Bitcoin Forum
July 18, 2018, 10:49:58 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 [358] 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756894 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 23, 2012, 07:03:54 PM
 #7141

I recently switched to a geforce 9600 gt and I am having a problem using the scrypt algorithm in cgminer or any other miner for that matter.

In cgminer everything seems to work fine and then the application seems to hang immediately after "Long-polling activated for http://web.site" and does not progress any further. Please help!
1531954198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531954198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531954198
Reply with quote  #2

1531954198
Report to moderator
1531954198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531954198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531954198
Reply with quote  #2

1531954198
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 23, 2012, 08:06:38 PM
 #7142

Never mind, I'm an idiot. I just needed to wait a few minutes...
Fefox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 166
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 23, 2012, 10:03:01 PM
 #7143

I have been doing some testing of CGMINER with my BFL Mini Rigs with the Bitminter Pool and noticed that CGMINER was not reporting Hardware Errors or what I think should be showing under HW:


Under the bitminter client I have one board in a Minirig that fails about 1 out of 15 proofs  (in the minter client it uses CPU to double-check the work from GPUs and FPGAs and if their work isn't valid, it gets flagged with a BOMB"

on the two minirigs, I tried running two concurrent copies of CGMINER one on a good board and one on the bad board, nothing really stands out between them stats wise, altho the bad does show up slower in the bitminter pool stats.

bad board has a U:18.8 and the good U:20.1 but other boards in the rigs are in that range..

should these errors be showing up under HW: ?

it seems the bad proofs don't get submitted to the pool, so it looks like CGMINER is checking them, finding them bad, throwing them away but forgets to count them.

not sure if this is some type of bug or im just doing something wrong?

btw Ver is 2.7.4

Thanks.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 23, 2012, 10:29:17 PM
 #7144

I have been doing some testing of CGMINER with my BFL Mini Rigs with the Bitminter Pool and noticed that CGMINER was not reporting Hardware Errors or what I think should be showing under HW:

...

btw Ver is 2.7.4

Thanks.
Current git (i.e. after 2.7.5)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 23, 2012, 10:57:54 PM
 #7145

Q: On linux I can see the /dev/ttyUSB* devices for my ICA/BFL/MMQ FPGA, but
cgminer can't mine on them
...
Then logout and back in again
FYI, this is bad advice and is likely to screw up your system.
Well, no.  Adding your current user to the "dialout" group is not going to screw up anything.
Indeed that wouldn't, but the commands Kano suggests also removes you from every other group. Including sudo. (BFGMiner has suggested almost idential but with the -a option for a few releases now)
Unfortunately, when you pulled that change from my git into your git - you didn't fix it then either.
Your README still says that also.
You'll need the commit in my git that's been pulled into cgminer to fix it ..

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2394
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 23, 2012, 11:01:44 PM
 #7146

Q: On linux I can see the /dev/ttyUSB* devices for my ICA/BFL/MMQ FPGA, but
cgminer can't mine on them
...
Then logout and back in again
FYI, this is bad advice and is likely to screw up your system.
Well, no.  Adding your current user to the "dialout" group is not going to screw up anything.
Indeed that wouldn't, but the commands Kano suggests also removes you from every other group. Including sudo. (BFGMiner has suggested almost idential but with the -a option for a few releases now)
Unfortunately, when you pulled that change from my git into your git - you didn't fix it then either.
Your README still says that also.
You'll need the commit in my git that's been pulled into cgminer to fix it ..
No, I just forgot to push when I fixed it in BFGMiner - though I'll probably overwrite it with yours before the next release.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 24, 2012, 05:05:59 AM
 #7147

New release - Version 2.7.6, 24th September 2012

In anticipation of more instability once I start implementing the stratum protocol, I have released this updated version with only safe changes that can be relied upon to be stable.


