Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 08:33:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 [353] 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4814288 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 13, 2012, 07:10:10 AM
 #7041

I switched from 2.5.0 to 2.7.5 and now my dynamic intensity is only 4  Cry it used to oscillate between 4 and 5 in 2.5.0 which is obviously higher

any way to specify "dynamic/aggressive" or something so it raises intensity a lot when nothing is happening (when I'm just starting at the screen) but drops it just as quickly when I watch a video or something like that?

1480710791
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710791

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710791
Reply with quote  #2

1480710791
Report to moderator
1480710791
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710791

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710791
Reply with quote  #2

1480710791
Report to moderator
1480710791
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710791

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710791
Reply with quote  #2

1480710791
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480710791
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710791

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710791
Reply with quote  #2

1480710791
Report to moderator
1480710791
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710791

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710791
Reply with quote  #2

1480710791
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 13, 2012, 09:21:46 AM
 #7042

I switched from 2.5.0 to 2.7.5 and now my dynamic intensity is only 4  Cry it used to oscillate between 4 and 5 in 2.5.0 which is obviously higher

any way to specify "dynamic/aggressive" or something so it raises intensity a lot when nothing is happening (when I'm just starting at the screen) but drops it just as quickly when I watch a video or something like that?
That's a ckolivas question.
I've never gone near that part of the code - and he's been trying to fix it for a while ...
But ... 4 vs 5 - um - not really that big a deal?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 13, 2012, 12:42:52 PM
 #7043

I switched from 2.5.0 to 2.7.5 and now my dynamic intensity is only 4  Cry it used to oscillate between 4 and 5 in 2.5.0 which is obviously higher

any way to specify "dynamic/aggressive" or something so it raises intensity a lot when nothing is happening (when I'm just starting at the screen) but drops it just as quickly when I watch a video or something like that?
That's a ckolivas question.
I've never gone near that part of the code - and he's been trying to fix it for a while ...
But ... 4 vs 5 - um - not really that big a deal?

Have you tried tweaking dynamic with this?

--gpu-dyninterval <arg> Set the refresh interval in ms for GPUs using dynamic intensity (default: 7)

Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 13, 2012, 03:58:31 PM
 #7044

I switched from 2.5.0 to 2.7.5 and now my dynamic intensity is only 4  Cry it used to oscillate between 4 and 5 in 2.5.0 which is obviously higher

any way to specify "dynamic/aggressive" or something so it raises intensity a lot when nothing is happening (when I'm just starting at the screen) but drops it just as quickly when I watch a video or something like that?
That's a ckolivas question.
I've never gone near that part of the code - and he's been trying to fix it for a while ...
But ... 4 vs 5 - um - not really that big a deal?
yeah, but I REALLY would want it to be 7 when I'm away from the computer instead
since I'm running p2pool it's on a single thread so the difference in performance is ~15mhash (5%) between 4 and 7

and I can't even tell the difference when just typing right now, but if I watch a video on 7 everything will be sluggish

Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
September 13, 2012, 04:22:42 PM
 #7045

yeah, but I REALLY would want it to be 7 when I'm away from the computer instead
since I'm running p2pool it's on a single thread so the difference in performance is ~15mhash (5%) between 4 and 7

and I can't even tell the difference when just typing right now, but if I watch a video on 7 everything will be sluggish
I've always found that if you increase the intensity of your display GPU above 6, it starts throttling any other GPUs in your system. So I just leave mine at 6 and it's pretty usable. Smiley

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
September 13, 2012, 04:41:12 PM
 #7046

and I can't even tell the difference when just typing right now, but if I watch a video on 7 everything will be sluggish
What card are you using? I got a 7970 on my main computer, and even with I:9, I can watch movies with no issues.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 14, 2012, 12:39:28 AM
 #7047

and I can't even tell the difference when just typing right now, but if I watch a video on 7 everything will be sluggish
What card are you using? I got a 7970 on my main computer, and even with I:9, I can watch movies with no issues.

