Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:23:28 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 [363] 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4822309 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 02:16:15 AM
 #7241

Ah crap.  I scrolled up and I see the problem:

Quote
checking for working alloca.h... yes
checking for alloca... yes
checking for OpenCL... no
checking for pthread_create in -lpthread... yes
checking for json_loads in -ljansson... no
checking for library containing addstr... -lncurses
checking for yasm... /usr/bin/yasm
checking if yasm version is greater than 1.0.1... yes
checking libudev.h usability... no
checking libudev.h presence... no
checking for libudev.h... no
configure: error: libudev not found
root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer#

Fixing now...

Edit: Or I'm trying to fix it but I'm clueless (apparently).  I tried:
Quote
apt-get install libudev

with no luck.  If someone can help me with this I would appreciate it.

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
1481171008
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481171008

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481171008
Reply with quote  #2

1481171008
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481171008
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481171008

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481171008
Reply with quote  #2

1481171008
Report to moderator
1481171008
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481171008

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481171008
Reply with quote  #2

1481171008
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 02:27:43 AM
 #7242

Never built on that - but the ./autogen.sh should work that way fine with 2.7.6
I guess there's more to getting it working - you'll need to ask P_Shep I guess?
He seems to get it working on the usual hardware Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
SAC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 02:50:59 AM
 #7243

Ah crap.  I scrolled up and I see the problem:

Quote
checking for working alloca.h... yes
checking for alloca... yes
checking for OpenCL... no
checking for pthread_create in -lpthread... yes
checking for json_loads in -ljansson... no
checking for library containing addstr... -lncurses
checking for yasm... /usr/bin/yasm
checking if yasm version is greater than 1.0.1... yes
checking libudev.h usability... no
checking libudev.h presence... no
checking for libudev.h... no
configure: error: libudev not found
root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer#

Fixing now...

Edit: Or I'm trying to fix it but I'm clueless (apparently).  I tried:
Quote
apt-get install libudev

with no luck.  If someone can help me with this I would appreciate it.

When compiling you need the development package of the library when it is not found so to find it install apt-file.

Code:

apt-file search libudev.h
libudev-dev: /usr/include/libudev.h
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 03:00:09 AM
 #7244

When compiling you need the development package of the library when it is not found so...

Code:
apt-file search libudev.h
libudev-dev: /usr/include/libudev.h
Thanks but that did not work for me:
Code:
root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer# apt-file search libudev.h
bash: apt-file: command not found

- The linux n00b

Edit: I hope this is not too off-topic but I believe it will be useful for other (n00b) users to get cgminer working on their Raspberry Pi.  Or at least those that want to compile from source.  Now that I think about it, didn't someone offer pre-compiled binaries for the RPi?  Or was that for one of the Bitcoin clients???

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
burger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 195


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 05:49:22 AM
 #7245

When compiling you need the development package of the library when it is not found so...

Code:
apt-file search libudev.h
libudev-dev: /usr/include/libudev.h
Thanks but that did not work for me:
Code:
root@raspberrypi:/usr/src/cgminer# apt-file search libudev.h
bash: apt-file: command not found

- The linux n00b

Edit: I hope this is not too off-topic but I believe it will be useful for other (n00b) users to get cgminer working on their Raspberry Pi.  Or at least those that want to compile from source.  Now that I think about it, didn't someone offer pre-compiled binaries for the RPi?  Or was that for one of the Bitcoin clients???


can't you just do:

Code:
apt-get install libudev-dev

ocminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile WWW
September 28, 2012, 07:27:39 AM
 #7246

Hope you'll find it, let me know if I can help you any further Smiley

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
ddd1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 04:11:18 PM
 #7247

Is there a way to make mining on a PC that has a AMD 7950 and Intel HD Graphics possible?

My Motherboard is a Z68, I would like to connect 1 or 2 Computer Displays to the HDMI and DVI on Z68 motherboard and 1 or 2 displays to my AMD 7950.

When I start Cgminer it says too many gpus or something along those lines.
Yes there is, but you will need to use a combination of parameters to these options: -d, --remove-disabled, --gpu-platform and --gpu-map. Start with 'cgminer -n' to read  what cgminer finds and then read the advanced section on gpu-map in the readme.