Human readable changelog:

Should have finally fixed the "dynamic intensity gets stuck at a low value" bug.
Build will detect default SDK installation on linux now that AMD SDK 2.7 exports variables defining it.
Fixed the disabled/enabled/disabled thread when changing to dynamic intensity
The share hash display has been compacted further and the difficulty is now shown in anticipation of many pools moving to variable difficulty shares.
If a pool's server was alive but not returning work cgminer could have bombarded it with requests instead of failing.
Lots of goodies thanks to Kano who was working hard while I was away; I'll let him elaborate next post Smiley


Full changelog:

- Display share difficulty on log with a shortened hash display on submission.
- API stats add some pool getwork difficulty stats
- Ignore any pings pushed to the worker threads if the thread is still paused to
prevent it being enabled and disabled repeatedly.
- README - FAQ - usermod group - shouldn't remove other groups
- Test for sequential getwork failures on a pool that might actually be up but
failing to deliver work as we may end up hammering it repeatedly by mistake.
- reduce windows compile warnings
- util.c - bug - proxy - no data end condition
- As we average gpu time over 5 work intervals for dynamic GPU intensity, there
is no need to maintain a rolling average and it avoids the potential long term
corruption of a single overflow value.
- Test for the now-automatically exported variable AMDAPPSDKROOT when looking
for the presence of the OpenCL headers.
- API don't change 'Diff1 Shares' - backward compatability FTW
- miner.php highlighting correctly handling difficulty
- API - Add last share difficulty for devices and pool
- Store and report Accepted,Rejected,Stale difficulty in the summary and API
- WorkTime - display prevblock for scrypt
- api.c remove compile warnings
- Calculate work difficulty for each getwork and display with WorkTime debug
- remove MMQ unused variable warning
- FPGA - allow long or short device names in detect code + style police
- WorkTime - multiple nonce per work and identify the work source
- Optional WorkTime details with each Accepted/Rejected work item
- Icarus - ignore hardware errors in timing mode
- miner.php oops - mistype
- miner.php by default don't display IP/Port numbers in error messages
- api.c all STATUS messages automatically escaped
- api.c add missing escape for comma in MSG_PGAUNW
- API add display of and setting queue,scantime,expiry
- HW: dont submit bad shares
- save individual pool proxy settings to config
- --default-config - allow command line to define the default configuration file
for loading and saving
- API-README update for pools proxy info
- README URL proxy must use quote so show in the example
- bug: remove proxy: from the front of the proxy used
- CURL support for individual proxy per pool and all proxy types
- README spelling/etc
- README - FPGA device FAQ
- HW: error counter auto for all devices - ztex code not fixed
- API pgaidentify - unsupported message should be a warning
- API/BFL identify a device - currently only BFL to flash the led
- BFL add throttle count to internal stats + API
- BFL: missing device id in log message
- miner.php correct to new Diff1 Work field names
- API add device diff1 work
- API-README update
- api.c Correct diff1 field name
- count device diff1 shares
- API-README more debug parameter information
- API allow full debug settings control

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 24, 2012, 06:02:29 AM
 #7148

Firstly a short explanation of some of the 2.7.6 additions, then the 2.7.6a download link for anyone still using Xubuntu 11.04

Hardware errors are now identified (the same way) for the devices: GPU/ICA/BFL/MMQ
ZTX code is however unchanged since it has it's own method and I can't test it

WorkTime debug - a rather detailed message that can be enabled on the end of each Accept/Reject line
displaying timing and other details about the work, from request, to process, to submit
See the [ D]isplay screen in cgminer and the API debug command for enabling it

cgminer now internally has all the work difficulty information calculated and available via the API
(and ckolivas has added the difficulty to the share display line also)

You can now specify a proxy for each pool. It's a little different to the --socks-proxy option
since you also specify the proxy type in front of the proxy (--socks-proxy is unchanged)

BFL now has the option to flash the led via the API - so you can identify which BFL is which
N.B. this introduces a 4 second delay into share processing - so only use it when necessary
The API now also reports a count of the number of times your BFL throttles with the 'notify' command

When forcefully identifying FPGA's you can now also use the abbreviated 3 character FPGA name
e.g. either Icarus:/dev/ttyUSB0 or ICA:/dev/ttyUSB0 is now valid (the identifier is not case sensitive)

miner.php - now uses the correct difficulty for the display highlighting tests

---

cut/paste ...