It depends on the 7970 apparently.  I have an XFX 7970 that would just about anything while mining at I:9.  But I have a Diamond 7970 that freezes if I use it on I:9.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
September 14, 2012, 03:54:07 PM
 #7048

I have mined for a while and I just downloaded and tried CGMiner for the first time in more than a year.  WOW.  That's all I can say.  Ok, I'll say more... amazing, holy cow, omg, try this thing.  Fast... informative... I hear my fans spinning up....  two seconds to set up, I forgot the port number, added port number, they didn't ask me for port number, I digress ... presto.

Impressive, keep up the good work.  Now I try the linux port...

Not good news.  I get a segmentation fault.

I am running  2.6.18-308.13.1.el5 #1 SMP fully updated
Downloaded and installed AMD SDK 2.7 (wasn't working with 2.4 either)
I get the same core dump that I read about earlier in this thread:


 [2012-09-14 11:52:01] Started cgminer 2.7.5
 [2012-09-14 11:52:01] Loaded configuration file miner.conf
 [2012-09-14 11:52:01] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
 [2012-09-14 11:52:01] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
 [2012-09-14 11:52:01] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4 (595.10)
 [2012-09-14 11:52:01] Platform 0 devices: 4
 [2012-09-14 11:52:01]  0       Barts
 [2012-09-14 11:52:01]  1       Barts
 [2012-09-14 11:52:01]  2       Barts
 [2012-09-14 11:52:01]  3       Barts
 [2012-09-14 11:52:01] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-09-14 11:52:01] Testing pool http://pit.deepbit.net:8332
 [2012-09-14 11:52:11] Pool 0 http://pit.deepbit.net:8332 active
 [2012-09-14 11:52:11] Init GPU thread 0 GPU 0 virtual GPU 0
 [2012-09-14 11:52:11] CL Platform vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
 [2012-09-14 11:52:11] CL Platform name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
 [2012-09-14 11:52:11] CL Platform version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4 (595.10)
 [2012-09-14 11:52:11] List of devices:
 [2012-09-14 11:52:11]  0       Barts
 [2012-09-14 11:52:11]  1       Barts
 [2012-09-14 11:52:11]  2       Barts
 [2012-09-14 11:52:11]  3       Barts
 [2012-09-14 11:52:11] Selected 0: Barts
 [2012-09-14 11:52:11] Long-polling activated for http://pit.deepbit.net:8332/listenChannelSegmentation fault

This also fails with a core dump:   cgminer -k poclbm --benchmark

I did not see a solution in the thread but will continue to look...

fwiw:

python opencl.py
[12:17:35] Python OpenCL Info v0.1
[12:17:35] Python Version: 2.7.1 64bit
[12:17:35] PyOpenCL Path: /usr/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pyopencl-2012.1-py2.7-linux-x86_64.egg/pyopencl
[12:17:35] Boost Python Version: Not Found
[12:17:35] PyOpenCL Version: 2012.1
[12:17:35] Listing platforms and devices:
[12:17:35]
[12:17:35] [cl:0] AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
[12:17:35]        [cl:0:0] Barts
[12:17:35]        [cl:0:1] Barts
[12:17:35]        [cl:0:2] Barts
[12:17:35]        [cl:0:3] Barts
[12:17:35]        [cl:0:4] AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor
[12:17:35]
[12:17:35] This program will exit in 300 seconds...


os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 14, 2012, 09:18:48 PM
 #7049


Downloaded and installed AMD SDK 2.7 (wasn't working with 2.4 either)
 [2012-09-14 11:52:01] Started cgminer 2.7.5
 
 [2012-09-14 11:52:01] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4 (595.10)

Try deleting or renaming your .bin files and rerun CGMiner to recreate them with your current SDK version.

May or may not make a difference.  But it looks like your using the .bin files from SDK 2.4.

