Bitcoin Forum
August 22, 2017, 03:07:16 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 [365] 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 ... 837 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5385122 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
wndrbr3d
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 04:46:32 PM
 #7281

I've been running into an error recently with the latest version of CGMiner that has resulted in client crashes on my two boxes. Both are Win32 mining scrypt, one uses a 5870 the other a 6870.

The issue I'm running into is that CGMiner starts to mine successfully for a bit then I start seeing "time-too-old" errors and Hardware Errors start shooting up to the point where cgminer crashes. I don't see this same behavior in 2.6.4, only in the latest 2.7.x branch.

Below is a screen shot of the issue. Any help isolating the problem is greatly appreciated! Smiley

Thanks in advance!

cgminer --scrypt -o http://thepool:8332 -u USER -p PASS --worksize 256 --shaders 1120 -g 1 --intensity 19 -d 1


1503414437
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503414437

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503414437
Reply with quote  #2

1503414437
Report to moderator
1503414437
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503414437

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503414437
Reply with quote  #2

1503414437
Report to moderator
1503414437
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503414437

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503414437
Reply with quote  #2

1503414437
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503414437
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503414437

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503414437
Reply with quote  #2

1503414437
Report to moderator
1503414437
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503414437

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503414437
Reply with quote  #2

1503414437
Report to moderator
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 06:09:34 PM
 #7282

Yes I know about this one - it's been there since the beginning.
It's actually almost certainly a hardware issue.

Since Icarus never actually reported HW errors until I changed it leading up to 2.7.6, no one ever noticed it was happening.
You will notice that it doesn't actually cause a problem - the quick spin in the code fixes itself once the Icarus goes back to returning shares properly.

I had thought of a fix for this before but I haven't implemented it coz it didn't seem eloquent - I did think of a much better idea yesterday but have yet to implement it.

Anyway, as you can see - you can ignore it until I get to changing the code to identify the hardware problem (it's simple now that I've thought of a better solution) and hopefully that will fix it
We'll see after that if the problem goes away
Oddly, it happens on both Icarus and CM1 even though it's probably a USB problem and they have different USB UARTs

There is one other unusual (rare - one in 4billion shares) situation I can think of that might be related - so if the fix doesn't solve it, I'll have to read up in detail about how the bitstream handles that other rare issue and see if that can cause the spin
Thanks Kano!
Yes i have noticed that this is not causing problems. It is not USB issue since dmesg shows nothing about USB unplug/plug events.
By the way this is debug version as you suggested, but still no core dumps:)
Best

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 06:13:46 PM
 #7283

Are you kidding me?

It makes sense because it creates an archive 1/3 the size of a .zip file.  Enough said. 

It's about half the size, either way it's a one second download.

It's not as much about your download time as it is about the storage space that the author has to pay for.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 06:16:43 PM
 #7284

A good compression/archival program is not exactly a special piece of software.  If it is too difficult for you maybe you should just turn your computer off and take it back to Wal-Mart.

Seems pretty special to me, What use would a mining rig have for it otherwise? Installing it on your main pc is one thing. If your trying to convince me that installing a secondary program on numerous pc's, to save a 3mb download is a good deal. Give it a rest.

Why would you need to do that?  Can't download to the file server, extract it, then copy it to other machines on the LAN?

Resting,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 10:02:58 PM
 #7285

I've been running into an error recently with the latest version of CGMiner that has resulted in client crashes on my two boxes. Both are Win32 mining scrypt, one uses a 5870 the other a 6870.

The issue I'm running into is that CGMiner starts to mine successfully for a bit then I start seeing "time-too-old" errors and Hardware Errors start shooting up to the point where cgminer crashes. I don't see this same behavior in 2.6.4, only in the latest 2.7.x branch.

