Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2017, 08:05:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 [389] 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 ... 839 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5561306 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2012, 01:02:14 PM
 #7761

I rarely look at cgminer running, but last time I looked, I saw this:
Code:
[2012-10-24 12:04:00] Pool 0 communication failure, caching submissions
 [2012-10-24 12:04:03] LONGPOLL from pool 0 detected new block
 [2012-10-24 12:04:05] Share became stale while retrying submit, discarding
 [2012-10-24 12:04:05] Pool 0 communication resumed, submitting work
This was witnessed in 2.8.5; I actually saw it twice within 15 minutes (the second time there wasn't a share discarded in the few seconds after the longpoll).  The pool isn't great on connectivity, so the communication failures don't surprise me, especially just before a longpoll, however, I am curious as to whether or not cgminer should have said "oh, communication is working now" when it got the longpoll instead of waiting a second or two to check/determine communication was restored.  Obviously the share that was discarded would have been rejected anyway, I only ask because I wonder if there might be something missing/inefficient in the communication failure code.
We can't hold on to shares forever, even with submit stale being the default. Imagine a scenario where the pool keeps sending work but the server is borked in a way it won't accept work. Cgminer could get a backlog of work so large that it crashes due to running out of memory. So cgminer keeps trying to resubmit the shares only until it reaches the expired work criteria. However, if cgminer thinks it has found a block, it will hold onto it until it successfully submits it no matter how long it takes.

Either way, a reliable pool is the most important variable here.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1508529952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508529952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508529952
Reply with quote  #2

1508529952
Report to moderator
1508529952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508529952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508529952
Reply with quote  #2

1508529952
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508529952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508529952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508529952
Reply with quote  #2

1508529952
Report to moderator
1508529952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508529952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508529952
Reply with quote  #2

1508529952
Report to moderator
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 807


View Profile
October 25, 2012, 04:51:47 PM
 #7762

We can't hold on to shares forever, even with submit stale being the default.
I understand that, you 've made that point to plenty of people plenty of times.  My concern was with the fact that the pool was marked as down while I received a longpoll.  My question is this: "should the pool have been marked up when I received a longpoll from it?"  Maybe the answer is no, in which case that share was destined to be discarded, but if the answer is yes, then I would think submission should have been attempted before it expired (or maybe it was, and that's why the pool wasn't marked as up?).
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2012, 09:20:06 PM
 #7763

We can't hold on to shares forever, even with submit stale being the default.
I understand that, you 've made that point to plenty of people plenty of times.  My concern was with the fact that the pool was marked as down while I received a longpoll.  My question is this: "should the pool have been marked up when I received a longpoll from it?"  Maybe the answer is no, in which case that share was destined to be discarded, but if the answer is yes, then I would think submission should have been attempted before it expired (or maybe it was, and that's why the pool wasn't marked as up?).
Actually the issue is not whether cgminer has even flagged the pool as down or up at all because share submission is done asynchronously and ignores that flag. The issue is cgminer actually tried to submit it, likely numerous times, and it failed repeatedly till it eventually expired. The sign that it has failed to send is when cgminer says "Pool 0 communication failure". After that it keeps trying to submit, it just doesn't spam the logs with every attempt. Often pools get into situations where they can send getworks or longpolls and can't accept shares, or they can accept shares but fail to send longpolls and so on. That's the thing about the getwork protocol versus something like stratum; everything is done separately.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
nitrox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


tester


View Profile
October 25, 2012, 10:34:10 PM
 #7764

report:
OS: win 7 x64 / 2 x HD7950OC , SDK 2.7 , cgminer 2.8.5
driver 12.09 and 12.10 a lot of reject and hardware errors ...
back to driver 12.08 more stable and profitable at the moment

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2012, 03:05:32 PM
 #7765

report:
OS: win 7 x64 / 2 x HD7950OC , SDK 2.7 , cgminer 2.8.5
driver 12.09 and 12.10 a lot of reject and hardware errors ...
back to driver 12.08 more stable and profitable at the moment
Thanks for that. Typical of AMD to screw up something like 4 out of every 5 driver releases in one way or another.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Unclegogi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
October 26, 2012, 03:31:38 PM
 #7766

I've updated cgminer to 2.8.5 on all my 5 rigs (all with win7 x64 and 7950+7970 cards), with --fix-protocol key it seems to be the most stable version i've ever seen.
Without --fix-protocol cgminer sometimes stops if internet connection is broken.
HolyScott
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173



View Profile
October 26, 2012, 04:05:15 PM
 #7767

Seeing a little improvement on my 3x Crossfile 6950 setup. Before when a card crashed windows crashed out cgminer. Now it just kills the one card, and the other 2 seem to keep mining.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2012, 09:24:18 PM
 #7768

I've updated cgminer to 2.8.5 on all my 5 rigs (all with win7 x64 and 7950+7970 cards), with --fix-protocol key it seems to be the most stable version i've ever seen.
Without --fix-protocol cgminer sometimes stops if internet connection is broken.
Thanks. Can you at least describe what you mean by "stops"? It's really supposed to reconnect. Unfortunately windows sockets don't quite behave like real unix ones so once again I'm forever adding workarounds for windows.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Nemesis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
October 26, 2012, 11:15:31 PM
 #7769

I can confirm that the lastest version doesnt work in Windows 8

As soon as cmd windows open from batch file, it will be auto closed
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 27, 2012, 12:24:23 AM
 #7770

I can confirm that the lastest version doesnt work in Windows 8

As soon as cmd windows open from batch file, it will be auto closed

i.e. you need to at least open a command window and run it from there to see what's wrong ...

