Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 09:21:47 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 [367] 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4825261 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
October 02, 2012, 04:10:18 PM
 #7321


Is this new? If so, can you pinpoint which version it started from? If not, is it unique to lc.ozco.in ?
Fairly recent yes. https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7490029/log2.txt  Log file with debug turned on. I haven't tried another pool lately, will try that now.

As for version I had been running bfgminer, all the way up to 2.8.1 was getting the error so switched back to cgminer then have tried cgminer 2.7.5.
Can you track down which version did *not* have this problem? cgminer only, please.
hey con,
don't remember seeing it in 2.7.4, but I only fired a gpu back up last night on 2.7.5 to see if I could replicate rahlquist issue.
spoke to kano briefly before on irc Smiley
I'll fire up a 2.7.4 and check
awake: I wont be long
G

edit: it is there i'll regress through some versions in morning unless rahlquist spots the change before

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
1481318507
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481318507

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481318507
Reply with quote  #2

1481318507
Report to moderator
1481318507
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481318507

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481318507
Reply with quote  #2

1481318507
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481318507
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481318507

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481318507
Reply with quote  #2

1481318507
Report to moderator
1481318507
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481318507

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481318507
Reply with quote  #2

1481318507
Report to moderator
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
October 02, 2012, 06:04:43 PM
 #7322

version 12.Cool

Does CGMiner support a version with sunglasses?

LOL, forgot that an 8 next to an ) made sunglasses. I have version 12.8
wndrbr3d
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
October 02, 2012, 06:30:02 PM
 #7323


Is this new? If so, can you pinpoint which version it started from? If not, is it unique to lc.ozco.in ?
Fairly recent yes. https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7490029/log2.txt  Log file with debug turned on. I haven't tried another pool lately, will try that now.

As for version I had been running bfgminer, all the way up to 2.8.1 was getting the error so switched back to cgminer then have tried cgminer 2.7.5.
Can you track down which version did *not* have this problem? cgminer only, please.

I reported a crash earlier in this thread which I feel is related when doing scrypt mining. (here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1231316#msg1231316)

I found that 2.6.4 is the "newest" version that doesn't seem to exhibit the same symptoms.
rahlquist
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
October 02, 2012, 06:53:43 PM
 #7324

I reported a crash earlier in this thread which I feel is related when doing scrypt mining. (here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1231316#msg1231316)

I found that 2.6.4 is the "newest" version that doesn't seem to exhibit the same symptoms.
TY for finding that, the oldest copy I had on hand was 2.6.5 and the oldest windows version avail on his site is 2.6.6 so I had no way to test lower versions without a lot of digging.
rahlquist
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
October 02, 2012, 07:08:12 PM
 #7325



I reported a crash earlier in this thread which I feel is related when doing scrypt mining. (here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1231316#msg1231316)

I found that 2.6.4 is the "newest" version that doesn't seem to exhibit the same symptoms.
for what its worth BFG miner 2.6.4 still gets the time-too-old with ozcoin. Thats the only 2.6.4 windows version I was able to find.

UPDATE:
Also 2.6.4 of cgminer does it.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 02, 2012, 10:41:46 PM
 #7326


Can you track down which version did *not* have this problem? cgminer only, please.
Will be happy to look into that more but so far it has seemed to be occouring independant of what version I run of either .

I tried your suggestion and jumped to another pool and I am at a:276 with only r:5 and those were all prevhash-stale. So it may be pool dependent, I even have I=18 right now and no issues with rejections.

In that case it might actually be the pool's fault setting a high rolltime and then rejecting the shares as late.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
rahlquist
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
October 03, 2012, 01:20:56 AM
 #7327

In that case it might actually be the pool's fault setting a high rolltime and then rejecting the shares as late.
Thank you ckolivas, was afraid it may be something to do with the pool. I did find some other threads also stating that if time on the pool server was drifting too far it may be the cause too, hopefully Graet can uncover the issue cause I dont want to pool jump.
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 03, 2012, 04:28:02 PM
 #7328

Scrypt mining is still broken in that it can not utilize high thread concurrencies (I need to use a thread concurrency of 24000 for my 7950s to mine effectively).  The bug seems to be with the calculation for memory allocation.  It can be easily duplicated by setting the thread concurrency above 8192, eg 12288.  In reaper, any thread concurrency may be used as long as it is a multiple of 64 and produces a memory padding that fits within the card's memory space.

