Bitcoin Forum
July 22, 2018, 03:53:23 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 [407] 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756986 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
meowmeowbrowncow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 22, 2012, 02:07:25 PM
 #8121

The semi-official Bitcoin Pool Comparison Chart only shows 2 stratum pools, BTCGuild and Slush's.  Are there others?
Most pools are in the process of implementing it. Of the other ones that already have it, ozcoin is my favourite, but emc also does it (though with too unstable a variable difficulty IMO).
Good to know Cheesy
Thanks ckolivas  Cool
* ckolivas rattles the donation jar and whistles innocently

j/k


People should start pledging amounts earned from when they receive their new gear.

3.0 btc here.

"Bitcoin has been an amazing ride, but the most fascinating part to me is the seemingly universal tendency of libertarians to immediately become authoritarians the very moment they are given any measure of power to silence the dissent of others."  - The Bible
1532231603
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532231603

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532231603
Reply with quote  #2

1532231603
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532231603
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532231603

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532231603
Reply with quote  #2

1532231603
Report to moderator
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 02:30:17 PM
 #8122

- Run cmd
- navigate to cgminer directory
- run "cgminer.exe -n"
It shows you opencl devices it see.
- backup/delete cgminer.conf
- run "cgminer.exe"
- input pool address/user/pass
- after it start working press keys: S W <enter> to save config
If it crash somewhere at this point copy output form cmd window and post it.


Hi Rav3n_pl.

THANKS!! That was the answer I was looking for - I'd forgotten about the handy "open command here" feature in windoze. OK, cgminer detects all four of my cypress GPU's (1 x 5970 & 2 x 5870), but underneath I get:

failed to ADL_Adaptor_ID_Get. error -5
failed to ADL_Adaptor_ID_Get. error -5
failed to ADL_Adaptor_ID_Get. error -5
failed to ADL_Adaptor_ID_Get. error -5
failed to ADL_Adaptor_ID_Get. error -5
failed to ADL_Adaptor_ID_Get. error -5
failed to ADL_Adaptor_ID_Get. error -5
failed to ADL_Adaptor_ID_Get. error -5

8 lines, so I presume there's some kind of correlation with this and my 4 GPU's? What do you think?

Seems like I'm getting somewhere now, thanks for that, I know it must be a real pain to have to help us noobs out - but hey, we all gotta start somewhere eh?

Many thanks, greatly appreciated.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1360
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 04:20:04 PM
 #8123

failed to ADL_Adaptor_ID_Get. error -5
Looks to me as some driver failure.
Try:
- uninstall all ATI sforware from control panel
- reboot, do not install video drivers when windoze ask for it
- use driver sweeper to celan all ATI residues http://www.guru3d.com/content-page/guru3d-driver-sweeper.html
- reboot
- use ccleaner to celan registry http://www.filehippo.com/download_ccleaner
- reboot
- get & install latest ATI drivers http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx
- reboot, wait 5 mins, play some 3d game ;]
- run cgminer again

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 04:32:16 PM
 #8124

failed to ADL_Adaptor_ID_Get. error -5
Looks to me as some driver failure.
Try:
- uninstall all ATI sforware from control panel
- reboot, do not install video drivers when windoze ask for it
- use driver sweeper to celan all ATI residues http://www.guru3d.com/content-page/guru3d-driver-sweeper.html
- reboot
- use ccleaner to celan registry http://www.filehippo.com/download_ccleaner
- reboot
- get & install latest ATI drivers http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx
- reboot, wait 5 mins, play some 3d game ;]
- run cgminer again


Hi again rav3n,

Yup, done that three times now. Custom uninstall from Catalyst install manager - everything, Reboot. Driver sweeper for AMD display. Reboot. CCleaner scan. Reboot. Install AMD 12.10 without CCC. Reboot. Same problem. Tried AMD 11.12 with 2.1 SDK also, same problem.

Just can't see it being a driver issue, as it worked fine the very first time I used it - until I switched off once, then it never worked again.

What's this gpu map option? I read in the readme this sometimes happens, albeit rarely, maybe this could be the issue. But it does say not to use it unless you know what you're doing - which I don't......lol

Thanks again for your help rav3n.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 22, 2012, 11:16:11 PM
 #8125

The semi-official Bitcoin Pool Comparison Chart only shows 2 stratum pools, BTCGuild and Slush's.  Are there others?
Most pools are in the process of implementing it. Of the other ones that already have it, ozcoin is my favourite, but emc also does it (though with too unstable a variable difficulty IMO).
Good to know Cheesy
Thanks ckolivas  Cool
* ckolivas rattles the donation jar and whistles innocently

j/k


People should start pledging amounts earned from when they receive their new gear.

3.0 btc here.

Sure, I'll pledge an unknown amount of my unknown earnings from my unknown gear that I may receive, or not, so the story goes.  I'm sure ckolivas and graet can really plan allot for the future based on that. Smiley

I'll count my chickens after they hatch and go from there.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 11:19:59 PM
 #8126

I was just kidding about the way I was showing public support for Graet's pool.  Cheesy

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 11:42:35 PM
 #8127

Well, after over three days of trying to get cgminer working on both my headless rig and my PC I think I'm gonna give it a pass, it's just not playing right. I finally managed to get it running on my rig but still with the errors on start, and I have no control over temps, fan, memclock, engine or anything else, despite having them in my config file that it says it's read. GPU-z sees everything as stock. I've tried multiple driver versions, multiple re-installs, dummy plugs, crossfire, different gfx cards....everything.