Below is a screen shot of the issue. Any help isolating the problem is greatly appreciated! Smiley

Thanks in advance!

cgminer --scrypt -o http://thepool:8332 -u USER -p PASS --worksize 256 --shaders 1120 -g 1 --intensity 19 -d 1

http://i.imgur.com/2uyU5.png

55,378 hardware errors and -I 19 should really have already told you that you need to at LEAST reduce the intensity ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
September 30, 2012, 05:35:14 AM
 #7286

Is there a way to make mining on a PC that has a AMD 7950 and Intel HD Graphics possible?

My Motherboard is a Z68, I would like to connect 1 or 2 Computer Displays to the HDMI and DVI on Z68 motherboard and 1 or 2 displays to my AMD 7950.

When I start Cgminer it says too many gpus or something along those lines.
Yes there is, but you will need to use a combination of parameters to these options: -d, --remove-disabled, --gpu-platform and --gpu-map. Start with 'cgminer -n' to read  what cgminer finds and then read the advanced section on gpu-map in the readme.

So this allows me to use the 7950 to mining when it's not doing much in windows 7?
I can have 2 displays connected to 7950 and 2 displays connected to Z68 HD3000 and just before I start gaming I just disable 7950 in cgminer?

Obviously primary display in windows 7 needs to be connected to 7950 so that games start on 7950.
If you set the 7950 to dynamic intensity mode, you will be able to game without a problem without needing to disable it.

Just to make sure I have understood correct, this is possible (?):

2 Computer display are connected to HDMI and DVI on Z68 motherboard (Intel i5 with Intel HD2000 or HD3000).
2 Computer display are connected to HDMI and DVI on AMD 7950 GPU.

I should be able to mine on the 7950 with intensity d and be able to use 4 display in Windows 7 while mining?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 30, 2012, 05:37:18 AM
 #7287

Just to make sure I have understood correct, this is possible (?):

2 Computer display are connected to HDMI and DVI on Z68 motherboard (Intel i5 with Intel HD2000 or HD3000).
2 Computer display are connected to HDMI and DVI on AMD 7950 GPU.

I should be able to mine on the 7950 with intensity d and be able to use 4 display in Windows 7 while mining?

Should yes, but it will take some experimenting to get the parameters correct.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 30, 2012, 01:21:41 PM
 #7288

Hope you'll find it, let me know if I can help you any further Smiley
Failed to find it trying to force GPU HW errors
I've made some more changes related to Icarus HW error handling - so now they are done (and awaiting to go into the git) I'll try find the cause of the GPU spin.
So, if you have time, I would greatly appreciate if you could drop by IRC again and help
Thanks

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 30, 2012, 01:27:33 PM
 #7289

...
Thanks Kano!
Yes i have noticed that this is not causing problems. It is not USB issue since dmesg shows nothing about USB unplug/plug events.
By the way this is debug version as you suggested, but still no core dumps:)
Best
Well the change is in my git and hopefully it will make it go away Smiley
In my Icarus branch at the moment:
 https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/tree/icarus
and the pull request:
 https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/pull/316
(I've had it running a lot of the day on my Icarus rig)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
wndrbr3d
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
September 30, 2012, 03:29:07 PM
 #7290

I've been running into an error recently with the latest version of CGMiner that has resulted in client crashes on my two boxes. Both are Win32 mining scrypt, one uses a 5870 the other a 6870.

The issue I'm running into is that CGMiner starts to mine successfully for a bit then I start seeing "time-too-old" errors and Hardware Errors start shooting up to the point where cgminer crashes. I don't see this same behavior in 2.6.4, only in the latest 2.7.x branch.

Below is a screen shot of the issue. Any help isolating the problem is greatly appreciated! Smiley

Thanks in advance!

cgminer --scrypt -o http://thepool:8332 -u USER -p PASS --worksize 256 --shaders 1120 -g 1 --intensity 19 -d 1

http://i.imgur.com/2uyU5.png

55,378 hardware errors and -I 19 should really have already told you that you need to at LEAST reduce the intensity ...

