Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 10:32:40 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 [396] 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4818002 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 09:36:58 AM
 #7901

Request for help...

I have 2 CM1s mining in Australia due to high elec costs...Over the last few weeks I have noticed that they only mine for between a few minutes to a few hours (8 tops). Having said this, the best I have done is 2 days str8 mining.

They just appear to drop of the USB line with a "boink" then cgminer reports they are "OFF". I have been using cgminer 2.7.0 > 2.8.4 on a Win 7 system with the same reuslts...could I please get some stability help. (whilling to sheel out BTC for help)
The base Icarus has no MHz control or temperature reading.
Thus if there is a heat issue, cgminer won't tell you about it

I've no idea how to ask a CM1 for the temperature, and if you send it to an Icarus, it will not work
- nor any idea what problem that would cause the Icarus.

Someone was gonna send me a CM1 a while back but they changed their mind.
So I don't have one.

Back when CM1s were first around I wrote the basic support of devices with varying speeds that work like an Icarus
(since I could test it on an Icarus also and get either the expected results or the expected failure)
- with options about expected clock speed and FPGA counts to ensure the hashing is correct and baud rate since early CM1 were 57600.

End of story Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
1480933960
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480933960

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480933960
Reply with quote  #2

1480933960
Report to moderator
1480933960
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480933960

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480933960
Reply with quote  #2

1480933960
Report to moderator
1480933960
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480933960

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480933960
Reply with quote  #2

1480933960
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480933960
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480933960

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480933960
Reply with quote  #2

1480933960
Report to moderator
1480933960
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480933960

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480933960
Reply with quote  #2

1480933960
Report to moderator
ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543



View Profile
November 06, 2012, 09:44:09 AM
 #7902

I have 2 CM1s mining in Australia due to high elec costs...Over the last few weeks I have noticed that they only mine for between a few minutes to a few hours (8 tops). Having said this, the best I have done is 2 days str8 mining.
Did you try using a (powered) usb hub?

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 771



View Profile WWW
November 06, 2012, 10:37:53 AM
 #7903

I have 2 CM1s mining in Australia due to high elec costs...Over the last few weeks I have noticed that they only mine for between a few minutes to a few hours (8 tops). Having said this, the best I have done is 2 days str8 mining.
Did you try using a (powered) usb hub?
No powered USB hub as the gigabyte MB has 3*power USB ports. I do have my eye on a nice Dr who powered hub though...will give it a try

Have you found this to be a good solution on ur rigs?

Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 771



View Profile WWW
November 06, 2012, 10:39:52 AM
 #7904

Request for help...

I have 2 CM1s mining in Australia due to high elec costs...Over the last few weeks I have noticed that they only mine for between a few minutes to a few hours (8 tops). Having said this, the best I have done is 2 days str8 mining.

They just appear to drop of the USB line with a "boink" then cgminer reports they are "OFF". I have been using cgminer 2.7.0 > 2.8.4 on a Win 7 system with the same reuslts...could I please get some stability help. (whilling to sheel out BTC for help)
The base Icarus has no MHz control or temperature reading.
Thus if there is a heat issue, cgminer won't tell you about it

I've no idea how to ask a CM1 for the temperature, and if you send it to an Icarus, it will not work
- nor any idea what problem that would cause the Icarus.

Someone was gonna send me a CM1 a while back but they changed their mind.
So I don't have one.

Back when CM1s were first around I wrote the basic support of devices with varying speeds that work like an Icarus
(since I could test it on an Icarus also and get either the expected results or the expected failure)
- with options about expected clock speed and FPGA counts to ensure the hashing is correct and baud rate since early CM1 were 57600.

End of story Tongue

It is only spring here so hope the heat is not the issue....

I will try cycling back to a 200MHs stream though

ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543



View Profile
November 06, 2012, 02:40:23 PM
 #7905

I have 2 CM1s mining in Australia due to high elec costs...Over the last few weeks I have noticed that they only mine for between a few minutes to a few hours (8 tops). Having said this, the best I have done is 2 days str8 mining.
Did you try using a (powered) usb hub?
No powered USB hub as the gigabyte MB has 3*power USB ports. I do have my eye on a nice Dr who powered hub though...will give it a try

Have you found this to be a good solution on ur rigs?
Yes, I had problems with a high-S/N board. After connecting it via a (powered) USB hub it worked great. The problem isn't that the USB port of your mainboard can't provide enough power, but that there seems to be some kind of "interference/noise" going through the USB cable and to the mainboard, making the USB link unstable. The USB hub should "protect" the mainboard.

