Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 10:26:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 [385] 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4819237 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2012, 11:30:02 PM
 #7681

something strange whit MULTIPOOL and LOAD BALANCE and BALANCE.

a try to mining on 3 pools whit LOAD BALANCE or BALANCE strategy and the result is the same
first : http://pool.50btc.com
second : http://pool2.50btc.com
third : http://pool.coinlab.com

result for LOAD BALANCE after several hours
first pool : 227 shares
second pool : 168 shares
third pool : 1412 shares

result for BALANCE after several hours
first pool : 213 shares
second pool : 191 shares
third pool : 1624 shares

it is a bug something ?
or i don't get right the value of BALANCE and LOAD BALANCE strategy.
why is there such a big difference between shares count ?
Bug I guess. It's extraordinarily hard balancing things out when there are vastly different ways of getting the same amount of work and handing out depending on pool configuration.
If you strictly want a fixed proportion to each pool only the rotate strategy can guarantee that.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481019969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481019969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481019969
Reply with quote  #2

1481019969
Report to moderator
1481019969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481019969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481019969
Reply with quote  #2

1481019969
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2012, 11:31:14 PM
 #7682

Con, I'll give the new build a whirl tomorrow since I was one of the ones that was having issues with dynamic difficulty.  2.7.6 is what I've been running, and has been rock solid for me, although it seems a few others still had problems.  The only thing I did notice is that if I loose my network, the queued value (Q:) shoots through the roof and then drives the efficiency (E:) down through the floor.  But it doesn't actually effect anything since those are just displayed values, and I know the queued work isn't actually increasing like a rocket ship because it can't get the work if the network is down.   Roll Eyes

Okay, not seeing any issues with dynamic difficulty with 2.8.4, so hopefully that issue is dead and truly buried.  I'm still seeing the weird behavior with queued work after a network loss, though this is clearly a  very minor issue as it does not truly affect anything except displayed stats.
Great thanks Smiley

I wouldn't worry about the Q value... hopefully the old getwork queue thing will be a thing of the past as pools move to better protocols like stratum.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ice_chill
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
October 20, 2012, 04:39:52 AM
 #7683

2.8.4 crashed under Windows 7 32Bit, would I have more luck running CGMiner from XP Mode within Windows 7 ?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2012, 05:15:41 AM
 #7684

2.8.4 crashed under Windows 7 32Bit, would I have more luck running CGMiner from XP Mode within Windows 7 ?
I assume this is mining with stratum? Darn... the cause of this crash remains a mystery then. Perhaps someone with some windows debugging skills that can reproduce it (cause I can't reproduce it) can build a debug version and see.

As for XP mode helping? I doubt it, but it's worth a shot. Probably disabling stratum is the only way to guarantee it not crashing since it's a stratum error (give it regular server details and --fix-protocol)

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ice_chill
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
October 20, 2012, 05:20:59 AM
 #7685

2.8.4 crashed under Windows 7 32Bit, would I have more luck running CGMiner from XP Mode within Windows 7 ?
I assume this is mining with stratum? Darn... the cause of this crash remains a mystery then. Perhaps someone with some windows debugging skills that can reproduce it (cause I can't reproduce it) can build a debug version and see.

As for XP mode helping? I doubt it, but it's worth a shot. Probably disabling stratum is the only way to guarantee it not crashing since it's a stratum error (give it regular server details and --fix-protocol)

It was stratum connection to BTC Guild. Would it help posting the crash error log ? or are they of limited use ?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2012, 05:22:54 AM
 #7686

2.8.4 crashed under Windows 7 32Bit, would I have more luck running CGMiner from XP Mode within Windows 7 ?
I assume this is mining with stratum? Darn... the cause of this crash remains a mystery then. Perhaps someone with some windows debugging skills that can reproduce it (cause I can't reproduce it) can build a debug version and see.