What GPU's are you using?
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 14, 2012, 11:14:19 PM
 #7050

ckolivas website is dead again at the moment .... so ... cut/paste of what I posted before:

Quote
Yes it seems his web site is dead at the moment.
I've put his release files in my git downloads:
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/downloads

The release files are:
cgminer-2.7.5-win32.7z — cgminer2.7.5 ckolivas release file: windows 32bit (mingw)
cgminer-2.7.5-x86_64-built.tar.bz2 — cgminer2.7.5 ckolivas release file: linux x86_64 binary release[/s]

I haven't put the source file since git is working.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 15, 2012, 02:51:55 AM
 #7051

and I can't even tell the difference when just typing right now, but if I watch a video on 7 everything will be sluggish
What card are you using? I got a 7970 on my main computer, and even with I:9, I can watch movies with no issues.
5850 and I'm using madvr which rapes the shit out of your graphics card just to make things imperceptively smoother

crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
September 15, 2012, 03:42:29 AM
 #7052

and I can't even tell the difference when just typing right now, but if I watch a video on 7 everything will be sluggish
What card are you using? I got a 7970 on my main computer, and even with I:9, I can watch movies with no issues.
5850 and I'm using madvr which rapes the shit out of your graphics card just to make things imperceptively smoother
Never even heard of madvr. What's wrong with using VLC and just letting your GPU mine?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 15, 2012, 04:15:38 AM
 #7053

and I can't even tell the difference when just typing right now, but if I watch a video on 7 everything will be sluggish
What card are you using? I got a 7970 on my main computer, and even with I:9, I can watch movies with no issues.
5850 and I'm using madvr which rapes the shit out of your graphics card just to make things imperceptively smoother
Never even heard of madvr. What's wrong with using VLC and just letting your GPU mine?
... mplayer ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 15, 2012, 05:34:34 AM
 #7054

and I can't even tell the difference when just typing right now, but if I watch a video on 7 everything will be sluggish
What card are you using? I got a 7970 on my main computer, and even with I:9, I can watch movies with no issues.
5850 and I'm using madvr which rapes the shit out of your graphics card just to make things imperceptively smoother
Never even heard of madvr. What's wrong with using VLC and just letting your GPU mine?
because then I couldn't be a cool potplayer user with superawesome madvr rendering

vlc doesn't even have bookmarks, how am I supposed to skip the OP song?

btckeeper
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
September 15, 2012, 08:27:10 AM
 #7055

Hi all.
I have minning rig on Ubuntu. Autostart is working fine, when monitor is plugged to the system. When I detach monitor CGminer do not start automatically when system starts. What should I do?
Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957



View Profile
September 15, 2012, 08:38:55 AM
 #7056

Hi all.
I have minning rig on Ubuntu. Autostart is working fine, when monitor is plugged to the system. When I detach monitor CGminer do not start automatically when system starts. What should I do?

Keep the monitor plugged in Tongue


you might have to build in a delay on starting cgminer so that X can load properly.
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
September 15, 2012, 02:06:25 PM
 #7057

and I can't even tell the difference when just typing right now, but if I watch a video on 7 everything will be sluggish
What card are you using? I got a 7970 on my main computer, and even with I:9, I can watch movies with no issues.

It depends on the 7970 apparently.  I have an XFX 7970 that would just about anything while mining at I:9.  But I have a Diamond 7970 that freezes if I use it on I:9.

M
Crazy!, Im so glad i spent WEEKS on research before i purchased my Non DoubleD XFX7950
Things a beast!, even when heavily overclocked i can gameout on battlefield 3, Intensity will directly change my fps ingame, So running with I:5 gives me a happy 50fps (whatta coincedince)

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
RandomQ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
September 15, 2012, 06:47:02 PM
 #7058

Possible Bug Report
2.7.5 WIN 8 X64 RTM

Main Pool P2Pool with failover only to deepbit.net

I have 4 rigs running with the same cgminer configs

Something happened and 1 rig switched to the fail only backup pool but it appears that 100% of the work was rejected.

