Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:17:03 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 [362] 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4828259 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 26, 2012, 10:29:23 PM
 #7221

Waiting for Stratum support too.
Regarding stratum, I have been working on it. It is very much a non-trivial task to do in c so it's taking a while and I'm progressing very slowly and cautiously. Furthermore, the work generation is totally orthogonal to the current cgminer network scheduler I spent so much time creating, so it needs to rip great big holes into the current code to circumvent it. There's a stratum branch in my git tree if people want a peek but it's just code in progress and unusable.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481458623
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481458623

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481458623
Reply with quote  #2

1481458623
Report to moderator
1481458623
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481458623

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481458623
Reply with quote  #2

1481458623
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 26, 2012, 10:46:14 PM
 #7222

Found a small bug. If send a request gpurestart|0 by API, cgminer very much starts to load the CPU ~ 100%.
GPU restart isn't always going to work in all situations.

Unless there is a code bug and you've found an infinite loop - it's most likely a driver issues and if you find with your driver version+card it's problematic - don't use it.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 26, 2012, 11:06:38 PM
 #7223

The only thing about the loop is don't restart cgminer from in cgminer settings restart. It will stop cgminer then cgminer itself restarts it and the loop keeps trying to start cgminer giving you no devices restarting message in the middle of cgminer working messages. Aside from that it works and is about what I do.

This will not set realtime but will show how to set a delay.
No need for cash. Was super easy to setup. You can set any options you like mine are there yours likely wont have --disable-gpu.

Code:
:Loop
cgminer.exe --disable-gpu --api-allow 127.0.0.1 --api-listen
ping -n 15 127.0.0.1 > NUL 2>&1
GOTO Loop

ping -n 15 blah blah blah the 15 is the time in seconds for the delay. Seems accurate enough. It pings home every second.

Or with a little more added Smiley

Code:
@echo off
:Loop
REM cgminer
Set NOW=%date:~10,4%%date:~7,2%%date:~4,2%.%time:~0,2%%time:~3,2%%time:~6,2%
cgminer -G --api-listen --api-allow W:127.0.0.1,R:192.168.0.0/24 --api-description Windoze 2> "run.%NOW%.log"
echo Sleeping for 5 seconds
ping -n 5 127.0.0.1 > NUL
GOTO Loop

So you get a log of each run also like my linux script
(of course set 192.168.0.0 to match you network - and also set it to W: instead of R: if you want to allow cgminer control from other computers on the same network)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
ocminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile WWW
September 27, 2012, 12:07:18 PM
 #7224

I tried to update an old rig from 2.4.2 to 2.7.6 but 2.7.6 just hangs after the pool messages and does nothing..

I can abort with CTRL-C.. The old 2.4.2 runs fine though ?!

Here is a log:

http://pastebin.com/ACe6QDi9

I can see no problems there either, but cgminer is not "switching" into the "normal" view with the cards, it just sits at the pool "overview", saying that the pool is alive and does nothing else..

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 27, 2012, 12:25:52 PM
 #7225

I tried to update an old rig from 2.4.2 to 2.7.6 but 2.7.6 just hangs after the pool messages and does nothing..

I can abort with CTRL-C.. The old 2.4.2 runs fine though ?!

Here is a log:

http://pastebin.com/ACe6QDi9

I can see no problems there either, but cgminer is not "switching" into the "normal" view with the cards, it just sits at the pool "overview", saying that the pool is alive and does nothing else..

Up to the point below it looks fine ... has found and accepted shares ... but then:
Code:
[2012-09-27 13:57:38] Attempting to restart cgminer 2.7.6
In the current code that's only called by
1) You press S C Y
2) You send a restart to the API
3) Getting GPU fan speed fails

Thus it must be 3) (1 and 2 aren't possible in that log) and somehow it can't access your fan info for one of your GPUs

Maybe --gpu-map is required to fix it?

Using --no-restart will show that is the cause of the problem - but not fix the actual problem.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
ocminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile WWW
September 27, 2012, 01:52:24 PM
 #7226

Thanks kano, --no-restart worked, you are right, the fan reading on gpu 3 fails, even though
all three cards are 5970s, so there is actually just 1 fan on each card..

Strange that it works with card 0 and card 2, but not card 1 ?!

Maybe a BIOS error of the card ??

I actually only have the problem on this particular rig..

here a screenshot:
http://imageshack.us/a/img685/3752/bildschirmfoto20120927u.png

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468



View Profile WWW
September 27, 2012, 04:48:10 PM
 #7227

While I see r-pi listed in the subject, I see no instructions or downloads provided. Am I missing something?