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2012, 08:46:50 PM
 #7906

Latest cgminer from git doesn't seem to want to do long polling in conjunction with p2pool any more. Pastebin link to log: http://pastebin.com/g3A3z1hb (note line 46, where the long polling URL is sent)

After reverting to 2.8.7 (git checkout v2.8.7), long polling works again.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2012, 10:27:56 PM
 #7907

Latest cgminer from git doesn't seem to want to do long polling in conjunction with p2pool any more. Pastebin link to log: http://pastebin.com/g3A3z1hb (note line 46, where the long polling URL is sent)

After reverting to 2.8.7 (git checkout v2.8.7), long polling works again.
Thanks, will investigate.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 771



View Profile WWW
November 07, 2012, 01:37:44 AM
 #7908

I have 2 CM1s mining in Australia due to high elec costs...Over the last few weeks I have noticed that they only mine for between a few minutes to a few hours (8 tops). Having said this, the best I have done is 2 days str8 mining.
Did you try using a (powered) usb hub?
No powered USB hub as the gigabyte MB has 3*power USB ports. I do have my eye on a nice Dr who powered hub though...will give it a try

Have you found this to be a good solution on ur rigs?
Yes, I had problems with a high-S/N board. After connecting it via a (powered) USB hub it worked great. The problem isn't that the USB port of your mainboard can't provide enough power, but that there seems to be some kind of "interference/noise" going through the USB cable and to the mainboard, making the USB link unstable. The USB hub should "protect" the mainboard.

thnx...sounds like a good excuse to acquire a DR Who Tardis 4 port powered hub....    Grin

Naelr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2012, 02:56:29 AM
 #7909

OK I looked.. used the search function and even google but can't find an answer to this question...  I posted on a new thread and was directed to this one.  My question is why will cgminer running on ubuntu 12.04 64 bit will not submit shares (in a timely manner) for scrypt mining.  Hashrate in the cgminer console is ~310Kh/s but share submits are reporting 2Kh/s

Here is my post https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=120773.0

When I posted it I was running 2.7.5 and now I am running 2.8.7 and having the same problem.  Any ideas?
Any help is much appreciated.

Naelr

I think my post got trumped by release 2.9.0... anyone have any ideas?

Naelr

Join me in hosted mining.  And always use 2 Factor Auth whenever possible.
CEX.IO hosting mining
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
November 07, 2012, 02:45:10 PM
 #7910

Latest cgminer from git doesn't seem to want to do long polling in conjunction with p2pool any more. Pastebin link to log: http://pastebin.com/g3A3z1hb (note line 46, where the long polling URL is sent)

After reverting to 2.8.7 (git checkout v2.8.7), long polling works again.
Thanks, will investigate.
Confirmed, same there on 2.9.1
Code:
cgminer version 2.9.1 - Started: [2012-11-07 15:42:23]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (3s):13.01M (avg):11.27Mh/s | Q:3  A:0  R:1  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.0/m
 TQ: 0  ST: 1  SS: 0  DW: 0  NB: 1  LW: 0  GF: 0  RF: 0  WU: 0.5
 Connected to rav3n.dtdns.net without LP as user toy.gpu
 Block: 033c5d4cfc943e4f85e5a5ec...  Started: [15:42:23]  Best share: 1
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  61.0C  48%    | 12.79M/11.27Mh/s | A:0 R:1 HW:0 U:0.00/m I: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2012-11-07 15:42:22] Started cgminer 2.9.1
 [2012-11-07 15:42:22] Loaded configuration file cgminer.conf
 [2012-11-07 15:42:22] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-11-07 15:42:23] No suitable long-poll found for pool http://rav3n.dtdns.net:9332
 [2012-11-07 15:42:47] Rejected b636ebc2 Diff 1/1 GPU 0

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 422



View Profile
November 08, 2012, 05:17:47 AM
 #7911

I am also getting that same long poll error when connecting to hashpower.com. With 2.8.7 long polling works there.
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
November 08, 2012, 07:55:29 PM
 #7912

Working nicely.
Have GW, GBT & Stratum pools all up and running.