As for XP mode helping? I doubt it, but it's worth a shot. Probably disabling stratum is the only way to guarantee it not crashing since it's a stratum error (give it regular server details and --fix-protocol)

It was stratum connection to BTC Guild. Would it help posting the crash error log ? or are they of limited use ?
Limited yes, useless no.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
nitrox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


tester


View Profile
October 20, 2012, 08:21:16 AM
 #7687

Bug I guess. It's extraordinarily hard balancing things out when there are vastly different ways of getting the same amount of work and handing out depending on pool configuration.
If you strictly want a fixed proportion to each pool only the rotate strategy can guarantee that.
yes i use the rotate strategy.
just report what I saw for the record.  Cool

AxelMi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
October 20, 2012, 10:42:18 AM
 #7688

Cgminer 2.8.4 crashes again on windows 7.
The funny thing is, that i am running some machines with 2.8.3 and some with 2.8.4.
All Machines are using Stratum.
the 2.8.4 machine crashes 80 Minutes later than the 2.8.3 Machines.
amigaman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
October 20, 2012, 11:02:47 AM
 #7689

Cgminer 2.8.4 crashes again on windows 7.
The funny thing is, that i am running some machines with 2.8.3 and some with 2.8.4.
All Machines are using Stratum.
the 2.8.4 machine crashes 80 Minutes later than the 2.8.3 Machines.

I have experienced similar, that's why my rigs have stratum proxy 1.1.1 running with 2.7.6, flawless for days without interruption, on a shaky DSL that disconnects ten times a day.
Also, higher hashrates than on 2.8.x.
I have that proxy as pool one, the pool the proxy points to as pool two and two other non-stratum pools as pool 3 and 4.
To my surprise, 98% of the work go to the proxy or the direct pool, 1% each to my reserve pools.
I have seen that after a DSL reconnect the proxy sometimes is a little picky, then after a few minutes all work resumes to it.
Frizz23
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
October 20, 2012, 11:43:33 AM
 #7690

Cgminer 2.8.4 crashes again on windows 7.

Same here.

2.8.3 and 2.8.4 crash after approx 2 days.

Have only tried Stratum (on BTCGuild) so far.

Host: OS: Win7x64, GPU: 1 x 6970.

@ckolivas: what information can I provide to help you fix this bug?

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2012, 12:21:08 PM
 #7691

Cgminer 2.8.4 crashes again on windows 7.

Same here.

2.8.3 and 2.8.4 crash after approx 2 days.

Have only tried Stratum (on BTCGuild) so far.

Host: OS: Win7x64, GPU: 1 x 6970.

@ckolivas: what information can I provide to help you fix this bug?
This is painful since the mode of failure on windows is really a mystery. The best thing you can do for now is run in debug mode to give me even more indication of where the problem lies. Run it with "--verbose -D -T -P" and see what the last messages are before it crashes.

Even better would be a custom debug build running in gdb but I doubt any of you are up for that  Undecided I'm trying that on my laptop which is the only thing that has windows. Hopefully I don't fry it in the process, but at 10MH/s I also doubt it will recreate the problem.

Sigh. I wish it were only linux...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Rjb82
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57


View Profile
October 20, 2012, 04:57:39 PM
 #7692

"Scrypt will now not fail when setting high thread concurrency values that still return some ram even if opencl returns an error on that ram allocation."

what exactly is considered "high"? I still cant get 2.8.4 to run on a 7950 with anything over 8192 (look-up gap2) unless i raise the look-up gap to 3 and go to 12224 (which i could do pre-2.8.4). Which allows intensity of 20 without HW errors. 3 vs 2 makes you lose some performance at the same concurrencies, but high intensities MORE than makes up for it. ( 3 @ 12224 @ 19 = ~400kh/s vs 2 @ 8192 @ 13 ~330kh/s)

Also... would you know why starting Cgminer @ 12 and raising to 13 gives HW errors, and using the -I 13 flag in my shortcut doesnt?

Thanks for your time.

1HjU8h75ugmgjtn4Nr8T3LgEf9oWMiu9Fy
LYcDibmToTC1BBLYuqwZNuLjF3kWDvMboY
Tittiez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
October 20, 2012, 06:54:44 PM
 #7693

it seems that 2.8.4 uses gpu more aggressive...
Some of my radeon 7970 (1170/1050/65C) work well with 2.7.7 but with 2.8.4 are sick after 2-3 min btc mining.

dunno about getting sick, but my 6950 now able to run with I=12, whereas in 2.7.x and all previous versions anything above 9 was causing cgminer to use 100% of CPU. So, now I'm able to squeeze 400Mhs from 6950 with AMD APP 2.4 and catalyst 12.8 drivers, running at 965Mhz  Grin and almost 440Mhs from 6970.

