Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 06:45:59 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 [364] 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4818313 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
September 29, 2012, 12:34:00 AM
 #7261

I just said that. Huh

Also, it'd be easier on ckolivas' server than redownloading it over and over.
You mean you don't download the same linux .iso files over and over, just because you can?! Then what fun is the internet?!

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480963559
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963559

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963559
Reply with quote  #2

1480963559
Report to moderator
1480963559
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963559

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963559
Reply with quote  #2

1480963559
Report to moderator
1480963559
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963559

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963559
Reply with quote  #2

1480963559
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 12:52:47 AM
 #7262

...

That's exactly what I'm saying. Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything. If your looking for compensation put a remote access app in the app store or something. Jumping through hoops just to satisfy someones ego is not on my agenda. It might make sense, if you gained something by using it.

Here's a zip copy. So no need to install 7z on every mining rig.
Move along nothing to see here

Downloading a windows executable zip from from a random irate user of free software - bad idea for anyone considering it ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
burger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 195


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 12:56:02 AM
 #7263

Thanks to dlasher, SAC, burger, and especially ckolivas and kano; my BFL single is now running on my R-Pi!  Soon I will re-post dlasher's guide with the corrections I used to make it work for me.  (First I will test with a fresh Raspbian install.)

Code:
cgminer version 2.7.6 - Started: [2012-09-28 13:26:28]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):433.4 (avg):714.6 Mh/s | Q:4  A:12  R:0  HW:0  E:300%  U:17.1/m
 TQ: 0  ST: 2  SS: 0  DW: 1  NB: 2  LW: 15  GF: 0  RF: 0  WU: 18.5
 Connected to http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337 with LP as user <myusername>
 Block: 00000038ba38b354b3fd8173cd55cebb...  Started: [13:26:28]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 BFL 0:  45.7C         | 771.9/918.7Mh/s | A:13 R:0 HW:0 U:18.54/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2012-09-28 13:26:27] Started cgminer 2.7.6
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Long-polling activated for http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337/LP
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Pool 0 http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337 alive
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] New block detected on network before longpoll
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Pool 1 http://us.ozco.in:8331 alive
 [2012-09-28 13:26:33] Accepted 00e6e730 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:38] Accepted 09631bd0 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:43] Accepted a45652a8 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:43] Accepted a79f96ba Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:48] Accepted 280b28cf Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0

Nice that you got it working!

mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 02:33:17 AM
 #7264

Maybe you could've extracted it onto a flash drive from one computer and then just plug it into each miner? Seems easier than whining about the format.

... or unzip it and store on one machine, and copy the folder to the others ...

M
I just said that. Huh

Also, it'd be easier on ckolivas' server than redownloading it over and over.

You said USB key.  There are inherent dangers with doing that, not to mention it requires walking around. Smiley

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
September 29, 2012, 02:52:52 AM
 #7265

You said USB key.  There are inherent dangers with doing that, not to mention it requires walking around. Smiley

M
Yeah, how else are you going to get it onto the other machines? Dangers?

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
September 29, 2012, 03:45:18 AM
 #7266

I'd argue that you'd still have to install 7z or some program that can deal properly with zip files. While I haven't tried Vista's and 7's implementation, at least XP's was pretty broken. (Stuff like random error messages for proper zip files or files in an archive being silently ignored.)
I have a friend who stopped supporting people who used windows' zip to extract his program because he knew that'd fail. So, please, if you want to continue using that POS, go ahead, but do stop spamming this thread about it... Sad

Pretty much everyone's needs something that supports zip and rar files. Not sure why you assume I use winzip, but I don't. I do think its better to use a compression everyone already needs support for, unless there is a reason to do otherwise.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 04:34:50 AM
 #7267


That's exactly what I'm saying. Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything. If your looking for compensation put a remote access app in the app store or something. Jumping through hoops just to satisfy someones ego is not on my agenda. It might make sense, if you gained something by using it.


Are you kidding me?

It makes sense because it creates an archive 1/3 the size of a .zip file.  Enough said.  A good compression/archival program is not exactly a special piece of software.  If it is too difficult for you maybe you should just turn your computer off and take it back to Wal-Mart.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
September 29, 2012, 05:23:56 AM
 #7268

Hey guys,

I can't seem to run CGMiner with the --scrypt option.
I always run into the following error, followed by CGMiner disabling all GPUs and the crashing (dialog of the program is not responding comes up).