I would agree if this same crashing+issue showed itself in the 2.6.x branch. I can run 2.6.4 without issue on those settings, it's 2.7.x that crashes out. I suppose I was submitting it more as a bug since something changed between version branches.

Thanks! Smiley
ocminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile WWW
September 30, 2012, 04:32:36 PM
 #7291

Its probably the same bug i mentioned few pages earlier.

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 01, 2012, 12:20:29 AM
 #7292

Its probably the same bug i mentioned few pages earlier.
That we're working on Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
pengoau
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 208


View Profile
October 01, 2012, 01:26:36 AM
 #7293

Ok I'm getting back into this since btc is like $12~!

I lost all my settings as I deleted it as it was not worthwhile, anyway just doing this as a hobby since I leave my pc on most days due to bittorent heh.

Anyway whats some good settings for a HD6950? I'm currently running @ mem:core of 800:800 and intesity of 5, seemt o get about 325Mhas/sec is that good for my hardware?

Has someone gone to the trouble of making a cgiminer tweak guide?

Thanks

mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


View Profile
October 01, 2012, 01:37:35 AM
 #7294

Ok I'm getting back into this since btc is like $12~!

I lost all my settings as I deleted it as it was not worthwhile, anyway just doing this as a hobby since I leave my pc on most days due to bittorent heh.

Anyway whats some good settings for a HD6950? I'm currently running @ mem:core of 800:800 and intesity of 5, seemt o get about 325Mhas/sec is that good for my hardware?

Has someone gone to the trouble of making a cgiminer tweak guide?

Thanks

Check out:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

M
LightRider
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1492


I advocate the Zeitgeist Movement & Venus Project.


View Profile WWW
October 01, 2012, 03:55:00 AM
 #7295

Between the latest nVidia drivers and this latest release, my machine no longer crashes the driver when mining with CGMiner. Thanks!

Bitcoin combines money, the wrongest thing in the world, with software, the easiest thing in the world to get wrong.
Visit www.thevenusproject.com and www.theZeitgeistMovement.com.
Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 962



View Profile
October 01, 2012, 07:49:07 AM
 #7296

Ok I'm getting back into this since btc is like $12~!

I lost all my settings as I deleted it as it was not worthwhile, anyway just doing this as a hobby since I leave my pc on most days due to bittorent heh.

Anyway whats some good settings for a HD6950? I'm currently running @ mem:core of 800:800 and intesity of 5, seemt o get about 325Mhas/sec is that good for my hardware?

Has someone gone to the trouble of making a cgiminer tweak guide?

Thanks

Check out:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

M

You should be able to do I 9 with no problem.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 01, 2012, 02:42:45 PM
 #7297

As expected, implementing stratum was very much a huge change affecting multiple areas of cgminer.

Summary so far:
Code:
6 files changed, 1230 insertions(+), 270 deletions(-)

After a week of hacking on it, it's about 1000 new lines of code in its first rough cut working version. It's been a lot of work to implement, and rather rewarding to see it working in action. There is currently a stratum branch in the git repository which includes the changes to date for the brave who wish to give it a go. Given the magnitude of changes, breakage is likely so it will be a while before the code settles down enough for me to feel comfortable releasing a version of cgminer including it.

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/tree/stratum

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
October 01, 2012, 03:31:43 PM
 #7298

Well done. Con Smiley
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
October 01, 2012, 07:04:15 PM
 #7299

btw, will you be including jesus-miner's GBT code?

Also, how will the selection of protocol work... Automagic or manual?
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468



View Profile WWW
October 01, 2012, 09:42:10 PM
 #7300

Here is my guide for people like me who are not familiar with linux to get cgminer running on a Raspberry Pi.  Note that dlasher and burger did 99% of the work here.  I just verified it and added some comments.  Thanks guys!  

Well done, nicely organized, good catch on the "libudev-dev".

Pages: « 1 ... 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 [365] 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 ... 837 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!