Could this be a possible bug where pool work 0 was being sent to pool 1?

A restart of the client and not the system fixed the problem.

Bitcoin To Cash LLC Receive cash in the mail for Bitcoin!
[CryptoStocks] GREEN - GreenBTC - Mining Company on CryptoStocks
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
September 15, 2012, 07:20:09 PM
 #7059


Downloaded and installed AMD SDK 2.7 (wasn't working with 2.4 either)
 [2012-09-14 11:52:01] Started cgminer 2.7.5
 
 [2012-09-14 11:52:01] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4 (595.10)

Try deleting or renaming your .bin files and rerun CGMiner to recreate them with your current SDK version.

May or may not make a difference.  But it looks like your using the .bin files from SDK 2.4.

What GPU's are you using?
Sam

recompile barfed on OpenCL library, so yea it's a library problem.


Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: ncurses
  OpenCL...............: NOT FOUND. GPU mining support DISABLED
configure: error: No mining configured in



I don't want to run 2.7 right?  I have some AWESOME cards, they are AMD Radeon HD 6870 Series with dual cores.


I was successful with this statement:
CFLAGS="-O3 -Wall -march=native -I/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/" LDFLAGS="-L/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/lib/x86_64/" ./configure

minus the "-march=native" flag, that was causing a barf on compile.  Without it it looks like this:

CFLAGS="-O3 -Wall -I/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/" LDFLAGS="-L/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/lib/x86_64/" ./configure


And that was successful, in terms of compiling but I am still getting the segmentation fault when I try to run.  

I'm gonna try this on Ubuntu and see if I get a better result.  Yep, got a better result.  Running under Ubuntu on one machine, second not so lucky... yet...

Kinda looks like ubuntu doesn't show half my gpu's

------------------------------------------------------------------------
cgminer 2.7.5
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: NOT FOUND. TUI support DISABLED
  OpenCL...............: NOT FOUND. GPU mining support DISABLED
configure: error: No mining configured in
### fglrxinfo
display: localhost:10.0  screen: 0
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
OpenGL version string: 1.2 (4.2.11631 Compatibility Profile Context)


stoppots
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271


View Profile
September 16, 2012, 08:02:07 AM
 #7060


post from newbies section reposted here

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=109887.0
I'm following The Complete Guide To Mine Bitcoin on Xubuntu 12.04,
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Gw7YPYgMgNNU42skibULbJJUx_suP_CpjSEdSi8_z9U/edit?pli=1, which so far looks promising.

My difficulty comes in Section VI, Install CGMiner of the guide. It says to

Code:
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-2.7.5-x86_64-built.tar.bz2

...but I shouldn't do this because I have a 32-bit system. The directory does not show a built version for 32-bit systems. However, it does have cgminer-2.7.5.tar.bz2, but this is not a built version.

The instructions from this point forward assume a built version. I have the unbuilt cgminer-2.7.5.tar.bz2 but I don't know how to build it. Any help with building this would be very much appreciated.

Ok...I managed to get this far: I did
Code:
./configure
and that ran. But, at the end of the process, I got this message:

Quote
curses.TUI...........:FOUND: ncurses
OpenCL...............:NOT FOUND. GPU mining support DISABLED

That can't be good. I downloaded the ati catalyst package and that works. I thought it was supposed to install OpenCl. Does anyone know where I can get OpenCl?

I have a Radeon HD 6570 on an Ubuntu 12.04 32-bit system.

Thanks!

Be better off posting your questions in the main CGMiner development thread.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.0

Kano wrote a guide which is he has linked in his sig, but his was for a previous version which I believe he still prefers. He is a developer of cgminer and currently seems the most active in helping with questions/problems posted there. I will repost this for you untill you get out of the newbies section.



Pages: « 1 ... 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 [353] 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!