Something in the order of:
11,000% efficiency on Eclipse (GBT + Var Diff)
1,800% efficiency on MaxBTC (GW)
550% efficiency on Ozcoin (Stratum)

Get VERY large discards on GBT though, on the order of 1000%
Roughly 30% on Stratum and GW

Kano, did you said you're gonna add data counters to the pools? That'd be very interesting to see.


 
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 08, 2012, 08:30:22 PM
 #7913

Working nicely.
Have GW, GBT & Stratum pools all up and running.

Something in the order of:
11,000% efficiency on Eclipse (GBT + Var Diff)
1,800% efficiency on MaxBTC (GW)
550% efficiency on Ozcoin (Stratum)

Get VERY large discards on GBT though, on the order of 1000%
Roughly 30% on Stratum and GW

Kano, did you said you're gonna add data counters to the pools? That'd be very interesting to see.
 
Yes I'll add data counters to the pools soon ...
I'm working on some MMQ stuff at the moment.

However ........ 11,000% efficiency?
What GH/s are you?
That seems too high ... though that is probably on a high hash rate?

I'm of course referring to the issue of work age and the negative affect on BTC.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 08, 2012, 08:54:31 PM
 #7914

Working nicely.
Have GW, GBT & Stratum pools all up and running.

Something in the order of:
11,000% efficiency on Eclipse (GBT + Var Diff)
1,800% efficiency on MaxBTC (GW)
550% efficiency on Ozcoin (Stratum)

Get VERY large discards on GBT though, on the order of 1000%
Roughly 30% on Stratum and GW

Kano, did you said you're gonna add data counters to the pools? That'd be very interesting to see.


 
The switch between regular and GBT pools is still not ideal and the GBT work on switching to it can be stale for a while. There is a fix in git for this.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
November 08, 2012, 09:48:20 PM
 #7915

Yes I'll add data counters to the pools soon ...
I'm working on some MMQ stuff at the moment.

However ........ 11,000% efficiency?
What GH/s are you?
That seems too high ... though that is probably on a high hash rate?

I'm of course referring to the issue of work age and the negative affect on BTC.

Yep, that high Smiley
It factors in the var diff shares (2.5 ish), so it's 'no of diff 1 equivalent shares'/'get block templates'*100.
Running at a little over 5GH/s.
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
November 09, 2012, 12:01:36 AM
 #7916

Hmm, had this happen a couple of times now:

Code:
[2012-11-08 14:59:15] Switching to http://pool.maxbtc.com:8332
 [2012-11-08 15:02:47] LONGPOLL from pool 2 requested work restart
 [2012-11-08 15:06:21] LONGPOLL from pool 2 requested work restart
 [2012-11-08 15:14:16] LONGPOLL from pool 2 detected new block
 [2012-11-08 15:14:35] LONGPOLL from pool 2 requested work restart
 [2012-11-08 15:17:03] LONGPOLL from pool 2 requested work restart
 [2012-11-08 15:17:10] LONGPOLL from pool 2 detected new block
 [2012-11-08 15:18:16] LONGPOLL from pool 2 requested work restart
 [2012-11-08 15:18:16] New block detected on network before longpoll
 [2012-11-08 15:18:29] LONGPOLL from pool 2 requested work restart