So this allows me to use the 7950 to mining when it's not doing much in windows 7?
I can have 2 displays connected to 7950 and 2 displays connected to Z68 HD3000 and just before I start gaming I just disable 7950 in cgminer?

Obviously primary display in windows 7 needs to be connected to 7950 so that games start on 7950.

Ok if you need the HD7950 for gaming you can't mine on it at the same time without a noticeable lag.  Disable lucid MVP and connect a cable to your mobo and then use just HD3000 for gaming. Mine on the 7950.

Thanks for suggestion but I do not want to game on HD3000, I want to mine on the 7950 only when I'm not gaming (I'm not gaming 90% of the time.)
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 28, 2012, 04:14:48 PM
 #7248

Is there a way to make mining on a PC that has a AMD 7950 and Intel HD Graphics possible?

My Motherboard is a Z68, I would like to connect 1 or 2 Computer Displays to the HDMI and DVI on Z68 motherboard and 1 or 2 displays to my AMD 7950.

When I start Cgminer it says too many gpus or something along those lines.
Yes there is, but you will need to use a combination of parameters to these options: -d, --remove-disabled, --gpu-platform and --gpu-map. Start with 'cgminer -n' to read  what cgminer finds and then read the advanced section on gpu-map in the readme.

So this allows me to use the 7950 to mining when it's not doing much in windows 7?
I can have 2 displays connected to 7950 and 2 displays connected to Z68 HD3000 and just before I start gaming I just disable 7950 in cgminer?

Obviously primary display in windows 7 needs to be connected to 7950 so that games start on 7950.
If you set the 7950 to dynamic intensity mode, you will be able to game without a problem without needing to disable it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 08:30:11 PM
 #7249

Thanks to dlasher, SAC, burger, and especially ckolivas and kano; my BFL single is now running on my R-Pi!  Soon I will re-post dlasher's guide with the corrections I used to make it work for me.  (First I will test with a fresh Raspbian install.)

Code:
cgminer version 2.7.6 - Started: [2012-09-28 13:26:28]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):433.4 (avg):714.6 Mh/s | Q:4  A:12  R:0  HW:0  E:300%  U:17.1/m
 TQ: 0  ST: 2  SS: 0  DW: 1  NB: 2  LW: 15  GF: 0  RF: 0  WU: 18.5
 Connected to http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337 with LP as user <myusername>
 Block: 00000038ba38b354b3fd8173cd55cebb...  Started: [13:26:28]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 BFL 0:  45.7C         | 771.9/918.7Mh/s | A:13 R:0 HW:0 U:18.54/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2012-09-28 13:26:27] Started cgminer 2.7.6
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Long-polling activated for http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337/LP
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Pool 0 http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337 alive
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] New block detected on network before longpoll
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Pool 1 http://us.ozco.in:8331 alive
 [2012-09-28 13:26:33] Accepted 00e6e730 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:38] Accepted 09631bd0 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:43] Accepted a45652a8 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:43] Accepted a79f96ba Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:48] Accepted 280b28cf Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
PandaMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


I got scammed Jan2014


View Profile WWW
September 28, 2012, 10:04:30 PM
 #7250

Quote from: ckolivas link=topic=28402.msg1228581#msg1228581
If you set the 7950 to dynamic intensity mode, you will be able to game without a problem without needing to disable it.

How do I set up dynamic intensity mode on GPU 0, but leave GPU 1 at 16? (using scrypt) I checked the readme again and nada.

I want to assume it's --intensity 12-16,16 but don't want to try that before asking here.

My Litecoin address: Lf9WKM61AhmXchG2Ph2cftHKSQhxHutcdk
My Bitcoin address: 1Hwem4GSQWPCtBTKcSpXg2jYwxF6PtTjZx
--> Have you tried Triplemining.com? <--
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 10:10:39 PM
 #7251

Quote from: ckolivas link=topic=28402.msg1228581#msg1228581
If you set the 7950 to dynamic intensity mode, you will be able to game without a problem without needing to disable it.

How do I set up dynamic intensity mode on GPU 0, but leave GPU 1 at 16? (using scrypt) I checked the readme again and nada.

