▀
              ▀▀▀██████▀▀▀
            ▄▄▄███████▄▄▄
         ▄█▀▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀▀█▄
       █▀▀ ▄█████████████▄ ▀▀█
     █▀▀ ███████████████████ ▀▀█
    █▀ ███████████████████████ ▀█
   █▀ ███████████████▀▀ ███████ ▀█
 ▄█▀ ██████████████▀      ▀█████ ▀█▄
███ ███████████▀▀            ▀▀██ ███
███ ███████▀▀                     ███
███ ▀▀▀▀                          ███
▀██▄                             ▄██▀
  ▀█▄                            ▀▀
    █▄       █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█
     █▄      ▀█████████▀
      ▀█▄      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
        ▀▀█▄▄  ▄▄▄
            ▀▀█████
[]
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
October 05, 2012, 02:47:38 AM
 #7351

What is the correct way to include the "-S COM2" command in the config file?
Code:
"scan-serial" : "COM2"

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 05, 2012, 04:14:05 AM
 #7352

Stratum update

The code has been in testing for a while now, and numerous issues have been ironed out. I've been mining with it for a few days in a mixture of regular pools + stratum pools and things seem to working out okay. I've just managed to get it building and working on windows and have created the first binary for people to start testing it. It's still not mature enough for a full release, but at some stage I need people to start testing it so I can sort out issues as they arise.

If you're on linux, and can use git, checkout the stratum branch and build from that.
git pull -a && git checkout stratum

For those on windows, here is a test binary.
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe

Just drop  it into your existing 2.7.6 directory. It will still read version 2.7.6, but don't let that fool you. For stratum to be active, you need - of course - to mine on one of the 2 pools that currently support it: slush's pool and btcguild . The way I've set up the code, you shouldn't need to do anything special to mine stratum, just use your regular settings (or you can plug in the stratum info directly if you're so inclined). The advantages to the miner should be far far less network communications with less network delays which should also translate into less rejects. Of course the real advantage is to the pools and for the ability to scale to much higher hashrates with the advent of ASICs.

Lots has been written about it here (though it may be rather confusing):
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=108533.0

EDIT: There is NO proxy support whatsoever for stratum at this stage.
Updated the codebase, and uploaded another windows test binary. It now uses curl for its sockets which allows at least socks proxies to work. http proxies are tricky since you'd need a proxy with special permissions to allow such an arbitrary connection.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kaerf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 631


View Profile
October 05, 2012, 06:07:30 AM
 #7353

Quote
Kaerf, what version of linux/architecture are you on?

heh....a ghetto old ubuntu 9.04 32bit intel atom netbook :p
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 05, 2012, 06:30:05 AM
 #7354

What is the correct way to include the "-S COM2" command in the config file?
Code:
"scan-serial" : "COM2"
or

Code:
"scan-serial" : [ "COM2", "COM3", "COM5" ]

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Jive Turkey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
October 05, 2012, 06:58:54 AM
 #7355

I started a thread for help building this on Fedora 17 here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=114974.0

Any help would be awesome, thanks.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 05, 2012, 07:08:01 AM
 #7356

Quote
Kaerf, what version of linux/architecture are you on?

heh....a ghetto old ubuntu 9.04 32bit intel atom netbook :p

Hmm... can you try the latest git changes to the stratum branch then?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kaerf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 631


View Profile
October 05, 2012, 07:30:32 AM
 #7357

pulled the latest changes

now debug output keeps repeating

Quote
[2012-10-05 00:29:36] Failed to recv sock in recv_line
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 05, 2012, 07:37:30 AM
 #7358

pulled the latest changes

now debug output keeps repeating

Quote
[2012-10-05 00:29:36] Failed to recv sock in recv_line

Can you give us the leadup up to the first time you see that message when you have the debugging options --verbose -D -P -T please

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kaerf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 631


View Profile
October 05, 2012, 07:54:24 AM
 #7359

Code:
[2012-10-05 00:48:56] Generated target ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff00000000                   
 [2012-10-05 00:48:56] BFL0: block data: a0a899cc1baff682058393fe1151e648939ba67b6efa320f064e33610167c2eb464a1a7d506e90d71a057e08                   
 [2012-10-05 00:48:56] BFL1: block data: 28b4192cb7c87b49aae3d55d94e8ed53b35fa310db59293c4c15ea7697fa3fc953306e21506e90d71a057e08                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:00] BFL0: Wait time changed to: 3750, waited 4260                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:00] BFL0: waited 4260ms until NONCE-FOUND:A254E1BA,BCAD6DB8
                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01]  Proof: 000000006197050ed0accca347eb15aeb8708e71d718d15751f2664f76cd08bf
Target: 00000000ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
TrgVal? YES (hash < target)                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] Pushing submit work to work thread                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] Creating extra submit work thread                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01]  Proof: 00000000ff1d2f09b6e42f69685724c5507d1a6ec55971b9bef5e2cbac365948
Target: 00000000ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
TrgVal? YES (hash < target)                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] Submitting share 6197050e to pool 0                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] SEND: {"params": ["xxxxx", "", "sh/", "", "bae154a2"], "id": 6, "method": "mining.submit"}                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] Popping work to work thread                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] Pushing submit work to work thread                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] [thread 0: 8589934590 hashes, 794139.7 khash/sec]                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] Creating extra submit work thread                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] Submitting share ff1d2f09 to pool 0                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] SEND: {"params": ["xxxxx", "", "sh/", "", "b86dadbc"], "id": 7, "method": "mining.submit"}                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] Reusing stratum work                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] Generated stratum merkle 52a0a31a21d08eb4e3ddbcd8c516bfeeec48c05d537d57c29bf8aa81fb1bc64b                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] Generated stratum header 00000002149b6a02dc6694db213d99d8ff9c0b24e472b5ef7ed52ae2000001470000000052a0a31a21d08eb4e3ddbcd8c516bfeeec48c05d537d57c29bf8aa81fb1bc64b506e90d71a057e0800000000000000800000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000080020000                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] Generated target ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff00000000                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] Popping work to work thread                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] BFL0: block data: 13436fa9efeb06eafcf552097b30d47cbc410cd20fcb8be8ea26dcffc975e07cfb1bc64b506e90d71a057e08                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] RECVD: {"error": [-2, "Incorrect size of extranonce2. Expected 8 chars", null], "id": 5, "result": null}                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] PROOF OF WORK RESULT: false (booooo)                   
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] Rejected 636e8606 Diff 1 BFL 1 pool 0 (Incorrect size of extranonce                     
 [2012-10-05 00:49:01] Failed to recv sock in recv_line                   

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 05, 2012, 08:09:59 AM
 #7360

Code:
[2012-10-05 00:49:01] SEND: {"params": ["xxxxx", "", "sh/", "", "bae154a2"], "id": 6, "method": "mining.submit"}     
Interesting, extranonce2 is coming up blank. Can you git pull and try again?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 [368] 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!