It may be windows, it may be you, or it may be cgminer ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
mdude77
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1456



View Profile
October 27, 2012, 01:15:53 AM
 #7771

I can confirm that the lastest version doesnt work in Windows 8

As soon as cmd windows open from batch file, it will be auto closed

i.e. you need to at least open a command window and run it from there to see what's wrong ...

It may be windows, it may be you, or it may be cgminer ...

I've been running cgminer in windows 8 pre-release for quite a while.  the hardest part was getting a driver that worked.  once I got it working, I left it alone and refuse it to touch it.  every so often it randomly reboots, and vnc stops working after a while, but as long as it keeps mining, I don't care.

M

I'm X-Fueled.  Are you?  I mine BTC at Kano's Pool, the best BTC pool on the planet!
Tip for NiceHash: use their wallet to decrease fees!  Check out Helium!  Referral for Cryptopia.
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
October 27, 2012, 07:27:05 AM
 #7772

I can confirm that the lastest version doesnt work in Windows 8

As soon as cmd windows open from batch file, it will be auto closed


I can confirm that it works fine in Windows 8 x64 Smiley  Been running 2.8.5 without a hitch since I installed it this AM with Catalyst 12.10's.
PandaMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
October 28, 2012, 05:37:25 AM
 #7773

...snip...
with --fix-protocol key it seems to be the most stable version i've ever seen.
Without --fix-protocol cgminer sometimes stops if internet connection is broken.

I've been thinking why not hard code the --fix-protocol into 2.8.6+ since it seems to do the job very well. (and add a --no-fix-protocol option instead?)

CENTRA

            ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████████████████▄▄
      ▄███████▀▀         ▀▀███████▄
    ▄█████▀                  ▀██████
   █████▀      ▄▄▄█████▄▄      ▀█████▄
  █████     ▄██████████████▄     ▀████▄
 █████     ██████▀▀  ▀▀██████▄    ▀████
▐████     █████          █████     █████
█████    ▐████                     ▐████
█████    █████                     ▐████
█████     █████          ▄████▌    █████
 ████▌    ▀█████▄▄    ▄▄█████▀    ▄████▌
 ▀████▄     ▀██████████████▀     ▄████▀
  ▀█████▄     `▀████████▀▀     ▄█████▀
   `██████▄                  ▄██████
     ▀███████▄▄          ▄▄███████▀
       ▀██████████████████████▀
           ▀▀▀█████████████▀▀

.
.
.
.
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
October 28, 2012, 06:19:44 AM
 #7774

I've been thinking why not hard code the --fix-protocol into 2.8.6+ since it seems to do the job very well. (and add a --no-fix-protocol option instead?)
Because Stratum will hopefully be the default mining protocol soon. Better to get the bugs out of the way now.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 28, 2012, 06:29:40 AM
 #7775

I've been thinking why not hard code the --fix-protocol into 2.8.6+ since it seems to do the job very well. (and add a --no-fix-protocol option instead?)
Because Stratum will hopefully be the default mining protocol soon. Better to get the bugs out of the way now.
Right.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Roland68
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103



View Profile
October 28, 2012, 09:17:04 AM
 #7776

crashed again ( windows XP) and no restart this time ...

would be nice to get rid of the stratum thing for now ...

again is there a --fix syntax for the cgminer.conf file ?

thanks
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 28, 2012, 10:35:29 AM
 #7777

crashed again ( windows XP) and no restart this time ...

would be nice to get rid of the stratum thing for now ...

again is there a --fix syntax for the cgminer.conf file ?

thanks

Works the same for every simple boolean option in cgminer:
(if you look in your cgminer.conf at other examples)

Since the option (as per the README) is --fix-protocol then you use:
Code:
"fix-protocol" : true

You need to add a comma after it if it isn't the last one ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Roland68
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103



View Profile
October 28, 2012, 10:58:57 AM
 #7778

crashed again ( windows XP) and no restart this time ...

would be nice to get rid of the stratum thing for now ...

again is there a --fix syntax for the cgminer.conf file ?

thanks

Works the same for every simple boolean option in cgminer:
(if you look in your cgminer.conf at other examples)

Since the option (as per the README) is --fix-protocol then you use:
Code:
"fix-protocol" : true

You need to add a comma after it if it isn't the last one ...

done!  thanks (I will see if still crashing ... or not)
chewie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
October 28, 2012, 08:29:37 PM
 #7779

CGminer crashed on me again today with an error message "Cgminer program has stopped suddenly" or something to that sort.  Anyhow, I could see behind the error message popup, and it looks like Cgminer put a GPU to REST mode, and then tried to re-enable it, and this is when it crashed.  I'm currently on W7 with version 2.8.5.  Thanks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 28, 2012, 08:40:43 PM
 #7780

CGminer crashed on me again today with the "Cgminer program has stopped suddenly" or something to that sort.  Anyhow, I could see behind the message popup, and it looks like Cgminer put a GPU to REST mode, and then tried to re-enable it, and this is when it crashed.  I'm currently on W7 with version 2.8.5.  Thanks!
REST is usually due to an overheat event, unlike SICK and DEAD.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 [389] 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 ... 839 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!