Holy shit thanks for telling me this! I hated that 100% CPU problem, and now in 2.8 its gone! I'm pulling 220Mh/s out of a 5770 now.
hashalfahalve
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100

Support the bitcoin economy, use BTC merchants


View Profile
October 20, 2012, 07:02:49 PM
 #7694

Can anyone offer a suggestion for why a BFL single in the same physical environment (cooling, etc) is only getting ~430MH on cgminer but when plugged into a windows box with bitminter it gets >800?

It doesn't appear to be throttling and the operating temperature is the same on both platforms.

 BFL 0:  48.3C         | 429.2/425.7Mh/s | A:11393 R:54 HW:0 U: 11.69/m
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2012, 08:03:36 PM
 #7695


Even better would be a custom debug build running in gdb but I doubt any of you are up for that  Undecided I'm trying that on my laptop which is the only thing that has windows. Hopefully I don't fry it in the process, but at 10MH/s I also doubt it will recreate the problem.

Sigh. I wish it were only linux...

How do you do that? I tried something a while back but didn't get it working.

What I want to do is run under gdb, save the environment when it crashes, then continue running so that it's not sitting all day locked up.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2012, 08:54:14 PM
 #7696

"Scrypt will now not fail when setting high thread concurrency values that still return some ram even if opencl returns an error on that ram allocation."

what exactly is considered "high"? I still cant get 2.8.4 to run on a 7950 with anything over 8192 (look-up gap2) unless i raise the look-up gap to 3 and go to 12224 (which i could do pre-2.8.4). Which allows intensity of 20 without HW errors. 3 vs 2 makes you lose some performance at the same concurrencies, but high intensities MORE than makes up for it. ( 3 @ 12224 @ 19 = ~400kh/s vs 2 @ 8192 @ 13 ~330kh/s)

Also... would you know why starting Cgminer @ 12 and raising to 13 gives HW errors, and using the -I 13 flag in my shortcut doesnt?

Thanks for your time.
I didn't say it would magically work, just that I relaxed one of the checks. And no I can't answer the second part about HW errors either. The scrypt opencl code remains a mystery to me. EDIT: Actually with the HW error scenario, it might be that because you're setting the kernel/memory size to intensity 13 on the first pass, that it allocates enough pinned system ram for that amount and continues working, whereas it doesn't like being increased after the fact. Magical scrypt pixie dust...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2012, 09:34:10 PM
 #7697


Even better would be a custom debug build running in gdb but I doubt any of you are up for that  Undecided I'm trying that on my laptop which is the only thing that has windows. Hopefully I don't fry it in the process, but at 10MH/s I also doubt it will recreate the problem.

Sigh. I wish it were only linux...

How do you do that? I tried something a while back but didn't get it working.

What I want to do is run under gdb, save the environment when it crashes, then continue running so that it's not sitting all day locked up.
When you build it, build it without optimisations in the CFLAGS and with the -g option, i.e. CFLAGS="-g -Wall -W" only. Then
gdb cgminer
run [usual cgminer parameters] -T
Running it with -T is a good idea cause gdb spews out other information and corrupts the display when you're using the curses display.

Here's a debug build in case someone is willing to try it:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
October 21, 2012, 03:53:16 AM
 #7698

I feel like an idiot, sorry in advance but...

Where is the scrypt readme ?

please don't hurt me, but I looked on cons page and can only see the cgminer readme.

Thanks.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 21, 2012, 04:16:00 AM
 #7699

I feel like an idiot, sorry in advance but...

Where is the scrypt readme ?

please don't hurt me, but I looked on cons page and can only see the cgminer readme.

Thanks.
SCRYPT-README ...

Edit: or in the windows binary release: SCRYPT-README.txt

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


View Profile
October 21, 2012, 05:48:22 PM
 #7700

I don't seem to be able to see a v2.8.4 tag in git - can I just assume that the tip of the master branch is at 2.8.4?

roy
Pages: « 1 ... 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 [385] 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!