Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:43:12 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 [391] 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4824975 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
dietwice
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 05:58:45 AM
 #7801

Testing 2.8.6 on Win7 x64.

There are lots of messages "Accepted untracked stratum share" among regular "Accepted 68132465..." ones.
What do they mean?

p.s. It took about 50 sec to recover normal operations when I switched to another wifi network.
And it died when I switched back.
That means the stratum pool you are mining with is returning "accepted" messages without the same ID that cgminer sent the share with, so cgminer doesn't know which shares the pool is accepting. The communication is all done asynchronously and cgminer keeps a database of sent shares so that when it gets a response from the pool it can tell you which share it was.
Actually come to think of it, perhaps the results are coming back before the database entry is even being created. Hmm

I connect cgminer to the mining_proxy which itself connects to the Slush's pool.
Both connections are via Stratum.
This way I get cgminer stable on network outages.

Maybe it is also a reason of getting an extra-fast response by cgminer from the other end of Stratum.

Donations appreciated at 1DZ6PVjnV8zRdvtgKSqzpAYhifxP1XKhwM
1481305392
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305392

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305392
Reply with quote  #2

1481305392
Report to moderator
1481305392
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305392

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305392
Reply with quote  #2

1481305392
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481305392
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305392

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305392
Reply with quote  #2

1481305392
Report to moderator
1481305392
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305392

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305392
Reply with quote  #2

1481305392
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 29, 2012, 06:00:47 AM
 #7802

Actually come to think of it, perhaps the results are coming back before the database entry is even being created. Hmm

I connect cgminer to the mining_proxy which itself connects to the Slush's pool.
Both connections are via Stratum.
This way I get cgminer stable on network outages.

Maybe it is also a reason of getting an extra-fast response by cgminer from the other end of Stratum.

Yes, being a local proxy it responds quickly which is why you can reproduce it. Try 2.8.7 please.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 06:17:25 AM
 #7803

cut/paste ...

2.8.7

... like he said above ... Smiley

No one had already downloaded 2.8.6a it would appear except me to test the download
So I deleted it and put up 2.8.7a

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
dietwice
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 06:38:37 AM
 #7804

Actually come to think of it, perhaps the results are coming back before the database entry is even being created. Hmm

I connect cgminer to the mining_proxy which itself connects to the Slush's pool.
Both connections are via Stratum.
This way I get cgminer stable on network outages.

Maybe it is also a reason of getting an extra-fast response by cgminer from the other end of Stratum.

Yes, being a local proxy it responds quickly which is why you can reproduce it. Try 2.8.7 please.


Trying.
No more "untracked" shares Smiley

Donations appreciated at 1DZ6PVjnV8zRdvtgKSqzpAYhifxP1XKhwM
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 29, 2012, 11:34:45 AM
 #7805

By the way I spotted that it is still possible for a few untracked shares to rarely show up, but for the most part it is only a cosmetic issue and is corrected in the current git tree.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 12:29:30 PM
 #7806

By the way I spotted that it is still possible for a few untracked shares to rarely show up, but for the most part it is only a cosmetic issue and is corrected in the current git tree.
I've added a 2.8.7b to my downloads that is 2.8.7 + commit e19c5d9d

2.8.7b includes the extra commit coz I was seeing the untracked shares ... and this resolved it.

There's no work lost with 2.8.7a so no need to change unless you want to get rid of the occasional incorrect message when mining using stratum.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 01:51:52 PM
 #7807

I got a share that registered a diff of 7.58M  Grin

That was a block solve for mtred since current difficulty is just over 3 million. Smiley

Woah, I was gonna make a thread aobut "whats the hardest share you've seen"
Mine is 901...
You had a 7580000 difficulty share? Woah.

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 03:04:02 PM
 #7808

My highest (failed) share since it was added a few weeks ago is 802K (a week after my last block)
[2012-10-29 14:24:49] Accepted 000014e8 Diff 802K/1 MMQ 0 pool 0
(11.5 hours ago - an MMQ mining on OzCoin)
That one was 1 bit away from being a block ...

But when they aren't blocks and the higher they get - the worse it is Sad

The highest difficulty share ever found will of course be in the blockchain already - but no idea which block it was - just get all the block hashes and sort them Smiley
Should be somewhere in the 100M to 1Billion range.
Though ... soon all blocks will be at least in that range ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
dooferorg
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 05:31:53 PM
 #7809

I'm using cgminer on Linux for the particular machine I'm discussing here. It had one 5870 card in it and I was getting ~430Mh/s out of it. Not too bad.

I happened to get my hands on another 5870 so I thought I'd pop that in too. I have both GPUs turning up in cgminer (after a little trouble, but 'aticonfig -f --adapter=all --initial' worked wonders.

I have cgminer 2.8.7 (same behavior with 2.8.5), AMD SDK 2.7 and Catalyst 12.10.