I want to assume it's --intensity 12-16,16 but don't want to try that before asking here.
--intensity d,16
(but I have no idea how well dynamic intensity works with scrypt Tongue)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
PandaMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


I got scammed Jan2014


View Profile WWW
September 28, 2012, 10:40:36 PM
 #7252

How do I set up dynamic intensity mode on GPU 0, but leave GPU 1 at 16? (using scrypt) I checked the readme again and nada.

I want to assume it's --intensity 12-16,16 but don't want to try that before asking here.
--intensity d,16
(but I have no idea how well dynamic intensity works with scrypt Tongue)

Oh, I thought "d" was for "desktop mode."

My Litecoin address: Lf9WKM61AhmXchG2Ph2cftHKSQhxHutcdk
My Bitcoin address: 1Hwem4GSQWPCtBTKcSpXg2jYwxF6PtTjZx
--> Have you tried Triplemining.com? <--
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 10:44:06 PM
 #7253

Here is my guide for people like me who are not familiar with linux to get cgminer running on a Raspberry Pi.  Note that dlasher and burger did 99% of the work here.  I just verified it and added some comments.  Thanks guys!  

Of course, big thanks to ckolivas and kano for doing the other 99.99% of the work writing cgminer.   Grin  The first week of my mined bitcoins will be donated to you two.  (If you think it is worth adding all or part of this to the README, please do.  Or just a link to this post?)

Start with a fresh install of the Raspbian OS.  I used the 2012-09-18 release.
On first boot, configure the keyboard, password, locale and timezone as appropriate.
Optionally, change the memory_split, ssh and boot_behavior.  
Choose "update" to get any recent updates.
Choose <Finish> and reboot.   (type "sudo reboot" at command prompt)

A) If you have choosen boot_behavior to boot direct to desktop, open an LXterminal window.

B) If you have choosen boot_behavior to NOT boot direct to desktop, log in.  You now have 2 choices:
  1) (recommended) type "startx" to start the desktop then open an LXterminal window.
  2) use the command line directly


All of the following commands are typed at the command line.
Do NOT type anything on lines starting with "##" (including the "##") as these are comments for you.

Code:
## Install all required tools
sudo apt-get install build-essential git dh-autoreconf libcurl4-gnutls-dev libusb-1.0-0-dev libusb-dev libncurses-dev libudev-dev yasm screen
## This will ask you:
##    Do you want to continue [Y/n]?
## Press Y and Enter   (Then wait many minutes for it to finish)

## Get the latest version of cgminer
cd /usr/src
sudo git clone https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

## Set the flags for the compiler
CFLAGS="-g -O2 -W -Wall"

## Configure cgminer
## Do not type any un-used options.  See the README of cgminer for details.
## For example if you do not have any Butterfly Labs hardware, to not type "--enable-bitforce"
sudo ./autogen.sh --enable-scrypt --enable-bitforce --enable-icarus  --enable-modminer --enable-ztex --with-libudev
## I have a BFL single so I used:
##    sudo ./autogen.sh --enable-bitforce --with-libudev
## Again, wait many minutes for this to finish
## When done, you should see a block of text that starts with something like this:
##    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
##    cgminer 2.7.6
##    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
##
##    Configuration Options Summary:
##
## If you do not see that or the last line is an error, do not continue.


## build cgminer
sudo make clean
sudo make
## Again, wait many minutes for this to finish

## Connect and power up your FPGA hardware then run cgminer
## Substitute the proper values you use for yourpool, yourport, youruser, and yourpassword
/usr/src/cgminer/cgminer -S auto -o http://www.yourpool.com:yourport -u youruser -p yourpassword

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 28, 2012, 11:08:31 PM
 #7254

Quote from: ckolivas link=topic=28402.msg1228581#msg1228581
If you set the 7950 to dynamic intensity mode, you will be able to game without a problem without needing to disable it.

How do I set up dynamic intensity mode on GPU 0, but leave GPU 1 at 16? (using scrypt) I checked the readme again and nada.