For Raspbian, my steps went something like this:


install required parts:
Quote
sudo bash
apt-get install build-essential git dh-autoreconf libcurl4-gnutls-dev libusb-1.0-0-dev libusb-dev libncurses-dev libudev-dev yasm screen

grab latest version:
Quote
cd /usr/src
git clone https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

tell it to configure itself
Quote
bash ./autogen.sh --enable-scrypt --enable-bitforce --enable-icarus  --enable-modminer --enable-ztex --with-libudev

upon successful configure with no errors, compile it
Quote
make all

upon successful compile, run in "benchmark" mode to make sure it's alive
Quote
./cgminer --benchmark

stock 700mhz ARM gets right around 118Kh/s.



[edit: added libudev-dev - thx for pointing out the miss]
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
September 27, 2012, 05:18:42 PM
 #7228


stock 700mhz ARM gets right around 118Kh/s.


EEEeeeerrrrr...
streetuff
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile
September 27, 2012, 05:22:07 PM
 #7229

well... if someone would reverse engineer the videocore there might be a possibility to write a shader for sha256 mining on the raspberry pi. but without broadcom opening the videocore that wont happen...


EDIT: on my 1100MHz arm seagate dockstar its about 200Kh/s
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
September 27, 2012, 05:29:37 PM
 #7230

While I see r-pi listed in the subject, I see no instructions or downloads provided. Am I missing something?

I think it was more of a statement, "cgminer works on a Pi" like "cgminer works on Windows". I personally have many BFLs on several Pi, for which it works rather well.  Actually mining with it, not so much.
streetuff
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile
September 27, 2012, 05:34:21 PM
 #7231

While I see r-pi listed in the subject, I see no instructions or downloads provided. Am I missing something?

I think it was more of a statement, "cgminer works on a Pi" like "cgminer works on Windows". I personally have many BFLs on several Pi, for which it works rather well.  Actually mining with it, not so much.

i got my 2nd pi in the mailbox last week. at the moment i got some problems with wireless under raspbian. want to drive my ztex single and ztex quad with it anytime soon... :-D
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 27, 2012, 05:45:00 PM
 #7232

While I see r-pi listed in the subject, I see no instructions or downloads provided. Am I missing something?

stock 700mhz ARM gets right around 118Kh/s.
You  do not mine with the hardware itself... you use it to attach FPGAs to mine with.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ocminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile WWW
September 27, 2012, 06:35:01 PM
 #7233

After upgrading some of my rigs most of them fail with this segmentation fault:

http://imageshack.us/a/img211/3752/bildschirmfoto20120927u.png


http://imageshack.us/a/img836/397/bildschirmfoto20120927ub.png

Ideas ? Smiley

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
September 27, 2012, 06:38:40 PM
 #7234

After upgrading some of my rigs most of them fail with this segmentation fault:

http://imageshack.us/a/img211/3752/bildschirmfoto20120927u.png


http://imageshack.us/a/img836/397/bildschirmfoto20120927ub.png

Ideas ? Smiley
Weird, I've been getting HW errors after upgrading to 2.7.6 also. I thought my GPU was on the way out because I've never gotten any before.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
ocminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile WWW
September 27, 2012, 07:27:10 PM
 #7235

I've had few H/W error before also, but cgminer 2.7.6 seems to "freak out" and crashes randomly when a h/w error occurs.

thats not the case with good old 2.4.2, it just counts up the errors Smiley

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 27, 2012, 10:07:07 PM
 #7236

I've had few H/W error before also, but cgminer 2.7.6 seems to "freak out" and crashes randomly when a h/w error occurs.

thats not the case with good old 2.4.2, it just counts up the errors Smiley
As per the README FAQ ...
Add "-T -D --verbose"
and post a log

However, it's better with a core dump to show exactly where the problem is.
Before you run cgminer:
ulimit -c 2097152

However that won't give much details about where it crashed without:

If you compile it your self, then (as I said 2 pages back):
CFLAGS="-g -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-ztex --enable-modminer --enable-scrypt
make clean
make


And of course you don't have to include all the options on the end you don't need ... Smiley

Once it crashes you'll have a core.nnnn in the directory
where nnnn is the process number.
Find it with
ls -ort core*

Then:
gdb cgminer core.nnnn
bt


and bt will tell you where it crashed ... to add to the pastebin


Edit: however, with that many errors, it's likely to just be in the ATI driver and you probably need to clock it down more?
Nope - it doesn't look like it's lots of error in the HW: counter ... anyway as above ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 27, 2012, 10:16:25 PM
 #7237

Thanks kano, --no-restart worked, you are right, the fan reading on gpu 3 fails, even though
all three cards are 5970s, so there is actually just 1 fan on each card..

Strange that it works with card 0 and card 2, but not card 1 ?!

Maybe a BIOS error of the card ??