If I only enable one GPU, I get the hashrate as before. If I enable both GPUs, the first GPUs hashrate plummets. Net result is I'm still only getting the same hashrate but now it's 'using' both GPUs.

e.g.
GPU 0:  ~400Mh
GPU 1:  OFF

to

GPU 0:   ~100Mh
GPU 1:   ~300Mh

Anyone else had this problem? It's really frustrating. I've tried an older AMD SDK (2.5) but even with reboots, driver reinstallation and cgminer recompilation it simply makes cgminer segfault on startup.

Any hints would be really appreciated.

EDIT: I realized I left out some information that might help.

I am using 'phatk' kernel, worksize 256, vectors 2 and the variables:

export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1

are set before cgminer runs. CPU usage seems high though (Xorg is the top), which is concerning. The CPU in the system is an AMD FX 4170 (4.2Ghz) quad core.

BTC: 1dooferoD3vnwgez3Jo1E4bFfgMf81LR2
LTC: LVyF5BmCmTmXH8NZ6iesJWsGxBhS1frP7S
burger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 195


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 07:51:08 PM
 #7810

I'm using cgminer on Linux for the particular machine I'm discussing here. It had one 5870 card in it and I was getting ~430Mh/s out of it. Not too bad.

I happened to get my hands on another 5870 so I thought I'd pop that in too. I have both GPUs turning up in cgminer (after a little trouble, but 'aticonfig -f --adapter=all --initial' worked wonders.

I have cgminer 2.8.7 (same behavior with 2.8.5), AMD SDK 2.7 and Catalyst 12.10.

If I only enable one GPU, I get the hashrate as before. If I enable both GPUs, the first GPUs hashrate plummets. Net result is I'm still only getting the same hashrate but now it's 'using' both GPUs.

e.g.
GPU 0:  ~400Mh
GPU 1:  OFF

to

GPU 0:   ~100Mh
GPU 1:   ~300Mh

Anyone else had this problem? It's really frustrating. I've tried an older AMD SDK (2.5) but even with reboots, driver reinstallation and cgminer recompilation it simply makes cgminer segfault on startup.

Any hints would be really appreciated.

EDIT: I realized I left out some information that might help.

I am using 'phatk' kernel, worksize 256, vectors 2 and the variables:

export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1

are set before cgminer runs. CPU usage seems high though (Xorg is the top), which is concerning. The CPU in the system is an AMD FX 4170 (4.2Ghz) quad core.


You might have to use other intensity for that, I get high cpu usuage when intensity is at 1 on windows and cpu at about 0% with I: 9.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 29, 2012, 08:34:22 PM
 #7811

I'm using cgminer on Linux for the particular machine I'm discussing here. It had one 5870 card in it and I was getting ~430Mh/s out of it. Not too bad.

I happened to get my hands on another 5870 so I thought I'd pop that in too. I have both GPUs turning up in cgminer (after a little trouble, but 'aticonfig -f --adapter=all --initial' worked wonders.

I have cgminer 2.8.7 (same behavior with 2.8.5), AMD SDK 2.7 and Catalyst 12.10.

If I only enable one GPU, I get the hashrate as before. If I enable both GPUs, the first GPUs hashrate plummets. Net result is I'm still only getting the same hashrate but now it's 'using' both GPUs.

e.g.
GPU 0:  ~400Mh
GPU 1:  OFF

to

GPU 0:   ~100Mh
GPU 1:   ~300Mh
Actually sounds like it's still only mining on the one  GPU, just splitting it into two. What does 'cgminer -n' say?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dooferorg
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 09:01:02 PM
 #7812

I'm using cgminer on Linux for the particular machine I'm discussing here. It had one 5870 card in it and I was getting ~430Mh/s out of it. Not too bad.

I happened to get my hands on another 5870 so I thought I'd pop that in too. I have both GPUs turning up in cgminer (after a little trouble, but 'aticonfig -f --adapter=all --initial' worked wonders.

I have cgminer 2.8.7 (same behavior with 2.8.5), AMD SDK 2.7 and Catalyst 12.10.

If I only enable one GPU, I get the hashrate as before. If I enable both GPUs, the first GPUs hashrate plummets. Net result is I'm still only getting the same hashrate but now it's 'using' both GPUs.

e.g.
GPU 0:  ~400Mh
GPU 1:  OFF

to

GPU 0:   ~100Mh
GPU 1:   ~300Mh
Actually sounds like it's still only mining on the one  GPU, just splitting it into two. What does 'cgminer -n' say?

Well darn .. You are quite right. 'cgminer -n' does show only 1. It says that ADL doesn't match OpenCL. I read about that with the gpu-map command but am still a bit confused.

I have the entries with their PCI IDs in the xorg.conf that match with the output of 'aticonfig --list-adapters'. I shouldn't need 'dummy plugs' to get the other adapter to work, should I?