I want to assume it's --intensity 12-16,16 but don't want to try that before asking here.
--intensity d,16
(but I have no idea how well dynamic intensity works with scrypt Tongue)
Same code manages dynamic on scrypt so theoretically should work just as well.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
September 28, 2012, 11:38:24 PM
 #7255

Is there even a normal zip of the new cgminer on here? I feel like throwing my computer through the wall every time I come here, for the new update.
Use 7-zip - it's free and you won't be breaking the winzip license like almost everyone does with winzip ...
http://www.7-zip.org/

Why would you be breaking the license? It's a free download. Installing a new compression software on a dozen computers for no purpose, is absurd.

So wait, you're happy to go to great lengths to set up your hardware to mine, install special software for it to do so, drivers sdk etc and configure them, and then you're happy to download my free software from my website that I pay for for you to have free unrestricted access to, and you're complaining because you have to install 7z?


That's exactly what I'm saying. Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything. If your looking for compensation put a remote access app in the app store or something. Jumping through hoops just to satisfy someones ego is not on my agenda. It might make sense, if you gained something by using it.

Here's a zip copy. So no need to install 7z on every mining rig.
http://www.fileserve.com/file/9S2RQxa/cgminer-2.7.6-win32.zip

Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
September 28, 2012, 11:56:21 PM
 #7256

That's exactly what I'm saying. Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything. If your looking for compensation put a remote access app in the app store or something. Jumping through hoops just to satisfy someones ego is not on my agenda. It might make sense, if you gained something by using it.

Here's a zip copy. So no need to install 7z on every mining rig.
http://www.fileserve.com/file/9S2RQxa/cgminer-2.7.6-win32.zip

Maybe you could've extracted it onto a flash drive from one computer and then just plug it into each miner? Seems easier than whining about the format.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 12:13:46 AM
 #7257

That's exactly what I'm saying. Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything. If your looking for compensation put a remote access app in the app store or something. Jumping through hoops just to satisfy someones ego is not on my agenda. It might make sense, if you gained something by using it.

Here's a zip copy. So no need to install 7z on every mining rig.
http://www.fileserve.com/file/9S2RQxa/cgminer-2.7.6-win32.zip

Maybe you could've extracted it onto a flash drive from one computer and then just plug it into each miner? Seems easier than whining about the format.

... or unzip it and store on one machine, and copy the folder to the others ...

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
PandaMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


I got scammed Jan2014


View Profile WWW
September 29, 2012, 12:26:37 AM
 #7258

--intensity d,16
(but I have no idea how well dynamic intensity works with scrypt Tongue)
Same code manages dynamic on scrypt so theoretically should work just as well.
But when I put "d" it goes down to 8, but at 12 I can still watch 1080 video with no video lag (just mouse lag). Besides, at i12 I hash at 153-159, and at i8 it goes WAY down to 21-25kh which is unacceptable.

I'll just leave it at 12 while working/watching video, and kick it on 16 when i go to sleep. Thanks.

My Litecoin address: Lf9WKM61AhmXchG2Ph2cftHKSQhxHutcdk
My Bitcoin address: 1Hwem4GSQWPCtBTKcSpXg2jYwxF6PtTjZx
--> Have you tried Triplemining.com? <--
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
September 29, 2012, 12:26:53 AM
 #7259

Maybe you could've extracted it onto a flash drive from one computer and then just plug it into each miner? Seems easier than whining about the format.

... or unzip it and store on one machine, and copy the folder to the others ...

M
I just said that. Huh

Also, it'd be easier on ckolivas' server than redownloading it over and over.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
September 29, 2012, 12:33:42 AM
 #7260

Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything.

Nor does he owe you anything...
Seriously, if you're so hung up about the compression format, don't use cgminer.

Here's a zip copy. So no need to install 7z on every mining rig.
http://www.fileserve.com/file/9S2RQxa/cgminer-2.7.6-win32.zip

I'd argue that you'd still have to install 7z or some program that can deal properly with zip files. While I haven't tried Vista's and 7's implementation, at least XP's was pretty broken. (Stuff like random error messages for proper zip files or files in an archive being silently ignored.)
I have a friend who stopped supporting people who used windows' zip to extract his program because he knew that'd fail. So, please, if you want to continue using that POS, go ahead, but do stop spamming this thread about it... Sad

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
Pages: « 1 ... 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 [363] 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!