Back to shitty old guiminer with a 20+% DOA/stale rate for me I'm afraid.

Shame, cos when it worked as it should the very first time I was impressed, hash rate up & stale rate,temps,memclock & power draw all down. It's just getting it to work that lets it down.....

Good luck with the project, maybe I'll try it again after a few more updates, it might not be so "fussy" by then.

Regards. Shocked

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
November 23, 2012, 12:24:04 AM
 #8128

... and I have no control over temps, fan, memclock, engine or anything else, despite having them in my config file that it says it's read. GPU-z sees everything as stock. I've tried multiple driver versions, multiple re-installs, dummy plugs, crossfire, different gfx cards....everything.
cgminer has a particular format for its conf file. Do you have the syntax all proper? Commas and { }'s all in the right places?

-- Smoov
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2012, 01:32:01 AM
 #8129

... and I have no control over temps, fan, memclock, engine or anything else, despite having them in my config file that it says it's read. GPU-z sees everything as stock. I've tried multiple driver versions, multiple re-installs, dummy plugs, crossfire, different gfx cards....everything.
cgminer has a particular format for its conf file. Do you have the syntax all proper? Commas and { }'s all in the right places?

-- Smoov


Hi Smoovious,

Yeah, all as it should be. Plus it was written by cgminer anyway, so it should be right, I just changed a few values. Problem is with the startup errors.....it's just not reading my cards right.....

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2012, 01:34:13 AM
 #8130

... and I have no control over temps, fan, memclock, engine or anything else, despite having them in my config file that it says it's read. GPU-z sees everything as stock. I've tried multiple driver versions, multiple re-installs, dummy plugs, crossfire, different gfx cards....everything.
cgminer has a particular format for its conf file. Do you have the syntax all proper? Commas and { }'s all in the right places?

-- Smoov


Hi Smoovious,

Yeah, all as it should be. Plus it was written by cgminer anyway, so it should be right, I just changed a few values. Problem is with the startup errors.....it's just not reading my cards right.....
Good old random windows fuckage. Not getting adl access also happens when you log in as one user and switch to another.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
November 23, 2012, 01:35:50 AM
 #8131

Hi Smoovious,

Yeah, all as it should be. Plus it was written by cgminer anyway, so it should be right, I just changed a few values. Problem is with the startup errors.....it's just not reading my cards right.....
are your cards single-screen or multi-screen cards? (I don't mean one HD port and 1 SVGA port, but 2 HD ports or more)

-- Smoov
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2012, 05:06:10 AM
 #8132

... and I have no control over temps, fan, memclock, engine or anything else, despite having them in my config file that it says it's read. GPU-z sees everything as stock. I've tried multiple driver versions, multiple re-installs, dummy plugs, crossfire, different gfx cards....everything.
cgminer has a particular format for its conf file. Do you have the syntax all proper? Commas and { }'s all in the right places?

-- Smoov


Hi Smoovious,

Yeah, all as it should be. Plus it was written by cgminer anyway, so it should be right, I just changed a few values. Problem is with the startup errors.....it's just not reading my cards right.....
Good old random windows fuckage. Not getting adl access also happens when you log in as one user and switch to another.

LOL! I know, I know. The more I've used windoze the more I've grown to hate it, but unfortunately it's all I know how to use in any kind of computer savvy way - I just can't get my head around Linux, and I've tried, believe me, but all those algebraic commands and stuff just confuse the hell out of me! Maybe I'm a dyslexic or something, but give me a gui and I'm good to go.

As for the user thing you mentioned, there's only one on my PC & the RIG, so that's not the issue I think. The cards are your standard run-of-the-mill HD5970 & HD5870's so are compatible with pretty much every mobo & software you can stick'em in.

ANYWAYS. Good ish news, I've been saved by the Trixx. Gave up trying to configure cgminer to control my cards but wanted to keep using it as my miner due to it's excellent and steady mining capabilities, so I deleted the config & bin files, installed Trixx to control the memclocks, gpuclocks, volts & fans (It recognised all my gpu's instantly & accurately by the way), restarted cgminer ignoring the errors and was able to set the intensities, vectors, workrates and kernels in the new config file and left everything else on "0". restarted cgminer and hay bloody presto!! I now have full control of everything again, it's mining steadily and the performance is very good indeedy.

It's a shame that I had to use another windows program to do what cgminer was supposed to do for me - indeed the reason I wanted to use cgminer was not just because it is a very efficient miner, but that it also can control your gpu's - or not, as the case may be. So in this case, a bit of windoze "fuckage" has come to the rescue - eh wot? (had to sneak that one in - sorry)

So yeah, great miner guys, but there still seems to be some compatibility issues that need to be ironed out as far as the windoze side is concerned me thinks, but I don't blame you for not bothering too much about it, seeing as we all love windows so much. Next time I switch on my Netbook I'll boot into Ubuntu for the first time in months and have another play with it, but only until my head starts hurting......2 mins max.