I actually only have the problem on this particular rig..

here a screenshot:
http://imageshack.us/a/img685/3752/bildschirmfoto20120927u.png

My only guess now, as I mentioned before, you may need --gpu-map
It looks like it not associating the fan with both GPUs ... but I don't have any dual GPU cards so I've no idea other than read the README Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
ocminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile WWW
September 28, 2012, 01:30:23 AM
 #7238

Hey Kano,

did that now, exactly same crash, this is my "debugging info":


License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "x86_64-linux-gnu".
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
<http://bugs.launchpad.net/gdb-linaro/>...
Reading symbols from /home/ocminer/cgminer-2.7.6/cgminer...done.
[New LWP 29064]
[New LWP 23278]
[New LWP 23279]
[New LWP 23277]
[New LWP 23298]
[New LWP 23295]
[New LWP 23291]
[New LWP 23289]
[New LWP 23287]
[New LWP 23285]
[New LWP 23282]
[New LWP 23280]
[New LWP 23313]
[New LWP 23301]
[New LWP 23300]
[New LWP 23293]
[New LWP 23299]
[New LWP 23281]
[New LWP 23283]
[New LWP 23292]
[New LWP 23297]
[New LWP 23296]
[New LWP 23294]
[New LWP 23290]
[New LWP 23286]
[New LWP 23288]

warning: Can't read pathname for load map: Eingabe-/Ausgabefehler. (<-- That means I/O Error in german)
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Core was generated by `./cgminer -o http://us.eclipsemc.com:8337 -u ocminer_bkw02 -p ****** -o http://pit'.
Program terminated with signal 11, Segmentation fault.
#0  0x00000000004308a7 in postcalc_hash (userdata=0x329f020) at findnonce.c:256
256                     uint32_t nonce = pcd->res[entry];
(gdb) bt
#0  0x00000000004308a7 in postcalc_hash (userdata=0x329f020) at findnonce.c:256
#1  0x00007f4e485ccefc in start_thread ()
   from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0
#2  0x00007f4e47a3659d in clone () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#3  0x0000000000000000 in ?? ()
(gdb)

Is that of any help ??

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 01:52:50 AM
 #7239

Hey Kano,

did that now, exactly same crash, this is my "debugging info":

...

warning: Can't read pathname for load map: Eingabe-/Ausgabefehler. (<-- That means I/O Error in german)
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Core was generated by `./cgminer -o http://us.eclipsemc.com:8337 -u ocminer_bkw02 -p ****** -o http://pit'.
Program terminated with signal 11, Segmentation fault.
#0  0x00000000004308a7 in postcalc_hash (userdata=0x329f020) at findnonce.c:256
256                     uint32_t nonce = pcd->res[entry];
(gdb) bt
#0  0x00000000004308a7 in postcalc_hash (userdata=0x329f020) at findnonce.c:256
#1  0x00007f4e485ccefc in start_thread ()
   from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0
#2  0x00007f4e47a3659d in clone () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#3  0x0000000000000000 in ?? ()
(gdb)

Is that of any help ??
Yep - thanks. The line doesn't explain the problem - but it shows it's at least in findnonce when it crashes for you - so probably a bug I introduced.

I've also thought of a easy (should have thought of before Tongue) way to try reproduce it myself.
Add 1 to each nonce value returned should give me LOTS of HW errors to hopefully get the same result.

I'll try sort that out later today - thanks for the info.
If I can't get it to happen I'll ask for more help to run a debug version I'll put up for you.
But I'll let you know first.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 02:10:19 AM
 #7240

While I see r-pi listed in the subject, I see no instructions or downloads provided. Am I missing something?

For Raspbian, my steps went something like this:
<... snip ...>

Thank you VERY much for this guide.  I did encounter a problem with this step:

Quote
root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer# bash ./autogen.sh --enable-scrypt --enable-bitforce --enable-icarus  --enable-modminer --enable-ztex --with-libudev
Running autoreconf -if...
Configuring...
configure: WARNING: you should use --build, --host, --target
configure: WARNING: invalid host type:  --enable-modminer
checking build system type... Invalid configuration ` --enable-modminer': machine ` --enable' not recognized
configure: error: /bin/bash ./config.sub  --enable-modminer failed
root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer#

Then I remembered I did not need modminer (no HW for me - YET) so I trimmed it down to the command that I needed:
Quote
root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer# bash ./autogen.sh --enable-bitforce --with-libudev
 

... and it worked.  But then "make all" also failed:
Quote
root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer# make all
make: *** No rule to make target `all'.  Stop.

root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer# make
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.

root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer# ls -l M*
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  2470 Sep 27 20:31 Makefile.am
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 91117 Sep 27 20:47 Makefile.in

Now I'm stuck.  Damnit - I hate being a n00b at new stuff!   Wink  (Although I used linux in a previous life a little bit, I'm mostly a Windblows guy.   Grin )

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
Pages: « 1 ... 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 [362] 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!