Using "set GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100" in Windows allows the program to run, but it doesn't hash at all and does not create a memory pad on the GPU.

I reported this several weeks ago and it still hasn't been addressed.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 03, 2012, 10:34:12 PM
 #7329

Scrypt mining is still broken in that it can not utilize high thread concurrencies (I need to use a thread concurrency of 24000 for my 7950s to mine effectively).  The bug seems to be with the calculation for memory allocation.  It can be easily duplicated by setting the thread concurrency above 8192, eg 12288.  In reaper, any thread concurrency may be used as long as it is a multiple of 64 and produces a memory padding that fits within the card's memory space.

Using "set GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100" in Windows allows the program to run, but it doesn't hash at all and does not create a memory pad on the GPU.

I reported this several weeks ago and it still hasn't been addressed.
That's cause I have no idea what the problem is. Setting GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT does nothing on windows, only linux.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
poon-TANG
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148



View Profile
October 04, 2012, 02:42:19 AM
 #7330

Just download 2.7.6 and now it shows "Diff 1, or Diff 2" ?
Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957



View Profile
October 04, 2012, 02:48:10 AM
 #7331

Just download 2.7.6 and now it shows "Diff 1, or Diff 2" ?

Yes, or Diff3 or Diff(n) depending on the difficulty of the share that you are receiving from the pool that you are on.
poon-TANG
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148



View Profile
October 04, 2012, 02:55:49 AM
 #7332

Just download 2.7.6 and now it shows "Diff 1, or Diff 2" ?

Yes, or Diff3 or Diff(n) depending on the difficulty of the share that you are receiving from the pool that you are on.

Sweet..thanks
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
October 04, 2012, 03:29:26 AM
 #7333

Just download 2.7.6 and now it shows "Diff 1, or Diff 2" ?

Yes, or Diff3 or Diff(n) depending on the difficulty of the share that you are receiving from the pool that you are on.

Sweet..thanks

IIRC the faster the rig the higher the Diff will go, if the pool supports it. For example, on BTCGuild via Stratum, my ~5 GHash BFL rig is doing Diff 8.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
October 04, 2012, 10:05:08 AM
 #7334

Just download 2.7.6 and now it shows "Diff 1, or Diff 2" ?

Yes, or Diff3 or Diff(n) depending on the difficulty of the share that you are receiving from the pool that you are on.

Sweet..thanks

IIRC the faster the rig the higher the Diff will go, if the pool supports it. For example, on BTCGuild via Stratum, my ~5 GHash BFL rig is doing Diff 8.


Um... I didn't think cgminer had stratum support yet?

EDIT: must be using a proxy.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957



View Profile
October 04, 2012, 11:08:20 AM
 #7335

Just download 2.7.6 and now it shows "Diff 1, or Diff 2" ?

Yes, or Diff3 or Diff(n) depending on the difficulty of the share that you are receiving from the pool that you are on.

Sweet..thanks

IIRC the faster the rig the higher the Diff will go, if the pool supports it. For example, on BTCGuild via Stratum, my ~5 GHash BFL rig is doing Diff 8.


Um... I didn't think cgminer had stratum support yet?

EDIT: must be using a proxy.

M
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1236151#msg1236151
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 04, 2012, 01:50:35 PM
 #7336

Stratum update

The code has been in testing for a while now, and numerous issues have been ironed out. I've been mining with it for a few days in a mixture of regular pools + stratum pools and things seem to working out okay. I've just managed to get it building and working on windows and have created the first binary for people to start testing it. It's still not mature enough for a full release, but at some stage I need people to start testing it so I can sort out issues as they arise.