Crashed with signal 11! Will attempt to restart
 [2012-11-08 15:18:29] Started cgminer 2.9.1
 [2012-11-08 15:18:29] Loaded configuration file /opt/etc/cgminer.conf
 [2012-11-08 15:18:29] Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/usb/tts/0: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
 [2012-11-08 15:18:29] Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/usb/tts/1: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
 [2012-11-08 15:18:29] Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/usb/tts/2: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
 [2012-11-08 15:18:29] Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/usb/tts/3: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
 [2012-11-08 15:18:29] Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/usb/tts/4: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
 [2012-11-08 15:18:29] Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/usb/tts/5: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
 [2012-11-08 15:18:30] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-11-08 15:18:32] GBT longpoll ID activated for http://us2.eclipsemc.com:8337
 [2012-11-08 15:18:32] Pool 1 http://pool.maxbtc.com:8332 alive
 [2012-11-08 15:18:32] Pool 2 http://pool.maxbtc.com:8332 alive
 [2012-11-08 15:18:34] Pool 3 http://us3.eclipsemc.com:8337 alive
 [2012-11-08 15:18:34] Pool 4 http://us2.ozco.in:8332 alive
 [2012-11-08 15:18:35] BFL2: Garbled response probably throttling, clearing buffer
 [2012-11-08 15:18:35] BFL3: Garbled response probably throttling, clearing buffer
 [2012-11-08 15:18:36] Pool 5 http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337 alive
 [2012-11-08 15:18:37] API bind to port 4028 failed - trying again in 30sec
 [2012-11-08 15:18:37] BFL1: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2012-11-08 15:18:37] BFL1: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2012-11-08 15:18:37] BFL1: Error: Send work reports: NONCE-FOUND:19BCCFAE,CD347D9C

 [2012-11-08 15:18:37] BFL1: Error: Get result reports: OK

 [2012-11-08 15:18:37] BFL1: Error: Send work reports: ERR:UNKNOWN!!!

 [2012-11-08 15:18:37] BFL4: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2012-11-08 15:18:37] BFL4: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2012-11-08 15:18:38] BFL1: Garbled response probably throttling, clearing buffer
 [2012-11-08 15:18:38] BFL1: Garbled response probably throttling, clearing buffer
 [2012-11-08 15:18:39] BFL1: Comms error
 [2012-11-08 15:18:42] BFL1: Comms error
 [2012-11-08 15:18:47] BFL1: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2012-11-08 15:18:47] BFL1: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2012-11-08 15:18:47] BFL1: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2012-11-08 15:18:51] BFL1: took 8495ms - longer than 7000ms
 [2012-11-08 15:18:51] BFL1: Error: Get result reports: USY
 . . .
From then on, all BFLs get garbled, never to kick back into sync. Still get some use out of them, seem to run about half speed.

The attempted restart seems to be a new thing... shame it doesn't work. The script I use already restarts cgminer if it quits, and generally works.
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
November 09, 2012, 12:10:22 AM
 #7917

I see, you've added a sig handler for segmentation faults.

Maybe some resources/ports/handles/file pointers/whatevers aren't being closed cleanly and things get messed up?

I'll put the --no-restart in my cmd line.
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
November 09, 2012, 12:21:05 AM
 #7918

Another thing...
The Stratum pool isn't be read correctly from the conf file.
I added it via the API, saved config and it correctly shows in conf file:

   {
      "url" : "stratum+tcp://stratum.ozco.in:3333",
      "user" : "xxxxx",
      "pass" : "xxxxx"
   }

But then when cgminer starts, it shows via the API as a disabled pool, without the 'stratum+tcp://' prefix or port suffix, just 'stratum.ozco.in'.
chewie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
November 09, 2012, 01:35:20 AM
 #7919

Currently on 2.9.1 with all the same stats as in my previous post.  There has been several times where my GPU winds down(hash rate abruptly drops) after a block has been found, and then Cgminer crashes.  Fortunately, I was able to watch the crash occur, and there was nothing abnormal being displayed on the program  the moment before the crash happens.  I'm currently on a mining pool that uses GBT protocol.  Thanks, I thought I'd report this abnormality.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 09, 2012, 02:47:23 AM
 #7920

Another thing...
The Stratum pool isn't be read correctly from the conf file.
I added it via the API, saved config and it correctly shows in conf file:

   {
      "url" : "stratum+tcp://stratum.ozco.in:3333",
      "user" : "xxxxx",
      "pass" : "xxxxx"
   }

But then when cgminer starts, it shows via the API as a disabled pool, without the 'stratum+tcp://' prefix or port suffix, just 'stratum.ozco.in'.
Leave the striked out bit out of the conf file. It's a bug in the configuration reading code.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 [396] 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!