Goodbye guiminer, hello cgminer. Just about.  Grin

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2012, 05:10:04 AM
 #8133

So yeah, great miner guys, but there still seems to be some compatibility issues that need to be ironed out as far as the windoze side is concerned me thinks, but I don't blame you for not bothering too much about it, seeing as we all love windows so much.
Well... I actually have busted my balls for months on end trying to sort out the windows issues, so that is a slight understatement saying "not bothering much"  Roll Eyes
 Enjoy anyway.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2012, 05:24:31 AM
 #8134

So yeah, great miner guys, but there still seems to be some compatibility issues that need to be ironed out as far as the windoze side is concerned me thinks, but I don't blame you for not bothering too much about it, seeing as we all love windows so much.
Well... I actually have busted my balls for months on end trying to sort out the windows issues, so that is a slight understatement saying "not bothering much"  Roll Eyes
 Enjoy anyway.

Of course, I realize that and appreciate all your hard work greatly - it was a very tongue in cheek comment, text can come across very blatant & uncaring sometimes - especially when I write it...... Shocked

All good, and thanks again. Now that I'm mining properly again I'll make a wee donation - my first incoming will be yours my man. Grin

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 23, 2012, 09:03:37 AM
 #8135

I was just kidding about the way I was showing public support for Graet's pool.  Cheesy
No take-backs!

So yeah, great miner guys, but there still seems to be some compatibility issues that need to be ironed out as far as the windoze side is concerned me thinks, but I don't blame you for not bothering too much about it, seeing as we all love windows so much.
Well... I actually have busted my balls for months on end trying to sort out the windows issues, so that is a slight understatement saying "not bothering much"  Roll Eyes
 Enjoy anyway.

I find it hilarious that you can manage to fix all these Win bugs without even using it for yourself. Crazy.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
meowmeowbrowncow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 23, 2012, 10:10:16 AM
 #8136

The semi-official Bitcoin Pool Comparison Chart only shows 2 stratum pools, BTCGuild and Slush's.  Are there others?
Most pools are in the process of implementing it. Of the other ones that already have it, ozcoin is my favourite, but emc also does it (though with too unstable a variable difficulty IMO).
Good to know Cheesy
Thanks ckolivas  Cool
* ckolivas rattles the donation jar and whistles innocently

j/k


People should start pledging amounts earned from when they receive their new gear.

3.0 btc here.

Sure, I'll pledge an unknown amount of my unknown earnings from my unknown gear that I may receive, or not, so the story goes.  I'm sure ckolivas and graet can really plan allot for the future based on that. Smiley

I'll count my chickens after they hatch and go from there.


censored.

"Bitcoin has been an amazing ride, but the most fascinating part to me is the seemingly universal tendency of libertarians to immediately become authoritarians the very moment they are given any measure of power to silence the dissent of others."  - The Bible
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 23, 2012, 02:29:56 PM
 #8137

So yeah, great miner guys, but there still seems to be some compatibility issues that need to be ironed out as far as the windoze side is concerned me thinks, but I don't blame you for not bothering too much about it, seeing as we all love windows so much.
Well... I actually have busted my balls for months on end trying to sort out the windows issues, so that is a slight understatement saying "not bothering much"  Roll Eyes
 Enjoy anyway.

I've been using CGMiner on Windoze since it's 2.0 version because it could do what no other miner or GPU management software could do with controlling my GPU's.  Been very happy with the capabilities since.

Thanks ckolivas for additional work you have put into Windoze support.  I haven't experienced any Windoze related issues since not being able to press Q and get the closing stats, that I know of anyway.
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
TAiS46
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 223
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
November 23, 2012, 04:14:30 PM
 #8138

hey,

can someone tell me, why I dont can't use the menu options?
Or why I dont see the output like the sample output from the first post?

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1045


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 23, 2012, 05:08:48 PM
 #8139

hey,

can someone tell me, why I dont can't use the menu options?
Or why I dont see the output like the sample output from the first post?

http://i.imagebanana.com/img/svq96s33/Bildschirmfoto20121123um16.48.47.png
Most likely you used -T which stops you from using the menu options ...

If you compiled it yourself (and didn't use -T), then you didn't take note that configure told you CURSES was not available
(the curses.TUI message at the end)

If someone else compiled it - don't use their version, use ckolivas or my version (depending on Linux OS version)

If you are running on a 32bit linux, then you'll need to take note of how whoever compiled it for you (and the configure reply at the end)

i.e. supply more information about OS and who compiled it and what configure said.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
TAiS46
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 223
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
November 23, 2012, 05:46:14 PM
 #8140

compiled by my own.
ubuntu 12.4

./configure --enable-btcforce

at the end: curses-TUI NOT FOUND. TUI support DISABLED

what to do?

Edit: installed now libncurses5-dev ... seems to work, recompiling now
Edit2: working Smiley thx
Pages: « 1 ... 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 [407] 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!