BTC: 1dooferoD3vnwgez3Jo1E4bFfgMf81LR2
LTC: LVyF5BmCmTmXH8NZ6iesJWsGxBhS1frP7S
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 29, 2012, 10:09:55 PM
 #7813

Well darn .. You are quite right. 'cgminer -n' does show only 1. It says that ADL doesn't match OpenCL. I read about that with the gpu-map command but am still a bit confused.

I have the entries with their PCI IDs in the xorg.conf that match with the output of 'aticonfig --list-adapters'. I shouldn't need 'dummy plugs' to get the other adapter to work, should I?
Right, you shouldn't need dummy plugs unless you have a driver before about 11.6 or something. I still suspect your xorg config. is wrong, or you're not really exporting the display variable. Also it's worth noting people have had looots of trouble with recent drivers and last good was something like 12.8. Can you show us the actual output from cgminer -n ?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dooferorg
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 11:06:47 PM
 #7814

Well darn .. You are quite right. 'cgminer -n' does show only 1. It says that ADL doesn't match OpenCL. I read about that with the gpu-map command but am still a bit confused.

I have the entries with their PCI IDs in the xorg.conf that match with the output of 'aticonfig --list-adapters'. I shouldn't need 'dummy plugs' to get the other adapter to work, should I?
Right, you shouldn't need dummy plugs unless you have a driver before about 11.6 or something. I still suspect your xorg config. is wrong, or you're not really exporting the display variable. Also it's worth noting people have had looots of trouble with recent drivers and last good was something like 12.8. Can you show us the actual output from cgminer -n ?

Absolutely. I'll provide any information needed. This is the first machine I've had multiple GPUs in (Linux or Windows), so I admit to being a bit clueless in their setup. I've done multiple displays under Linux, but only one GPU at a time.

Spammy stuff below:

cgminer -n:

Code:
[2012-10-29 18:53:47] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1016.4)                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] Platform 0 devices: 1                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] 0 Cypress                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] ADL found more devices than opencl!                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] There is possibly at least one GPU that doesn't support OpenCL                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] Use the gpu map feature to reliably map OpenCL to ADL                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] WARNING: Number of OpenCL and ADL devices did not match!                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] Hardware monitoring may NOT match up with devices!                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] GPU 0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series hardware monitoring enabled                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] 1 GPU devices max detected 

aticonfig --list-adapters:

Code:
* 0. 09:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
  1. 04:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series

* - Default adapter

xorg.conf:

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
Screen         "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
EndSection

Section "Module"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Driver      "fglrx"
BusID       "PCI:9:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
Driver      "fglrx"
BusID       "PCI:4:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
DefaultDepth     24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0"
Device     "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0"
DefaultDepth     24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
EndSubSection
EndSection

BTC: 1dooferoD3vnwgez3Jo1E4bFfgMf81LR2
LTC: LVyF5BmCmTmXH8NZ6iesJWsGxBhS1frP7S
ryann
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 11:18:35 PM
 #7815

I got a share that registered a diff of 7.58M  Grin

That was a block solve for mtred since current difficulty is just over 3 million. Smiley

What does that mean? Does it mean you make more coins or something?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 11:42:07 PM
 #7816

I got a share that registered a diff of 7.58M  Grin

That was a block solve for mtred since current difficulty is just over 3 million. Smiley

What does that mean? Does it mean you make more coins or something?
No.

The share difficulty must be above the work difficulty for it to count as valid work.
How far above it is, makes no different to it's share value.

If it is above the network difficulty, it also represent s a block for the pool.

... i.e. it's purely information of interest to some Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
October 30, 2012, 12:09:32 AM
 #7817

I got a share that registered a diff of 7.58M  Grin

That was a block solve for mtred since current difficulty is just over 3 million. Smiley

What does that mean? Does it mean you make more coins or something?
Not unless you're mining on p2pool. Tongue

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2012, 12:13:32 AM
 #7818

I got a share that registered a diff of 7.58M  Grin

That was a block solve for mtred since current difficulty is just over 3 million. Smiley

What does that mean? Does it mean you make more coins or something?
Not unless you're mining on p2pool. Tongue
Well, not just p2pool but any non-pps pool will be making you more money after you've found the block. So proportional, DGM, slush scoring, smpps etc etc all will increase their returns to you as a result of you finding it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
October 30, 2012, 12:15:07 AM
 #7819

Well, not just p2pool but any non-pps pool will be making you more money after you've found the block. So proportional, DGM, slush scoring, smpps etc etc all will increase their returns to you as a result of you finding it.
I don't know of any other pool that rewards the finder of the block with an extra subsidy though.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2012, 12:20:28 AM
 #7820

Well, not just p2pool but any non-pps pool will be making you more money after you've found the block. So proportional, DGM, slush scoring, smpps etc etc all will increase their returns to you as a result of you finding it.
I don't know of any other pool that rewards the finder of the block with an extra subsidy though.
Very true. Some have lotteries and whatnot occasionally but not regularly.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 [391] 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!