2.7.6
An Xubuntu 11.04 x86_64 executable is in my github downloads called cgminer-2.7.6a
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/downloads
(oh and it also works on Fedora 16 and 17)

For anyone who didn't realise, it's just the executable file to put in place of 'cgminer'
Nothing else needs changing
First get and extract the full binary release from ckolivas and then copy my file in place of 'cgminer'

No problems so far on my BFL or my '2xGPU+2xIcarus'

The same configure options as cvolivas' binary version
In case anyone was wondering:
CFLAGS="-O2 -W -Wall" ./configure --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-ztex --enable-modminer --enable-scrypt

---

No more windows FPGA binaries needed from me for now, since ckolivas now has cgminer-fpga.exe in his 2.7.6 windows 7zip file

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Fefox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 166
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 24, 2012, 06:37:06 AM
 #7149

I have been doing some testing of CGMINER with my BFL Mini Rigs with the Bitminter Pool and noticed that CGMINER was not reporting Hardware Errors or what I think should be showing under HW:


Under the bitminter client I have one board in a Minirig that fails about 1 out of 15 proofs  (in the minter client it uses CPU to double-check the work from GPUs and FPGAs and if their work isn't valid, it gets flagged with a BOMB"

on the two minirigs, I tried running two concurrent copies of CGMINER one on a good board and one on the bad board, nothing really stands out between them stats wise, altho the bad does show up slower in the bitminter pool stats.

bad board has a U:18.8 and the good U:20.1 but other boards in the rigs are in that range..

should these errors be showing up under HW: ?

it seems the bad proofs don't get submitted to the pool, so it looks like CGMINER is checking them, finding them bad, throwing them away but forgets to count them.

not sure if this is some type of bug or im just doing something wrong?

btw Ver is 2.7.4



*** 2.7.6 is displaying those errors now and is counting them under HW:   Cheesy
jiyu_shi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 24, 2012, 07:06:35 AM
 #7150

I run 2.7.6 in LTC p2pool:
cgminer --scrypt --worksize 256 --lookup-gap 2 --thread-concurrency 7200 -g 1 -I 12 -o http://127.0.0.1:9327 -u abc -p 123

it returns:


what's the matter?
LTC-qt and p2pool run successfully, because pooler-cpuminer is mining normally.

the VGAcard is HD4650
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1360
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
September 24, 2012, 09:45:38 AM
 #7151

It looks normal to me, after a while it should start spamming accepted shares and longpool messages.

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1360
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
September 24, 2012, 10:33:32 AM
 #7152

New release - Version 2.7.6, 24th September 2012
Looks like wrong count of Q is not only LTC error.
While mining BTC:
Code:
cgminer version 2.7.6 - Started: [2012-09-24 11:51:45]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):13.1 (avg):13.6 Mh/s | Q:3  A:10  R:0  HW:0  E:333%  U:0.3/m
 TQ: 0  ST: 1  SS: 0  DW: 2  NB: 7  LW: 512  GF: 0  RF: 0  WU: 0.3
 Connected to http://rav3n.dtdns.net:9332 with LP as user 14BRrqqjWtdVNp9LEe12zG
 Block: 00000571e5eb37aaa182b06b14cfcc43...  Started: [12:16:13]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  63.0C  52%    |  13.1/ 13.6Mh/s | A:10 R:0 HW:0 U:0.25/m I: 3
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2012-09-24 12:29:53] LONGPOLL from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2012-09-24 12:29:57] LONGPOLL from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2012-09-24 12:30:06] LONGPOLL from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2012-09-24 12:30:13] LONGPOLL from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2012-09-24 12:30:19] LONGPOLL from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2012-09-24 12:30:29] LONGPOLL from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2012-09-24 12:30:32] LONGPOLL from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2012-09-24 12:30:37] LONGPOLL from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2012-09-24 12:30:40] LONGPOLL from pool 0 requested work restart
So many longpools, 7 NB and Q is still 3.

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
jiyu_shi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 24, 2012, 10:50:34 AM
 #7153

It looks normal to me, after a while it should start spamming accepted shares and longpool messages.
I'd waited 3 minutes, it still stayed at that screen.
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1360
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
September 24, 2012, 11:18:13 AM
 #7154

It looks normal to me, after a while it should start spamming accepted shares and longpool messages.
I'd waited 3 minutes, it still stayed at that screen.
Delete/rename cgminer.conf and try just:
Code:
cgminer.exe --scrypt -I 12 -o http://127.0.0.1:9327 -u abc -p 123
Then save options and edit config file:
Code:
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"queue" : "0",
for p2pool Smiley

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 807
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 24, 2012, 12:24:27 PM
 #7155

I ran configure on 2.7.6 and it said SDK NOT FOUND (for ADL).  This is in spite of the fact that I copied the same three .h files that I always copy to the ADL_SDK folder.  I've been running 2.7.4, so  I haven't tried 2.7.5.  Has something changed in 2.7.5 or 2.7.6 that would cause my configuration to stop being supported (ADL SDK downloaded Septemper 7, 2011, APP SDK 2.1, driver included in some Fedora [15] Repo)?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 24, 2012, 12:26:51 PM
 #7156