Anyone know why?
I have 3 5970s.

farfie
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58



View Profile
September 29, 2012, 05:36:29 AM
 #7269

I'd argue that you'd still have to install 7z or some program that can deal properly with zip files. While I haven't tried Vista's and 7's implementation, at least XP's was pretty broken. (Stuff like random error messages for proper zip files or files in an archive being silently ignored.)
I have a friend who stopped supporting people who used windows' zip to extract his program because he knew that'd fail. So, please, if you want to continue using that POS, go ahead, but do stop spamming this thread about it... Sad

Pretty much everyone's needs something that supports zip and rar files. Not sure why you assume I use winzip, but I don't. I do think its better to use a compression everyone already needs support for, unless there is a reason to do otherwise.

Off-topic, but like ck was saying, I can't believe someone that's so ahead of the curve technology wise (by even USING bitcoin) would be so against this. And then he goes on saying how there's "no point to using 7z". But there is a point, it's a better program, and the files it generates are better in every way, not to mention how lightweight 7z is in the first place.

Do you still use XP? A dumbphone? CRT television? Even if you do, it doesn't make you right, and doesn't mean you're making the right choice. Technology won't stagnate just because you're unwilling to move forward with the rest of us. That's the whole point of technology in the first place, since it seems you have forgotten. But then you also had the gall to come in here with your ignorance, complain about 7z while arguing with multiple people as if you knew it wasn't a good program. Does it ever end?

Hey guys,

I can't seem to run CGMiner with the --scrypt option.
I always run into the following error, followed by CGMiner disabling all GPUs and the crashing (dialog of the program is not responding comes up).

Anyone know why?
I have 3 5970s.



Sorry if this is obvious, but first, try using the latest cgminer.
Also, that little echo script thing you have goin on is mega cute bro. Mad props.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
September 29, 2012, 05:38:00 AM
 #7270

Hey guys,

I can't seem to run CGMiner with the --scrypt option.
I always run into the following error, followed by CGMiner disabling all GPUs and the crashing (dialog of the program is not responding comes up).

Anyone know why?
I have 3 5970s.



Umm...
1) What driver/SDK?
2) Why don't you try updating to the newest CGMiner: 2.7.6?
3) A 5970 has 3200 shaders each. Why are you using "--shaders 1792"? Where did you even get that number?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
September 29, 2012, 05:40:35 AM
 #7271

Do you still use XP?
I do find XP to be simplistic and comforting, compared to Vista or even 7. That said, I'd never use XP > 7 for my main computer.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
September 29, 2012, 05:43:58 AM
 #7272

Are you kidding me?

It makes sense because it creates an archive 1/3 the size of a .zip file.  Enough said. 

It's about half the size, either way it's a one second download.

A good compression/archival program is not exactly a special piece of software.  If it is too difficult for you maybe you should just turn your computer off and take it back to Wal-Mart.

Seems pretty special to me, What use would a mining rig have for it otherwise? Installing it on your main pc is one thing. If your trying to convince me that installing a secondary program on numerous pc's, to save a 3mb download is a good deal. Give it a rest.
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 524


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 06:24:52 AM
 #7273

So set up a windows or SMB share depending on what you run. Use a NAS box for it whatever. Just put the uncompressed version on the network they are all on. At least I assume they aren't scattered all over the globe. If they are you could always use a VPN to get to your data. It isn't hard to get to the uncompressed file if you really want to and having 7z on ONE computer to extract it and copy to a NETWORK ACCESSABLE location isn't hard. Remote file access isn't so hard. I suppose sneaker-net is a little slow but it does work too.

Just seems silly to me to complain about a decompression program that doesn't have to be installed on more then one computer to decompress the files. Granted then you couldn't download it directly from Cons server for every mining rig you have.

Still to me it seems trivially simple to do. I don't know how your network is setup but the fastest IP host I have ever personally used was maybe 10% of my network throughput for wired connections. Granted that was a University after hours and I think we could hit 85MB/s downstream. It was also over 15 years ago bu most people don't pay for that kind of dedicated connection. The file is trivially small, decompressing is fast. Copying locally is far faster then extracting several places. At least for me.

I appreciate donations at ( 1NwkQdmomQPLtdes5KuZhB1D22p7ZGRy4p )
If I am helping in the CGMiner thread give it to Con or Kano. They do the work there.
If you want to sign up for a coinbase account I would appreciate it if you use my referral link. US people now wire, 1% fee give or take a little for sending to your bank account. https://coinbase.com/?r=515bf6145682db9d11000028&utm_campaign=user-referral&src=
PandaMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


I got scammed Jan2014


View Profile WWW
September 29, 2012, 06:44:28 AM
 #7274

Also, that little echo script thing you have goin on is mega cute bro. Mad props.

Yeah, I like it too.  I made an echo notice based on Kano's script.