If you're on linux, and can use git, checkout the stratum branch and build from that.
git pull -a && git checkout stratum

For those on windows, here is a test binary.
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe

Just drop  it into your existing 2.7.6 directory. It will still read version 2.7.6, but don't let that fool you. For stratum to be active, you need - of course - to mine on one of the 2 pools that currently support it: slush's pool and btcguild . The way I've set up the code, you shouldn't need to do anything special to mine stratum, just use your regular settings (or you can plug in the stratum info directly if you're so inclined). The advantages to the miner should be far far less network communications with less network delays which should also translate into less rejects. Of course the real advantage is to the pools and for the ability to scale to much higher hashrates with the advent of ASICs.

Lots has been written about it here (though it may be rather confusing):
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=108533.0

EDIT: There is NO proxy support whatsoever for stratum at this stage.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kaerf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 631


View Profile
October 04, 2012, 09:14:16 PM
 #7337

thanks for all your hard work, ckolivas.

i tried this on linux, but got the following errors:

Code:
[2012-10-04 14:06:42] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-10-04 14:06:42] Switching pool 0 http://api2.bitcoin.cz:8332 to stratum+tcp://api-stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333
 [2
   012-10-04 1[42:00162:-4130]- 0P4o o1l4 :00 6s:t4r3a]t uPmo+otlc p0: /s/tarpait-usmt+rtactpu:m/./baiptic-ositnr.actzu:m3.3b3i3t caoliinv.ecz:3333 alive
 [2012-10-04 14:06:43] Switching pool 1 http://mine3.btcguild.com:8332 to stratum+tcp://198.154.98.196:9332
 [2012-10-04 14:06:49] Rejected bb6e3804 Diff 1 BFL 1 pool 0 (Incorrect size of extranonce
 [2012-10-04 14:06:49] Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2012-10-04 14:06:49] Rejected 9de81d7d Diff 1 BFL 1 pool 0 (Incorrect size of extranonce
 [2012-10-04 14:06:50] Rejected 544a476e Diff 1 BFL 1 pool 0 (Incorrect size of extranonce
 [2012-10-04 14:06:59] Rejected e177e632 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0 (Incorrect size of extranonce
 [2012-10-04 14:06:59] Rejected c7ea7fd8 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0 (Incorrect size of extranonce
 [2012-10-04 14:07:06] Rejected 972a4688 Diff 1 BFL 1 pool 0 (Incorrect size of extranonce

and then i get 0 accepts


BTW, I also had to add the strtod fix in driver-bitforce.c (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=printpage;topic=94420.0) to get things going.

....

just checked debug output and it keeps saying:
Code:
[2012-10-04 14:13:27] Failed to parse a \n terminated string in recv_line
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468



View Profile WWW
October 04, 2012, 09:53:57 PM
 #7338

Stratum update

<snip>
If you're on linux, and can use git, checkout the stratum branch and build from that.
git pull -a && git checkout stratum

Grabbed, compiled, playing with it on a single machine. (wish it had a subversion# or something so I'd know which was running..)  Didn't change a single line of my config file, and it's working for multiple host entries and pools, including moving away from the stratum proxy directly to the stratum pool.

Quote
[2012-10-04 14:46:26] Switching pool 0 http://my.internal.proxy:8332 to stratum+tcp://198.154.98.196:9332

Too soon to tell if there are any issues, but I'll let you know. Thanks again for all your hard work!

btw, what happens if stratum+tcp fails.. does it drop back to http or eliminate the pool# alltogether?




PandaMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


I got scammed Jan2014


View Profile WWW
October 04, 2012, 10:09:29 PM
 #7339

I have A:2297 R:40 with version 275 running on litecoinpool.

My Litecoin address: Lf9WKM61AhmXchG2Ph2cftHKSQhxHutcdk
My Bitcoin address: 1Hwem4GSQWPCtBTKcSpXg2jYwxF6PtTjZx
--> Have you tried Triplemining.com? <--
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
October 04, 2012, 10:17:22 PM
 #7340

just checked debug output and it keeps saying:
Code:
[2012-10-04 14:13:27] Failed to parse a \n terminated string in recv_line

I have the same, looks like there's some issue with Stratum+BFL.

Pages: « 1 ... 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 [367] 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!