I ran configure on 2.7.6 and it said SDK NOT FOUND (for ADL).  This is in spite of the fact that I copied the same three .h files that I always copy to the ADL_SDK folder.  I've been running 2.7.4, so  I haven't tried 2.7.5.  Has something changed in 2.7.5 or 2.7.6 that would cause my configuration to stop being supported (ADL SDK downloaded Septemper 7, 2011, APP SDK 2.1, driver included in some Fedora [15] Repo)?
No?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 807
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 24, 2012, 12:34:56 PM
 #7157

Has something changed in 2.7.5 or 2.7.6 that would cause my configuration to stop being supported (ADL SDK downloaded Septemper 7, 2011, APP SDK 2.1, driver included in some Fedora [15] Repo)?
No?
I run the exact same commands every time.  The .h files are in the ADL_SDK folder and this is the cofigure command I am using:
Code:
CFLAGS+='-I/usr/src/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/include' LDFLAGS+='-L/usr/src/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/lib/x86_64/' ./configure
This is the final output:
Code:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
cgminer 2.7.6
------------------------------------------------------------------------


Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: ncurses
  OpenCL...............: FOUND. GPU mining support enabled
  scrypt...............: Disabled
  ADL..................: SDK NOT found, GPU monitoring support DISABLED

  BitForce.FPGAs.......: Disabled
  Icarus.FPGAs.........: Disabled
  ModMiner.FPGAs.......: Disabled
  Ztex.FPGAs...........: Disabled

Compilation............: make (or gmake)
  CPPFLAGS.............:
  CFLAGS...............: -I/usr/src/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/include
  LDFLAGS..............: -L/usr/src/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/lib/x86_64/ -lpthread
  LDADD................:  -lcurl   compat/jansson/libjansson.a -lpthread -lOpenCL    -lm

Installation...........: make install (as root if needed, with 'su' or 'sudo')
  prefix...............: /usr/local
I'm pretty sure I haven't changed anything on the machine.  Any suggestions?
streetuff
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 24, 2012, 03:28:28 PM
 #7158

Has something changed in 2.7.5 or 2.7.6 that would cause my configuration to stop being supported (ADL SDK downloaded Septemper 7, 2011, APP SDK 2.1, driver included in some Fedora [15] Repo)?
No?
I run the exact same commands every time.  The .h files are in the ADL_SDK folder and this is the cofigure command I am using:
Code:
CFLAGS+='-I/usr/src/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/include' LDFLAGS+='-L/usr/src/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/lib/x86_64/' ./configure
This is the final output:
Code:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
cgminer 2.7.6
------------------------------------------------------------------------


Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: ncurses
  OpenCL...............: FOUND. GPU mining support enabled
  scrypt...............: Disabled
  ADL..................: SDK NOT found, GPU monitoring support DISABLED

  BitForce.FPGAs.......: Disabled
  Icarus.FPGAs.........: Disabled
  ModMiner.FPGAs.......: Disabled
  Ztex.FPGAs...........: Disabled

Compilation............: make (or gmake)
  CPPFLAGS.............:
  CFLAGS...............: -I/usr/src/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/include
  LDFLAGS..............: -L/usr/src/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/lib/x86_64/ -lpthread
  LDADD................:  -lcurl   compat/jansson/libjansson.a -lpthread -lOpenCL    -lm

Installation...........: make install (as root if needed, with 'su' or 'sudo')
  prefix...............: /usr/local
I'm pretty sure I haven't changed anything on the machine.  Any suggestions?


i'm getting the same "ADL..................: SDK NOT found, GPU monitoring support DISABLED"
i usually drop the 3 .h files into the ADL_SDK folder and configure with "./configure --enable-ztex"
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 24, 2012, 07:12:31 PM
 #7159

I really don't see anything obvious and tried building it from scratch again with a fresh tarball and have no problem. Are you building from git or tarball? If from git, are you running ./autogen.sh first?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
September 24, 2012, 07:19:09 PM
 #7160

So whats the latest stable version?
Anything i use thats greater than 2.66 Eventually (3-7days) Locksup and stops mining with no errors or messages.
It just stops, the TUI, Hashing, Everything, It just sits there on the screen, Stopped

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Pages: « 1 ... 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 [358] 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!