Code:
@echo off

:Loop
cls
color 0C
REM NOW=YYYY-MM-DD_HHMMSS
REM file name = "miner-session.%NOW%.log"

Set NOW=%date:~10,4%-%date:~4,2%-%date:~7,2%_%time:~0,2%%time:~3,2%%time:~6,2%

cgminer --scrypt -I 12,16 -g 1 --shaders 800,1120 --no-submit-stale --auto-fan --gpu-fan 0-99,20-80 --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 800-925,820-900 --gpu-memclock 1050,1000 --temp-target 77,79 --temp-overheat 80,85 --temp-cutoff 90,95 -o http://litecoinpool.org:9332 -u Panda.1 -p 12345 --failover-only -o http://notroll.in:6332 -u Panda.failover1 -p 12345  2> "miner-session.%NOW%.log"

REM use these to enable the API stuff...
REM --api-network --api-listen --api-allow W:127.0.0.1,W:192.168.0.0/24 --api-description DoubleTrouble
cls
@color 02
@echo - - - - - - - - - - - -
@echo    cgMiner has quit.
@echo - - - - - - - - - - - -
@echo Auto restarting in 15 sec
@echo.
@echo If you want to cancel
@echo the restart, press:
@echo.
@echo   Ctrl+C, Y, ENTER

@echo - - - - - - - - - - - -
@echo Waiting for user input
@echo - - - - - - - - - - - -

@ping -n 15 127.0.0.1 > NUL
GOTO Loop

It gives me time to quit the endless loop, time to read the notice, etc.  Somehow "@echo off" doesn't work, i keep seeing "echo" in the output, so that's why I also @ the other echos.

My Litecoin address: Lf9WKM61AhmXchG2Ph2cftHKSQhxHutcdk
My Bitcoin address: 1Hwem4GSQWPCtBTKcSpXg2jYwxF6PtTjZx
--> Have you tried Triplemining.com? <--
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 09:12:45 AM
 #7275

Is it possible to intercept cgminer in some way when it hangs and restart it? Every couple of days, cgminer just hangs...

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 09:38:01 AM
 #7276

Is it possible to intercept cgminer in some way when it hangs and restart it? Every couple of days, cgminer just hangs...
Stop and start it daily?
I (and others) have posted a linux script and a windows batch file to run cgminer in a loop over and over again.
You can either have the API on and send a 'quit' to it once a day or work out how many shares you should produce on average per day and get cgminer to exit after generating that many shares (--shares N)

1GH/s should generate on average a bit over 20,000 1-difficulty shares a day.

The current calculation is, however, based on shares, not 1-difficulty shares, so if there's a need to change that to 1-difficulty shares (or a need to not change that) speak up Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 10:57:33 AM
 #7277

You said USB key.  There are inherent dangers with doing that, not to mention it requires walking around. Smiley

M
Yeah, how else are you going to get it onto the other machines? Dangers?

I said network share.  That's assuming you can reach your miners via network.. which may be a false assumption.

There is plenty of malware that is USB key aware.  I'd hesitate to use a USB key anywhere except for absolutely trusted sources. 

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 11:22:26 AM
 #7278

Mining doesn't do too much without at least some form of reasonable network Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 12:11:47 PM
 #7279

Mining doesn't do too much without at least some form of reasonable network Smiley

That's why I figured you should be able to deploy it all remotely.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
September 29, 2012, 02:46:41 PM
 #7280

Is there even a normal zip of the new cgminer on here? I feel like throwing my computer through the wall every time I come here, for the new update.
Use 7-zip - it's free and you won't be breaking the winzip license like almost everyone does with winzip ...
http://www.7-zip.org/

Why would you be breaking the license? It's a free download. Installing a new compression software on a dozen computers for no purpose, is absurd.

So wait, you're happy to go to great lengths to set up your hardware to mine, install special software for it to do so, drivers sdk etc and configure them, and then you're happy to download my free software from my website that I pay for for you to have free unrestricted access to, and you're complaining because you have to install 7z?


That's exactly what I'm saying. Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything. If your looking for compensation put a remote access app in the app store or something. Jumping through hoops just to satisfy someones ego is not on my agenda. It might make sense, if you gained something by using it.

Here's a zip copy. So no need to install 7z on every mining rig.
http://www.fileserve.com/file/9S2RQxa/cgminer-2.7.6-win32.zip



Well, no one here owes you anything either; so STFU and use some other software to mine since obviously it is way too much work for you to handle.

He already answered why he uses 7zip over Zip (better compression).

From what you have typed, I am guessing that you are rather young. Since spankings are not allowed in most countries anymore, you probably need a time out.

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
Pages: « 1 ... 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 [364] 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!